Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker

Essential equipment for the well-appointed bar, our Boston Shaker is the same two-piece shaker preferred by professional bartenders. Consisting of a pint-sized glass tumbler topped by a stainless-steel shaker, it's considered the best barware for mixing classic cocktails like a Manhattan, Cosmopolitan or Sidecar. Easy-to-use two-piece shaker makes mixing perfect cocktails absolutely foolproof. Start by measuring ingredients into the glass tumbler, then cover with the insulated stainless-steel shaker and shake until the metal feels very cold to the touch. Double-wall insulation keeps condensation from forming on the metal shaker. Glass tumbler designed to fit inside metal shaker for compact storage. A tight seal guarantees leakproof operation. Top-quality cocktail bar essential provides years of dependable service. Dishwasher safe. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.923 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
7 of 13(54%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
Review 1 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GeneM
,Montgomery
,Al
December 20, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Doesn't seal easily and leaks
December 20, 2013
I tried multiple ways to figure out how to shake this without leaking. It can be done but it's tedious and not repeatable.
Review 2 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DumbClub
,Penland
,NC
July 19, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Seals Perfectly
July 19, 2013
I have used this shaker for two years and had no problem with the seal staying in place. It is a very positive connection as you would expect from any rubber gasket between metal and glass. Perhaps those who have had problems are not holding it together firmly while shaking as professional bartenders do. This is simply an improved version of the loose pub style glass used with a metal mixing cup, which is the classic method of cocktail shaking. Just ask James Bond.
The insulating properties of the double wall allow the shaker to be used several times over say, 30 minutes, with very little drop in temperature and without having to replenish the ice. The markings on the glass are as clear and crisp as they were the day I got it.
The best thing is the quality of the sound it makes when shaking. which for me, is an important component of the ritual of preparing a cocktail.
Review 3 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tmullett
,Lexington
,KY
May 22, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A step above the traditional barware!
May 22, 2013
I ordered this for my future son-in-law and received it on time with perfect monogram addition. This feels solid and presents well on the bar. The reduced condensation feature is a nice feature. The glass graduate is easy to read and feels solid when locked into the stainless shaker. It nests together to reduce the footprint/storage needs. A great tool!
Review 4 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SeaglassSusan
,Birch Bay and La Quinta
,WA
January 17, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So good a bought a second one
January 17, 2013
I used one of these, that fortunately for me was still in the box, at a snowbird rental. It was just what I had been looking for. The seal works well, I wash it by hand to keep it that way, the measurements are just that, ounces and milliliters, not someone else's silly cocktail recipe. I bought one for myself as soon as I got home and now that we have our own snowbird house, I just bought one for there too.
Review 5 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
shakerman
December 30, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works if you use it properly
December 30, 2012
Sure, it leaks like crazy, but only if you shake it upside down. Shake it with the glass on the top and shake it vertically, you won't lose a drop.
Pros: high quality construction
Cons: overpriced
Review 6 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
leadr
,Pittsburgh
,PA
December 21, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does not seal correctly
December 21, 2012
I've tried using this shaker with a variety of techniques, but I cannot get it to seal correctly. The rubber seal on the top of the mixing glass is designed to be removed for cleaning. This sounds good in theory, but in reality it shifts while shaking a drink and breaks the seal. The only way I've found to keep a seal intact is to shake lightly, but this completely defeats the purpose of a cocktail shaker and will not adequately mix syrups and other heavier ingredients. It's a shame, and I think this shaker would be much better if the rubber was adhered to the mixing glass.
Review 7 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Marit522
,Redwood City
,CA
September 19, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Leaked all over the place
September 19, 2012
I am so disappointed with this shaker. I bought it with high hopes, and the rubber closure does NOT stay in place. We tried using it many different ways and it never worked right. I'm taking it back today to exchange for a standard shaker.
Pros: looks nice
Cons: leaks
Review 8 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KeithM
,Methuen
,MA
August 26, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This shaker design doesn't seal.
August 26, 2012
It would seem that the design team didn't validate this particular item. The seal on the glass cup does not stay in place and does not create a good enough seal to keep the liquid inside from spilling out. I would go with a traditional Boston shaker without a double wall, which seems to make the shaker too sturdy to deform around the glass cup like it should.
Cons: seal on glass cup doesn't stay in place.
Review 9 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
busyboy
,ok
June 18, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor quality
June 18, 2012
I was very excited when I bought this. However, the rubber seal did not stay in place and my drink splattered every where. I took it back and got a refund. This product does not work.
Review 10 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HBMM
January 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this shaker!
January 30, 2012
I love this shaker! I love that I can measure and mix everything in one! Some have said this leaks, but I have had no issues with it. If you can make a mess with something, I'm the person who will do it, but have had no issues with this. Yes the rubber seal is removable from the glass, I take it off to wash and dry, but can put it back on and it doesn't move. Only wish I would have gotten it engraved!!!
Review 11 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BillH1
Wisconsin
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't buy this
January 4, 2011
The rubber gasket does not stay on the glass piece and the shaker leaks. Would definitely not buy this
Review 12 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ASLW
Kansas City, MO
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A nice quality cocktail shaker
December 30, 2010
Bought this a few weeks ago as I had been meaning to pick up a cocktail shaker for a while.
It's a very nice quality Boston style cocktail shaker. The measuring increments on the side of the glass are nice. It's easy to use, and the rubber seal along the top of the glass forms a good seal with the metal tumbler.
Review 13 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chameleon
Southern California
December 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice shaker
December 27, 2010
This Boston shaker is very heavy-duty, and though it will take some getting used to vs. our old shaker, it's a nice addition to our bar. The one problem that I had with this purchase is that the shaker is too heavy for the box that it comes in, and the manufacturer's box was falling open when I received the order. The box itself looks great, but it's just not made well enough to hold the contents properly. If this had been a gift for someone outside the family, I would have returned it. Given that it was too close to Christmas to send it back and get another in time, I taped up the box and gave it to my fiance anyway. I should have thought to buy a strainer to go with it, and so that will be my next purchase.