Double R Ranch Co. Prime Ribs

Generously marbled, and easy to prepare, a prime rib roast of beef makes an impressive centerpiece for any occasion. Also known as a standing rib roast, the cut is best roasted whole "standing" on its ribs, allowing the top layer of fat to render and self-baste the meat. Hand selected for our Butcher Shop by Double R Ranch, this roast has the perfect combination of flavor and tenderness. Large Roast: approx. 7 lb., 8 oz. (serves 8-10). Small Roast: approx. 5 lb. (serves 6-8). Shipped frozen. Product of USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Double R Ranch Co. Prime Ribs
Review 1 for Double R Ranch Co. Prime Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shanique
,National Harbor
,MD
May 25, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superb Beef!
May 25, 2014
My husband and I ordered this expecting it to be wonderful, and it was! It was packaged really well, the size was larger than we expected, and it was helpful that they provided preparation suggestions.
The meat itself was tender. I used a thermometer to ensure it was not overdone, and practically cried when I tried the first piece. It was like magic in your mouth!!!
I have never had prime rib so fantastic!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 2 for Double R Ranch Co. Prime Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JasonMA
,MA
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tender and Delicious
January 3, 2013
We ordered this rib roast for Christmas. It arrived very quickly and packed nicely and held together with butchers twine. Just rubbed with olive oil and a paste of rosemary/thyme/salt/pepper/garlic. Key is to sear in the oven at 450 for 15-20 min and then drop to 325 and let roast until done (we removed at 120 and let sit, so it came up to med rare)
The large one ended up being almost 10lbs so we had leftovers. Took about 2.5hrs in the oven. Cooked perfectly and was super tender and flavorful. Several comments that it was the best prime rib they've had.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 3 for Double R Ranch Co. Prime Ribs
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LakeForestJen
,Lake Forest
,il
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tough and Bland
December 30, 2012
Ordered this prime rib for my father for the holidays. As he's been making prime rib for fifty-plus years, he's a master at all things standing rib roast. This roast looked gorgeous, but was both tough and bland. I sent the Washgu prime rib last year and it was amazing. Had hoped the Doube R Ranch roast would be at least somewhat commensurate because I didn't want to spend $300+, but this cut wasn't even close. Meat at the local grocery store is far superior. Very unhappy that this was a bad gift.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 4 for Double R Ranch Co. Prime Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nahan
,Carneys Point
,NJ
January 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Double R Ranch Co. Prime Ribs
January 1, 2012
Excellent flavor.Easy to prepare. Centerpiece of our
Holiday meal. Worth the price!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift