Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer

Designed for both candy and oil, this digital thermometer signals when sugar reaches the proper temperature for various confections and when oil is hot enough for deep-frying. It can be set for a specific sugar temperature or food choice.Instantly measures temperatures from -130deg.F to 392deg.F.Unit flashes and beeps when desired temperature is reached.Clips to the rim of cooking vessel for safe use.Uses one AA battery (included).
Average Customer Rating:
2.958 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
24 of 48(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Review 1 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JessReilly85
,Madison
,WI
February 16, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Digital Reader Froze
February 16, 2014
This worked wonderfully the first time I used it. The second time, the reader froze on zero and I ruined an entire batch of candy. Then the device would not turn off and I finally had to remove the battery so it would reset.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Weight
Cons: Quality, Temperamental
Review 2 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TRock
,Dacula
,GA
December 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works perfect until submerged
December 26, 2013
I made peanut brittle. This Thermometer worked perfect until I was wiping it off over the sink and dropped in a bowl of water. Now, it's not so accurate. I'm throwing it away and going to go buy another, just like it. Best advise, keep it dry.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Easy to Clean
Review 3 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MinnesotaSue
,Austin
,MN
December 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I have had this for 3 years and love it!
December 15, 2013
I use mine for carmels and peanut brittle. They tun out perfect every time.
I don't bother with setting it as that is confusing. I just watch the tempurature.
It's easy to clean. Be sure to do the temperature test first, as my carmels are done at 241 degrees and not 246. I'm sure each thermometer can run a little differnt.
Pros: Accuracy, Easy to Clean, Size
Review 4 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Withani24
,New York
,NY
December 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tricky device- fooled me once...
December 2, 2013
I just used this to make toffee of the first time in years. Even though the temp hit 286, I'm disappointed in my results which are a fail. Then, as I was cleaning the device to repackage and return it, I realized there is a small plastic protector-tube on the end of the thermometer that should definitely be removed- oops. Will give it another shot even though I can't for the life of me figure out how to "set" the temp I want (instructions, please!)
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, no instructions
Review 5 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
June 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
piece of junk
June 23, 2013
Do not waste your time or money on this item. the instructions are usesless. the clip does not stay on the pan, it falls over if you just slightly nudge it. The spatter screen is nearly impossible to open. to top it off, the temperature is inaccurate as meassured by my more reliable Thermapen (not made in china).
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, Inaccurate
Review 6 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Azee
June 18, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I think I have to agree with previous reviewers
June 18, 2013
This is just to reiterate that not every product that WS sold is guaranteed to perform well. And yes, this thermometer is Definitely Overpriced for how it performed.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, Inaccurate
Review 7 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
merxmas
,Pleasanton
,CA
January 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lemon - Avoid if possible
January 29, 2013
Difficult to set, inaccurate, and after only owning it a few months, the digital display only shows the top half, and no, a new battery did nothing to help. Have had the old bulb type in the past, and will go back to one of those.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inaccurate, faulty electronics, bad quality
Review 8 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
heardaerda
,Erda
,UT
December 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's faulty. A high priced klunker
December 13, 2012
The other reviewers are right. This thing is a lemon. It's supposed to have an alarm that beeps when the desired temperature is reached. The alarm on mine sounds from the minute you put the battery in. It will not shut off. It will not read a temperature. Do yourself a favor and buy an old-fashioned glass bulb thermometer. Don't waste your money on this.
Cons: faulty
Review 9 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
steeve
December 5, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
JUNK-total over priced junk
December 5, 2012
Just purchased it. Used like 3 times. It will not stay on, times out at like 3 minutes. I will be returning this 35 piece of junk.
Cons: Inaccurate
Review 10 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AuntElsie
,CA
August 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Find a different thermometer
August 5, 2012
I purchased this thermometer to replace a thermometer that I liked even better but can no longer find. I use candy thermometers to help me to achieve the proper set (220 F.) for no-added-pectin jams. This themometer was not properly calibrated. It was off by at least 5 degrees when I checked the temp with another thermometer. I plan to return it. Don't waste your time. Find something that has a better overall rating. Unfortunately, I bought this before I even saw the reviews.
Cons: Inaccurate
Review 11 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HeidiEin
,Philadelphia
,PA
March 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
7of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Doesn't read temperature!
