Dualit New Generation Classic 2-Slice Toaster

Dualit has upgraded its iconic toaster with a setting for buns and bagels and a defrost setting for frozen bread. What hasn't changed is the superlative quality and design that have made Dualit famous: each toaster is still hand-assembled in England and built to last. Faster warm-up ensures perfect browning right from the first slice. Selector lets you heat only the number of slots you need. Defrost setting defrosts frozen bread before toasting. Bagel/Bun setting toasts one side while warming the other. Mechanical timer lets you get exactly the degree of toasting you prefer. Award-winning ProHeat elements are guaranteed for two years. Extra-wide slots to accommodate thick bread, English muffins and bagels. A crumb tray to simplify cleanup. Adjustable rear foot keeps it stable on uneven surfaces. Hand assembled in England.
Average Customer Rating:
3.647 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
10 of 17(59%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Dualit New Generation Classic 2-Slice Toaster
Review 1 for Dualit New Generation Classic 2-Slice Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RobinDensford
Texas
December 18, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fit for a Queen . . .
December 18, 2013
As a matter of fact, Queen Elizabeth has this toaster on her breakfast buffet.
Now, of course that shouldn't be the only reason to own this toaster. I purchased this toaster (without the bagel function) 15 years ago and it's still going strong. What's even more surprising is I paid about the same price for it then.
Remember to allow it to heat to temperature for a minute before using. But the toast is absolutely perfect.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Robin3
Portland, OR
Posted December 27, 2013
Cleaning is simple!
I have cleaned a house for a client every week for 3 years and her Dualit chrome toaster looks the same as when I began! All I do is wipe the surface with a gentle cleanser on a microfiber cloth and empty the crumb tray, which in her case I jusr tilt over onto the floor before vacuuming. The crumb tray slides in and out better than ANY I've ever come across and hardly anything sticks to it, unlike in other toasters. Once a month I wipe it off with the same cloth and volia'! The toaster is clean. Seriously, not sure what you are doing to your toaster but try a fine steel wool pad, moistened, to remove any cheese or butter or whatever is on your toaster. This should be the easiest toaster to clean which you've ever owned!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Dualit New Generation Classic 2-Slice Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
reallypink
,Marathon
,Fl
November 18, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DUALIT TOASTER
November 18, 2013
I have owned a 4 slice Dualit toaster for over 15 years. It is just as reliable today as it was the first week of purchasing it. Makes great toast!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
BellaHolly
Florida
Posted May 15, 2014
Irrelevant Review
Again, a toaster that was purchased 15 years ago does not mean that the new current models work well.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Dualit New Generation Classic 2-Slice Toaster
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NOLAfoodie
,Houston
,TX
Houton, Texas
October 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Looks great after 12 yrs but has issues :)
October 30, 2013
The toaster still works after all these years, but has always had some things that so could so be improved. My toaster has three slots, two for toast and one for sandwiches. The only way to get your first batch of toast to be the same as the second, is to set the timer for less time on the second batch because the cold toaster takes longer. My other real complaint is with the sandwich slot. It's not big enough to fit 2 pieces of bread much less anything else. It's the same size as the toast slots??? It completely smashes the bread and the parts that pop out of the metal sandwich holder burn. We never use it and it can't be used for toast because it doesn't have a lever. Also, someone said that the leaver smashes anything that's round and they're right. Smaller waffles or some flat breads get caught if they're too soft or small.
Hope this helps!
Pros: Durable, Quality
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
RobinDensford
Texas
Posted December 18, 2013
You're exactly right about the cold toaster taking longer. That's why the owners manual suggests (or did 15 years ago when I purchased mine) to let it heat about a minute to warm up. I usually just turn the dial and let it warm while I'm getting the bread out.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Dualit New Generation Classic 2-Slice Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susienewsie
,Doylestown
,PA
September 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
5 Stars for Form & Function
September 8, 2013
We have had our Dualit for several years and strongly recommend it. The design is quite beautiful. The Dualit toasts perfectly, no matter what kind of bread or baked product. Also, since you eject the toast yourself, it stays warm inside the toaster for a while until you're ready.
