Egg Poacher Cup

Place this poacher into gently simmering water, drop a cracked egg into its perforated bowl and within minutes you'll have a perfectly shaped poached egg. 18/8 stainless steel. Long handle facilitates easy removal. Works best with medium to jumbo-sized eggs. Dishwasher safe. A Williams-Sonoma Exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
14 of 22(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Egg Poacher Cup
Review 1 for Egg Poacher Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
drdaddy
March 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Egg Cups!
March 30, 2014
Over the years I have tried egg poachers and different egg poaching cups. These work every time and are easy to use. They are stainless steel so they do not rust. I have never sprayed mine and have never had an egg stick or had a problem with them. I am figuring that folks that are having problems with these poaching cups are not using them correctly. They are not hard to use or clean.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
pmwoodward
Wilmington, NC
Posted April 2, 2014
how do you use these egg poachers?
Hi. I do not get a good result with these poachers ever, so maybe I am not using them correctly. Can you tell me exactly what you do to have your poached eggs come out so perfect? When I have done it, it gets so messy, because you can't just have the water only underneath the holes in each individual poacher, because then you cannot put a lid on the pan in order to steam the top of the egg as well. And when I try to submerge the egg poacher to the point the water is way above the top of the whole thing and in order to cook the whole egg, the egg gets messy. I even thought about breaking off the handles so that I could put a lid on like you do for one minute when you are poaching by dropping the eggs in the water. Please help! :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Egg Poacher Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LenaMari
,Miami
,FL
September 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bang for your buck
September 8, 2013
Love this product. I now make poached eggs every weekend. Hint: spread some butter on the cup so that the clean up is easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 3 for Egg Poacher Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Galray
,Houston
,TX
May 6, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poached Egg Cup Review
May 6, 2013
Never have I had a kitchen tool that would poach an egg, these cups are great. But, I got tired of trying to poach eggs, and have them stick to the bottom of a good pan. I simply spray a little oil on the little cups and carefully lower them into boiling water. Then I crack an egg and place it in the cup. I like to poach eggs and place them on top of crushed crackers and a paddy of butter.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Egg Poacher Cup
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Theherm
,FL
March 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Egg Poacher cup needs coating
March 30, 2013
This is a good product. Economical as you don't have to buy a whole set. The problem is that even if I use oil before (I rubbed the entire poacher with olive oil), and put vinegar in the water, clean up is still difficult. This needs a green (environmentally friendly) stick free coating. Of course that would increase the cost but who has time for scrubbing in this fast-paced world? I only bought one, so I'll probably wait until it's perfected to buy a set. Also the product should come with instructions on cooking time, etc.
Pros: Durable, Design, keeps eggs together
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 5 for Egg Poacher Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dalmation
,DELRAY BEACH
,FL
March 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Egg Poacher
March 28, 2013
Cannot figure how this item works.
Have tried several ways, egg never cooks
evenly.
Review 6 for Egg Poacher Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
midlifewife
,Friendship
,MD
March 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best bet for a lovely presentation
March 22, 2013
I have been using these for over a year and I love them! There are 6 in my family so I purchased 12 and can poach as many as I need at once. I do spray with PAM and put a little vinegar in barely simmering water. I use a rubber spatula to gently lift and turn egg over onto plates or toast or english muffind etc...I prefer this to traditional round cups that had to have melted butter in them...and I can poach a single egg in my tiny 1 quart sauce pan. Clean up is easy...I put them in the dishwasher...I stack them and lay them on their side in a drawer- easy storage! Also easy to grab out of hot water because the handles are long. If you regularly prepare poached aggs for 1 - many, I highly recommend these.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight, pretty presentation of egg
Review 7 for Egg Poacher Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nefgaf
,Orrington
,ME
February 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this little thing!
February 2, 2013
I got this in my Christmas stocking and finally used it today. It's great! I sprayed it with a little Pam before putting it in the water and it worked perfect. I took the pan off the heat, put the egg poacher in and then dropped the egg into it. I had very little egg white floating in the water. I put the pan back on the heat and used a spoon to gently move the egg around a little so it wouldn't get stuck. No problems at all! It even cleaned up easy. Nothing was stuck to it that didn't come right off.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 8 for Egg Poacher Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Vetteman1
,Mayfield Hts.
,Oh
December 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Egg Poacher Cup
December 6, 2012
This product was not easy to use, it half cooked the egg.I sprayed the egg poacher before using it but it was still hard to get the egg out. This truly is not a good product. Please save your money.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean
Review 9 for Egg Poacher Cup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
suzcee
,santa rosa valley
,CA
November 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love poaching the perfect egg
November 5, 2012
This little item is terrific. It eliminates the use of any fat or oil and produces a clean, freshly poached egg every time.
It is perfectly weighted so that it stands firm in the boiling water. The egg stays within the confines of the cup and turns out well formed. Comes out in an oval shape and has a nice presentation. Cleaning is a bit of a pain, but I just use my fingers to rub off sticky cooked egg white remains. It is much better than having to rely on a toxic non-stick surface
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Time-saver, Size
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Egg Poacher Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FrequentShopaholic
,Kankakee
,IL
September 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Disappointing!
