Rougie Duck Fat

Our rendered and filtered pure duck fat comes from Moulard ducks raised in Quebec. A good source of healthy unsaturated fatty acids, it offers ready-to-use convenience when making crispy fried potatoes, richly flavored sauteed vegetables, duck confit and more. Duck fat provides inimitable flavor and texture to foods when used for frying, roasting and sauteing. Rendered from Moulard ducks and filtered for purity. Takes the work out of using this delectable, versatile fat in your home kitchen. 11.2 oz. Made in Canada.
Average Customer Rating:
4.923 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Rougie Duck Fat
Review 1 for Rougie Duck Fat
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cooks4theluv
,Jefferson City
,Mo
November 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Holliday special
November 28, 2013
Every year I use this duck fat to make Turkey Confit. My family fights over the last morsel! It's not the most healthy dish but it's quit the indulgence for a once a year treat. It also makes great fried potatoes
Pros: Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 2 for Rougie Duck Fat
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rebwt
,Richmond
,VA
Richmond, VA
November 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect fried potatoes!!!!
November 8, 2013
If you have never had potatoes oven-fried in duck fat, you are missing an amazing treat!
Duck fat has a similar nutritional profile to olive oil, and since it has a high smoke point, it's great for frying. A little goes a long way, and you can strain and re-use it.
Its mild flavor makes it very adaptable in recipes that require sautéing.
Love the stuff!
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Healthy
Review 3 for Rougie Duck Fat
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
acookfromtc
,Traverse City
,MI
October 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this product!
October 12, 2013
The Rougie Duck Fat is worth every penny! The aroma and flavor is second to none. I've roasted potatoes and vegetables using it. No need to use a lot. Highly recommend.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 4 for Rougie Duck Fat
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't live without it!
July 26, 2013
I use this in the pan with butter for breakfast potatoes. I recently put a whole jar in my deep fryer with the canola oil and oh my those fries were amazing!!! I keep 3 in my pantry at all times and live in fear it will be discontinued.
Review 5 for Rougie Duck Fat
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PeatMoss
,New Haven
,CT
New Haven, CT
July 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Liquid Gold!
July 23, 2013
I use duck fat when braising chicken breasts or thighs and pork chops. Because duck fat doesn't burn at high temperatures, you can achieve a beautiful even browning of poultry or pork. It also is great for roasting potatoes. Never greasy and flavorful, I prefer to use duck fat rather than butter. In my local gourmet grocery, 1 oz. of duck fat costs $6.99! You can't beat the price offered by W&S.
Pros: Amount, Flavor, Healthy, great for braising
Review 6 for Rougie Duck Fat
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
debcaio
,oh
February 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best For Fried Potatoes
February 12, 2013
This is best way to the guilty pleasure of fried potatoes! I have shared the Rouge with family and friends and it is a universal hit. Take your time and add your favorite flavorings; mine are garlic, red peppers and thyme or rosemary, pair with grilled steak or chicken, a salad, good wine and enjoy!
There are other ways to put the duck fat to good use, but this is my favorite.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 7 for Rougie Duck Fat
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texanz34
,Ocala
,FL
February 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best tasting Fat to add to just about anything
February 6, 2013
Just a couple Tablespoons of Rougie Duck Fat is all you need to make exceptional Turkey burgers, roasted potatoes,biscuits, and Risotto to sigh over. Highly recommend to any cook or baker.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Cons: costly
Review 8 for Rougie Duck Fat
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rhonnda
,Portland
,OR
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smoother Than Butter
January 3, 2013
I've heard frying potatoes in duck fat is really good so I tried it... Just a couple tablespoon of the duck fat in a pan with thinly sliced potatoes and onions made a great side dish. The potatoes had great flavor and there was a noticeable silky feel.
I gave a jar to friends who are Chefs and they love it.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Amount
Review 9 for Rougie Duck Fat
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GenevieveB
,Milford
,CT
November 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product
November 25, 2012
I bought the duck fat to browned turkey legs prior to cooking. This product is wonderful and added great flavor. The turkey legs were brown and crispy. I recommend duck fat over other "browning agents"
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Rougie Duck Fat
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Schmeer
September 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great stuff
September 7, 2012
Crisps nicely. Made fantastic grilled cheese sandwich by adding some to the butter on bread. Only problem is that WS was out of it for about 6 weeks.
Pros: Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 11 for Rougie Duck Fat
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MzSpeedy
,Fayetteville
,NC
July 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Eats!
July 7, 2012
I'm so happy to have discovered duck fat! I use it when roasting potatoes, sauteing mushrooms and other vegetables. I've also seared different types of meats in this duck fat. It adds a wonderful flavor and a little goes a long way. The duck fat can also handle high heat temperatures. Thanks Williams-Sonoma for offering this high quality product at a great price!
Pros: Quality, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Rougie Duck Fat
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
June 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Adds a New Dimension to Old Faves
June 14, 2012
As others mentioned, this is perfect for fries or any potato dish. Fantastic for cooking onions, or duck fat pancakes, as well.
The flavor is amazing and holds well in the fridge. I will be buying this again and again. Once you try cooking with duck fat, you will experience the difference that people rave about.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Flavor
Review 13 for Rougie Duck Fat
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
frenchfryaddict
,Camden
,AR
February 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best French Fry Fat
February 16, 2012
Several chefs proclaimed Duck Fat to produce the most crispy and tasty fries ever. They're right, it cooks at very high heat-- yet it will take several jars to cook enough fries.
Pros: Flavor
Cons: Amount