I simply don't understand the negative reviews except to say that even the occasional Rolls Royce could have a few bumps in the road here and there. :)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
BellaHolly
Florida
Posted May 15, 2014
Not a useful review
We need reviews on brand new current models of this toaster. One purchased several years ago has no bearing on whether they make a toaster that works well today.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Dualit New Generation Classic 2-Slice Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnitaBonita
,Bonita Springs
,Fl
February 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Toaster
February 10, 2013
I have had my wonderful Dualit 4 slice toaster for 14 years. It has always toasted perfectly. I like the idea that it is guaranteed for life. I know Williams-Sonoma will stand behind the guarantee.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
BellaHolly
Florida
Posted May 15, 2014
Irrelevant review
We need reviews on the CURRENT toaster. Not one from several years ago. Things today are not as well made.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Dualit New Generation Classic 2-Slice Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Briget415
,CA
January 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best and oldest appliance in my kitcken
January 23, 2013
I got fed up with disposable toasters and bought a Dualite from WS 25 years ago. It is still clicking away in my kitchen. It has outlasted every other appliance in my kitchen--stoves & frigs included. Only my cast iron pans are older. The Dualite is not automatic. You have to engage with it--the first slice takes longer to toast & sometimes you have to turn the muffin mid-toast. It's called cooking. Homemade cinnamon bread toasted in it--priceless!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
rosemaryblue
Posted April 21, 2013
Thank you!
I think I have that book. Bought it several years ago! Thank you for replying so quickly! I appreciate it very much. :)
0points
Customer avatar
Briget415
Posted April 21, 2013
Cinnamon bread
My favorite is the CROWW recipe (cinnamon, raisin, oats, walnut, whole wheat bread from The Bread Lover's Bread Machine cookbook by Beth Henpsberger. I actually make it on a Thursday so it is a bit stale for weekend toast. It makes great French toast too.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
rosemaryblue
Posted April 20, 2013
Bread Recipe
Would you be kind enough to share your bread recipe? Thank you very much!
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 7 for Dualit New Generation Classic 2-Slice Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarilynMPla
,Lima
,OH
November 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best toaster ever
November 25, 2012
I have had this toaster for about 15 -17 years. I had previously bought every toaster available and they all fell apart and toasted poorly. This toaster is GREAT ! Toasts beautifully, looks good. Will never have another. It has been well worth the money and is very durable.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Review 8 for Dualit New Generation Classic 2-Slice Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wegiemom
,Chicago
,IL
November 2, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Never had a problem
November 2, 2012
I fell in love with this toaster when I saw it sitting on the counter in the dream house we wanted to buy. Didn't get the house (long story) but went out and bought the toaster! We have had it for about 5 years and have never had a problem with its performance, and it looks adorable sitting on the counter in my "runner-up" house! I can only wonder at all of the negative reviews; it seems there might be a problem with quality control? I hope not, because if ours ever breaks I would definitely buy it again.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Speed, Design
Review 9 for Dualit New Generation Classic 2-Slice Toaster
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ronnewyork
,stormville
,ny
September 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poorly Made Product
September 26, 2012
I've had 3 Dualit toasters. They look great but they are poorly made. All three have had problems with the heating elements--either they burn out or they brown very unevenly. Each time I upgraded to a new one, I expected the problems to be fixed. I've learned my lesson. I well never purchase another Dualit, no matter what the ads hype. Williams-Sonoma has been great as always, in accepting the bad ones back.
Pros: Design
Cons: Quality, Temperamental
Review 10 for Dualit New Generation Classic 2-Slice Toaster
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
shelp
,punta gorda
,fl
September 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not worth the money
September 8, 2012
We are on our second dualit toaster and now the heating element went out on this one. Although I love the look, I will not purchase another dualit! I think a toaster at this price should last for more than 2 years!
Cons: Quality
Review 11 for Dualit New Generation Classic 2-Slice Toaster
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bambolini
,SPARTA
,NJ
May 9, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
8of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The worst EVER!
