Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer

Designed for both candy and oil, this digital thermometer signals when sugar reaches the proper temperature for various confections and when oil is hot enough for deep-frying. It can be set for a specific sugar temperature or food choice.Instantly measures temperatures from -130deg.F to 392deg.F.Unit flashes and beeps when desired temperature is reached.Clips to the rim of cooking vessel for safe use.Uses one AA battery (included).
Average Customer Rating:
1.867 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
4 of 15(27%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Review 1 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mastercandymaker
,Jeffersonville
,IN
December 17, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Candy Thermometer Ever
December 17, 2014
I bought this thermometer about 10 or 11 years ago. It has been awesome. This year when I made my first batch of Christmas fudge it seemed like it wasn't working right. I don't understand the other reviews about being hard to read, etc. as it has never failed. I am ordering a new one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 2 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CaramelMaker
,Wichita Falls
,TX
December 14, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Do not Buy!
December 14, 2014
This digital candy thermometer worked great for three batches of caramels and then died in the middle of a batch. Going back to the old fashioned glass one.
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 3 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LA0960
,Australia
August 31, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No Instructions
August 31, 2014
Unfortunately I did not use it, the "Quick Instructions" on the box were not correct and there were no instructions inside the box. The Quick Instructions quotes "Set desirered temperature or select preset temperature" I was able to figure out the "Preset Temperature" but impossible to "Set desired temperature".
I was so excited when I purchased this item but unfortunately I will be returning it.
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 4 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shaena
,Roswell
,GA
June 10, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't Buy This Thermometer
June 10, 2014
This candy thermometer worked great - one time. After that it didn't work - numbers were not clear, settings didn't work. I don't know if it got wet, but if so, it seems like it would withstand some wetness, given its purpose. I'd take it back, but I threw the receipt away assuming that it would be the quality that I usually get from WS products.
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 5 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JessReilly85
,Madison
,WI
February 16, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Digital Reader Froze
February 16, 2014
This worked wonderfully the first time I used it. The second time, the reader froze on zero and I ruined an entire batch of candy. Then the device would not turn off and I finally had to remove the battery so it would reset.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Weight
Cons: Quality, Temperamental
Review 6 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TRock
,Dacula
,GA
December 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works perfect until submerged
December 26, 2013
I made peanut brittle. This Thermometer worked perfect until I was wiping it off over the sink and dropped in a bowl of water. Now, it's not so accurate. I'm throwing it away and going to go buy another, just like it. Best advise, keep it dry.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Easy to Clean
Review 7 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MinnesotaSue
,Austin
,MN
December 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I have had this for 3 years and love it!
December 15, 2013
I use mine for carmels and peanut brittle. They tun out perfect every time.
I don't bother with setting it as that is confusing. I just watch the tempurature.
It's easy to clean. Be sure to do the temperature test first, as my carmels are done at 241 degrees and not 246. I'm sure each thermometer can run a little differnt.
Pros: Accuracy, Easy to Clean, Size
Review 8 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Withani24
,New York
,NY
December 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
-5points
0of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tricky device- fooled me once...
December 2, 2013
I just used this to make toffee of the first time in years. Even though the temp hit 286, I'm disappointed in my results which are a fail. Then, as I was cleaning the device to repackage and return it, I realized there is a small plastic protector-tube on the end of the thermometer that should definitely be removed- oops. Will give it another shot even though I can't for the life of me figure out how to "set" the temp I want (instructions, please!)
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, no instructions
Review 9 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
June 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
piece of junk
June 23, 2013
Do not waste your time or money on this item. the instructions are usesless. the clip does not stay on the pan, it falls over if you just slightly nudge it. The spatter screen is nearly impossible to open. to top it off, the temperature is inaccurate as meassured by my more reliable Thermapen (not made in china).
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, Inaccurate
Review 10 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Azee
June 18, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I think I have to agree with previous reviewers
June 18, 2013
This is just to reiterate that not every product that WS sold is guaranteed to perform well. And yes, this thermometer is Definitely Overpriced for how it performed.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, Inaccurate
Review 11 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
merxmas
,Pleasanton
,CA
January 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lemon - Avoid if possible
January 29, 2013
Difficult to set, inaccurate, and after only owning it a few months, the digital display only shows the top half, and no, a new battery did nothing to help. Have had the old bulb type in the past, and will go back to one of those.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inaccurate, faulty electronics, bad quality
Review 12 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
heardaerda
,Erda
,UT
December 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's faulty. A high priced klunker
December 13, 2012
The other reviewers are right. This thing is a lemon. It's supposed to have an alarm that beeps when the desired temperature is reached. The alarm on mine sounds from the minute you put the battery in. It will not shut off. It will not read a temperature. Do yourself a favor and buy an old-fashioned glass bulb thermometer. Don't waste your money on this.
Cons: faulty
Review 13 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
steeve
December 5, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
JUNK-total over priced junk
December 5, 2012
Just purchased it. Used like 3 times. It will not stay on, times out at like 3 minutes. I will be returning this 35 piece of junk.
Cons: Inaccurate
Review 14 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AuntElsie
,CA
August 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Find a different thermometer
August 5, 2012
I purchased this thermometer to replace a thermometer that I liked even better but can no longer find. I use candy thermometers to help me to achieve the proper set (220 F.) for no-added-pectin jams. This themometer was not properly calibrated. It was off by at least 5 degrees when I checked the temp with another thermometer. I plan to return it. Don't waste your time. Find something that has a better overall rating. Unfortunately, I bought this before I even saw the reviews.
Cons: Inaccurate
Review 15 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HeidiEin
,Philadelphia
,PA
March 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
7of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Doesn't read temperature!
March 8, 2012
I am not an idiot when it comes to electronics, so I can only assume that the thermometer I bought was faulty. It has never once read _any_ temperature. It turns on and allows me to select settings, but that's all! The temperature never registers, and eventually the thermometer times out and turns off. I hope I can get an exchange without a receipt because this is just ridiculous.
Cons: doesn't work!