Dualit New Generation Classic 4-Slice Toaster

Dualit has upgraded its iconic toaster with a setting for buns and bagels and a defrost setting for frozen bread. What hasn't changed is the superlative quality and design that have made Dualit famous: each toaster is still hand-assembled in England and built to last. Faster warm-up ensures perfect browning right from the first slice. Selector lets you heat only the number of slots you need. Defrost setting defrosts frozen bread before toasting. Bagel/Bun setting toasts one side while warming the other. Mechanical timer lets you get exactly the degree of toasting you prefer. Award-winning ProHeat elements are guaranteed for two years. Extra-wide slots to accommodate thick bread, English muffins and bagels. A crumb tray to simplify cleanup. Adjustable rear foot keeps it stable on uneven surfaces. Hand assembled in England.
Average Customer Rating:
2.75 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
2 of 4(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Dualit New Generation Classic 4-Slice Toaster
Review 1 for Dualit New Generation Classic 4-Slice Toaster
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,San Francisco
,CA
San Francisco, CA
November 5, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recommended, with Caveats
November 5, 2015
Stylish and works well after a bit of a learning curve.
Keep in mind there's no mechanism to keep slices of bread centered, so bread will toast unevenly unless you cut the bread to about the width of the slot.
The knob for raising the bread to check on its progress is a great feature.
Dualit makes an optional sandwich cage for making grilled sandwiches right in the toaster, and a warming rack to sit over two slots and toast a thick bagel (cut side down). Both perform well.
Keep in mind all parts on this toaster can be replaced for decades. You buy the part from Dualit and have an electrician do the simple repairs.
I’m very happy with mine, and like that all parts are replaceable and that it will still be working for decades.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quiet, Speed, Quality, Size, Time-saver, Power
Review 2 for Dualit New Generation Classic 4-Slice Toaster
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Baton Rouge
,LA
May 7, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-11points
0of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Well over rated!!!
May 7, 2015
I've owned this toaster for 15 years. Paid about 10 times more than it was worth. While it did cook toast evenly, thats about it. Style is fun to look at but hey, there are plenty of nice looking toasters on the market. We had a hard time justifying buying a new one since this one was an investment . . . but finally did with a better toaster for less than $100.00. I would not consider giving this to a friend. Very disappointed. Sorry Dualit
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Cons: Speed, Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store, Size
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Cathelia
Santa Clarita, CA
Posted November 18, 2015
Unbelieveable Toaster
I couldn't believe the one star review either. I've had mine for 15 years and it's still going strong. AND I definitely would recommend it to anyone who understands quality.
0points
Customer avatar
upscalebohemian
San Francisco, CA
Posted October 15, 2015
Top 50 Contributor
Thanks
You got 15 years of use of this and gave it one star? This is the best ad FOR the toaster I've ever seen. Thank you!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Dualit New Generation Classic 4-Slice Toaster
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Ia
January 25, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
7of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overpriced and defective
January 25, 2015
I bought this to replace my old toaster of 11 years. From the get go it was faulty. You have to "warm the toaster" by letting it run for 30 seconds then can officially toast your toast. Well, my toaster would freeze up and so I would have to turn the dial further back and it would run a few seconds then freeze up again. After 3 months of doing this I had had it. Dualit was soo rude to me and actually asked if I was "mechanically inclined" to fix it myself! So I called WS and they gave me a full refund. But for the record in the owners manual it says to contact Dualit not WS. Glad I called WS they took care of me!!
Cons: Quality, Temperamental
Review 4 for Dualit New Generation Classic 4-Slice Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Congress
,AZ
March 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
14of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Toast Every Time
March 2, 2014
Our family had been without this toaster for a few years and then we found it again at your online store. The children said we had to get it. If they raved about it the toaster must have been good! So, we ordered it. I don't think you could go wrong with this toaster. The Dualit company is serious about toasting bread.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ronnewyork
Posted November 22, 2014
Good Luck
All I can say is good luck with it--I'll check back in another year. I've had four of them, each time thinking they may have improved, but same junk each time. But they do look nice. I will never take another chance on one.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)