Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker

Essential equipment for the well-appointed bar, our Boston Shaker is the same two-piece shaker preferred by professional bartenders. Consisting of a pint-sized glass tumbler topped by a stainless-steel shaker, it's considered the best barware for mixing classic cocktails like a Manhattan, Cosmopolitan or Sidecar. Easy-to-use two-piece shaker makes mixing perfect cocktails absolutely foolproof. Start by measuring ingredients into the glass tumbler, then cover with the insulated stainless-steel shaker and shake until the metal feels very cold to the touch. Double-wall insulation keeps condensation from forming on the metal shaker. Glass tumbler designed to fit inside metal shaker for compact storage. A tight seal guarantees leakproof operation. Top-quality cocktail bar essential provides years of dependable service. Dishwasher safe. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
7 of 14(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
Review 1 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Highland Park
,NJ
July 26, 2016
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I was happy
July 26, 2016
I picked this up in store and when I got home there was a dent on the bottom of the metal cup, which was not enough of a problem to warrant me driving back and getting another one. I have found that as long you are careful putting the two pieces together it will seal fine, and I was happy with how it performed. Now less than a year after purchasing it, and infrequent use the black lines and numbers are coming off the glass cup. If the glass came with out graduations on the side that would be fine, but since they were there the usability and aesthetic appeal are now greatly reduced.
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable, Quality
Review 2 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Carmel, CA
,CA
January 5, 2016
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
FAIL - do not buy
January 5, 2016
in stock with 3 day shipping. It took over 10 days to arrive. But happy when it arrived.
I washed it with soap and water, all the lettering came off the glass portion (ounces and measure lines). just dish soap and cool water.
Ok so i use my shot glass to measure.
Put together and the seal rolls over the edge of the glass and cannot seal properly. FAIL, drinks leaked everywhere. I tried multiple times with water, and it does not work at all.
see my picture after 1/2 use. Just washed and added some water to shake.
It is garbage, and poor quality. Do not buy it unless you plan on not washing or using it.
WS, please add a 0 star option, i cannot be more unhappy.
Pros: you can get a refund
Cons: Quality, Design, Not Durable, unusable, measure lines wash off day one
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Chicago
,IL
October 23, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful!
October 23, 2015
I purchased this for my husband for a birthday present. The quality is excellent! Absolutely beautiful and the monogramming was spot on.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Personalization, Design
Cons: none
Review 4 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Madison
,IN
May 26, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Shaker!
May 26, 2015
I love this shaker for several reasons. It's sturdy design makes it easy to use, shake and pour, the double wall keeps contents cold and ice will last longer than in a conventional single wall shaker. The measurements on the glass are convenient. And the rubber ring seals well for shaking. Yes, you have to be careful to position it firmly, and shake with the glass at the top, but it's not a big deal to do so once you get used to it.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Appearance, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Store
Review 5 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Montgomery
,Al
December 20, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
3of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Doesn't seal easily and leaks
December 20, 2013
I tried multiple ways to figure out how to shake this without leaking. It can be done but it's tedious and not repeatable.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DumbClub
Penland, NC
Posted July 22, 2015
Try this
I've found that it seals very well if you don't try to over do it. Squeeze the glass (with it's gasket) into the metal shaker with only a slight amount of pressure and it works great every time.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Penland
,NC
July 19, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Seals Perfectly
July 19, 2013
I have used this shaker for two years and had no problem with the seal staying in place. It is a very positive connection as you would expect from any rubber gasket between metal and glass. Perhaps those who have had problems are not holding it together firmly while shaking as professional bartenders do. This is simply an improved version of the loose pub style glass used with a metal mixing cup, which is the classic method of cocktail shaking. Just ask James Bond.
The insulating properties of the double wall allow the shaker to be used several times over say, 30 minutes, with very little drop in temperature and without having to replenish the ice. The markings on the glass are as clear and crisp as they were the day I got it.
The best thing is the quality of the sound it makes when shaking. which for me, is an important component of the ritual of preparing a cocktail.
Review 7 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lexington
,KY
May 22, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A step above the traditional barware!
May 22, 2013
I ordered this for my future son-in-law and received it on time with perfect monogram addition. This feels solid and presents well on the bar. The reduced condensation feature is a nice feature. The glass graduate is easy to read and feels solid when locked into the stainless shaker. It nests together to reduce the footprint/storage needs. A great tool!
Review 8 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Birch Bay and La Quinta
,WA
January 17, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So good a bought a second one
January 17, 2013
I used one of these, that fortunately for me was still in the box, at a snowbird rental. It was just what I had been looking for. The seal works well, I wash it by hand to keep it that way, the measurements are just that, ounces and milliliters, not someone else's silly cocktail recipe. I bought one for myself as soon as I got home and now that we have our own snowbird house, I just bought one for there too.
Review 9 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
December 30, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works if you use it properly
December 30, 2012
Sure, it leaks like crazy, but only if you shake it upside down. Shake it with the glass on the top and shake it vertically, you won't lose a drop.
Pros: high quality construction
Cons: overpriced
Review 10 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Pittsburgh
,PA
December 21, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does not seal correctly
December 21, 2012
I've tried using this shaker with a variety of techniques, but I cannot get it to seal correctly. The rubber seal on the top of the mixing glass is designed to be removed for cleaning. This sounds good in theory, but in reality it shifts while shaking a drink and breaks the seal. The only way I've found to keep a seal intact is to shake lightly, but this completely defeats the purpose of a cocktail shaker and will not adequately mix syrups and other heavier ingredients. It's a shame, and I think this shaker would be much better if the rubber was adhered to the mixing glass.
Review 11 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Redwood City
,CA
September 19, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Leaked all over the place
September 19, 2012
I am so disappointed with this shaker. I bought it with high hopes, and the rubber closure does NOT stay in place. We tried using it many different ways and it never worked right. I'm taking it back today to exchange for a standard shaker.
Pros: looks nice
Cons: leaks
Review 12 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Methuen
,MA
August 26, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This shaker design doesn't seal.
August 26, 2012
It would seem that the design team didn't validate this particular item. The seal on the glass cup does not stay in place and does not create a good enough seal to keep the liquid inside from spilling out. I would go with a traditional Boston shaker without a double wall, which seems to make the shaker too sturdy to deform around the glass cup like it should.
Cons: seal on glass cup doesn't stay in place.
Review 13 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,ok
June 18, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor quality
June 18, 2012
I was very excited when I bought this. However, the rubber seal did not stay in place and my drink splattered every where. I took it back and got a refund. This product does not work.
Review 14 for Double-Walled Boston Cocktail Shaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
January 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this shaker!
January 30, 2012
I love this shaker! I love that I can measure and mix everything in one! Some have said this leaks, but I have had no issues with it. If you can make a mess with something, I'm the person who will do it, but have had no issues with this. Yes the rubber seal is removable from the glass, I take it off to wash and dry, but can put it back on and it doesn't move. Only wish I would have gotten it engraved!!!