Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine

An easy alternative to traditional liquid brines, our dry brine is an efficient way to prepare succulent, flavorful poultry or pork. A classic mix of herbs, spices and kosher salt that imparts wonderful flavor as it helps meat retain juices. Easy and convenient - just rub brine on the poultry or pork and let it sit for several hours, then rinse and roast; also great for grilling. No special brining bags or messy liquid necessary. 9 oz. per tin. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
24 of 25(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coachvic1
,Hampton
,Va
October 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Brines ive ever used
October 12, 2014
I've used the dry and wet brines from W-S. I loved them both. The dry Brines are quick and less work than the traditional Brines. I've used the dry on turkey,chicken and pork lion all very tasteful and moist. For a quick dinner in on weekdays I've dry brined chicken wings sprinkling n the A.M.and grilling in the evening. These wings were a great hit with my kids picky teenage friends.Thanks for your great Brines results are amazing!!
Pros: Flavor
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TominLosAngeles
,Los Angeles
,CA
September 15, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A terrific "go-to" when time is short
September 15, 2014
Great for chicken, pork, or fish, this is my super-secret weapon for catfish steaks from the grill. Cleaned, finned, skinned, whole fish cut into 1-1/4" steaks, lightly sprinkled with the brine. Into a zippered bag, then into the refrigerator for at least half an hour. Wash them well when it's time to cook, and pat them dry. Build a foil cookie sheet with sides and place it on top of a carrying device (without sides), lay the fish out in a single layer and drizzle or spray a little oil (I use olive) on both sides of the steaks. Head off to the grill and slide your little foil thingy off and cook for 10 minutes a side, on mostly indirect heat, with a *few* smoking chips thrown onto the coals. Cook extra catfish (if possible) because they're great straight from the 'fridge the next day for lunch.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MolesKitchen
,Denver
,CO
August 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for formal dinners or midweek meals
August 18, 2014
I love to skip over the roasted chickens in the grocery and opt for using the WS dry brines. It's an easy way to make an inexpensive cut of meat into something flavorful and juicy. We used the herbs de provence mix for our Thanksgiving this past year and my husband and I agree it was the best turkey ever. Moist and savory flavors!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Angeliasue
,Bonaire
,GA
December 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dry Brine for Roasted Turkey
December 2, 2013
I normally like WS items, but this just did not live up to my expectations. There was little herbal flavor & the small Butterball turkey was too dry compared to a water-based brine recipe I've used in the past. (I used half of the tin of Dry Brine.)
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SmartMoney
,Brooklyn
,NY
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
First Time Briner
November 30, 2013
I used brine seasoning for the first time and was surprised of the juicy, flavorful turkey that baked to a golden brown. My family loved it. I purchased two packages but did not need more than one and plan to use the second package on pork. The dry brine saved a lot of time seasoning the turkey. I'll be sure to look for WS dry brine next Thanksgiving.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kmalewa
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing product...Highly recommend!
November 29, 2013
Never caught on to the traditional brining methods...seemed like too much trouble, and I've tasted brined birds that had a weird "processed" texture and too-salty flavor. Enter the WS Dry Brine! Used this product for the second year in a row with fabulous results. Used fresh turkeys, applied per the instructions, chill overnight, rinse off the brine, paper-towel dry, and roast...that's it! I use the convection setting on my oven and literally do not even open the oven door once while it's roasting...didn't rub anything on it before roasting, didn't baste, didn't mess with it. Result was beautiful, uniformly golden bird with moist and perfectly seasoned meat. None of the excessive saltiness or odd "preserved" consistency some brined birds can have. Ample pan drippings that make delicious gravy. Rave reviews from the family and friends! I can't imagine anything easier OR with better results.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
byardley
,MO
November 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It isn't Thanksgiving without it!
November 23, 2013
In the past I would order brined turkeys through Dean and Deluca but as our family expanded it became too cost prohibitive. A few years ago I discovered Williams Sonoma dry brine and our turkeys have been phenomenal. It is so much less messy that a wet brine and much less expensive than ordering a pre brined turkey. There is one thing...I didn't read the instructions until the morning before Thanksgiving and saw that it needs to be applied 24 hours in advance. I had to rush off to work which left my daughter the task of wrestling the bird while applying the brine and wrapping it up. Thanks K and thank you WS for taking our family dinner up a few notches! At Christmas we use the steakhouse rub for prime rib and now it has become the expectation. Too delicious!
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DavidWelch
,Hannibal
,MO
November 21, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Thanksgiving staple.
