Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Double R Ranch Co. Prime Rib

Generously marbled, and easy to prepare, a prime rib roast of beef makes an impressive centerpiece for any occasion. Also known as a standing rib roast, the cut is best roasted whole "standing" on its ribs, allowing the top layer of fat to render and self-baste the meat. Hand selected for our Butcher Shop by Double R Ranch, this roast has the perfect combination of flavor and tenderness. Large Roast: approx. 8 lb. (serves 8-10). Small Roast: approx. 6 1/2 lb. (serves 6-8). Shipped frozen. Product of USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
11 of 14(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Double R Ranch Co. Prime Rib
Review 1 for Double R Ranch Co. Prime Rib
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Harrisburg
,PA
Harrisburg, PA
June 5, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very disappointed...
June 5, 2016
Unfortunately I was very disappointed in this roast. I had high hopes that this prime rib roast would be fabulous. I always expect, and usually get, the best quality from Williams Sonoma. Usually their stuff is wonderful. I was so excited to have this treat for us to enjoy now, and freeze portions for later yummy dinners. Not!!!! I cooked the roast low and slow. It smelled delicious while cooking, and looked perfect, if not a tad bit over-cooked. My fault. But the roast was tender and juicy...just had NO flavor!!! The following night my husband and I had this again, this time I made an Au Jus to go with it. The sauce did give the roast some more flavor, but it was totally lacking that wonderful beefy flavor you buy a prime rib for. Even though this roast was on sale when I bought it, not sure I will think about splurging on this roast from WS again.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 2 for Double R Ranch Co. Prime Rib
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Asotin
,WA
Asotin
January 14, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This rib roast is Not Prime
January 14, 2016
Ordered this roast for Christmas. It arrived frozen so solid that it took two days to defrost. This roast is NOT prime, it is a lesser grade of meat. The package said "choice". It stated "Prime" on the web page. It is a rib roast that can be purchased at your supermarket for less. Waste of time and money. Always happy in the past, no so this time. Check before you order. You are paying for prime and that is what you should receive.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, not as shown
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Seana
Posted May 14, 2016
Cut not grade
A standing rib roast, often referred to as prime rib, comes from the primal rib, and "prime" in that case refers to the cut, not the grade of meat. The USDA does not require the cut to be derived from USDA Prime grade beef. Perhaps the description should make clear the grade of beef or call the product a standing rib roast to avoid confusion.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Double R Ranch Co. Prime Rib
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Orange City
,IA
January 7, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Good Prime rib
January 7, 2016
We purchased this on sale in the summer. It was well packaged and waited in our freezer until Christmas with no ill effect. It was a very tasty piece of meat, nicely marbled and well trimmed.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Easy to Prepare
Review 4 for Double R Ranch Co. Prime Rib
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Barnegat
,NJ
January 7, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
January 7, 2016
I bought this for the holidays and it was really really good. I had never had double R but will definitely buy this again. It was tender, so flavorful and we all loved it. I highly recommend this!!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 5 for Double R Ranch Co. Prime Rib
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,West Chester
,PA
January 6, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Christmas Dinner
January 6, 2016
Like many other people, my Christmas Day can tend to be a bit hectic, so this year I wanted my menu to remain special, but not require a lot of time in preparation or cooking. I decided to try this prime rib as the centerpiece of my meal and based on my experience it will become one of our family's Christmas traditions! It was easy to prepare and cook and was absolutely delicious and fork tender.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Easy to Prepare
Review 6 for Double R Ranch Co. Prime Rib
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Harrison Township
,Mi
December 26, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome!! Best dinner ever
December 26, 2015
I'm handicap and my husband has demention we have six kids and a load of grandkids I always cook. But over the years it's getting harder. This prime rib was the best every!! Easy and so delicious
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Time-saver, Easy to Prepare
Review 7 for Double R Ranch Co. Prime Rib
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Durham
,NC
Durham, NC
December 25, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredibly delicious
December 25, 2015
I ordered this roast when it was on sale keeping it for a special occasion. It was vacuum packed so well I was not worried about freezer burn. We just ate it for our Christmas dinner and it was absolutely delicious. The meat was extremely well marbled and tender. One person remarked it was the best prime rib he had ever eaten. Lots of leftovers to be enjoyed in the coming days.
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Decadent, Great Gift
Review 8 for Double R Ranch Co. Prime Rib
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,cottonwood
,AZ
June 15, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Beef Product
June 15, 2015
Cooked this product for my husband's birthday treat. Very enjoyable.
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Healthy, Authentic, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Review 9 for Double R Ranch Co. Prime Rib
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Cumming
,GA
June 5, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding Food
June 5, 2015
My review is for the past products I have ordered from William Sonoma! I hurt my back shortly after moving to GA., everything I have ordered has been excellent! I prepared the meatloaf for my community Pool Party, everyone raved, not only for the taste but the presentation! The ribs were outstanding! I thank you for making it easy for me to recover!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Easy to Prepare
Cons: none
Review 10 for Double R Ranch Co. Prime Rib
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Louisville
,KY
December 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the roast of heaven
December 30, 2014
This prime rib is top quality. I have bought many at local grocery stores but this is the roast of heaven quality. It is worth every penny! The first bite brought tears of joy. I rubbed it in garlic and olive oil the day before and then the day of serving I let it sit out for an hour. Placed it in 375 degree oven with thin sliced onions on top and fresh rosemary and cooked it for an hour. Turned stove off for 3 hours leaving roast in oven. Then turned stove back on 375 and cooked another hour with monitoring thermometer to make sure meat was at 145. Take out and let rest 15 minutes.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 11 for Double R Ranch Co. Prime Rib
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,National Harbor
,MD
May 25, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superb Beef!
May 25, 2014
My husband and I ordered this expecting it to be wonderful, and it was! It was packaged really well, the size was larger than we expected, and it was helpful that they provided preparation suggestions.
The meat itself was tender. I used a thermometer to ensure it was not overdone, and practically cried when I tried the first piece. It was like magic in your mouth!!!
I have never had prime rib so fantastic!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 12 for Double R Ranch Co. Prime Rib
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,MA
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tender and Delicious
January 3, 2013
We ordered this rib roast for Christmas. It arrived very quickly and packed nicely and held together with butchers twine. Just rubbed with olive oil and a paste of rosemary/thyme/salt/pepper/garlic. Key is to sear in the oven at 450 for 15-20 min and then drop to 325 and let roast until done (we removed at 120 and let sit, so it came up to med rare)
The large one ended up being almost 10lbs so we had leftovers. Took about 2.5hrs in the oven. Cooked perfectly and was super tender and flavorful. Several comments that it was the best prime rib they've had.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 13 for Double R Ranch Co. Prime Rib
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Lake Forest
,il
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
9of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tough and Bland
December 30, 2012
Ordered this prime rib for my father for the holidays. As he's been making prime rib for fifty-plus years, he's a master at all things standing rib roast. This roast looked gorgeous, but was both tough and bland. I sent the Washgu prime rib last year and it was amazing. Had hoped the Doube R Ranch roast would be at least somewhat commensurate because I didn't want to spend $300+, but this cut wasn't even close. Meat at the local grocery store is far superior. Very unhappy that this was a bad gift.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CBeckman
Asotin
Posted January 14, 2016
NOT prime
I couldn't agree more. I will add that this is NOT prime rib. It is a rib roast of lesser quality.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Double R Ranch Co. Prime Rib
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Carneys Point
,NJ
January 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Double R Ranch Co. Prime Ribs
January 1, 2012
Excellent flavor.Easy to prepare. Centerpiece of our
Holiday meal. Worth the price!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift