Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker

Re-created from a popular 19th-century design in Emile Henry's archives, this baker - like all of the company's pieces - is crafted from Burgundian clay that retains heat exceptionally well, so it's ideal for keeping foods warm for serving. The rich glaze, applied by hand, resists scratches and won't crack with time. Use the baker for roasting meats and vegetables, baking gratins and preparing fruit cobblers and other baked desserts. Microwavable; freezer, oven and dishwasher safe. 12 1/2" x 9" x 2 3/4" high. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
26 of 28(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
Review 1 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CJ3167
,Redford
,MI
Michigan
December 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Baker
December 14, 2013
I have wanted a very nice Ceramic set of Bake Ware for quite a while and have admired Emile Henry for some time. So I decided that it was time to upgrade and treat myself/family and I ordered this Rectangular Baker in Caramel and I love it! The color is simply beautiful, it's well made and handles well, offers multiple uses and even cooking! I look forward to cooking many dishes in this pan!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 2 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enthous
,St. Paul
,MN
St. Paul, MN
June 8, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Real Winner
June 8, 2013
My local store was having a one-day sale, and I went there just for this pan, which I got in white. They were so beautiful I also picked up the square baker in red. I knew I'd like them for lasagna, enchiladas and casseroles, but I wondered about baking in them. I usually use metal pans, and thought it might take longer to get this heavy ceramic pan up to temp. The first thing I baked in it was a rhubarb coffeecake I've been making for years. It took no longer to bake, and it baked very evenly. I don't think I ever had such a beautiful even crust on this recipe. And it looked so great in this dish rather than a boring metal 9x13 pan. Bonus: this cake is really good warm, and it stayed warm much longer in this dish.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile
Cons: Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Enthous
St. Paul, MN
Posted June 12, 2013
Update
WS won't let me update my review, so I'm adding a comment. I think the baking time actually is shorter in this pan, perhaps because of the residual cooking that happens due to the heat retention of the pan. My cake actually was a little over baked after it cooled down. I plan on cutting the baking time in these pans and taking things out a little underdone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
audifan
,CONOVER
,NC
May 15, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nothing Ever Changes !
May 15, 2013
As usual, the very best is from Williams
Sonoma. This Emile Henry baker exceeds
the competition in resisting both heat and
staining. Exclusive, as is it's 2 tone color.
Thank you (as usual) W. S.
Review 4 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
barkingdog
,Buckeye
,AZ
January 2, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful baking pan
January 2, 2013
I already have the Emile Henry loaf pan in Caramel which sold me on the whole collection. They are beautiful pieces as well as fully functional. This baker is my 2nd purchase in the line and i couldn't be happier. Great looks and great quality. The square baker is next on my list!
Review 5 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katrina1220
August 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful!
August 8, 2012
I ordered this baker in the caramel color, and it is just lovely! The color isn't completely uniform; it is darker in some areas than others. But that just adds to the beautiful artisan quality. It is a sturdy piece that I know will be used for many years to come. Can't wait to buy the 8 inch square baker next!
Review 6 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuckyLinda
,Chicago
,IL
Chicago, IL
July 10, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of the best pieces of cookware you can own
July 10, 2012
I can't say enough about how wonderful cooking/baking with Emile Henry products has been. I bought this product about 2 years ago and recently acquired a second baker too. I had no idea it would be my primary baking dish! It still looks brand new. Food cooks evenly, it's just the right depth and it retains the heat and really does keep the food warm for serving. I love the versatility of Emile Henry baking pans. Cleans easily too; no scrubbing. Highly recommend and hope WS carries more Emile Henry products. Worth the money and I now purchase EH items as shower gifts and included some of my favorite recipes!
Pros: even cooking, amazingly easy to clean, attractive, oven freezer and microwave safe, keeps food warm, Versatile
Review 7 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kittyb
Waldwick, NJ
June 23, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible Baker
June 23, 2012
Emile Henry is easy to clean and bakes evenly. I use for brownies, lasagna, etc. It's great for pot luck dinners. Just make sure you get it back...The price point may seem high, but well worth it...
Review 8 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MPReader
May 12, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice but fragile
May 12, 2012
This is a beautiful piece, I got the pometerra color which is absolutely gorgeous. I did end up returning it because it chipped slightly on the side when I was putting it away and it hit against the side of the door. We're not rough on dishes but unless you're really super careful with your bakeware, consider a sturdier piece like Pillivuyt.
