John McLeod End-Grain Counter Block

Handcrafted in Vermont by John McLeod Ltd., our hardwood cutting board resembles the thick butcher blocks found in old-style meat markets. Its end-grain construction provides exceptional strength and durability. Handcrafted of yellow birch, the board is gentle on knife blades and endures years of chopping and slicing. End-grain construction provides exceptional strength. Cut-out depressions allow for easy lifting. Also serves as a rustic presentation piece.
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
13 of 21(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for John McLeod End-Grain Counter Block
Review 1 for John McLeod End-Grain Counter Block
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeenaK
,Delton
,MI
Delton, Michigan
January 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great cutting board
January 22, 2013
I needed a new cutting board for everyday use. This is perfect, I like the feel of the wood against the blade. Very well made, I like the cross design. I did oil it before use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 2 for John McLeod End-Grain Counter Block
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShakAttack
,Vienna
,VA
January 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome cutting board!!!
January 23, 2012
I have had this cutting board for over six months and LOVE it. It has a gorgeous finish and is heavy so it doesn't slide around. I have never had issues with warping (maybe a bad shipment???). I have had boards in the past that have warped, but that's because I did not take care of them properly. I use the Boos Block (mix of beeswax and mineral oil) available at WS about once every couple of weeks to keep the board looking brand new. I do have to say that the plastic feet that are supposed to keep the board from slipping on counters come off periodically, but it sits on a section of counter above our dishwasher causing the glue to heat and loosen the feet. The feet are easily glued back on.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Weight, looks good sitting out!
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 3 for John McLeod End-Grain Counter Block
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Snavedog
,San Francisco
,CA
January 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Quality
January 1, 2012
My kids bought one of these for my Christmas present. The first one was badly marred. I took it back to the store. They had five in stock, only one of which was of acceptable quality. I bought that, and it looked great for 2 days. It then warped to the point where it is useless.
The quality of this item is horrible. Williams Sonoma should not be selling something this poor, especially for this price.
Cons: Quality, warps
Review 4 for John McLeod End-Grain Counter Block
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MHeart2Cook
Greenville, SC
August 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Warped and very disappointed
August 18, 2011
We received this counter block as a gift from our registry (over a year ago). Its beauty was short lived. As the other reviews mentioned it warped easily, for us it was only after a few uses. It is unusable and collecting dust on top of our refrigerator. Very disappointed in the fact that we thought we would use it for several years to come, this isn't the case. It's on the pricey side, I wouldn't recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Quality, warps easily, not safe (unbalanced)
Review 5 for John McLeod End-Grain Counter Block
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mdognrdog
July 31, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
End grain warps, sure...
July 31, 2011
I've had one of these for about six years. And yes, it got a little bowed. This is the nature of the beast.
In an end grain (butcher block) style of cutting board, the grain points right down into your countertop, and right up into your food. It will necessarily soak up more moisture than a cutting board where the grain is oriented perpendicular to those two sources of moisture.
So why, on Earth, would ANYBODY make end grain cutting boards?
Two reasons: 1) Because the cuts of your knives land in between soda straws, they don't actually damage the board very much; the board tends to last. 2) Because the cuts of your knives land in between soda straws, your KNIVES last longer. (This is the much bigger deal, actually.)
Pros: kind to blades
Review 6 for John McLeod End-Grain Counter Block
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
EmilyJaneVT
Stowe, Vermont
April 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
April 26, 2011
This cutting board is beautiful, but since the first time using it, it seems to be warped as the middle lays on the counter, but the edges are off the counter (causing it to spin and move when cutting). It is unsafe and frustrating. I am going to try to return it for a different cutting board with better reviews.
Pros: Size, Shape, pretty
Cons: Quality, High-Maintenance
Review 7 for John McLeod End-Grain Counter Block
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
xxxxxxxx
Charlotte, NC
March 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cracked within two weeks of purchase
March 27, 2011
This is a beautiful cutting board, and I was really excited to display it on my granite countertop. From the moment I put it on the granite and attempted to slice something, I knew there would be at least one problem, as it slipped and slid all over the place (not exactly safe), because there weren't any rubber pads on the bottom. No problem, I just put some wet paper towels, a la Anne Burrell, underneath and cured the sliding. Got the beeswax conditioner and lovingly conditioned the board every 3 or 4 days. Then tonight, to my horror, I saw a massive crack that split from one side to another! For ninety bucks, I thought I'd get at least a year out of this thing - hopefully I can get my money back. Would not buy a board with little squares of wood ingrained again.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Weight
Cons: Quality, High-Maintenance, Fragile, poor workmanship
Review 8 for John McLeod End-Grain Counter Block
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SDY1
San Francisco
February 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This board warps
February 19, 2011
This cutting board looks nice and I loved it at first until it warped after only using it a few times. We returned it and got another one thinking maybe we had done something wrong and the new one we got has warped after only a few uses. We are returning it and looking for a new cutting board. I would not recommend this cutting board to anyone.