March 8, 2012
I am not an idiot when it comes to electronics, so I can only assume that the thermometer I bought was faulty. It has never once read _any_ temperature. It turns on and allows me to select settings, but that's all! The temperature never registers, and eventually the thermometer times out and turns off. I hope I can get an exchange without a receipt because this is just ridiculous.
Cons: doesn't work!
Review 12 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
anzagirl42
,Anaza
,Ca
December 31, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Candy Thermometer
December 31, 2011
MY husband always makes fudge for the holidays. Some years it has been hit and miss because of heat variations. With this thermometer this year each batch we made was perfect. The grandchildren said it was worth the price and we agree! So easy to use we would highly recommend it !
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 13 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Photo
,Salado
,TX
December 20, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
For making candy
December 20, 2011
Has to be programs each use.
It is not usable for making caramels because you have to stir constantly and if you touch the thermometer with the spoon it registers error.
Cons: Difficult to Use, cut out
Review 14 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Murphysboro
,il
November 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Thermometer
November 30, 2011
This is my 2nd digital oil and candy thermomter. I had bought my first one about 6 or more years ago. It finally failed this past year. I have had excellent results with this thermometer. I have only used it for candy making but I have great faith in it as far as frying also. The battery lasted a long time. I only had to change it once and it was this year also. I would buy ten more if I knew they would be discontinuing this product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: the cover is difficult to open
Review 15 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
shells123
,AL
October 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works perfect for me
October 26, 2011
I would have given it 5 stars but I do agree it is a bit top heavy and that can be cumbersome when stirring at its base. Other than that, I love it. I have had it for a year and used it a hand full of times. I like how the metal flap shields the screen reading. I don't use many of the standard settings. I just wait for the temperature. I have never owned a thermometer so I have nothing to compare it with (this was given as a wonderful gift to me). I hope to use it for years to come. My pralines were perfect!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 16 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jene
,MI
Michigan
September 17, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worked great... at first.
September 17, 2011
When I first got this, it worked wonderfully. After about a year however, it gave up the ghost, fritzing out with the readings and sometimes not turning on. After a while, it quit working entirely, and no, a new battery did nothing. Into the trash went the thermometer and the 35 bucks too.
Cons: Temperamental, Inaccurate, short lifespan
Review 17 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ariel05
Winston-Salem NC
September 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
disappointed - don't waste your money
September 7, 2011
I have generally been very satisfied with products from Williams-Sonoma, but this product has definitely been a let down. it beeps incessantly, even when the desired temperature has not been reached, which I think is in part the result of inaccurate readings. I purchased it because I assumed it would be accurate and easy to use, and the exact opposite turned out to be true. It is going in the garbage.
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Inaccurate
Review 18 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SFChef
San Francisco, CA
December 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The clip ruined the side of my pots
December 28, 2010
I used this on two of my pots - one is my All Clad sauce pan and the other on my Calphalon non-stick sauce pan. On both, when I tried to attached and remove the thermometer from the side of my pot, the clip was so tight that it scraped up the sides of my pot badly and they now look horrible. For the Calphalon non-stick pot, it gouged through the non-stick coating. Don't waste your money on this product if you value your pots.
Review 19 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Caloring
Atlanta, GA
December 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unreliable
December 26, 2010
I had one of these for 2 years that worked great. It stopped reading one day- new battery didn't help. So I bought a new one. The new one jumped temperatures around 285- very unstable. I make twenty batches of peanut brittle a year and have never ruined one until I relied on this thermometer. I took it back for a replacement and the replacement was just as bad. So disappointed- I knew I shouldn't have trusted it. Going to get the old glass one with a glass of water instead,
Review 20 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mawmaw4times
Richardson, TX
December 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT Product -- I LOVE it.
December 22, 2010
I don't usually write reviews, but after seeing some of the reviews on this product that were more than unkind, I just had to let people know that I love this thermometer. I've tested it with other thermometers and it always seems to register properly. It turns off or goes blank because people haven't set it properly. You have to turn it on using the "on/select" button, then "set" to either candy or oil, then "set" what you want and then push the "on/select" button again. It will then stay on. I haven't ruined a batch of candy yet. I love that it has a setting between soft ball and hard ball called "firm ball" for candy making. Also, it clips onto the side of pan very nicely and I have not found it to be top heavy. The clip moves up and down very easily. I'm sorry to hear so many are disappointed in this product. I like it so much that I'm buying my daughter one for Christmas this year.
page1 2 3 next