May 9, 2012
Do not waste your time and money, Had 3 in the past several years...all had problems..
I finally bought a kitchen Aid and have no problems with it and love it!
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 12 for Dualit New Generation Classic 2-Slice Toaster
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gynangirl
,Kaneohe
,Hi
April 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
9of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Appearance is not reality
April 15, 2012
For the money, this toaster is very disappointing. Yes, it looks great sitting on my kitchen counter, but otherwise this toaster had been a disappointment.
I am on my second Daulit toaster. I had to return the first toaster because the heating dial malfunctioned. Fortunately the toaster was still under warranty and was exchanged in store.
Now, a few years later, the heating dial on the second toaster does not work.
In addition, as noted in another review, the sides of the toaster, which are constructed of a lower grade material than the center of the toaster are corroding and looks terrible..
It took me months to convince my husband that we should buy this toaster. This experience has only served to convince my husband that one cannot buy quality in the United States anymore, even if one is willing to pay for it.
From now on we will buy the cheap, albeit less stylish brands, which last just as long,
and put our hard earned money to a much better use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Cons: Quality, not worth the cost
Review 13 for Dualit New Generation Classic 2-Slice Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BarefootWannaBe
,Edwardsville
,IL
March 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Toaster
March 29, 2012
I love my new toaster.
It is well constructed has a great design and toasts nicely. I can't wait to get the sandwich cage and try making toasted cheese!
The toaster is a bit pricey , but in this case, you get what you pay for.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Cons: sounds a bit like an old time alarm clock ticking
Review 14 for Dualit New Generation Classic 2-Slice Toaster
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Escoffier
,Clayville
,NY
March 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Waste of $$$
March 11, 2012
My wife and I have lived with one of these for years. She wanted one because they're cute. The only reason I gave it 2 stars is because it toasts. It's reliable because everything is manual. The lever that raises the toast does not raise it straight up but racks it on an angle. So if what you're toasting is round or small, it squashes it against the front of the toaster. Make sure you get some wooden tongs with this unit. It never toasted evenly, the bottom of an English muffin would be burnt while the top was almost pure white. The side panels are clear coated aluminum or white metal. Over time corrosion occurred under the clear coating that cannot be polished or cleaned off and makes the toaster look awful. The center is chrome and can be cleaned. I couldn't wait to get rid of this thing. My grandkids could design a better toaster than this.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, appearence, expensive
Review 15 for Dualit New Generation Classic 2-Slice Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jsc331
,St Paul
,MN
February 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nothing Looks Nicer On Your Counter
February 4, 2012
We have had our toaster for over 12 years, were probably of the first to buy one when they became available from WS. We bought the 4 slicer because of our large family and its ease of use when you need a lot of toast all at once.
I have read about some complaints others have had and I think they simply didn't take care of their toaster... you must clean it frequently and not jam things into it.
We pretty much only eat home made european breads that have a lot of course whole grains, seeds and varying thicknesses of bread cuts, which make this toaster idea.
Over time the timer dial has become a little less accurate so you have to watch your toast, but with all the varying thicknesses and types of bread we use you would have to watch them anyway.
Frankly we have had 4 toasters before this one and they couldn't compare.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 16 for Dualit New Generation Classic 2-Slice Toaster
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mmpi
,Andover
,NY
February 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lasted ONLY 3 years
February 4, 2012
I am so disappointed in this product. I thought I was investing in a long-term toaster and found that it was an expensive mistake. After 3 years my toaster toasts very uneven, does not heat on the one side, and takes much longer than it used to. On the DUALIT webisite they boast that you should never get rid of your DUALIT, because every part is replaceable! But it is very hard to get the parts here so what do I do? Now, I toast only in one slot, turn the dial up to the highest time, and never invite anyone else for toast... since it would take too long.
Pros: Design
Cons: Temperamental, dies fast.
Review 17 for Dualit New Generation Classic 2-Slice Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
laoban173
,pebble beach
,Ca
February 1, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
indestructible finest toaster
February 1, 2012
great solid metal toaster.
takes any size bagel,all breads
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: expensive