Williams-Sonoma Demi-Glace

Our new demi-glace is the modern cook's secret for dishes with extraordinary complexity and depth of flavor. We've fine-tuned the recipes to bring you the closest product available to restaurant-made demi-glace, rich with the essences of natural, slow-simmered ingredients. Just a spoonful or two adds character to all sorts of dishes-from sauces and soups to pastas, risottos and stir-fries. A traditional blend of savory stock, aromatic vegetables and wine, gently simmered for over 30 hours. Concentrated glaze made following an improved recipe that captures the pure flavors of the all-natural ingredients. A new reduction technique produces exquisitely smooth flavor with no burnt or bitter taste. Demi-glace is traditionally used as a finishing touch justbefore serving. A little goes a long way - a spoonful or two adds deep, complex flavors to stocks, soups, stews, sauces, risottos, stir-fries and vegetable dishes. Choose chicken, beef, or veal demi-glace - all include a recipe booklet. 9.5 oz. Product of USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.353 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
14 of 17(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Demi-Glace
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Demi-Glace
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ammurphy
,CT
July 19, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it for multiple dishes
July 19, 2014
Bring back the mushroom demi glace!
I use them all and can't do with out!
.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Demi-Glace
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Minnetonka12
February 21, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
mushroom is gone
February 21, 2014
Bring the Mushroom Demi-Glace back! very versatile flavor enhancer for stews soups etc....
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Demi-Glace
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MoMo24
,Rochester
,MN
December 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This stuff is excellent
December 3, 2013
The best demi glace! Makes the richest sauces...this an an absolute favorite of mine.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Demi-Glace
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Natab0525
,jackson
,nj
November 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great flavor without the work!
November 21, 2013
I have the beef flavor demi glace and I love it. Its got a ton of rich flavor that you just can't get from traditional stock/broth.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Demi-Glace
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eileenwantsmushroom
,Long Island
,NY
November 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What? No Mushroom?
November 13, 2013
What ever happened to the Mushroom Demi Glase? This is the best flavor enhancer for my sausage and mushroom soup. I went to the Roosevelt field store to buy some and they only had chicken, beef and veggie glase. NOT GOOD...very disappointed. I will have to find another product somewhere else. Sorry Williams-Sonoma, but I have no reason to shop there any more unless you bring it back.
Pros: Time-saver, Flavor, mushroom demi glase
Cons: discontinued mushroom demi glase
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Demi-Glace
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2vinolovers
,Stuart
,FL
May 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible Flavor
May 29, 2013
Love, love, love all of the Williams-Sonoma demi-glaces--a little goes a long way in flavor and can be used in a multitude of recipes, like soups, veggies, and pasta--not just on meat. However, my Grill Master Husband makes the most mouth-watering steak to go with this magnificent demi-glace. Great, simple recipes to follow. Once you try it, you'll be a repeat customer.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Demi-Glace
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mousemama
,Spanaway
,WA
Washington State
February 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+21points
22of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mushroom YAY - Chicken NAY.
February 22, 2013
I have always purchased W&S demi glace and didn't think anything of it when they changed the product for the current until I bought and used it. The demi glaze used to be creamy, easy to handle with great flavor like homemade. The new product in the chicken flavor disappoints due to being very hard like coagulated jelly, I also find the flavor too heavy on the celery, not enough chicken & there is way too much starch/gelatin added. When cold it will have to be cut, also takes long to dissolve, all not acceptable for the price. I do not recommend the Chicken d/g, but the mushroom flavor is deep and enhances my sauces/soups quite nicely, lending them a velvety texture.
