Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone

Finished with Emile Henry's proprietary black Flame glaze, this rectangular ceramic baking stone turns out perfectly crispy crusts and then doubles as a surface for serving. The piece withstands exceptionally high heat, so it can be used in the oven, on the grill and over an open flame-and it's dishwasher safe. Rectangular shape is ideal for flat bread, rolls, family-sized pizzas-even cookies. Made of durable Burgundian clay, yet much lighter than standard baking stones. Finished with Emile Henry's proprietary lead-free black Flame glaze, which won't chip or crack and is safe for cutting on. Place over an open grill to cook softer or smaller foods that might otherwise fall through the cracks. Micro-crazing in the glaze promotes crispy, well-baked crusts, just like a pizza oven. Withstands extremely high temperatures, distributing heat quickly and evenly. Integral handles make the stone easy to lift and move. Doubles as a cheese board or a trivet. Microwavable; broiler, freezer and dishwasher safe. 14" x 18" long; 9 lb. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
Review 1 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaineMama
,Bangor
,MA
September 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Finally, great crust!
September 22, 2013
Love this baking stone, and I've only used it twice. I've been trying to achieve the 'toothy' crust on my homemade breads so characteristic of artisanal breads and have failed until I used my new baking stone.
Love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Shape
Review 2 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PalmSpringsBaker
,Palm Springs
,CA
Palm Springs, CA
August 31, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
August 31, 2013
Fantastic Pizza Stone!
Large enough to hold two individual pizzas for baking at the same time.
Produced an excellent crispy evenly baked crust. The enameled surface is the key to the perfectly baked crust.
I prepared my pizza dough from scratch, but you could always pre made pizza dough from the freezer section of your favorite market.
Enjoy!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, sexy
Review 3 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TooTuFF
,Gurnee
,IL
July 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really good quality and design.
July 7, 2013
I've owned various pizza stones for the last 30 years or so and this one is arguably the best. The other stones I've had were round and I think the rectangular shape is better suited in most cases for both the oven and the grill. The glazing gives this stone the same non-stick qualities as a well seasoned unglazed stone but also makes me wonder if it matters at all then that it's stone underneath. The selling point for most stones is that they are able to absorb grease but I don't think the glazing will allow for that on this stone. Not a deal breaker though because if you use an unglazed stone after some time it will not absorb grease either. It's a keeper.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JWWD
,Davis
,CA
April 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superior product
April 26, 2013
I purchased this item for my daughter-in-law's Christmas present because I have the Emile Henry Pizza Stone and find it to be absolutely fabulous. It is far superior to other baking stones and, also, beautiful. Highly recommend Emile Henry products for great cooking and great looks.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 5 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ybon
,Kingman
,Az
February 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pizza stone
February 28, 2013
Fantastic. Crispy crust, easy to clean. Worth the money. Bought a second one for my daughter. She loves it
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cook99
,Boxford
,Ma
Boxford, Ma
January 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Stone
January 30, 2013
For artisan bread and pizza fits nicely in my Wolfe oven. I just leave it on the lowest rack all the time which takes care of storage problem for me.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BarneyRubble63
,Mansfield
,Oh
September 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Grilling Stone!!!
September 20, 2012
This grilling stone is outstanding for all types of grilling. Seared tuna,salmon, shellfish are my favorites. I use this on my gas and charcoal Weber grills. Try pizza and flatbreads on your charcoal grill with the stone. Your crusts will have that smokey crispy artisanal quality that is so hard to do in an ordinary oven. Anything you would cook on a flat top griddle will work. Pancakes, fried eggs, bacon, stir fry. A must for the grilling enthusiast.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 8 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
June 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Bread and Pizza
June 11, 2012
I have been using two Emile Henry baking stones (one round and one rectangular) for nearly a year to bake our weekly artisan boule and to make pizza. My experience has been that they are better than the three other stones I have tried. I love that they are non-porous. This makes them super easy to clean. Also, they are so smooth that you don't have to put cornmeal on them to get an easy lift-off. (I put a little on the peel, though.) These work well in my convection oven, my wood-fired pizza oven, and my outdoor conventional oven. I have retired my other stones in favor of the EH ones!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 9 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JRNJ
,Burlington
,VT
June 3, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-6points
2of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good but not great
June 3, 2012
After reading reviews online, I was excited to use. Homemade pizzas are a staple in my house which was the primary purpose for this purchase. The stone does a nice job but was not superior to other baking stones I had tried. I have additionally baked tarts and cookies with this. I do not have access to a grill and can't speak to how well it performs there. Overall a nice product but for the price, didn't feel worth spending more for compared to other stones.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store