Dial-A-Slice Apple Divider

Unlike most apple slicers, this tool produces two sizes of uniformly sliced apples. With a downward push, it cores an apple and cuts it into thin slices for use in baking and cooking, or thicker wedges for eating out of hand.Stainless-steel blades cut apples into 16 thin slices or 8 thick wedges.Soft handles provide a comfortable nonslip grip.Includes a safety cap for storage.
Average Customer Rating:
3.062 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
9 of 16(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Dial-A-Slice Apple Divider
Review 1 for Dial-A-Slice Apple Divider
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Vagigi2
,Chesapeake
,VA
August 9, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Apple slicer is Okay
August 9, 2014
When ordering this apple slicer, I couldn't wait to get it and try it out. When I received it, I immediately wanted to slice an apple. I tried it on a large apple, and I could hardly get the slicer through the apple and had to give up. I then tried a smaller apple, and it sliced okay but I still wasn't that happy with the slicer. I was even going to return it, but have decided to keep it. Hopefully, it will slice better with use.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Inaccurate
Review 2 for Dial-A-Slice Apple Divider
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rockiton
,Rockport
,MA
January 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
17 year old eats apples now
January 1, 2014
This product IS so easy to use and clean and I especially like the 16 slice option. My 17 year old son eats apples regularly now that I showed him this product and how to use it. That alone is reason to buy it. He grabs some peanut butter to eat with his apple slices and is good to go. I have to be sure to have apples in the house all the time now. Go figure. What's not to love about that.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 3 for Dial-A-Slice Apple Divider
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaBelichick
,Ludlow
,MA
February 21, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
instant Slices
February 21, 2013
I love apples. I love apple pie. I hate slicing apples....until now. I use two different apples for my pies, Cortland and braeburn.which apparently are never the same size. This slicer handles them both with ease in less time than it took to write this review. I am very happy with this product and would recommend it to anyone. One small bit of advice...thoroughly read the directions before using to save yourself some embarrassment.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 4 for Dial-A-Slice Apple Divider
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
skatermom
,Boston
,MA
January 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works well...Must use the plastic base!
January 24, 2013
This apple corer works well, but you need quite a bit of strength, while pushing down, to get it started. I gave it 4 stars, because it definitely won't be easy for someone who is weak or little kids. My teen had a hard time. Once I got the hang of it, it's been easy to use and I use it daily to slice apples for school lunches. It definitely makes nice even apple slices in a blink of an eye. You MUST USE THE PLASTIC BASE TO FINISH THE JOB! After you've sliced through the apple, it stops at the bottom and the last step is to place the plastic base under the apple, align both parts, then push down firmly. That cuts through the last bit of apple and skin. I use a dish brush to clean off any bits of apple and air dry. I may upgrade to the Rösle Apple Slicer, which another reviewer said is excellent and very sharp.
Pros: Durable, Versatile, Design
Cons: need strength to use it.
Review 5 for Dial-A-Slice Apple Divider
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hildie
,Gilbert
,AZ
January 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worked well..for me
January 7, 2013
I have to bang it on chopping board...cuts and releases 16 slices well...very handy for making apple-pie
Pros: Durable, Time-saver
Review 6 for Dial-A-Slice Apple Divider
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
catverna
,Rosharon
,TX
November 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
difficult to use
November 23, 2012
It is hard to "dial" the slices. The blades are dull so that you have to push hard to slice the apple.
Pros: Easy to Store, Durable, Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental
Review 7 for Dial-A-Slice Apple Divider
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MeJustCooking
,Coatesville
,PA
November 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Slicer is Difficult to USE
November 5, 2012
Excited about getting this product from such as GREAT store, I came home and used it immediately. I weigh 130 pounds, 41, and found very difficult to slice! Mind you I have physical strength that allows me to compete in competitions. The 16 slices work better! I am looking for a cheaper product what will do the trick. DO NOT BUY if you want to save time, plan to buy as a gift for the elderly, and like quality. Run Forrest Run!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inaccurate, does not slice all the way through
Review 8 for Dial-A-Slice Apple Divider
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mwilks
,Chicago
August 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Impossible to clean!
August 5, 2012
I got this product as part of my wedding registry and I hate it! In order to clean it you have to separate the two sections and I can't ever seem to get them a part without cutting myself on the blades. Also, having two sets of blades does not make it easier to slice through an apple, regardless of which setting you have it on. I have tried using each piece on its own, but the second set of blades almost broke when I tried this and the first set won't go through. Any cheaper version with one set of blades does a better job, I am sorry I registered for this.
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental
Review 9 for Dial-A-Slice Apple Divider
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DonnaCal
June 12, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stick with Oxo-this one's not worth the high price
June 12, 2012
The adjustable slicer is difficult to use and clean. It needs to be put it on a low counter, using whole upper body but even then it doesn't go all the way through. The blades don't aline when adjusted for larger slices and apple bits get stuck between the mis-alined blades . I'm tossing this one and going back to Oxo!
