Hand Painted Chicken Jug

Chuck Williams spotted this jug in the bar of Rome's famed Hotel Hassler, where patrons delighted in asking for whiskeys with "chicken water." After tracking down the Italian manufacturer, our master sleuth began importing the jug, which is made of fully glazed earthenware and handpainted in the Deruta style. 28-oz. cap.; 8 1/2" high. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.607 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
24 of 28(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
Review 1 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
,Yuma
,Az
June 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Chicken pitcher
June 29, 2013
The pitcher wasn't as colorful as it was online. faded looking.
Review 2 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SFTX
,Dallas
,TX
October 24, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great small pitcher
October 24, 2012
I already own this pitcher and bought this one as a gift for a friend who has a house in Key West. People are really into chickens in Key West. It is perfect for oj if you are serving mimosas or lime juice for margaritas. It is too small to use as a water pitcher but is a nice decorative accent.
Review 3 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SheilaDP
April 22, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Housewarming Gift
April 22, 2012
There is actually a story behind the Chicken Pitchers. I'll try to make it short to fit here!
Giuliano Medici was a wealthy land owner in Renaissance Florence. The only serious rival to power to the Medici family was the Pazzi family. One night after the Medici family held a festival for the peasants in the town of Gallina, the Pazzi family plotted to assassinate Giuliano. While Guiliano was sleeping, the Pazzi assassins tried to sneak up on his camp and kill him. The chickens in the yard around his tent made so much noise that it woke Guiliano and his body guards and saved his life! To honor the chickens, he ordered his artisans to create the ceramic jugs and gave them to the peasants of the town for good luck and to ward of assassins. It is a common Italian tradition to give the pitcher as a housewarming gift to protect the owners from trespassers and danger.
Pros: beautiful colors.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
dianemot
vernon hills, IL
Posted June 16, 2013
great story
You did a great job of sharing the story behind chicken pitchers. We lived in Italy in the late 80s for three years. I came back with about 25 in varying sizes and patterns. I love my pitchers and they have made great gifts for friends. That being said, I will part with no more!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BankerWoman1
,Milford
,Mi
March 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love It and Recommend!
March 4, 2012
This is my second one. Unfortunately, the other fell onto the granite and broke it's face off! Thought I'd not replace it, but after two years, missed it too much and bought the new one . . . now I really love it! Over the years, I've given three or four as gifts and everyone has enjoyed them. Although I mainly display it, you could use it to serve wine, or anything. It's a keeper and I recommend!
Pros: Color, Size, Design
Cons: Fragile
Review 5 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jovanna
,Shirley
,NY
Long Island, NY
February 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Whimsical, pretty
February 17, 2012
This is lovely--and easier to have shipped to the door than to carry home from Italy. A previous reviewer mentioned the painted design, that of a man with an elf head, dragon body, well...it may seem odd, but if you google Deruta, it is that particular design that is "the" authentic design and is meant to be that way. To each his/her own, but I'm lovin' it. Marked "made in Italy" on bottom.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight, italian import
Review 6 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
morningglory
,woodbuiry
,ct
Ct.
February 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Deruta hand painted chicken jug
February 6, 2012
I love the jug, it's a good size & colors
are bright & cheerful.
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gifter1
Arlington, VA
June 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is the best gift EVER.
June 10, 2011
This distinctive pitcher makes such a special and memorable gift no matter the ocassion. You will forever be connected to one of the cutest and most practical gifts available.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Design
Review 8 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Caravel
Maryville,TN.
February 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
cute chick...
February 1, 2011
I bought this cute chick years ago. He sits in the kitchen and continues to look new. The colors are still fresh and true to the picture in the catalog. All I can say is - if I didn't already have one...I would buy this chicken now.
