Decorating Pens

Write, draw and doodle on homemade baked treats with our icing pens. Compact and easy to hold, they simplify piping colorful lines, dots, outlines and lettering onto cookies, cakes, cupcakes and more. Use hot water and kneading to soften them, and then let your imagination guide you. 1.5 oz. each. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.296 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
16 of 27(59%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Decorating Pens
Review 1 for Decorating Pens
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Morphomixtress
December 22, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't Buy These
December 22, 2013
I gave these pens 2 starts because the icing is delicious. However, in order to get the icing out of the tube you have to get it very warm per the instructions. In between cookies (I used the giant snowflake cut outs), the icing hardened in the tip and I had to force it back open with a pin or other metal pokey item. I also was not strong enough to keep the icing flowing for the entire perimeter of a cookie. Even when I got icing where I wanted it to go, because it had to get so warm to get out of the tube it dripped AWAY from its designated location. Way too much work for something I purchased specifically to help make things easier. I'm an experienced home baker and want to learn how to make unique specialty items like fancy cookies but this product isn't gonna take me there. Precision icing is NOT happening with these things.
Pros: taste
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, hard to use
Review 2 for Decorating Pens
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
holidaybaker1234
,Milwaukee
,WI
December 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very disappointed
December 17, 2013
I expected more from Williams Sonoma. I could barely get icing out of the tube, even after carefully following the instructions. Icing didn't stick well to cookies and left blobs rather than fine lines. I am a VERY experienced baker and am very disappointed by this product. Save your money and cut a hole in a plastic bag to pipe icing.
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Use
Review 3 for Decorating Pens
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NGME
,Syracuse
,NY
December 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awful, would never come out!
December 15, 2013
I followed the instructions for this product. Even placed the tube in a cup of boiling water to let it soften. I was never able to get any product out of the tube. The product softened so I could squish it in the container. I could stick a toothpick up into it, but nothing would ever come out of it. Thinking it was me, I had other family member try and get it to come out of the tube - no luck there either. I ended up calling and getting a refund for the one I received, and canceled my back order for the other colors. Worst product ever!
Cons: can't get it to come out!
Review 4 for Decorating Pens
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Linstan
,Lowell
,In
November 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Decorating cookies
November 21, 2012
I asked advice on decorating cookies in the store. I was shown these decorating pens. And I like the way the cookies look. They taste good (not too sweet.) too.
The only down side is having to keep them warm so they are the right consistency to use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Store, Design
Cons: hard to squeeze out
Review 5 for Decorating Pens
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
anartistcook
October 14, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very frustrating to use, don't waste your money...
October 14, 2012
I purchased four of these of different colors to use when making cookies. They were terribly frustrating to use. The water dripped everywhere. They require more than 125 degrees to get soft. The icing does not flow out of the pen nicely. The icing does not stay hot and soft long enough to do more than a minute or two of decorating. I was hoping for a shortcut to royal icing. It won't happen with these. I threw all four pens away.
Cons: Quality
Review 6 for Decorating Pens
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rugbyluver1981
,Naperville
,IL
Naperville, IL
May 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buy TWO of each color for better results!!
May 8, 2012
I love using these to decorate cookies, especially the Star Wars cut-outs.
Years ago I realized that I was taking too many breaks with my decorating pens if I needed to re-soften a specific color. Solution??...Now I always buy at least two of each color, keeping one decorating pen in a glass of warm water while I decorate with the other. When I'm ready to switch tubes, I don't have to wait. Plus, the consistency of the icing is much smoother the entire time (instead of possibly brittle or runny from too much reheating).
I would love to see a few more colors available, not to mention two-packs for convenience!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, professional results, taste
Review 7 for Decorating Pens
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lolyd
,Argentina
January 22, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
perfect for decorations
January 22, 2012
it`s easy to make neat decorations with it! it's perfect to decorate the cookies and the ginger bread kids ,
Pros: Easy to Use, Versatile
Review 8 for Decorating Pens
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
velle
,ARLETA
,CA
ARLETA, CA.
