Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Dresden Stollen

Rich, buttery stollen has been a German holiday tradition for over 500 years. The Dresden bakery that produces ours has been perfecting its recipe since 1825. Each sweet yeast loaf is made by hand and packed with plump rum-soaked raisins and dried fruits. After shaping and baking, the loaf is dipped in melted butter and vanilla sugar, then finished with a sprinkling of confectioners' sugar. A festive holiday gift, stolen makes the perfect treat for breakfast, brunch or afternoon tea. One 1-lb. 8-oz. loaf (serves 4-6). Made in Germany. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
24 of 26(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Dresden Stollen
Review 1 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lawrenceville
,GA
Lawrenceville, GA
January 8, 2017
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
It was a lovely gift, but without marzipan
January 8, 2017
Dresden Stollen as supplied by Williams Sonoma is the BEST stollen I've tried without traveling to Dresden myself. It's a favorite Christmas tradition in our home. We've managed to find various stollen options at fine foods stores, but none as good as the Williams Sonoma offerings. This purchase was WELL WORTH THE COST for VALUE. We received "two for one" on this sale price. One as a gift, and one for our family.
The only recommendation over this option that can be made is to consider the Dresden Stollen WITH marzipan. For holiday tradition, it's hard to find anything like Stollen. Serve sliced and warmed (this softens the butter and changes it from seeming "crumbly and dry" to its true savory sweet Christmas dreams experience that it is).
Review 2 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,NY
January 7, 2017
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delicious!
January 7, 2017
Excellent and authentic stollen..as good as those I've enjoyed in Europe over the years. Please make it an annual tradition!
Pros: great tasting
Review 3 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Land O Lakes
,Fl
January 3, 2017
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Very Delicious
January 3, 2017
I was just browsing and decided to try a Dresden Stollen along with my chocolate peppermint. It was delicious, moist and flavorful and not too sweet. The heating instruction was perfect although I like it at room temperature also. I just wish that I had gotten more. Next year I will certainly do so.
Review 4 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,NY
New York City
December 17, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delicious!
December 17, 2016
This stollen came beautifully packaged and its taste lived up to its appearance. After one slice, I wanted to order more but found that it was no longer available.
Pros: Authentic, Flavor, Good for Entertaining, Great Gift, Quality
Review 5 for Dresden Stollen
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Ferndale
,WA
November 18, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Tasty, But a Tad Dry
November 18, 2016
Every year I would buy Stollen from the Farmer's Market in Atlanta at Christmas time. It was absolutely delicious. I'd buy boxes of it and freeze the rest. This particular brand is good, but a little dry. It has a strong dairy taste to it that I'm not familiar with. I will still eat all 3 loaves I purchased, and enjoy them with a tiny bit of butter and warm them up. My roommate who is from Germany knows what good stollen is. He wanted me to order this for him. His mother made stollen her entire life. He doesn't care for this one at all. He said it leaves too much of an after taste. I do love the little tiny sugar crystal coating on this one though.
Review 6 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
January 8, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Dealicious!
January 8, 2016
Our German house keeper made stollen every Christmas. It was delicious. Now Williams-Sonoma makes one available that is ever better!! Thank You W-S for making my holiday special!
Review 7 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Little Rock
,AR
December 9, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
As delicious as my mom’s home made one
December 9, 2015
It arrived on time and packed in an authentic style, as it was used to be at its origin. It has fresh butter taste, heating gives little extra flavor but even without heating it is delicious and very seasonal. I enjoy the taste as well as my friends. I ordered two more to freeze and serve later.
Review 8 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,NY
New York City
February 9, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Annual favorite
February 9, 2015
This product makes Christmas special. No other version equals this stollen, worth every penny!
Pros: Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 9 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
January 7, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Traditional Yummy Goodness!
January 7, 2015
I shared this with 3 grownups who liked it almost as much as I did. The texture is drier than the uninitiated may expect and the flavor is subtle, so don't expect a gooey donut!! I didn't try wasting it on kids because it isn't dripping with grease and corn syrup and I was afraid they wouldn't enjoy it.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 10 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,NY
October 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
A Holiday Must
October 11, 2013
A must for the winter months. Have been enjoying for years and never disappoints. Not only do we order at least two to last from Christmas through January into February - but now have been ordering almost a dozen for unique gifts for our friends and colleagues. These stollen are a bit drier as German recipes usually are, but are full of flavor which blossoms when heated slightly. Packaging is wonderful too.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 11 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Tarrytown
,NY
January 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
A solid A+
January 23, 2013
As with all of the products that I have purchased from Williams Sonoma, this stollen was delicious and finished in two days.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 12 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,san carlos
,Ca
January 21, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Christmas tradition
January 21, 2013
Every year I order this stollen from Dresden,
Germany.....it's the best!
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 13 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,CA
January 21, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Really Good!!
January 21, 2013
It was really moist and tasty. Good amount of dried fruits and spice.
I would love to get this next holiday too!
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Cons: high calories
Review 14 for Dresden Stollen
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Las Vegas
,NV
January 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Good tasting Stollen
January 15, 2013
Nice Stollen to have on hand. A little dry but German products tend to be a " little dry"
Good if heated slightly and added butter.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Cons: Disappointing
Review 15 for Dresden Stollen
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,NY
,NY
NY, NY
January 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
what happened?
January 13, 2013
Used to buy this every year and loved it every year!
This year it was awful. Stale and not very tasty....
Cons: Disappointing
Review 16 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Philadelphia
,PA
January 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My favorite holiday stollen
January 11, 2013
This stollen is the best I have ever had. I look forward to getting it each year.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 17 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,ny
December 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Really good!
December 28, 2012
It was very very good! My son, who is a chef and was visiting in here, gave it a good review as well.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 18 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Antonio
,TX
January 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best Stollen!
January 31, 2012
This is a great German stollen which I look forward to each year. After you warm it up, it becomes so moist. Great for the holidays.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 19 for Dresden Stollen
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Solon
,IA
January 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Simply Delicious!
January 25, 2012
Coming from German heritage, I thought Christmas Stollen would be a special treat for my family, and it certainly was! All I can say is that it did not last long, in fact it lasted only one and a half days! Five kids devoured it and were sad when it was gone. Proof enough?
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 20 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Hillsborough
,NJ
January 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best Stollen Ever!!
January 23, 2012
I have had a number of stollen over the years, and I will say that this one is absolutely the best stollen I have ever eaten!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
page1 2 next