Review 9 for John McLeod End-Grain Counter Block
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tejohn2
Houston, TX
February 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Board - Great Service
February 9, 2011
This is my second End-Grain Counter Block. I had to replace the first one after my cleaning service put chemicals on it. I oiled and took care of the board but it warped. To my surprise, W-S took the board back and replaced it for me (without me being able to produce the receipt). The staff was really cool about the whole thing.
I will definitely continue shopping at W-S. Thanks for the great customer service.
Review 10 for John McLeod End-Grain Counter Block
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sanford
New Jersey
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not happy - board cracked
December 30, 2010
This board is expensive. I took great care in ensuring the board was properly oiled, dried after use, etc. I made the mistake of placing a hot pan from the oven on the board and the board cracked. Not exactly what I was expecting to have happen. Very disappointed.
Review 11 for John McLeod End-Grain Counter Block
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Laura7
New York, NY
December 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very heavy
December 20, 2010
This counter block is high-quality and sturdy, however, it´s very heavy which makes it hard to clean after use. I stopped using it because I was tired of how difficult it was to clean in the sink.
Review 12 for John McLeod End-Grain Counter Block
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarieW
Dana Point, CA
March 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful
March 2, 2010
This block is exquisite, but may I encourage anyone who has one, or is buyng one, to be careful about taking care of it. Liberally use the mineral oil every day for the first week or so, and then once a week is a good idea. Wipe dry when wet! I had to return mine for an exchange because it warped. Be certain to dry it after every use. Another tip, stand it on its side overnight so it can dry thoroughly top and bottom after its daily use.
It's a beautiful addition to any kitchen; my knives love it!
Review 13 for John McLeod End-Grain Counter Block
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kamerun
Kapa`a, Hawai`i
January 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Cutting Board
January 19, 2010
I have just purchased this cutting board and am quite happy with it. It is sturdy and well constructed. I did not experience the warping of one of the previous reviews. The previous review which stated that the wood was dry is correct. However, I found that after about six heavy applications of mineral oil, the board was "wet" enough for my tastes. My past experience with any wood item for the kitchen requires some level of heavy applications of mineral oil to prepare the wood for regular kitchen use. Every cook has their own ideas as to wet or dry they want their wooden cooking utensils.
This cutting board is a great product and the right size for daily use. As with all wooden cooking utensils, hand washing and reapplication of mineral oil is part of a regular maintenance regiment.
A great buy and a great product! You can spend more but why?
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jimmieleah
oklahoma
Posted January 20, 2011
I had the board two days had not used it and it cracked. A big one ,I am taking it back
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for John McLeod End-Grain Counter Block
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Yuma, AZ
January 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
3of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My New Counter Block
January 9, 2010
I have to admit that the wood won't come out but it still have some other deficiencies which are:
- Eesily to have cracks
-Very difficult to be cleaned even with mild soap
- Very dry even when treated with mineral oil
Review 15 for John McLeod End-Grain Counter Block
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pdnc
September 20, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Product
September 20, 2009
I use my board every day. I don't worry about it sliding on surface countertop and is a handsome addition to my kitchen as well.
Review 16 for John McLeod End-Grain Counter Block
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rv8er
Texas
January 6, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WOW
January 6, 2009
I received this from my sister for Christmas and I love it. She included the oil which I am following directions too the t!!! It is one of my favorite gifts too date. I recommend this block to everyone..... Love it!!!
Review 17 for John McLeod End-Grain Counter Block
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melas
Chicago
December 17, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almost like the real thing
December 17, 2008
This counter block is similar to the butcher block table that I learned to work on in high school in the basement of Cleveland's West Side Market. The table stood up to all the toughest meat cutting tasks and this counter block does the same but without the inconvenience of immobility. A great substitute for those of us who don't have a meat cooler in the basement.
Review 18 for John McLeod End-Grain Counter Block
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
InOverMyHead
Bellingham, WA
November 9, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
solid counter block
November 9, 2008
I have had this block since the last holiday season and it has been great. No warping or splitting at all. I do oil the board regularly but that is it. It has been extremely easy on my knives and looks great too. However, like another reviewer, it seems the base is not perfectly flat. I thought it was possibly a seam or imperfection in my counter but now I am fairly sure it is the block. Not really a problem though as I use a towel underneath it to keep it from slipping. Great product.
Review 19 for John McLeod End-Grain Counter Block
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ntzeng
Evergreen, CO
October 2, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cutting Board
October 2, 2008
A beautiful piece for your kitchen and it should last for a lifetime if it is oiled once a week. The only drawback is that the board is slightly curved on the bottom so that it is not perfectly stable on the counter top. Also, I was confused when I purchased the product-you will receive ONE counter block-not two as is depicted in the picture.
Review 20 for John McLeod End-Grain Counter Block
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick
Albany, NY
September 8, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good cutting board
September 8, 2008
I am the farthest from an expert on cutting boards. Well, really it's a chopping block, but I'm using it as a cutting board. It works fine and cleans easy. I haven't had any problems yet, and I've owned it for over three months now. I have the square one and I like the indentations on the underside for holding it.
page1 2 next