Pros: none
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, worthless
Review 10 for Dial-A-Slice Apple Divider
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
carolinalt
,Charlotte
,NC
May 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good idea but...
May 13, 2012
I love most of Williams Sonoma's gadgets - it's sort of treat after a long week to stop by and finally buy something I've longed for (hello microplaner!) I've wanted a multi-purpose slicer and this seemed like a great idea. Unfortunately I could never get the dividers to line up (make big slices) and the blades wouldn't lock into place. Try to return to the little slices and blades wouldn't lock in either.
After 3 people and 2 days I returned this. Very nice sales girl exclaimed that it's a favourite product. I had her give it a go. And another store model. No go. Have to wait a while longer (or for the plasticky locking mechanism to be replaced). Sorry!
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, Design
Review 11 for Dial-A-Slice Apple Divider
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lariss
,Hastings
,NE
April 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The worst apple slicer
April 10, 2012
Very difficult to use this slicer, very hard to push down, even with all my body weight on it. And when you try to use it in the 8 slices, the blades don't line up, so it is still very difficult to slice and then clean. It is just taking up space in my kitchen drawer now. I will never buy one like this again.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean
Review 12 for Dial-A-Slice Apple Divider
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JVnF
,a la meda
A la meda
February 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than OXO
February 18, 2012
Much as I like the OXO slicer, I like my slices thinner. This does the trick.
OK everybody who can't get this to work:
push down and let it slice as far as possible, THEN place that "blade cover" it came with UNDER the apple and cutter, LINE IT UP properly with the round knob under the core and the tabs on the outside and push again. Make sure the little white ribs are pushing underneath the slices.
The round knob should push the core all the way through the cutter as well as the last bit of the slices.
The instructions that came with it were written in elvish sized print and very thin. WS should provide another one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design
Cons: bad instruction book
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
clusbriane
Pacific Palisades, CA
Posted March 28, 2012
Thank YOU!
I am still struggling as to how they show you hold it and push UP on the tabs on the side and voila they separate into two pieces ... so I know by the time I tried to use it .. your words will be much appreciated.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Dial-A-Slice Apple Divider
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Redwood City
,CA
February 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Apple slicer/corer ever
February 16, 2012
I saw this product tested on a popular TV show comparing it with other apple corer/slicers, and this one won out. I decided to buy it after throwing out two other apple slicer/corers that were not up to the job. This one worked like a charm. The corer opening is large enough to accommodat the core and the slice wedges blades are adjustable for 8 slices or 16. Nicely engineered. It even comes with a blade cover. Works best when I cut a small bit off the bottom of the apple to keep it level.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Cons: adjustment can be a bit fickle but that's okay.
Review 14 for Dial-A-Slice Apple Divider
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hammergramps
,Brentwood
,CA
January 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dial-a-Slice Apple Divider
January 23, 2012
We saw this divider on America's Test Kitchen and just bought it. It performed just as ATK sais it would. The slices (16) were nice and thin so they cooked more evenly in a pie recipe. Great item.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design
Review 15 for Dial-A-Slice Apple Divider
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ginak
,Seattle
,WA
January 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
More trouble than it's worth
January 14, 2012
This seemed cool at the time that we registered for it, but once we got it, we realized there's no reason for a slicer that slices apples into more pieces than usual, and it's just more trouble. Adjusting it is more difficult than it should be (you have to move all these levers to unlock it and lock it again), and when you line up the two sets of blades so that it cuts the fattest wedges, the blades don't line up perfectly, so they cut these tiny slivers of apple that are useless and get stuck between the blades, making it difficult to clean. Next time we'll get a regular apple slicer instead.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
JVnF
A la meda
Posted February 18, 2012
use the "blade cover" at the end
OK everybody who can't get this to work:
push down and let it slice as far as possible, THEN place that "blade cover" UNDER the apple and cutter, LINE IT UP properly with the round knob under the core and the tabs on the outside and push again. Make sure the little white ribs are pushing underneath the slices.
The Round knob should push the core all the way through the cutter as well as the last bit of the slices.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Dial-A-Slice Apple Divider
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BanjoNut
,Kansas City
,MO
January 9, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Apple Slicer
January 9, 2012
Ordered this after seeing a demonstration on America's Test Kitchen. I must say it works as perfectly as they said it would. It cleans up easily too. I'm very happy with it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Cons: a little expensive
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
overit1
Austin, TX
Posted July 17, 2012
Best Apple Slicer
I was just wondering which episode of American Test Kitchen demos this apple slicer I would like to see for my self how to operate this slicer. Never used it because it didn't seem to line up and plastic outside holders were difficult. I will keep trying.
Thanks for helping explain the product.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)