Dresden Stollen

Rich, buttery stollen has been a German holiday tradition for over 500 years. The Dresden bakery that produces ours has been perfecting its recipe since 1825. Each sweet yeast loaf is made by hand and packed with plump rum-soaked raisins and dried fruits. After shaping and baking, the loaf is dipped in melted butter and vanilla sugar, then finished with a sprinkling of confectioners' sugar. A festive holiday gift, stolen makes the perfect treat for breakfast, brunch or afternoon tea. 1 lb., 8 oz. (serves 4-6). Made in Germany. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
15 of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Dresden Stollen
Review 1 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DBrode
,New York
,NY
October 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Holiday Must
October 11, 2013
A must for the winter months. Have been enjoying for years and never disappoints. Not only do we order at least two to last from Christmas through January into February - but now have been ordering almost a dozen for unique gifts for our friends and colleagues. These stollen are a bit drier as German recipes usually are, but are full of flavor which blossoms when heated slightly. Packaging is wonderful too.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 2 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sherrya
,Tarrytown
,NY
January 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A solid A+
January 23, 2013
As with all of the products that I have purchased from Williams Sonoma, this stollen was delicious and finished in two days.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 3 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jomal
,san carlos
,Ca
January 21, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Christmas tradition
January 21, 2013
Every year I order this stollen from Dresden,
Germany.....it's the best!
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 4 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sansgras
,CA
January 21, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really Good!!
January 21, 2013
It was really moist and tasty. Good amount of dried fruits and spice.
I would love to get this next holiday too!
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Cons: high calories
Review 5 for Dresden Stollen
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dmrp
,Las Vegas
,NV
January 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good tasting Stollen
January 15, 2013
Nice Stollen to have on hand. A little dry but German products tend to be a " little dry"
Good if heated slightly and added butter.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Cons: Disappointing
Review 6 for Dresden Stollen
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
schmoo
,NY
,NY
NY, NY
January 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
what happened?
January 13, 2013
Used to buy this every year and loved it every year!
This year it was awful. Stale and not very tasty....
Cons: Disappointing
Review 7 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
norah2116
,Philadelphia
,PA
January 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite holiday stollen
January 11, 2013
This stollen is the best I have ever had. I look forward to getting it each year.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 8 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mreid
,New York
,ny
December 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really good!
December 28, 2012
It was very very good! My son, who is a chef and was visiting in here, gave it a good review as well.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 9 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BearMitzi
,San Antonio
,TX
January 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Stollen!
January 31, 2012
This is a great German stollen which I look forward to each year. After you warm it up, it becomes so moist. Great for the holidays.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 10 for Dresden Stollen
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Prairierose
,Solon
,IA
January 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply Delicious!
January 25, 2012
Coming from German heritage, I thought Christmas Stollen would be a special treat for my family, and it certainly was! All I can say is that it did not last long, in fact it lasted only one and a half days! Five kids devoured it and were sad when it was gone. Proof enough?
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 11 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ppsmith
,Hillsborough
,NJ
January 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Stollen Ever!!
January 23, 2012
I have had a number of stollen over the years, and I will say that this one is absolutely the best stollen I have ever eaten!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
Review 12 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TNelson
,Anchorage
,AK
Anchorage, AK
January 18, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Stollen and Great Presentation
January 18, 2012
When I gave this to my boyfriend who hails from Germany, he treated me like a rock star. I ordered the stollen with marzipan and it was moist and delicious. With the beautiful metal tin, it also made a great presentatation for a Christmas gift. I will definitely order it again.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 13 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cheriej
,Irvine
,CA
Irvine, CA
January 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Authentic and Fresh - a Christmas Treat!
January 12, 2012
I ordered this item for my Christmas dinner. The Stollen is fresh, has a wonderful aroma and is chock full of fresh raisins and other fruits. I will definitely be ordering this next year.
Pros: Authentic, Good for Entertaining, Quality, Flavor
Review 14 for Dresden Stollen
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sherirobin
,Stamford
,CT
Stamford, CT
January 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good but not the best
January 6, 2012
If you are in the Fairfield County area, you must try the Stollen from St. Mortiz. Nothing I have found beats it. It is the same price and you probably have to go to the store to pick it up; but it is the best I have had so far. This was a bit too dry for me and the fruit they used didn't have enough flavor.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Decadent
Cons: Disappointing, Unhealthy, Flavor
Review 15 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KTMC
,Cincinnati
,OH
January 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Packed with fruit
January 6, 2012
I absolutely loved this! Served to company and received only rave reviews. Wonderful served toasted! Packed with fruit. Simply amazing!
Pros: Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 16 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OnsB
,Orlando
,FL
January 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing and Authentic Stollen!
January 5, 2012
My grandfather is German and he was so impressed when I sent this stollen as a Christmas gift. He said he remembers the famous bakery. My mom and my grandfather have been raving about this stollen ever since Christmas. I recommended for them to buy a few more to put in the freezer. If you have been searching for authentic and delicious stollen, this might be the best that you will find. It arrived in perfect timing right before Christmas.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 17 for Dresden Stollen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mainelady
,Falmouth
,ME
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely delicious
January 2, 2012
Truly delicious. Wish it were available all year! Arrived fresh and on time.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift