Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker

Re-created from a popular 19th-century design in Emile Henry's archives, this baker - like all of the company's pieces - is crafted from Burgundian clay that retains heat exceptionally well, so it's ideal for keeping foods warm for serving. The rich glaze, applied by hand, resists scratches and won't crack with time. Use the baker for roasting meats and vegetables, baking gratins and preparing fruit cobblers and other baked desserts. Microwavable; freezer, oven and dishwasher safe. 12 1/2" x 9" x 2 3/4" high. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
Review 1 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ScottishTerrierLover
,VA
Virginia
August 14, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect and Beautiful!
August 14, 2014
I love the Emile Henry bakeware. I have two of the loaf pans and this rectangular baker all in the caramel color. It produces evenly baked foods and a beautiful presentation from oven to table. Clean up is truly a breeze. Each of my pieces have their own home in my cabinets.
I have the 8x8 square baker on back order but should be shipped the first week or so in September.
I have long admired this bakeware and finally decided to give myself the gift of stunning bakeware. So glad I did!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CJ3167
,Redford
,MI
Michigan
December 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Baker
December 14, 2013
I have wanted a very nice Ceramic set of Bake Ware for quite a while and have admired Emile Henry for some time. So I decided that it was time to upgrade and treat myself/family and I ordered this Rectangular Baker in Caramel and I love it! The color is simply beautiful, it's well made and handles well, offers multiple uses and even cooking! I look forward to cooking many dishes in this pan!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 3 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enthous
,St. Paul
,MN
St. Paul, MN
June 8, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Real Winner
June 8, 2013
My local store was having a one-day sale, and I went there just for this pan, which I got in white. They were so beautiful I also picked up the square baker in red. I knew I'd like them for lasagna, enchiladas and casseroles, but I wondered about baking in them. I usually use metal pans, and thought it might take longer to get this heavy ceramic pan up to temp. The first thing I baked in it was a rhubarb coffeecake I've been making for years. It took no longer to bake, and it baked very evenly. I don't think I ever had such a beautiful even crust on this recipe. And it looked so great in this dish rather than a boring metal 9x13 pan. Bonus: this cake is really good warm, and it stayed warm much longer in this dish.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile
Cons: Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Enthous
St. Paul, MN
Posted June 12, 2013
Update
WS won't let me update my review, so I'm adding a comment. I think the baking time actually is shorter in this pan, perhaps because of the residual cooking that happens due to the heat retention of the pan. My cake actually was a little over baked after it cooled down. I plan on cutting the baking time in these pans and taking things out a little underdone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
audifan
,CONOVER
,NC
May 15, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nothing Ever Changes !
May 15, 2013
As usual, the very best is from Williams
Sonoma. This Emile Henry baker exceeds
the competition in resisting both heat and
staining. Exclusive, as is it's 2 tone color.
Thank you (as usual) W. S.
Review 5 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
barkingdog
,Buckeye
,AZ
January 2, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful baking pan
January 2, 2013
I already have the Emile Henry loaf pan in Caramel which sold me on the whole collection. They are beautiful pieces as well as fully functional. This baker is my 2nd purchase in the line and i couldn't be happier. Great looks and great quality. The square baker is next on my list!
Review 6 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katrina1220
August 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful!
August 8, 2012
I ordered this baker in the caramel color, and it is just lovely! The color isn't completely uniform; it is darker in some areas than others. But that just adds to the beautiful artisan quality. It is a sturdy piece that I know will be used for many years to come. Can't wait to buy the 8 inch square baker next!
Review 7 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuckyLinda
,Chicago
,IL
Chicago, IL
July 10, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of the best pieces of cookware you can own
July 10, 2012
I can't say enough about how wonderful cooking/baking with Emile Henry products has been. I bought this product about 2 years ago and recently acquired a second baker too. I had no idea it would be my primary baking dish! It still looks brand new. Food cooks evenly, it's just the right depth and it retains the heat and really does keep the food warm for serving. I love the versatility of Emile Henry baking pans. Cleans easily too; no scrubbing. Highly recommend and hope WS carries more Emile Henry products. Worth the money and I now purchase EH items as shower gifts and included some of my favorite recipes!
Pros: even cooking, amazingly easy to clean, attractive, oven freezer and microwave safe, keeps food warm, Versatile
Review 8 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kittyb
Waldwick, NJ
June 23, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible Baker
June 23, 2012
Emile Henry is easy to clean and bakes evenly. I use for brownies, lasagna, etc. It's great for pot luck dinners. Just make sure you get it back...The price point may seem high, but well worth it...
Review 9 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MPReader
May 12, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice but fragile
May 12, 2012
This is a beautiful piece, I got the pometerra color which is absolutely gorgeous. I did end up returning it because it chipped slightly on the side when I was putting it away and it hit against the side of the door. We're not rough on dishes but unless you're really super careful with your bakeware, consider a sturdier piece like Pillivuyt.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
ScottishTerrierLover
Virginia
Posted August 21, 2014
Top 50 Contributor
I have two loaf pans, square baker and rectangular baker and have found all to be heavy sturdy bakeware. One of my loaf pans accidentally banged the kitchen sink and survived without a chip or scrap.
0points
Customer avatar
norcalshopper
San Francisco
Posted July 16, 2014
Have not found mine to be fragile
I have several Emile Henry pieces including this size. Two pieces I have had over 10 years. I have never found them to be fragile. Not one chip yet. I am careful in the way I store my pieces.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)