Review 9 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KTCook
Rochester, MN
November 1, 2011
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rectangular Baker
November 1, 2011
I'm very excited about this baker! I've used it several times; both times the food baked evenly and stayed warm for serving. It looks fabulous on the table as well. I would definitely recommend this product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Color
Review 10 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
charlieo
Moultrie, GA
October 11, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful bakeware
October 11, 2011
We have several pieces of this bakeware and they are our favorites. The food turns out moist and the pans clean easily. We always get comments on the beautiful presentation when using these pans. The only downside is the lack of "ruffled" edge pan choices. They are our favorite!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Strength, Versatile
Review 11 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hopflower
Bay Area
July 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another Emile Henry Success
July 29, 2011
After having bought and used a few other items in the Emile Henry Artisan line, I had to replace a baker which was just too old and frankly, was unsightly due to over-baked residue; it looked unclean. I was tired of this, even though I faithfully scrubbed it after each use. I replaced it with the caramel Artisan Rectangular Baker, and have not looked back. Easy to clean, bakes like a dream, and looks nice. Wouldn't you know it though; days after I got mine in the lovely caramel colour, they offered the green I first had in individual casseroles. It has not been offered for ages; but the caramel does look nice even with the green dishes.
Highly recommended for a lovely casserole or lasagna, etc. You won't be disappointed.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 12 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Luveasycooking
Tahuya, WA
March 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Baking Dish
March 21, 2011
This dish is not only very attractive, but it bakes wonderfully and cleans up like a dream. It just has that feel of excellent quality when you just hold it, too. I used it first to bake a layered tortilla/bean/cheese/enchilada sauce dish and it turned out great. My husband loved it, and I loved the pan because nothing stuck and it baked evenly.
Review 13 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PlanoTX
Plano, TX
January 31, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lovely Dish
January 31, 2011
I read reviews all the time, so thought I should return the favor. This is a lovely baker. It cooks beautifully, and as others have said, it cleans up so easily. No elbow grease required to wipe off splatters or dark cooked on food. The price may put you off, but it is a really great addition to a cook's kitchen that will last for years and years.
Review 14 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
onecook
phila PA
January 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
beauty & function together forever
January 24, 2011
Can only repeat everything I said about the Artisan Loaf Pan - it's beautiful, bakes evenly with no hotspots and clean-up is a breeze (in the spirit of full disclosure, I do use Pam, but still...). Love the double handles. And again, it's so beautiful, even mac & cheese becomes a gourmet dinner. Will never go back to metal or pyrex....
Review 15 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MsCJ
Salt Lake City, UT
December 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best dish for baking rolls
December 19, 2010
Each one of my children get this baking dish when they get married. They are used to using mine (I have two of them) when they come over for dinner. They love this baking dish as much as I do. A must in every kitchen!
Review 16 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bestgrandma
South Bend, IN
October 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love Emile Henry
October 31, 2010
I have other Emile Henry pieces and really like them all. I do wish these particular pieces were just and inch or two bigger though. When I cook for the whole family a larger casserole is needful. Even so, I love that the food stays hot is these dishes.
Review 17 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chezza
Portland, OR
June 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Perfect Baker
June 11, 2010
We received this in Nougat as a wedding present and love it! It's rustic and modern at the same time. It has made amazing casseroles, bread puddings and pot pies. It is my go-to baking dish.
Review 18 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1758
Iowa
February 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite Baking Pan
February 20, 2010
This is one of my favorite baking
dishes purchased. It clean up with
little effort. I had purchased a similar
pan several years ago but it cracked
due to me placing a cold item in the pan
then placing it in the oven. So lesson
learned, have your food items at room
temperature before placing them in
the oven.
Review 19 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gigilady
oak hill wv
December 21, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my favorite casserole for thanksgiving dressing
December 21, 2009
I ordered this casserole to bake my chestnut and mushroom dressing in. I am very impressed with the quality of this piece. It also looked beautiful on our thanksgiving buffet!!
Review 20 for Emile Henry Artisan Rectangular Baker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JudyDee
San Jose, CA
December 4, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-24points
0of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Baking
December 4, 2009
The color of glaze on dish is not consistant. Did clean up well.
page1 2 next