Decorating Pens

Write, draw and doodle on homemade baked treats with our icing pens. Compact and easy to hold, they simplify piping colorful lines, dots, outlines and lettering onto cookies, cakes, cupcakes and more. Use hot water and kneading to soften them, and then let your imagination guide you. 1.5 oz. each. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
2.571 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
3 of 7(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Decorating Pens
Review 1 for Decorating Pens
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Morphomixtress
December 22, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't Buy These
December 22, 2013
I gave these pens 2 starts because the icing is delicious. However, in order to get the icing out of the tube you have to get it very warm per the instructions. In between cookies (I used the giant snowflake cut outs), the icing hardened in the tip and I had to force it back open with a pin or other metal pokey item. I also was not strong enough to keep the icing flowing for the entire perimeter of a cookie. Even when I got icing where I wanted it to go, because it had to get so warm to get out of the tube it dripped AWAY from its designated location. Way too much work for something I purchased specifically to help make things easier. I'm an experienced home baker and want to learn how to make unique specialty items like fancy cookies but this product isn't gonna take me there. Precision icing is NOT happening with these things.
Pros: taste
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, hard to use
Review 2 for Decorating Pens
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
holidaybaker1234
,Milwaukee
,WI
December 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very disappointed
December 17, 2013
I expected more from Williams Sonoma. I could barely get icing out of the tube, even after carefully following the instructions. Icing didn't stick well to cookies and left blobs rather than fine lines. I am a VERY experienced baker and am very disappointed by this product. Save your money and cut a hole in a plastic bag to pipe icing.
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Use
Review 3 for Decorating Pens
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NGME
,Syracuse
,NY
December 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awful, would never come out!
December 15, 2013
I followed the instructions for this product. Even placed the tube in a cup of boiling water to let it soften. I was never able to get any product out of the tube. The product softened so I could squish it in the container. I could stick a toothpick up into it, but nothing would ever come out of it. Thinking it was me, I had other family member try and get it to come out of the tube - no luck there either. I ended up calling and getting a refund for the one I received, and canceled my back order for the other colors. Worst product ever!
Cons: can't get it to come out!
Review 4 for Decorating Pens
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Linstan
,Lowell
,In
November 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Decorating cookies
November 21, 2012
I asked advice on decorating cookies in the store. I was shown these decorating pens. And I like the way the cookies look. They taste good (not too sweet.) too.
The only down side is having to keep them warm so they are the right consistency to use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Store, Design
Cons: hard to squeeze out
Review 5 for Decorating Pens
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
anartistcook
October 14, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very frustrating to use, don't waste your money...
October 14, 2012
I purchased four of these of different colors to use when making cookies. They were terribly frustrating to use. The water dripped everywhere. They require more than 125 degrees to get soft. The icing does not flow out of the pen nicely. The icing does not stay hot and soft long enough to do more than a minute or two of decorating. I was hoping for a shortcut to royal icing. It won't happen with these. I threw all four pens away.
Cons: Quality
Review 6 for Decorating Pens
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rugbyluver1981
,Naperville
,IL
Naperville, IL
May 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buy TWO of each color for better results!!
May 8, 2012
I love using these to decorate cookies, especially the Star Wars cut-outs.
Years ago I realized that I was taking too many breaks with my decorating pens if I needed to re-soften a specific color. Solution??...Now I always buy at least two of each color, keeping one decorating pen in a glass of warm water while I decorate with the other. When I'm ready to switch tubes, I don't have to wait. Plus, the consistency of the icing is much smoother the entire time (instead of possibly brittle or runny from too much reheating).
I would love to see a few more colors available, not to mention two-packs for convenience!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, professional results, taste
Review 7 for Decorating Pens
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lolyd
,Argentina
January 22, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
perfect for decorations
January 22, 2012
it`s easy to make neat decorations with it! it's perfect to decorate the cookies and the ginger bread kids ,
Pros: Easy to Use, Versatile