Egg-Design Hard Cooked Egg Molds

Turn ordinary hardboiled eggs into edible works of art. Inspired by the playful foods found in Japanese bento boxes, our clever molds make it fun and easy to create eye-catching eggs for lunch boxes or party appetizer trays. These sturdy plastic molds work like magic on freshly cooked eggs. Simply place a hot, peeled hardboiled egg in the mold and snap the lid shut, then place in ice water to set. In just a few minutes, you've got a perfectly molded egg in your favorite fun shape. Set of 4 includes a bunny, bear, heart and star. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
7 of 10(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Egg-Design Hard Cooked Egg Molds
Review 1 for Egg-Design Hard Cooked Egg Molds
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KitchenHappy
March 3, 2014
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
SO EASY, SO FUN!
March 3, 2014
These little molds create magic in minutes. If you really want to WOW slip one of the molded/shaped eggs into a used shell as you seem to be removing the shell ~ ooooh! such excitement and fun for little ones. Fantastic for deviled eggs that no one forgets (I agree with the wish for multiples of the star and heart mold for production). Tip for easy removal of hard boiled eggs, and I use fresh, laid that day from our hens which is even trickier ~ pierce the end of the egg before dropping into boiling water. It allows just enough moisture in to have a perfect slip off of the shell. To mold, stand egg upright and snap on the top ~ perfect every time! Hoping these last for a long time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design, just fun
Review 2 for Egg-Design Hard Cooked Egg Molds
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GoSioux13
,Minnetrista
,MN
October 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DO NOT BUY!
October 25, 2013
I am a very loyal Pottery Barn/Williams-Sonoma customer and love to try their new things...however this one should be avoided at all costs! Save your money! I have a son who loves boiled eggs so I tried MANY times to get this to work. You have to boil your egg and peel it, THEN force it into a shaped mold and wait. It doesn't work and every time my eggs stuck to the mold. I tried different sizes and brands of eggs, and I finally tried non-stick cooking spray. It never worked, though the spray did keep the eggs from sticking. They are impossible to clean as well. I even attempted to use half of a mold as one would if a poaching dish - nothing worked! Great idea - terrible product execution. Too bad. Dissappointed WS would carry such an inferior product, though they were very willing to return it and didn't seem surprised to see it come back!
Pros: fun idea
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store, didn't work at all!, not gender neutral, "molding" takes alot of extra time, eggs always stuck to mold
Review 3 for Egg-Design Hard Cooked Egg Molds
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CNpurchases
,Davis
,CA
Davis, CA
August 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't purchase
August 11, 2013
I was excited to create creative hard boiled eggs for my grandson. The product is awful. The eggs do not look like the forms and if you refrigerate the eggs and use them the next day, they loss any shape that they had.
I am very dissatisfied with this product and would never recommend it to anyone.
Cons: Quality, Inaccurate, doesn't create the product that is advertised
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
PDXMom
Portland, OR
Posted October 11, 2013
Ice Bath
Haven't bought these here so I'm not sure if they came with clear directions. But you need to put the eggs in when they are piping hot. After securing them shut, immediately put them in an ice bath to set. The you can keep them in the fridge in the mold for later use. This is a traditional Japanese item that is used for making bento box lunches.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Egg-Design Hard Cooked Egg Molds
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NextDoorFoodie
,Morgantown
,WV
May 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fun and easy
May 12, 2013
These molds are easy to use. Make sure to use extra-large eggs as stated in the directions. Also, using eggs that are older (but not expired) peel out of the shell easier. I do, however, wish that I could just purchase the stars and hearts separately. I'd love to have several of these two shapes because they make the perfect deviled eggs when cut in half and filled with a pasty bag and star tip. The hearts for Valentines Day and the stars for 4th of July and New Years or Christmas (or any other occasion!)
Pros: Easy to Use
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Egg-Design Hard Cooked Egg Molds
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pachouli
,Westminster
,CA
Westminster, CA
December 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Treat for Breakfast
December 13, 2012
These molds work very well, my granddaughter just loves them for breakfast, I would defintely recommend them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design
Review 6 for Egg-Design Hard Cooked Egg Molds
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AussieGirl11
,Lloydminster
,AB
July 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cute way to add a healthy snack for school lunches
July 25, 2012
I have owned this product for about 6 months - and I was a little skeptical when I first bought it as to how it was going to work out. It was easy to use and the shapes turn out great! The eggs I use have always fitted nicely - no issues with side leakage. I have bought another set as a gift and my friend's daughter just loves getting them in her lunch! I occasionally sneak one into my husband's lunch kit much to his dismay! It is certainly more time consuming than just peeling hard-boiled eggs alone ... but not by much ... the kids really enjoy it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Review 7 for Egg-Design Hard Cooked Egg Molds
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mommymc
,seattle
,wa
March 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I LOVE those egg Molds !
March 31, 2012
This is a great product ! Yes, it does exactly what it Should ! I plan to order few more sets for the use of the church ministry.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Egg-Design Hard Cooked Egg Molds
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
,Meridian
,ID
December 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Disappointing
December 22, 2011
I used extra large eggs as the instructions suggested and got very poor results. The eggs squished out the sides terribly and they were hard to get closed. When the eggs came out of the molds, they started to split in half the longer they sat. The hinges look very fragile and don't look like they will last very long with use. The star looks okay when done but the faces on the other characters don't look so good.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, Fragile
Review 9 for Egg-Design Hard Cooked Egg Molds
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bioterror
September 30, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does Exactly What it Should
September 30, 2011
Its completely easy, and every time, I think there's no way that egg's going to fit in there, it always works! They always come out great looking. But don't leave them in the mold overnight without opening it once first, after it's set. The sides will stick. Other than that, perfect.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Egg-Design Hard Cooked Egg Molds
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Luchetti
San Francisco, CA
September 1, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
fun way to give kids a healthy snack
September 1, 2011
This is such a great product. I followed the directions exactly as it appears on the back of the box and it worked perfectly. The 4 year old helped me unmold the eggs and loved how they turned out.
This will definitely be used a lot to make hard boiled eggs for school lunch.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design