Dorset Red Wineglass, Set of 2

Notable for their brilliant clarity and superb balance, these 24% lead-crystal glasses are embellished with hand-cut fluting that catches and reflects light. The shape and capacity make them especially useful for serving red wines. The glasses are from a Slovenian glassworks founded 80 years ago. We recommend washing by hand. 22-oz. cap., 8 1/2" high. Set of two. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
4 of 8(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Dorset Red Wineglass, Set of 2
Review 1 for Dorset Red Wineglass, Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TableGuru
,Oak Park
,IL
December 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful & Elegant
December 14, 2013
I was hesitant purchasing this item "period", based on the reviews, especially, on-line, so I went into my local store to see why the reviews were so inconsistent. First of all, these glasses are no longer sold as a "Set of 2", at least not in the store. Each wine glass, red or white is $29.95, secondly they felt quite sturdy in my hand. Perhaps they've re-formulated this product based on the reviews and complaints from a year ago. The red wine glass is heavier on top, relative to the size of the stem, so you have to be careful not to wash just holding by the stem of the glass. The salesperson assured me that this was their most popular selling stemware and customers were extremely satisfied with this item. I purchased eight red & eight white stems. I washed them by hand immediately when I got home and had no issues with breakage. The most difficult part was removing the double-stickered price tags on the bottom!!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Appearance
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 2 for Dorset Red Wineglass, Set of 2
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ASTANA
,Houston
,TX
November 27, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very fragile!
November 27, 2012
I have purchased these glasses recently and I did not even get to use them! When I was wiping a glass to see how it would sparkle on the light it snaped in my hands into two pieces. The stem is too thin, I had the bottom of the glass in one hand and its mouth on another even a twig would not snap that easily! Since I have purhased goblets, flutes and martini glasses, I am wondering if those will snap too?
Pros: sparkle
Cons: snap easily, have lots of bubbles
Review 3 for Dorset Red Wineglass, Set of 2
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MsMats
Roswell, GA
May 3, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dorset stemware
May 3, 2011
Although this is beautiful stemware it cracks with the blink of an eye. We have purchased these from our local store 3 times and all are broken. Very hefty investment. These are extremely fragile glasses. All were hand washed but cracked one by one. Buyer beware.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: Fragile
Review 4 for Dorset Red Wineglass, Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mommybug24
February 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I Love These Wine Glasses
February 25, 2011
Whether hosting a party or enjoying our favorite vintage at a simple dinner...these glasses are both elegant and simplistic. Great quality and design.
Review 5 for Dorset Red Wineglass, Set of 2
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TR1229
Seattle, Washington
October 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lovely, well balanced . . . but fragile
October 27, 2010
I searched all over for a glass to meet my specifications and this was it! I constantly have a glass of water on my desk during work and don't want to use disposable yet find using clunky glasses distasteful. This was aesthetically pleasing; the balance was great; the capacity allowed me fewer trips to the water cooler. Note past tense . . .
I had the thought from the beginning that the stem was too fragile/improperly conceived physically for the glass and that the material itself was more brittle than other glassware I wa also considering. I was careful to handwash only. Alas, after only 3 months of use, an inadvertant & light touch to the faucet and it shattered. I would not recommend this glass for casual use unless you intend to get very little use from it. You'll enjoy them if you get them, but don't count on having the set for frequent use or occasional use over years.
Review 6 for Dorset Red Wineglass, Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Red Wing, MN
December 4, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love these stems
December 4, 2009
Saw this style in a store, left without buying them but couldn't get them off my mind. I went back to puchase a couple of them. I absolutely love them. The aesthetically pleasing look of these glasses is what drew me to them. But they are heavy and durable enough to withstand some use (stems may be a little delicate), and I love the wide mouth, as I am a red wine drinker. Shelf in my curio cabinet collapsed, one of my two glasses broke. I will be replacing it promptly.
Review 7 for Dorset Red Wineglass, Set of 2
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AliMcD
NoVA
November 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gorgeous, but Break Quickly
November 26, 2009
We fell in love with these glasses when given to us for our wedding... but, alas, within a few weeks they were both broken. They are heavy with a delicate stem... both broke when simply washing by hand. :( Now we need to reorder to keep on hand for when the gift giver visits, but I will be too afraid to use them!
Review 8 for Dorset Red Wineglass, Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
innovator
Plano, TX
November 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome wine glasses...
November 26, 2009
These crystal wine glasses are a joy to use. They have just the right "heaviness" and the wide mouth is perfect for enjoying the nose of a great red.
We had a pair that we use nightly - broke one - and had to replace it immediately.
You'll enjoy drinking your favorite reds in these glasses.