Ebelskivers Cookbook

Discover all the scrumptious flavors of ebelskivers, the puffy Danish pancakes that have become a Williams-Sonoma favorite. This cookbook offers more than 40 recipes that take ebelskivers from morning to midnight, with breakfast flavors such as Spiced Apple and Maple-Nut; savory bites like Fig & Prosciutto and Herbed Goat Cheese; and sweet desserts such as Molten Chocolate ebelskivers. Also included are how-to photos and steps for perfecting your technique. Hardcover, 112 pages.
Average Customer Rating:
4.582 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
50 of 55(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Ebelskivers Cookbook
Review 1 for Ebelskivers Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
grammyjan
,Kirkland
,WA
December 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great recipes
December 21, 2012
I purchased the electric pan, which made the cooking process very easy. For the girls only neighborhood Christmas party I made the molten chocolate "skivers" - a real hit!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 2 for Ebelskivers Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mamasanh
,Emeryville
,CA
Emeryville, CA
March 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great recipes!
March 11, 2012
I bought the cookbook to get a good recipe for the basic batter, but this book offers many wonderful variations and ideas.
If you're a fan of ebelskivers, you'll love this handy book :-)
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 3 for Ebelskivers Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KTMC
,Cincinnati
,OH
January 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great ideas
January 6, 2012
This recipe book gives lots of great ideas for new creations. Love all the color photos. I like that there are a few simple batter recipes that you start with and use for all the recipes in the book. Great for someone that has never made the Ebelskivers before.
Pros: Size, Design, Easy to Use
Review 4 for Ebelskivers Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mebby
,Oshkosh
,WI
October 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ebelskivers Cookbook
October 26, 2011
I really like this cookbook. It has a great variety of recipes that are easy to follow. The are so many options and they spur you on to be even more creative!!
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 5 for Ebelskivers Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jen
Orlando, Florida
June 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lots of interesting choices
June 8, 2011
Have made blueberry or apple ebelskivers for years; this cookbook is fascinating...so many other ideas and appetizers and dessert options..can't wait to try them. I love cookbooks and I love ebelskivers. So this is a good match! I recommend it.
Pros: Quality, Versatile
Review 6 for Ebelskivers Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rbwm
Mobile, AL
June 1, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+20points
20of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Table of Contents
June 1, 2011
SIMPLE EBELSKIVERS
1) classic 2) crunchy cinnamon 3) maple-nut 4) chocolate chip 5) coconut 6) honey-glazed buttermilk 7) streusel-topped 8) lemon-poppy seed 9) iced gingerbread 10) corn cakes w/ blueberry compote
SWEET TREATS
1) cherry-almond 2) double-blackberry 3) raspberry jam-filled jelly 4) spiced apple filling 5) banana-rum 6) orange cream 7) strawberry shortcake 8) PB&J 9) sticky toffee 10) pumpkin pie 11) chocolate truffle 12) ebelskivers, s'mores style 13) salted caramel-pecan 14) molten chocolate
SAVORY SNACKS
1) herb & goat cheese 2) ebelskiver popovers 3) walnut, pear & blue cheese pancakes 4) miniature stove-top cheese souffles 5) spicy corn ebelskivers 6) potato & green onion pancakes 7) mushroom & pancetta 8) spinach & feta pancakes 9) ebelskivers, crab cake style 10) tomato-stuffed polenta cakes 11) chicken bites with creamy dressing 12) smoked salmon & dill ebelskivers 13) fig & prosciutto ebelskivers 14) two-cheese puffs with marinara
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ksk0101
Las Vegas, NV
Posted June 9, 2011
Sounds delish!!
I will have to definitely check this out!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Ebelskivers Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JudiT65
Greenville, SC
May 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice Little Cookbook (Americanized)
May 30, 2011
The cookbook has some nice recipies for general run-of-the-mill aebelskivers but as a half blood Dane, I find them lacking in authenticness. I will try some of the recipies but will probably "doctor" some of them up a little more like my Grandmother's recipes from Denmark. A good starter cookbook though.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Size, Versatile
Review 8 for Ebelskivers Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Karmi
Central Florida
May 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Well Organized & Easy to Use
May 5, 2011
I was hesitant to buy this book because I have so many cookbooks but found interesting recipes and suggestions for uses. It made me "dust off" my Ebelskiver Pan and delight my friends and family once again. I will add that my Swedish grandmother loved the little pillows with fillings so I know she would have enjoyed this beautiful little book.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Size, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Karmi
Central Florida
Posted May 10, 2011
After Reading My Review
My Review stated that the Ebelskiver Cookbook was an Advanced Level Book. I don't recall checking that category and don't feel that the book is difficult to understand or use at all. In fact, the directions are easy to follow and, other than flipping, the technique is not difficult. Making them is a bit time consuming but keeping them in a warm oven while making the rest seems to work for our family.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Ebelskivers Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rapunzel
Dallas,Pennsylvania
February 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loved the Book!
