Egg Topper

Simplify serving soft-boiled eggs in the shell with our scissors-style stainless-steel egg topper. The upper blade fits over the tapered end of the egg, while the lower blade neatly snips a perfect circle from the top. Chicken-shaped handles add a whimsical touch.
Average Customer Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
4 of 11(36%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Egg Topper
Review 1 for Egg Topper
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DeeGee
,MA
Southeastern MA
January 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It works if you use it correctly
January 12, 2014
I think this adds an elegant touch to serving soft boiled eggs - just tap the little point on shell - if you first slide the topper over the egg, you will be able to see where the slice will be. Tap on the side of the shell to break slighty, then put the topper over the egg and close, as if using scissors.
Pros: Design
Review 2 for Egg Topper
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
staysie
Allentown, PA
June 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It works, you just need to know how to use it
June 24, 2011
It works just find, but direction should be given to tap the egg top first then it works. I give it a decent review, it gets the job done.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jquerque
Albuquerque
Posted August 19, 2011
If I wanted to tap the egg before I used the $40.00 egg topper, I would not have been tapping the tops out of soft boiled eggs for the last 20 years. The tap around method works great and is free.
-2points
0of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Egg Topper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
alexva
alexandria va
June 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Agreed--it DOESN'T work!
June 20, 2011
Yes--it is very attractive but it does not work. It either crushes the egg and you have a sloppy mess or the hole is makes is too small. This is overpriced even if it were free!
Review 4 for Egg Topper
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mfnh
NH
May 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It does work
May 23, 2011
The topper does work it you tap the egg before using. It looks great and preforms
as expected. just tap the silly egg first!
Review 5 for Egg Topper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jquerque
Albuquerque
November 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does not work, pretty, but not a good buy
November 26, 2010
I agree with everyone's reviews. I bought this last Christmas for my boyfriend. It doesn't work. If it cuts the shell top without mashing the shell, the hole is too small to get even the smallest of soft egg spoons into.
Very pretty design. I didn't want to return it after using it. But I should have.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Zizi
Albuquerque
Posted April 14, 2011
Missing a step in the process
See the little pointed part on one side of the "ring" that is placed on top of the egg? You must first TAP the egg with that pointed edge to create a small crack (where the ring will lie), so that your scissors will cleanly cut through.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Egg Topper
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
PATTYANNE
Illinois
October 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It makes a nice gift
October 23, 2010
I had one as a little girl. Haven't seen one in years. It works great if you use small or medium size eggs.
Review 7 for Egg Topper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
emma70
Portland
July 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unfortunately does not work
July 14, 2010
Have to concur with everyone else here. I had bought it before I read any reviews (it is beautiful), but it simply does not work.
At best, it cracks the top of the egg off in a messy way (and you have to work hard to make it do even that). Even if it HAD cut as it is supposed to, the opening would have been too small. I am going to return it. The great thing about Willliams-sonoma is that they usually do not give you a hard time for returning smth that does not work.
Review 8 for Egg Topper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ehomecook
Houston, TX
January 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
If i could give it a zero I would.
January 13, 2010
It never cuts the tops of the eggs right and always malfunctions. I have tried to use it many times and it always ends in failure. I would not recommend this product to anyone.
Review 9 for Egg Topper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hoosierfan
Indiana
March 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pretty but it doesn't work
March 5, 2009
Unfortunately this DOES NOT work as well is the "old world" egg toppers worked. It looks good, but the reality is it just doesn't work.
Review 10 for Egg Topper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NYBob
Long Island, New York
January 18, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice Looking, but Non Functional
January 18, 2009
While this egg topper looks like the vintage egg toppers from Germany, the makers did not manage to copy the cutting edge. While the vintage ones do a credible job, this one does not. It is almost impossible to cut the egg without breaking it. On top of that, the hole for the egg is smaller than the old ones, yet it is being sold in the US where eggs are ussually large through jumbo. Don't waste your money on this expensive item. It is only useful for show.
Review 11 for Egg Topper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Claudette
Santa Clara CA
September 4, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just a pretty face
September 4, 2008
This egg topper is beautiful, but it doesn't work - instead of cutting the egg top, it mashes it. It's a pretty conversation piece, though.