Review 9 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jlciva
SW Virginia
January 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Adorable Chicken Jug
January 12, 2011
I really like the chicken jug - it is hand-painted in Italy. My only criticism is that the "red" paint on the comb is lighter than shown - more of a dark pink, and you can see every stroke on the comb, like vertical stripes. I just wish it was painted a little better on the top. Other than that, it is an adorable piece that I am sure will be a conversation starter!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ashtonsmom
Germany
Posted March 19, 2011
Deruta Hand Painted Chicken Jug
I live in Europe and see these chicken jugs at all the bazaars. They are originals brought over from Italy. The painting looks like brushstrokes so the ones you are selling are very true to the originals. Priced well also. Very cute..you can't go wrong with this purchase.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
egglady
Mims, Florida
December 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite item from Williams-Sonoma
December 16, 2010
I recieved this as a gift in 1976. It is my favorite item in my kitchen. It still looks great. I always use it when we have guests, it is a great conversation piece.
I love it. !
Review 11 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Momsplace
Sharon, CT
April 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love This Chicken
April 29, 2010
I have owned this chicken jug for years now!! It has always drawn the attention of guests, family and friends. I love it so much that I am buying it for my daughter who is now ready to go off on her own. It reminds both of us of happy, loving times. It is just precious, even after all these years.
Review 12 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jobie
Columbus, Ohio
April 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A little bit of Italy on my table
April 27, 2010
Love my Deruta Handpainted Chicken Jug, it is perfect for milk or orange juice. It looks great on my table with my white dishes. Love it so much that I gave one to my newly married daughter.
Review 13 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
AnneB
Wisconsin
April 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quality iffy
April 18, 2010
The first jug arrived with the glaze very rough in several places and badly crazed at the handle junction. In addition, the yellow band around the bottom was painted on top of the glaze. I had owned a smaller version of this jug years ago (purchased in Firenze) and knew this wasn't right.
I called customer service and they arranged for UPS to pick up the jug the next day and sent out another one. The second jug arrived by the end of the week. The glaze was perfect and and the yellow band across the bottom definitely had been painted before glazing.
I am somewhat disappointed in the intensity of the color; the rooster's comb is so light it's almost pink. While I would not have picked this individual chicken jug if I'd had a choice of several on a shelf, I have decided to live with it rather than risk getting another poorly glazed sample.
Review 14 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
alvypeel
McHenry Illinois
April 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointment
April 5, 2010
I was disappointed in the quality of the paint job. Colors not as vibrant as expected. Also, the glazed surfaced had several areas where it wasn't fully covered. It did not measure up to Sonoma standards. I was too lazy to send it back.
The size is right and the shaped was fine.
Review 15 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
321rmp
garden grove ca
February 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
"italian checken pitcher".
February 15, 2010
Italian motif" chicken pitcher" is multi use product. I can see it on the table for everything from gravy to creamer for a large crowd! "Beak" hole is compatible for a "small" chunky salsa server!
Review 16 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beelady
NC
February 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Light-Hearted Touch
February 2, 2010
I bought this pitcher YEARS ago. It graces and brightens my table often. Kids (and adults) love to watch orange juice pour out of the rooster's beak, and it adds a little whimsy to the table.
Review 17 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
momcat12
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
January 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Winner
January 2, 2010
Purchased as a gift--recipient loved it!
Nice size, well-detailed design
Review 18 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smokeyjo1
Morganton, NC
November 25, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Old Home Style
November 25, 2009
I've had my chicken jug for many years now. It reminded me so strongly of one my mom had when we were kids that when I saw this one it immediately evoked memories of home and growing up. This year, I'm sending one to my "sister of the heart". I highly recommend it, not only for display, but also for use.
Review 19 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Austin1
Augusta, Georgia
August 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cute and Useful
August 9, 2009
I purchased one of these Deruta Chicken jugs 22 years ago when I was expecting my first child. I still have it and, eight moves later it still has "pride-of-place" on my kitchen counter. It continues to receive surprised chuckles and compliments and is very useful. As one of those things I've enjoyed and owned for many years, it's a rather special reminder of lots of memories.
Review 20 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MikeP
Pasadena, CA
May 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great item
May 2, 2009
Some years ago, I was in Rome speaking at a conference at the Hotel Hassler. I went into the bar and to my delight saw the chicken pitcher. I had given it as a gift to a pal the Christmas before
At the time I drank my whiskey either neat of just with ice. Now days in reaction to age and the economy, I take my whiskey with a bit of water. This jug lets me pour in style.
page1 2 next