Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker

Re-created from a popular 19th-century design in Emile Henry's archives, this rectangular ceramic baker is crafted from Burgundian clay that retains heat exceptionally well, so it helps keep your finished dish warm for serving. The glaze, applied by hand, creates a glossy, vibrant exterior for a beautiful oven-to-table presentation. Ideal for roasting meat, poultry and vegetables and baking casserole, gratins and desserts. Burgundian clay heats evenly for gentle, uniform baking and browning. Durable glaze resists scratches and will not chip, crack or craze over time. Will not absorb odors or flavors. Microwavable; freezer, oven and dishwasher safe. Handcrafted in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
14 of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
Review 1 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
February 9, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice baker
February 9, 2016
Items cook very well in the baker. I purchased the white one (on sale) and find the only challenge is with getting all the baked on food off without ruining the surface.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 2 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Scarborough
,ME
December 22, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful product!!
December 22, 2015
As usual, I love everything coming out of Williams Sonoma. The quality is always top notch. I had an Emile Henry rectangular baker many years ago. It was my favorite casserole pan. Gave it to my son when he set up housekeeping. Missed it!! So I have one again and it will stay with me.
Thank you.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Easy to Store, Shape
Review 3 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Hanover
,MA
Hanover, MA
November 28, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect in so many ways
November 28, 2015
I bought this rectangular baker during the Friends & Family sale for the specific purpose of baking and serving my Thanksgiving mashed potato casserole. Perfect in every way - from oven to table to hand-washing like a dream. I look forward to many years of using this beautiful and useful piece for casseroles, lasagna, baked desserts, and more. If you love to cook, it's a wise investment.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Easy to Store, Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,New Orleans
,LA
August 29, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't wait for replacement to come in
August 29, 2015
I own many Emile Henry pieces and highly recommend this product line. However, in attempting to replace my favorite baker, It's been frustrating since two bakers have arrived with similar flaws in the glazing. The current plan is to wait for the new shipment from Emile Henry in November and purchase from my local Williams Sonoma store where I can inspect it before purchase. Hopefully, the new shipment is a new run and has been glazed properly. This is the first time I've had any issues with Emily Henry in all these years.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Shape
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
aksess
South Pasadena, CA
Posted October 28, 2015
Had exactly the same issue.
Going to return/exchange it in the store just like you. Inexcusable for WS to send out products that are of "factory seconds" quality. Not feeling too confident about ordering online from WS if they're going to send out defects.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,NEW CARLISLE
,OH
February 26, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
All around baker
February 26, 2015
From lasagna to scalloped potatoes this piece of bakeware is so versatile. Clean up is a breeze. Has the correct weight for balance. This is one of many products from Emily Henry I use for various dishes. If you are looking at the products by Emily Henry but the cost is keeping you from purchasing. I too was skeptical however I took the plunge and from there my praise and collection grew. You will not regret your purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Ok
January 10, 2015
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Baker
January 10, 2015
I purchased this amazing piece on Black Friday at a Williams-Sonoma/Pottery Barn outlet. I originally purchased this item because I didn't own a 9 x 13 pan, it was a steal, and I loved the pometerra color. However after using it regularly for the last 2 months it has turned out to be a fantastic purchase. It cooks very evenly and is great to take from the oven right to the table.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 7 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,VA
Virginia
August 14, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect and Beautiful!
August 14, 2014
I love the Emile Henry bakeware. I have two of the loaf pans and this rectangular baker all in the caramel color. It produces evenly baked foods and a beautiful presentation from oven to table. Clean up is truly a breeze. Each of my pieces have their own home in my cabinets.
I have the 8x8 square baker on back order but should be shipped the first week or so in September.