September 5, 2012
I had big hopes for this item. Unfortunately, there are holes on the bottom of the egg cup and all the egg white ends up in the water. You end up with a nicely poached egg yellow and poached egg white floating in the pan. I'll be returning these.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Store, negative end results
Review 11 for Egg Poacher Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1776
,Claremont
,NH
August 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Useless-Don't waste your money
August 25, 2012
Very disappointed in this product. It's flimsier that it looks in the photo and is hard to store. I tried using this at least 4 times and oiled it more and more each time and the egg still stuck. When trying to remove the egg from the cup you end up breaking the yoke. If you know how to poach and egg the old fashion way then do it. Don't waste your money on this.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store
Review 12 for Egg Poacher Cup
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
glue
,Bentonville
,ar
Bella Vista, Arkansas
July 20, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
a little simplier
July 20, 2012
It's o.k. actually its about the same as boiling water and droping your egg in, if you get this gaget be sure you spray it with non-stick spray first!
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 13 for Egg Poacher Cup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ceecee2
,FL
July 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Egg Poacher Cup
July 16, 2012
The first time I used the cup I didn't like that the egg stuck to the cup. The next time I used it, I sprayed the cup with oil and it worked just fine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 14 for Egg Poacher Cup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KathyCapeCod
,Barnstable
,ma
June 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Took A Few Tries
June 19, 2012
We have weekend guests in the summertime.Sunday morning is eggs benedict day. My first attempt proved disastrous: eggs stuck to cup, hard to wash etc.Decided to give it another shot with more success. Water is just simmering (not boiling), one inch or so higher than egg, add 1 or 2 tbs vinegar . Spray cups BOTH SIDES with spray for grilling Use a spoon to gently loosen the egg around the edges, it slips out easily. I cook the egg just underdone, put in ice bath and store in frig for next day. Then gently heat in hot water to finish cooking process and warm. (No cups needed for this part).
Again, lots of not so great results in the beginning, but now these work great for me.
P.S.Make my hollandaise ahead of time and grilled meat (we prefer thinly sliced black forest ham to the typical canadian bacon). Sunday morning, just nuke the ham and hollandaise, reheat the eggs and toast the english muffin. Makes for a much nicer time spent with my guests...
Pros: Time-saver
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
FrequentShopaholic
Kankakee, IL
Posted September 9, 2012
Way Too Much Work!
Although your ideas might work, having to add vinegar, put undercooked eggs in an ice bath, then gently heating in hot water to finish the cooking process is not my idea of being a Time-Saver when I just want a simple poached egg.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Egg Poacher Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shadow1
,Hastings
,MN
May 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works Very Well
May 2, 2012
you can even hard cook the egg.
was pretty interesting to use, and worked great for poached eggs
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 16 for Egg Poacher Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CatieMc
,Omaha
,NE
February 24, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Poaching Cups
February 24, 2012
I bought these as an alternative to purchasing the expensive pot and inserts. They work great. I definitely recommend spraying with some PAM first.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 17 for Egg Poacher Cup
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
PatriciaM
,Hilton
,NY
Hilton, NY
February 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Okay, but not great
February 19, 2012
In the past I have always pouched an egg by dropping it in the water. Thought these pouacher cups would be nice for poaching more than one egg at a time, which they are. However, I was disappointed in how badly they stuck to the cup ultimately breaking the yoke trying to remove it. And to clean them, it took quite a bit of elbow grease to remove the stuck on egg. I'll try using a spray coating next time, but since they're put in boiling water, I doubt it will be effective.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean, difficult to remove egg
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
PatriciaM
Hilton, NY
Posted February 23, 2012
Always simmer
I've always simmered (never boil) and add a little white vinegar. I didn't boil this time either when trying these poachers. I will however try a little spray oil. That might do the trick. A neat little trick if you don't use the poacher is to get a little whirlpool going in the simmering water before you drop the egg. Helps to keep the whites of the egg from spreading.
0points
Customer avatar
SheTurtle
Greenbelt, MD
Posted February 21, 2012
How is what matters
When I read this review, it was immediately apparent why you were having these problems. Poached eggs should always be done in barely simmering water, no matter the method. Boiling water will make them stick to the cup. A little cooking oil on the inside of the cup would facilitate quick release.
A shame that instructions were not included.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 18 for Egg Poacher Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Johnny0791
,Lombard
,IL
January 25, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poached Eggs
January 25, 2012
They work great. Spray them with a non- stick oil spray and have the water barely simmering, add 1 or 2 TBS. of white vinegar and rince them quickly in warm water after poaching.
You'll be happy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 19 for Egg Poacher Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
breakfast
January 20, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
waste of money
January 20, 2012
used only once. bought this to poach several eggs at a time instead of swirling just one. eggs stuck to the poacher and bottom of the egg cooked fast than the top even though I had 1 inch water covering the top. So that the whites were runny on top and the yolk was cooked through. Heat probably got conducted from the poacher touching the bottom of the pan and heated the bottom more than the top. egg also did not look nice as the whites floated and did not stay in the poacher. Useless!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, Difficult to Store
Review 20 for Egg Poacher Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cjv1
,San Jose
,CA
January 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice tool at a great price.
January 4, 2012
Keeps the egg together and compact while poaching. Almost the same results as another product costing about $100.00.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
page1 2 next