February 19, 2011
I made one recipe so far which came out well. I love the book and will try more recipes when I have time,easy to follow directions,lay out is good, Recipes seem really good.
Review 10 for Ebelskivers Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
retirednurse
U P of Michigan.
February 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ebelskiver Cookbook
February 17, 2011
Our adopted grandma got us hooked on Ebelskivers(our kids called them pancake balls). When grandma died over 20 years ago, her ebelskiver pan was given to our family-little did we know that there were more recipes than what we had. Had to have the book. Love it.
Review 11 for Ebelskivers Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SohoMojo
New England
January 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the variety
January 12, 2011
Great recipes but too few. You can also search the internet for a good selection.
Review 12 for Ebelskivers Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superchef
St. Louis, MO
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pancake heaven cookbook!
January 5, 2011
This cookbook is fantastic for making a variety of ebelskivers. An excellent purchase!
Review 13 for Ebelskivers Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mousemama
Washington State
December 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful book
December 31, 2010
I got this book at the store to give me ideas on how to use my newly acquired Ebelskiver pan. This cookbook is so pretty, its got pictures with all the recipes, the writing is comprehensive and easy to understand without being "simple". Its just a gorgeous book with so many ideas on how to serve Ebelskivers and I would highly recommend this to anyone that also owns or wants to own the Ebelskiver pan. Granted you could look for recipes online but with this book you have it all on hand in one beautifully written edition.
May I add that if there are kids you are cooking for, this is sure to be a hit, I am speaking from experience!
Review 14 for Ebelskivers Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JJIdaho
Boston, MA
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice Variety of Recipes!
December 30, 2010
I've tried MANY of the different (sweet AND savory!) recipes, and the family has loved EVERY one! I'd definitely recommend this to anyone who has purchased the ebilskivers pan!
Review 15 for Ebelskivers Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hirsch
Brandon, T
December 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent recipes
December 29, 2010
This is a great recipe book. Ebelskivers are truly delicious and everyone of these recipes is delicious. This book was for a gift to someone who tried the ebelskivers at our house. Well worth the money. I do a lot of gourmet cooking.
Review 16 for Ebelskivers Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gourmetgoddess
Columbia, MD
December 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
yum yum yumf
December 26, 2010
These are so easy to make and very versatile. I love them with cinnamon in the mix and nutella in the center or sausage balls with fresh rosemary. I even made them with a savory blend of seasonings and a chuck of cheese in the middle in place of biscuits this holiday. They were a hit. Takes a little time to learn how to flip hem without making a mess but the video by WS helps tremendously. Got it for 19.00 during the one day sales.
Review 17 for Ebelskivers Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
auntbarb
seattle, wa
December 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
ebelskivers cookbook
December 24, 2010
recipes are easy to read and follow. cookbook is very nicely illustrated. the two recipes I have tried have been wonderful
Review 18 for Ebelskivers Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lakemist
Chicago, IL
December 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great recipies
December 21, 2010
This is filled with wonderful recipies and ideas. I'm glad I purchased it with the pancake pan.
Review 19 for Ebelskivers Cookbook
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
IzzyW
Boston, MA
December 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-8points
3of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not authentic, but caters to an American palate
December 13, 2010
Different taste-variations are attempted in this book, I would not want to try most of them.
An Æbleskive (pl. æbleskiver) to Danes is just a plain dough ball; you never fill it. So as long as you do not kid yourself that you are making something traditionally Danish or Scandinavian when trying out these recipes, knock yourself out.
The name means 'slices of apple', but they have actually never been made with - nor filled with - apples; the dough balls are a traditional, Christmas time dessert replacing an older, traditional dessert consisting of butter-fried apple slices - the old name merely stuck to the new dessert.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 20 for Ebelskivers Cookbook
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ginasf
San Francisco, CA
August 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-7points
2of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not authentic, but tasty
August 15, 2010
correct spelling: aebelskiver (the ae is actually a single additional letter in the danish alphabet)
close pronunciation: a bell ski wa
I lived in Denmark in the town of Kolding. I had the opportunity to eat these several times. Usually, on winter evenings with mulled wine. These were never served with any filling. Instead, they put granulated sugar and black current preserves on the side.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
IzzyW
Boston, MA
Posted December 13, 2010
close...
actually, it's spelled 'æbleskive' (pl. æbleskiver) - just like 'apple' ends with '-le' and not '-el' (i.e. appel)
Not that this is especially pertinent to reviewing this cookbook - nevertheless...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
page1 2 3 next