December 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NEEDED THAT BLUE COLOR
December 27, 2011
Every year I buy a few of their frosting pens to add to my collection. I then have all the colors I need to create beautiful masterpieces just like my paintings. A great price and an amazing product. This is my favorite place to shop.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Weight
Review 9 for Decorating Pens
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Aloc
December 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
8 y.o. & 11 y.o. baker-friendly pens
December 25, 2011
These worked surprisingly well for my two daughters. Placed the pens TIP DOWN in a cup of hot water and it worked perfectly for decorating the gingerbread house. Just returned them to the hot water each time they finished and no problems. The girls used them with no instruction or guidance, and created very nice looking decorations. Highly recommended!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Design
Review 10 for Decorating Pens
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NKV1828
Wilmington, De
May 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Must For Cookie Decorating!
May 4, 2011
These pens are great! They work wonderfully and the icing is very tasty. Easy to use.. Just place pens in hot water from the tap, and let sit for a short period of time. With a little imagination, they make any cookie a masterpiece.
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 11 for Decorating Pens
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Fort Worth
April 2, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hope you are a proficient cookie decorator
April 2, 2011
I did manage to get these pens softened in order to use them. However, they were too soft to start and then didn't stay soft for very long. Perhaps if one is a professional baker one would have had better luck. The icing,once melted, was stringy and hard to manage. Also. only 4 colors available. Not that it matters now. I will not buy these again. A shame. Now, I'm not sure what to use on the message cookie cutters I bought. (That's another story.) However, anything would be better than these pens.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: Quality, difficult to use., icing texture waxy
Review 12 for Decorating Pens
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amf727
Boston, MA
April 1, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Decorating Pens
April 1, 2011
These decorating pens are the best I have ever used. I put the decorating pen in a tall mug of very hot water. Let it sit a few minutes and was ready to go. After using ,I put the pen back in the hot water, which kept the icing soft.
I wish these pens came in pastel colors for Easter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Size
Review 13 for Decorating Pens
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CindysCupCakes
Massachusetts
February 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite pen
February 19, 2011
These pens are the greatest. Hot water softens them to use. I've tried other but these are best.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Recommendations
 
 
Review 14 for Decorating Pens
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jgrogan
Minneapolis, MN
February 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
takes practice
February 13, 2011
As others have mentioned, put in warm\hot water tip down, which is contrary to the instructions. Mine got plugged a couple of time and at first I didn't melt them enough to get good flow. After a batch of Star Wars cookies that turned out OK, my Valentine's cookies turned out great! Can't wait to get more and use them more often. One more tip, be ready with all cookies to be decorated. Once it's flowing you need to move quickly. If it's not working for you, keep trying, you'll get it figured out!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 15 for Decorating Pens
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wildcs
massachusetts
January 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
awful, awful
January 23, 2011
I'm so disappointed in these pens. They are as hard as a rock and I cannot get them soft for use. I have never, ever had a bad product from Williams-Sonoma, so I was really surprised. Not worth the postage to send them back, so I won't, but they are worthless.
Review 16 for Decorating Pens
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shez
Orange County, CA
January 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
decorating pens
January 23, 2011
terrible - bought these so myself and my kids could have some fun doing cookie decorating they go rock hard after only a few minites what a waste of money williams sonoma
Review 17 for Decorating Pens
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AmyJoy
Denver
January 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Completely dried out before I ever used it!
January 20, 2011
I bought the black one of these to decorate Star Wars sugar cookies. When I removed the plastic and went to use it, I discovered it had turned rock-hard and completely dried out. I'm really disappointed in this product.
Review 18 for Decorating Pens
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Labelle
Waterloo, Ontario Canada
January 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too Hard to Use
January 19, 2011
I bought 2 of these icing pens before Christmas. The icing tastes great, much better than the Wilton brand for example.
However, I got a lot of problems actually getting the icing to flow. Multiple cups of hot water and kneading.
Then when I finally got it going I found there was actually very little icing in the "pen". I have a Xmas ppan from WS and there was not even enough icing in one pen just to outline the design!
Review 19 for Decorating Pens
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
xenia007
Ontario, Canada
January 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!!!
January 18, 2011
If a person follows the directions and puts the tube, tip down, in hot water, kneading gently every couple of minutes, these work perfectly!! I used to live in the US and used these regularly. Now that I am in Canada and WS doesn't ship here, I am relying on the tubes I bought right before my move (over 2 years ago) and they STILL work perfectly! Fantastic product!!!
Review 20 for Decorating Pens
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NancyV
Wilmington, De.
January 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Must Have For Decorating Cookies
January 18, 2011
These pens are great!! Place them in hot water and the possibilities are endless for cookie decorating.They have a delicious flavor also.
page1 2 next