Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker

Re-created from a popular 19th-century design in Emile Henry's archives, this square baker - like all of the company's pieces - is crafted from Burgundian clay that retains heat exceptionally well, so it's ideal for keeping foods warm for serving. The rich glaze, applied by hand, resists scratches and won't crack with time. Use the baker for roasting meats and vegetables and preparing baked desserts. Microwavable; freezer, oven and dishwasher safe. 8 1/4" x 8 1/4" x 2 1/2" high. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
29 of 29(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker
Review 1 for Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CJ3167
,Redford
,MI
Michigan
December 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Versatile Baker
December 14, 2013
I have wanted a very nice Ceramic set of Bake Ware for quite a while and have admired Emile Henry for some time. So I decided that it was time to upgrade and treat myself/family and I ordered this Square Baker in Caramel and I love it! The color is simply beautiful, it's well made and handles well, has versatility for use and even cooking! I look forward to cooking many dishes in this Baker!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Versatile, Design
Review 2 for Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuSu
,Asheville
,NC
Asheville, NC
April 18, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Could hardly wait to use!
April 18, 2013
I have many pieces of Emile Henry bakeware...pie dishes and loaf pans. My husband has been complaining recently that while he loves my scratch brownies that I make in my EH pie dish...he really would prefer to have strictly square brownies. To keep happiness in my home, I ordered this small square baker. The day I receive it, I made the brownies with the fabulous results that I expected. Nothing...I mean nothing...bakes like Emile Henry. It's fabulous! You will love this square baker for any recipe you choose to use. It's the best $$$ you will ever spend! I have the red, green and caramel...however, the caramel is my absolute favorite. It's beautiful. Thanks to WS for carrying these wonderful products!
Review 3 for Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bonster72
,Columbia
,SC
January 26, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sold on EH!
January 26, 2013
Replaced my glass square baker with this brand as opposed to the other French bakeware based on other reviews. Use it weekly and have not been disappointed the slightest. Cooks evenly, easy to clean and good looking on top of that! Glad I did my research and have now ordered a second piece of EH bakeware!
Pros: Easy to Clean, color is beautiful and unique
Review 4 for Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brass2
,Westminster
,CO
January 4, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Colorful presentation
January 4, 2013
This is a wonderful baking dish and perfect size for veggies/potatoes au gratin...
Pros: bigger than it looks
Review 5 for Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
liljmitch
,Twentynine Palms
,CA
December 2, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Addition to the Table
December 2, 2012
We received the Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker along with several other items from this line in red. We love all of the Emile Henry products. Great for cooking and pretty enough for serving. I'm a very picky cook and these products passed my test. I would definitely reccomend this product.
Pros: Durable, beautiful
Review 6 for Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jeepster
Nebraska
July 3, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
EH Artisan Square Baker
July 3, 2012
Very satisfied with this lovely dish. I bought the caramel which is my favorite EH color. As other reviewers have said, it cleans like a breeze and bakes very well. Before purchasing I was wondering how this size compared to our traditional size bakeware here in the US and found this to be equivalent to my 8" round Calphalon cake pan. I have used this for a one pan cake i like to make and it turned out beautifully but it did take a little longer to bake than the metal pan.
Review 7 for Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kittyb
Waldwick, NJ
June 23, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy Bake! Easy Clean!
June 23, 2012
Emile Henry is a stellar product! Not only does it bake well, it looks great. I have used this square baker for brownies, stuffed peppers, etc. Clean up is always a breeze.
Review 8 for Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
June 21, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love Baking in Stoneware!
June 21, 2012
I love using stoneware for baking. Things seem to come out moister and stay warm at the table longer. I own two of these square bakers and use them for small batches of things like stuffing. For example, we grill thick, lean pork chops and make a small amount of "summer" stuffing to go with by adding dried wild blueberries and chopped peaches. I have the EH artisan pie plates, loaf pans, tagine, and round and rectangular pizza stones. These are very high quality products that look great, clean up easily and last for ever!
Pros: beautiful, high qualit, perform well, Durable, Easy to Clean
Review 9 for Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MMorandi120
,Ithaca
,NY
June 16, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Kitchen Essential
June 16, 2012
I received this beautiful baker as a wedding shower gift a few months ago and not a week has gone by that I havent used it! What I love most about it, is the easy clean up. After baking, it doesn't take much work at all to get the baker looking brand new again. I will be purchasing the larger one as well to add to my collection!
Review 10 for Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Luvz2Cook
,San Francisco
,CA
June 9, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I luv this baker. You will, too.
June 9, 2012
I researched virtually everywhere to find a high quality, attractive and affordable ceramic/stonewear baker that was NOT made in China. I never realized before how much "upscale" bakeware and cookware comes from China. This gorgeous Emile Henry Artisan square baker, hand-crafted in France from non-toxic materials, fit the bill. I purchased the red color. I use it for so many things - cooking casseroles, roasting chicken, chops and vegetables, baking potatoes, etc. It cooks everything perfectly and cleans up easily. This is also the perfect serving dish for cold items, such as potato salad, cole slaw, etc. ***NOTE: the interior measurement on the square baker is 7 1/4 x 7 1/4.*** Also of note is that the color may change after being in the oven. Not to worry. It will return to it's normal shade after cooling. I highly recommend this beautiful yet affordable baker.
Review 11 for Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
norcalshopper
San Francisco
February 25, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Emile Henry Products are great
February 25, 2012
I have a number of Emile Henry items and have not been disappointed in one yet. You do need space to store some items. I do not stack any of mine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, heat retaining
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 12 for Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Luveasycooking
,Tahuya
,WA
Tahuya, WA
December 23, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite Baking Dish for Two of Us
December 23, 2011
Once again, Emile Henry Artisan dish comes through with the expected "flying colors!" These dishes are soooo easy to clean, bake so beautifully and evenly, and are pretty to look at. I am totally hooked on this brand of baking dishes and plan to get more over time. They are definitely worth the money. They make you happy while baking--and while cleaning!
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 13 for Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BlueCat
South Carolina
September 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Baker
September 12, 2011
This is a beautiful high quality baker. It's a perfect size for many things from casseroles, to sides, to desserts. Food cooks evenly and the food stays warmer longer. It is very easy to clean as the glaze makes it non stick. I will purchase more items from the Emile Henry Artisan line.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design
Review 14 for Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hopflower
Bay Area
July 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Baker
July 20, 2011
Already the proud owner of an Emile Henry Auberge pie pan (in Vert), I can attest to the company's quality. This baking dish is an excellent one for oven use and looks lovely on the table. It holds the heat to keep any dish warm, and a thorough clean up is a snap. Recommended for any vegetable dish, brownies, cobbler; or anything you think you might be able to use it for, it will not disappoint. The only criticism I might have is that I had the artisan casserole dishes in the green glaze which is no longer available. I bought the square baker and the longer rectangular baker in caramel; which does go wonderfully with the green casseroles after all. I think the green would be a nice option though.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Weight
Review 15 for Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NannaMc
Hamburg, NY
April 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite pan for baking.
April 26, 2011
I am very very pleased. I've used it three times already. Inspires me to try new dishes. I highly recommend this baking dish.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 16 for Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
daydreambeliever
Chino, CA
February 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love Emile Henry Bakers!
February 3, 2011
This is my second Emile Henry baker that I bought at my local WS store. I loved the large rectangular baker, so looking for a smaller one for my green bean casseroles; creamed corn (I highly recommend WS " Comfort Foods" cookbook that includes these wonderful recipes ); and potato dishes, I bought this at Christmas time. I find Emile Henry bakeware to be the best in not only the best even cooking, but the cleanup is so easy. No scrubbing involved. Best investment you'll make!
Review 17 for Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
onecook
phila PA
January 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
beauty & function together forever
January 24, 2011
I have the same comments for this dish as I had for the Artisan Loaf Pan and Artisan Rectangular Baker - once I tried one Emile Henry product (pie plate was the first) I had to replace all my old metal/pyrex pans with Emile Henry bakeware. They are so absolutely beautiful, you can feel confident serving at the table directly from the pan. I do worry about putting a hot ceramic dish on a cold metal trivet (risk of cracking) but I just put a pretty potholder on the trivet first to mitigate that risk. And it cleans up in a heartbeat (which is important when you don't have a dishwasher) This is a nice size for fudgy brownies or vegetable side dish. So I got 2, as sometimes I do want to have a dessert and a side dish in the same meal. :)
Review 18 for Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheCookinator
Hemet, CA
December 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite small cassarole dish
December 31, 2010
This is a tremendous dish. It bakes evenly and holds a good temp while serving. Clean up is a breeze.
Review 19 for Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sherylm
New Jersey
December 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my favorite!
December 10, 2010
I received the rectangular baker as a gift from my Mother 2 years ago ad I use it at least once a week for just about everything I put in the oven! Everything is evenly cooked, doesn't stick and cleans up easily. It is beautiful enough for table presentation and actually keeps food warm longer. I recently had to transport the turkey and stuffing to our family thanksgiving dinner which was 2 hours away. Believe it or not, the stuffing cooked and brought in this dish stayed warm! I absolutely love it and will never buy another brand!
Review 20 for Emile Henry Artisan Square Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drummingridge
Indiana
September 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite Bakeware
September 2, 2010
I have several Emilie Henry pieces and this is everything I expected it to be. The item being baked bakes evenly and clean-up is a snap, plus it is beautiful to any table. I would highly recommend this bakeware to anyone looking for quality.
page1 2 next