November 21, 2013
About 10 years ago I saw a recipe in a popular cooking magazine for "Salt Roasted Turkey with Herbs". It was an instant hit in our house. Then a year or so later I came across Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine. My holiday turkey(s) have moved up the scale again. If you follow the directions, roast uncovered, and use a thermometer, I promise it will turn out perfect. The skin will turn a deep mahogany brown. The meat will hold so much juice and moisture it will be like a sponge. And the taste is incredible- all the way through! Pair this with the W-S Turkey Gravy Base and you have a winning combination!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jhbranch
,Kennesaw
,GA
November 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Takes the hassle out of brining
November 20, 2013
For years I've used a liquid brine and brining bags which, while they work, are a hassle for me since I make a 25 pound bird. Without fail I wind up with brine everywhere. I tried the dry brine last year and, while it leaves a mess in the sink after rinsing it off, it made my life much easier and my kitchen a much more pleasant place to be! I am never sure that brines actually do that much but it makes me feel better and it does add a nice flavor to the gravy.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Short2014
,Melbourne
,FL
November 4, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent product!
November 4, 2013
I tried this product over the weekend and tried it out on a whole chicken and it was really tender and delicious! I love the smell of this brine and so easy to use with no mess!! My boyfriend said the chicken was excellent!! Well done!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: cost - a little high
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewer123456
November 2, 2013
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not bad - maybe too salty
November 2, 2013
I bought this to make my cooking easier this year since I am pregnant. I tested it on a chicken and there was a lot of flavor but there was also a lot of salt. I know it is a brine but it was really salty. My husband said it was good and not overly salty at all. He thinks the pregnancy is messing with my taste buds.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: too salty
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dmwh
,Appleton
October 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
makes turkey special
October 14, 2013
Regardless of the flavor of the brine you have chosen, your turkey will be infused through the cooking process. It is easy to use and the turkey need only season with the brine for a few hours. NO bags or additional liquid is needed. Your presentation will be applauded by the guests at your table. Bon Appetite!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
katie45
,COLLINGSWOOD
,NJ
September 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wonderful product
September 27, 2013
I have struggled with wet brines but decided to try this a few years ago. I didn't read the directions and never washed the turkey before cooking. I do my turkey on the grill. It was a fantastic hit. Everyone loved it! Now I don't bother washing the bird, and I have extra dry brine on hand to give as gifts to my Thanksgiving guests.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
panamanorthchef
,Panama City
,Fl
August 29, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
8of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buy Two Cans
August 29, 2013
Have not tried yet. Since one can is only enough for one 12 pound turkey, description should include that information to avoid duplicate shipping charges.
Pros: Time-saver
Cons: Amount
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
OceanGal
Florida
Posted September 7, 2013
More than You Think
First, let me agree with everyone who says how amazing the results are! Moist & delicious and so little effort!
As far as 1 can for 12-lb, I didn't use the whole can when I fixed for last Christmas. I say purchase and experiment to see how much works for you.
It's also great for chicken on the grill :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
deborahD
,Kansas City
,MO
kansas city
July 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best turkey ever!
July 28, 2013
I have been brining turkeys for years. I usually use apple and spice brine. I didn't stock up this year, so when it came time for our traditional Thanksgiving in July dinner, I had a can of the dry brine to try. Not only was it easier to deal with than the wet brine, it was by far juicier. After brining for 24 hours, I applied an herbed butter of sage, rosemary and parsley. Some was put under the skin and the rest was on top. I used my Ronco rotisserie and it was fantastic. I'm stocking up on this product.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really helps grilled meats
July 27, 2013
This enhances the flavor and moisture of grilled meats significantly. Always in my pantry.
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Soozy
December 6, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dry Brine was a terrific buy
December 6, 2012
I, too, didn't want the mess and inconvenience of a "wet" brine, so I picked up a can of the dry. After spreading on the turkey, waiting 24hrs, then rinsing off, my turkey came out fantastic! Very juicy and tender. Can't wait to try it on pork.
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EstimatorLady
,East Lyme
,CT
November 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works better than wet brine!
November 30, 2012
I was disappointed that the regular William Sonoma "wet" brine was sold out the week before Thanksgiving so I bought the dry brine instead. All I can say is WOW! It delivered a flavorful, juicy turkey as well as a crown roast of pork. The spice blend was just right! I will never use anything on my Thanksgiving turkey but W-S dry brine. It's a "holiday in a tin!"
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MurphNYC
,New York
,NY
New York City
November 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easiest brine ever
November 25, 2012
No bucket, no water, no mess! Just spread this brine on your turkey or chicken the night before, wrap the bird up tightly and let this product do its magic. Next day, wash off the brine before cooking the bird, baste with some melted butter and viola! A tasty, juicy, beautifully browned bird as the centerpiece of your meal.
Pros: Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 20 for Williams-Sonoma Dry Brine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Demanding
,Daly City
,CA
June 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding with pork chops
June 2, 2012
This brine is easy to use, has a delicate flavor, and produces exceptionally moist, tender, and delicious pork chops. The seasonings in the brine are well balanced. They enhance the meat without overwhelming it. A single container of this brine is sufficient to prepare many meals using a variety of cooking methods including browning and braising. I can't imagine cooking pork chops now without this brine.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
page1 2 next