I really wish that good stuff would be left alone instead of reinvented, if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Pros: Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Ingredients, Flavor
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Demi-Glace
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
GAKs
,Lancaster
,PA
January 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
New Formula Disappoints
January 10, 2013
The new formulation of the Chicken Demi-Glace has been a disappointment in taste, and flavor intensity.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Ingredients
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Demi-Glace
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MAFVT
,Burlington
,VT
January 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Demi-Glace
January 7, 2013
I have used the veal and it was a great easy way to add flavor to my recipe. These Demi-Glace are a great addition to any pantry to add ease in pulling together great meals in less time.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Demi-Glace
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Siggy1999
,Tomball
,TX
December 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Must have for Pot Roast
December 14, 2012
Add one Tablespoon to 1 can French Onion soup and 1 can low sodium beef broth to browned pot roast for an outstanding gravy. Be careful when salting the roast prior to browning as the demi glace is salty.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift, must have
Cons: salty
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Demi-Glace
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MGC123
,Bethel Park
,PA
November 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Demi-Glace
November 12, 2012
I have been using Demi-Glace for years and keep chicken and beef Demi-Glace in my kitchen as staples. I wouldn't be without them.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Demi-Glace
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mbtowne
,San Jose
,CA
November 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
adds richness and depth to everything
November 5, 2012
The beef and chicken demi glaces are staples in my kitchen all year long. They add a unique richness to soups, sauces, stews and risottos. They are also very welcome gifts for family and friends who like to cook or just enjoy good food.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Demi-Glace
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
July 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Great Staple
July 12, 2012
I have had a chance to use each flavour and have yet to be disappointed.
The flavour is rich and complex. They are great for faking a pan sauce from a long-braised meat, adding depth of flavour and giving a so-so dish a boost to take it over the top.
They hold out in the fridge for quite some time, so you have the opportunity to use it all before it turns.
I can see how some might have an issue with added salt, so if you are sensitive to salt, I recommend that you add your salt after the demi-glace.
These are a great secret weapon in your cooking arsenal.
Recommended.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Demi-Glace
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dragonfly1
,San Francisco
,CA
February 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
5of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lose the salt
February 20, 2012
I have tried only the beef Demi-Glace but I have read the ingredients for the others and the biggest drawback to me is the salt. That is one seasoning that I prefer to control myself. The flavor is otherwise fine but I will not be using any of the Demi-Glaces until there is a saltless version.
I am rather surprised that Williams Sonoma would add salt to this product.
Pros: Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, salt
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Upsidedown
Cumming, Georgia
Posted November 17, 2012
Lose the salt
Me too!!!! I feel there is way too much salt so I do not even add any additional salt. Still, it is too salty. Wish they had unsalted or at least reduced salt options.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
Laserlynn
San Francisco, CA
Posted May 31, 2012
Salt in food
Complaining about the fact that salt has been added to demi-glace is a strange complaint to make. Usually the problem with stocks made in the US is that they contain sugar, which is far worse. Too much of American cooking is lousy because of the amounts of sugar used in savory foods. Folks should be more concerned about the amounts of sugar found in most American cooking. Salt adds flavor, and adding salt from the start reduces the risk that folks will add salt to their food once it is on the table...
0points
1of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Demi-Glace
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Maristel
,Los Angeles
,CA
February 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
They Will Never Forget Your Sauce
February 17, 2012
My daughters have stayed in French homes while studying in France. The sauces served with their meals made their entrees appealing. Williams Sonoma's demi-glace has captured the savory sauce of French cooking. One tablespoon of this glace cooked in broth, butter and wine will make any dish worth remembering. Every home must have one.
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Demi-Glace
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MIKEL52
,Gaithersburg
,MD
February 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stock & Demi-Glace review
February 14, 2012
I have been using both the Chicken Stock and Beef Demi-Glace for over 6 months. The results that I had, have been spectacular! I am very pleased that the staff at the Friendship Heights store suggested that I try the Stock & Demi-Glace.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Demi-Glace
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SanJoseMom
,San Jose
,CA
January 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Glad this Demi-Glace is Back!
January 17, 2012
I've been using this demi-glace for years and was distressed when they didn't have it any more. I was very please to see it back in new packaging. I've used it twice - so far so good.
Pros: Quality, Time-saver, Flavor