Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish

The rustic charm of kitchen ceramics in an Emile Henry 1850s catalog provided the inspiration for the French company's Artisan series of bakeware. Each pie dish is shaped from Burgundian clay, which absorbs, distributes and retains heat evenly, so pies bake and brown to perfection. The dish's generous proportions and scalloped rim make it ideal for baking deep-dish fruit and savory pies that will be served at the table. Because its hand-applied glaze won't scratch or craze, you can use sharp utensils for slicing a pie. Microwave, oven, dishwasher, freezer and broiler safe. 1 1/4-qt. cap., 10 1/2" diam. Made in France. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.491 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
50 of 59(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish
Review 1 for Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
notmuchofacook
,Grand Junction
,CO
May 13, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Pie Dish
May 13, 2015
I've been wanting to try this for so long and finally ordered. Used it for apple pie and it was the first time the bottom crust came out perfect! Can't wait for peach and berry season locally (CO) for more pies and cobblers!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 2 for Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
larmijo
,Duncanville
,TX
April 27, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful dish, beautiful results
April 27, 2015
I have two of these pie dishes. They work wonderfully. Nothing sticks, the crusts cook evenly and are not soggy on the bottom. You would think that the fillings would boil over because of the ruffles, but no more so than other standard pie plates. I especially like that I can trim my pie crust dough with a knife following the ruffle edge, and it looks fancy without having to crimp or use a fork to make a nice edge. So easy! No problem removing the baked pie either. These pie dishes are great to serve in because they are so pretty. I recommend the fluted pie shield designed for these; they fit perfectly and are easy to put on and remove while baking.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
APat0406
,San Diego
,CA
March 28, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Easy to Clean
March 28, 2015
I had to jump on the computer right after doing the dishes to let you all know this dish is soooo easy to clean. I don't even have to soak it and baked-on foods come right off. Love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CalCook
,Durham
,CA
January 1, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pretty Presentation
January 1, 2015
I purchased this to use for dessert pies, but my first use was for an appetizer. My son and son-in-law loved the jalapeño pie I made as a side with our favorite chili.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 5 for Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Leaf77
,WY
December 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love, Love this Pie Dish
December 20, 2014
Even though I haven't used it yet, I think this pie dish is beautiful. I ran across it online and had to have it, even though it wasn't in my budget. Although I am tired of the other wavy edge pie plates out there, I really like the ruffly edge on this one. I have it in white. I don't care for the other two colors at all. I think it would look better in pastels or bright colors, but white is best.
Pros: Quality, Size, Shape, Design, unique
Review 6 for Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jk67
,La Crosse
,WI
October 13, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sold on Emile Henry
October 13, 2014
My first Emile Henry piece was a rectangular baking dish. After I used it the first time I got rid of all my other baking dishes. It cooks perfectly and cleans up so easy. This pie pan has a great look and bakes perfectly. My pies finally look as good as they taste.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Size, Design, looks great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GreenMimsy
,Honolulu
,HI
May 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect pie dish!
May 12, 2014
Love this dish--have baked several pies in it, with perfect results. Browns evenly and is non-stick, making it easy to slice and serve. Worth the investment!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 8 for Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jvis
,Staten Island
,Ne
February 12, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful!
February 12, 2014
I received this item as a Housewarming gift. Its not only for backing pies! I have actually roasted potatoes, veggies, and baked casseroles in this dish. This piece goes from oven to table seamlessly. I love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 9 for Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WyoWindblown
Casper, Wyoming
January 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Chipped on its first use
January 23, 2014
I'd admired this pie dish from afar for years and finally got one before Christmas. The good: It's just beautiful and shows off whatever it contains nicely. Pie crusts need no ornamentation in this dish to look great. Cleanup is easy. The ugly: It chipped the first time I used it (and I didn't drop it or otherwise abuse it). It's not a huge chip, so it's still usable, but for this price, I was expecting the glaze to be more durable.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
KimKelly37
Houston, TX
Posted February 15, 2014
This must have just been a flaw in this particular dish. I would return it and explain what happened. I have the brown, red, and white now as well as three of the small ones and they have never chipped. I am not delicate with these guys at all, so just get it exchanged, one time thing. I absolutely love these pie plates, they cook beautifully (but I also have that silicone edge protector) and simply make the lovelies pie with minimal effort.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LauraLeeB
,Port St Lucie
,FL
December 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not just for pies.....
