Hand Painted Chicken Jug

Chuck Williams spotted this jug in the bar of Rome's famed Hotel Hassler, where patrons delighted in asking for whiskeys with "chicken water." After tracking down the Italian manufacturer, our master sleuth began importing the jug, which is made of fully glazed earthenware and handpainted in the Deruta style. 28-oz. cap.; 8 1/2" high. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
Review 1 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skyygal
,Oklahoma City
,OK
July 1, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this beautiful chicken
July 1, 2014
I bought this chicken jug years ago and we use it as a wine decanter. Everyone loves it so much so we bought one for our daughter. She loves it too and it always makes a wonderful conversation piece. It holds exactly 1 bottle of wine. Perfect !
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
,Yuma
,Az
June 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Chicken pitcher
June 29, 2013
The pitcher wasn't as colorful as it was online. faded looking.
Review 3 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SFTX
,Dallas
,TX
October 24, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great small pitcher
October 24, 2012
I already own this pitcher and bought this one as a gift for a friend who has a house in Key West. People are really into chickens in Key West. It is perfect for oj if you are serving mimosas or lime juice for margaritas. It is too small to use as a water pitcher but is a nice decorative accent.
Review 4 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SheilaDP
April 22, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Housewarming Gift
April 22, 2012
There is actually a story behind the Chicken Pitchers. I'll try to make it short to fit here!
Giuliano Medici was a wealthy land owner in Renaissance Florence. The only serious rival to power to the Medici family was the Pazzi family. One night after the Medici family held a festival for the peasants in the town of Gallina, the Pazzi family plotted to assassinate Giuliano. While Guiliano was sleeping, the Pazzi assassins tried to sneak up on his camp and kill him. The chickens in the yard around his tent made so much noise that it woke Guiliano and his body guards and saved his life! To honor the chickens, he ordered his artisans to create the ceramic jugs and gave them to the peasants of the town for good luck and to ward of assassins. It is a common Italian tradition to give the pitcher as a housewarming gift to protect the owners from trespassers and danger.
Pros: beautiful colors.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
dianemot
vernon hills, IL
Posted June 16, 2013
great story
You did a great job of sharing the story behind chicken pitchers. We lived in Italy in the late 80s for three years. I came back with about 25 in varying sizes and patterns. I love my pitchers and they have made great gifts for friends. That being said, I will part with no more!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BankerWoman1
,Milford
,Mi
March 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love It and Recommend!
March 4, 2012
This is my second one. Unfortunately, the other fell onto the granite and broke it's face off! Thought I'd not replace it, but after two years, missed it too much and bought the new one . . . now I really love it! Over the years, I've given three or four as gifts and everyone has enjoyed them. Although I mainly display it, you could use it to serve wine, or anything. It's a keeper and I recommend!
Pros: Color, Size, Design
Cons: Fragile
Review 6 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jovanna
,Shirley
,NY
Long Island, NY
February 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Whimsical, pretty
February 17, 2012
This is lovely--and easier to have shipped to the door than to carry home from Italy. A previous reviewer mentioned the painted design, that of a man with an elf head, dragon body, well...it may seem odd, but if you google Deruta, it is that particular design that is "the" authentic design and is meant to be that way. To each his/her own, but I'm lovin' it. Marked "made in Italy" on bottom.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight, italian import
Review 7 for Hand Painted Chicken Jug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
morningglory
,woodbuiry
,ct
Ct.
February 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Deruta hand painted chicken jug
February 6, 2012
I love the jug, it's a good size & colors
are bright & cheerful.
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight