This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Digital Voice-Alert Thermometer

Designed to make roasting foolproof, our exclusive self-adjusting thermometer is the first on the market to feature a user-friendly touch screen and voice alerts. Its probe sensor precisely monitors cooking temperatures and counts down cooking times and automatically recalculates the timer if the cooking process is faster or slower than anticipated. LED touch screen offers preprogrammed settings (from rare to well-done) for beef, pork, poultry and veal; you can also program your own preferences. Includes three AA batteries. 5 1/4" x 2 3/4" x 1 3/4" base, 23" cord. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.82 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
27 of 50(54%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Digital Voice-Alert Thermometer
Review 1 for Digital Voice-Alert Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tucker2740
,wayne
,pa
June 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
DO NOT BUY
June 24, 2013
Product worked two times - then broke - going to see what my options are since i dont have a reciept since this was a gift - very disappointing.....
Cons: Temperamental, Fragile
Review 2 for Digital Voice-Alert Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phatgirl
,Okinawa, Japan
December 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Stopped Working Within A Year
December 5, 2012
My thermometer stopped working within a year. It would say the meat was overcooked almost as soon as I put it in. Worked be great if it worked. Great idea--poor product. Don't waste your money!
Cons: Inaccurate
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Phatgirl
Posted May 31, 2013
Good Advice
You are right, StephenJ. I should have tried to return it. I didn't have the receipt, so I just threw it away, but I would have had nothing to lose. Next time I will try now that you've reminded me that WS has excellent customer service!
0points
Customer avatar
StevenJ
Huntingtown, MD
Posted May 30, 2013
why did you not return it?
I had an issue with my cord melting, I took it back to the store and even with no receipt, they took it back and shipped me a new one free of charge!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Digital Voice-Alert Thermometer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BobsKitchen
,Pittsburgh
,PA
November 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Digital Thermometer rated as a 6!
November 20, 2012
I’ve had it for over a year. Meat has come out perfect each time, (5). Trying to get probe back in the case is like a Chinese Puzzle. Probe hasn’t broken yet and I’ve used it in 500 deg cooking. Touch pad leaves a lot to be desired!! Buttons and a loud alarm would be a great improvement! Turkey test this week!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Store
Review 4 for Digital Voice-Alert Thermometer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DowningtownCook
November 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great! BUT
November 2, 2012
Had this for a couple of years. found it to be very accurate. I love the countdown aspect especially for slow and long cooking times. Helps time the rest of the meal. Problems however from the beginning. I could never program my own temps in so had to go with the temps given for specific meats.
After 2 years digital voice in English stopped working, then finally the French stopped. So now no voice alert at at all. I really miss that feature.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Quality
Review 5 for Digital Voice-Alert Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lovelyflower
,AR
October 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Didn't last
October 23, 2012
Just a bit confusing to use if not used regularly but the biggest problem is that I bought it last year for Thanksgiving thinking it would be a good investment. The turkey came out raw although the thermometer said it was done. I figured user error since it had worked on steaks before I made the turkey. I got it out to test it before cooking a turkey this year and it doesn't work at all. Yes, I put in new batteries. What a huge waste of money and a big disappointment.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DowningtownCook
Posted November 2, 2012
did you put thermometer probe in correct place?
most thermometers whether expensive or cheap do a good job measure temp. if the turky came out raw, it's possible you missed the thick part of the meat at the breast behind the leg.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Digital Voice-Alert Thermometer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BradleyAV8R
,Oxford
,MS
January 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Good Unit but probe is a weak point
January 1, 2012
Overall, I really like the function of this unit. I like that it gives clear indication of how long you have been cooking and that it tries to give a 2 hour countdown to done.
BUT as you can see from the questions the probe is a weak point. It will wear out under high temperatures and you can't replace it. If they sold a replacement probe or a high temp probe for $15 I would definitely up my rating.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy
Cons: Fragile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Kbelle91
Buffalo, NY
Posted December 3, 2012
Probe
You actual can purchase a new probe via the vendor - this replacement is way better and has a metal cord instead of a plastic cord, which will never melt!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Digital Voice-Alert Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
novarn
,severna park
,md
Severna Park, Maryland
December 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
It melted!!!
December 27, 2011
Horrible horrible product! The first time it was used, followed instructions carefully, it melted and fell apart!
NOT GOOD! Going tomorrow to ask for a full refund!
Cons: poor quality
Review 8 for Digital Voice-Alert Thermometer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dawnothree
,Levittown
,PA
December 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
I love it.
December 8, 2011
I've had it for 2 years now with no problems. I'm buying one for my dad for Christmas.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver
Review 9 for Digital Voice-Alert Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
USNRet
,Newburgh
,NY
November 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Excellent Product
November 13, 2011
Purchased this Thanksgiving 2010. Used it many, many times. Works like a charm. Even used it on BBQ. I used to always second guess the cooking-times instructions from regular cook books. Now I rely on this, and have never been disappointed... Will probably buy one for my sister since she borrows mine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Digital Voice-Alert Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jmsn
,Lititz
,PA
October 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
AWFUL, DO NOT BUY!