I have long admired this bakeware and finally decided to give myself the gift of stunning bakeware. So glad I did!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Redford
,MI
Michigan
December 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Baker
December 14, 2013
I have wanted a very nice Ceramic set of Bake Ware for quite a while and have admired Emile Henry for some time. So I decided that it was time to upgrade and treat myself/family and I ordered this Rectangular Baker in Caramel and I love it! The color is simply beautiful, it's well made and handles well, offers multiple uses and even cooking! I look forward to cooking many dishes in this pan!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Versatile, Shape, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 9 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,St. Paul
,MN
St. Paul, MN
June 8, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
8of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Real Winner
June 8, 2013
My local store was having a one-day sale, and I went there just for this pan, which I got in white. They were so beautiful I also picked up the square baker in red. I knew I'd like them for lasagna, enchiladas and casseroles, but I wondered about baking in them. I usually use metal pans, and thought it might take longer to get this heavy ceramic pan up to temp. The first thing I baked in it was a rhubarb coffeecake I've been making for years. It took no longer to bake, and it baked very evenly. I don't think I ever had such a beautiful even crust on this recipe. And it looked so great in this dish rather than a boring metal 9x13 pan. Bonus: this cake is really good warm, and it stayed warm much longer in this dish.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile
Cons: Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Enthous
St. Paul, MN
Posted June 12, 2013
Update
WS won't let me update my review, so I'm adding a comment. I think the baking time actually is shorter in this pan, perhaps because of the residual cooking that happens due to the heat retention of the pan. My cake actually was a little over baked after it cooled down. I plan on cutting the baking time in these pans and taking things out a little underdone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,CONOVER
,NC
May 15, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nothing Ever Changes !
May 15, 2013
As usual, the very best is from Williams
Sonoma. This Emile Henry baker exceeds
the competition in resisting both heat and
staining. Exclusive, as is it's 2 tone color.
Thank you (as usual) W. S.
Review 11 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Buckeye
,AZ
January 2, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful baking pan
January 2, 2013
I already have the Emile Henry loaf pan in Caramel which sold me on the whole collection. They are beautiful pieces as well as fully functional. This baker is my 2nd purchase in the line and i couldn't be happier. Great looks and great quality. The square baker is next on my list!
Review 12 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
August 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful!
August 8, 2012
I ordered this baker in the caramel color, and it is just lovely! The color isn't completely uniform; it is darker in some areas than others. But that just adds to the beautiful artisan quality. It is a sturdy piece that I know will be used for many years to come. Can't wait to buy the 8 inch square baker next!
Review 13 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Chicago
,IL
Chicago, IL
July 10, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of the best pieces of cookware you can own
July 10, 2012
I can't say enough about how wonderful cooking/baking with Emile Henry products has been. I bought this product about 2 years ago and recently acquired a second baker too. I had no idea it would be my primary baking dish! It still looks brand new. Food cooks evenly, it's just the right depth and it retains the heat and really does keep the food warm for serving. I love the versatility of Emile Henry baking pans. Cleans easily too; no scrubbing. Highly recommend and hope WS carries more Emile Henry products. Worth the money and I now purchase EH items as shower gifts and included some of my favorite recipes!
Pros: even cooking, amazingly easy to clean, attractive, oven freezer and microwave safe, keeps food warm, Versatile
Review 14 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Waldwick, NJ
June 23, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible Baker
June 23, 2012
Emile Henry is easy to clean and bakes evenly. I use for brownies, lasagna, etc. It's great for pot luck dinners. Just make sure you get it back...The price point may seem high, but well worth it...
Review 15 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
May 12, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice but fragile
May 12, 2012
This is a beautiful piece, I got the pometerra color which is absolutely gorgeous. I did end up returning it because it chipped slightly on the side when I was putting it away and it hit against the side of the door. We're not rough on dishes but unless you're really super careful with your bakeware, consider a sturdier piece like Pillivuyt.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
ScottishTerrierLover
Virginia
Posted August 21, 2014
Top 25 Contributor
I have two loaf pans, square baker and rectangular baker and have found all to be heavy sturdy bakeware. One of my loaf pans accidentally banged the kitchen sink and survived without a chip or scrap.
0points
Customer avatar
norcalshopper
San Francisco
Posted July 16, 2014
Have not found mine to be fragile
I have several Emile Henry pieces including this size. Two pieces I have had over 10 years. I have never found them to be fragile. Not one chip yet. I am careful in the way I store my pieces.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)