December 27, 2013
My two beautiful ruffled pie dishes; nougat & pometerra, were just resting in my cabinet waiting for me to bake some pies. I decided to use them for my turkey stuffing since my daughter was in charge of pie-making on Thanksgiving. My stuffing never looked or tasted better! Last week I used the pometerra dish for my corn pudding; of course, much tastier now...Tonight, roasted potatoes, onions & herbs, in the nougat pie dish. I am sure they will taste better as well. So, buy one or two ruffled pie plates and you will turn into a gourmet chef, for sure. Seriously, you will love them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 11 for Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CJ3167
,Redford
,MI
Michigan
December 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Presentation
December 14, 2013
I have wanted a very nice Ceramic set of Bake Ware for quite a while and have admired Emile Henry for some time. So I decided that it was time to upgrade and treat myself/family and I ordered this Ruffled Pie Dish in Caramel and I love it! The color is simply beautiful, it's well made and handles well, offers an unforgettable presentation and even cooking! I look forward to cooking many pies in this Pie Dish!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Shape, Design, Color
Review 12 for Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TexasChf
,Round Rock
,TX
December 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Emile Henry Pie Dish
December 4, 2013
I ordered and received this pie dish in caramel color in advance of Thanksgiving. It's absolutely beautiful! It arrived in good shape and in good time. The pie baked up perfectly with no soggy crust in the middle. The ruffled edges made the surrounding crust look fantastic! I would certainly recommend this product to anyone. It's pricey, but absolutely worth it. I'm going to get another one in a different color for variety! Love it!.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 13 for Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alicetoo
,Dallas
,TX
Dallas, TX
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Crust is better in this pie plate...
November 29, 2013
I just baked 2 identical pies - one in this pie dish and the other in another ceramic pie plate. The crust was much better in this pan - I noticed it right away...So I guess I will have to get another one of these! I also recommend the pie weight disc that fits this pie plate - A must have if you are blind baking the crust before filling...The crust protector is great too! And I've never ever had a problem getting a piece out of the pan as other reviewers have said.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 14 for Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mary77406
,Houston
,TX
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the ruffled pie dish!
November 29, 2013
I baked pumpkin pies with these pie dishes for Thanksgiving and the results were perfect! I used the silicone crust protectors and the results were amazing!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: none
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 15 for Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ohiofarmgirl
,Severna Park
,Md
November 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ruffled pie dish
November 5, 2013
Making pies are one of my baking passions and thought these pans would be great. They make a beautiful presentation for holiday meals or to take to a friends but on a day to day basis I prefer a regular glass or metal pie pans. I thought they were a bit difficult when removing the first slice and the clean up required a bit more attention than my plain sided pans. There didn't seem to be any change from my regular plain pans in the final product wether fruit pie or custard pie so for sheer presentation this is a great choice!
Pros: Durable, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store
Review 16 for Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eggtuary
,Prospect
,KY
October 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Slices come out just fine!
October 27, 2013
I almost didn't buy this pie dish because of the numerous reviews stating that slices were impossible to remove without destroying them in the process, especially because of the deep fluting. However, there were other reviews stating they had no such problems, so I went ahead with my purchase (which I felt comfortable doing, on account of Williams-Sonoma's refund policy).
So far, I've only made a pumpkin pie, which I'm sure is more forgiving than the juicier fruit pies. But my slices came out just perfectly -- even the first one!
As one reviewer stated, perhaps the difference is in the pie crust recipe. I used "Foolproof Pie Dough for a Single-Crust Pie" from the November 2007 issue of Cook's Illustrated. I also used the silicone pie shield made specifically for this pie dish, also sold at Williams-Sonoma. I only used the shield when cooking the fully assembled pie. Next time, I will keep the shield on even for the initial cooking of the crust, as the edges get a little too dark.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 17 for Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JenInLH
,Liberty Hill
,TX
October 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NOT a 10 1/2 inch Pie Plate
October 2, 2013
The description says this has a 10 1/2 inch diameter. Try 9 inch diameter.
It is beautiful... but if you are looking for a large pie plate... this isn't it. Returned.
Cons: Size, not as advertised
Review 18 for Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rosieposey
,Melbourne
,FL
September 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Pie Dish Ever
September 10, 2013
The right bake ware makes all the difference how a recipe's outcome is successful. I have made a spinach quiche twice in this pie dish and shepherd pie. The quiche and shepherds pie baked evenly and both were delicious.. This weekend I will bake an apple pie for the first time. This is well worth the investment.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 19 for Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LucyW
,Charlotte
,NC
September 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Make a PrettyPie!
September 2, 2013
I have four of these now and love that even if you are not an ace at making pretty edges on your pies, you can present a very festive dish for special family gatherings and bring- a- dish gatherings. And of course you get all the quality that Emile H brings to the baking process.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Versatile, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 20 for Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DoodlerKay
,Dallas
,Tx
June 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Pie Shell
June 16, 2013
My Pie turned out just Beautiful. The Pie Plate in it self is Beautiful. It cooked evenly and I love the color Red I chose. My Family were all smiles!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
page1 2 3 next