October 22, 2011
I am SO disappointed. I used it once and the plastic connecting the probe to the wires melted but still seemed to work. Just a few months later it has started going crazy! I put the probe into a raw turkey and it yelled at me the food was overdone! I thought it was just because of my mishap in the beginning and was about to order another when I read all these reviews. I wish I had read them before buying the first time. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Inaccurate
Review 11 for Digital Voice-Alert Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BLYoung
Livermore, CA
August 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
The probe died with second use!
August 29, 2011
This is now my 4th digital thermometer (various brands) in the past 2 years, and I believe it will be my last; I give up. The probes just cannot hold up to higher temperatures.
Second time I used this thermometer was for a standing rib roast, which I started off at 500 deg. F for the first 20 minutes. Thinking to protect the probe, I didn't insert it into the roast until I turned the temp down to 325 deg. F for the remaining roast time. After a few minutes the controller registered that my roast was beyond done even though I knew it was still raw inside. Pulled out the probe and the residual oven temp had melted it; it was toast. Not a very robust product, so save yourself the money and aggravation!!!
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Difficult to Store, Fragile
Review 12 for Digital Voice-Alert Thermometer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kenwiz
Lansing, MI
August 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Can't do without it!
August 17, 2011
I'm very satisfied with the operation and accuracy of this thermometer. Have used it many times on various meats & poultry. It always is done to the selected setting. The only problem I've had is the silicon probe. I didn't read the "Helpful Hints" beforehand and the plastic holding the probe became deformed while using it over the charcoal in my Weber grill. If I can get a replacement, I'll be delighted!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Weight
Review 13 for Digital Voice-Alert Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stevek
San Francisco, CA
July 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thermometer is Dead-Two uses
July 26, 2011
After only using the Voice Thermometer twice on the second time the temperature reads "HHH" and the voice keeps saying the food is ready even if the probe is not stuck into the meat. I am returning this expensive, low quality Thermometer ASAP for a full refund
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, Inaccurate, Fragile
Review 14 for Digital Voice-Alert Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AndrewDC77
Washington DC
July 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Bloody chicken??
July 12, 2011
Have used this thermometer less than 12 times, yet the display is already acting up. Also, just pulled chicken out of the oven when the thermometer read 165. Somehow, the chicken is still bloody! Had the same experience with a pork loin being underdone despite a ready that it was ready. Very disappointed with this product.
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Inaccurate
Review 15 for Digital Voice-Alert Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NSBgrandma
NSB, FL
March 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love this thermometer
March 2, 2011
We have owned this for a couple of years. Thermomter is acurate and easy to use. Always had to guess doneness of our meats prior to owning this, which ended up with under or overcooked meat and poultry. We now can rest assure that the dinner will come out moist and perfectly cooked. Our favorite cooking tool!!!
Review 16 for Digital Voice-Alert Thermometer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
RAFSqnLdr
Mineral Wells, TX
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
DISAPPOINTING
December 30, 2010
This is not up to Williams-Sonoma's normal quality. The programmable option is difficult to use and the voice is purely a novelty.
Review 17 for Digital Voice-Alert Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MarkQ
Honolulu, Hawaii
December 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Need Probe Replacement
December 24, 2010
I have two voice alert thermometers and both have malfuctioning probs. The second thermometer reads HI as soon as plug in the probe. I got 10 uses with each thermometer. I'm not sure if the store sells just the probe.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Hainesmama
Posted March 8, 2011
same problem
I'm having the same problem with our probe reading HI much of the time. Sometimes it works, sometimes it seems to short out.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Digital Voice-Alert Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rendell
Marietta, GA
December 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Perfect meat every time.
December 23, 2010
I love this thermometer. Before it I used to do a lot of guess work with any roasted meat. I've probably used this thermometer 60 - 70 times in the 3 years I've had it and it has worked perfectly every time.
No, I don't work for WS. And I'm fairly critical about tools I use. But my experience with this thermometer has been great. I love tracking the temperature and I like the voice cues. If it broke today I'd go buy another before my next roast.
Review 19 for Digital Voice-Alert Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Renewed
Pensacola, FL
December 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Do not buy!!
December 12, 2010
Bought this item a year ago for my wife for Christmas. It lasted almost 3 months and then the screen went out. Replaced the batteries, etc. with no results. Took it back with receipt and Williams Sonoma reluctantly replaced it. At Thanksgiving in the middle of cooking the turkey the screen went out (only partial numbers showing, etc) so changed the batteries thinking it couldn't possibly be happening again. It is dead.
Please spend your money more wisely and find another thermometer.
Review 20 for Digital Voice-Alert Thermometer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Garry
Midwest
November 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great if it works
November 23, 2010
First one I bought turned out to be iffy (often would not respond to input; sometimes the only way to turn it off was to pull the batteries because the power switch wouldn't do anything). I returned unit to store, got a replacement, and so far it's working fine, but I've only used it once.
page1 2 3 next