de Buyer Mineral "B" Country Fry Pan

De Buyer Mineral cookware is an organic, environmentally responsible choice and a favorite for searing and caramelizing foods. This pan is made of 99% iron with no chemicals or coatings added, simply an organic beeswax finish that aids in seasoning the pan for a naturally stick-resistant surface. Featuring high, rounded sides, this traditional French country pan excels at sauteing, simmering, deep-frying and stir-frying. Made of 99% iron, a natural mineral material. Organic beeswax finish-denoted by a "B" in the pan's center-protects pan against oxidation, helps in the seasoning process and improves nonstick quality. With use, the pan darkens and develops a naturally nonstick surface, and the "B" in the center will disappear. Allows high-heat searing to seal in food flavors, juices and nutrients. Safe for use on all heat sources, including induction. Triple-riveted steel handle. 10" fry pan: 10" diam., 4 1/4" high; 3 lb. 5 oz. 12" fry pan: 12" diam., 5 1/2" high; 5 lb. Made in France by de Buyer.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(3 Reviews) 3
2 of 3(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for de Buyer Mineral "B" Country Fry Pan
Review 1 for de Buyer Mineral "B" Country Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JillMad
,Milwaukee
,Wi
January 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Pan for All Seasons
January 28, 2013
Since eating Teflon does not appeal to me, I returned to the original non-stick - cast iron, and the old standby - stainless steel. This huge steel skillet with the extra handle and beeswax finish looked and sounded intriguing to me. In fact, it is a wonderful skillet and I use it several times a week to cook many different foods - following the same criteria as for cast iron: avoid acetic foods, such as tomatoes and do not leave saucy food in the pan to undo the seasoning. The de Buyer video on YouTube explains care and seasoning in the very visual, multi-lingual way required these days. Now I want the smaller one and I am seriously eying the other styles!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: requires precise seasoning
Review 2 for de Buyer Mineral "B" Country Fry Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nanatoo
,Thousand Oaks
,CA
October 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
-28points
0of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Imparts metal flavor to foods
October 12, 2012
I ended up throwing this pan away after the first use... I made a large pot of chili and it tasted like metal... Threw away the chili and the pot...
Pros: Design
Cons: Quality
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer avatar
Aliki
Chicago
Posted March 5, 2013
What a shame!
You threw out one of the finest pans made. It's made in France by a very old company. I visited their booth at the Housewares show and wanted one of everything they make. The pans are steel and therefore cannot take acid foods. For everything else, read the review above.
I'm not sure why an amateur cook would even buy this pan. Too bad for you.
0points
Customer avatar
Space
NYC
Posted December 16, 2012
What a waste
These are some of the best pans money can buy, a bit overpriced here on this site I would pay no more then $40 or $50 for this in any good restaurant supply store I.E. on the Bowery in NYC. It sounds like you did't season this pan at all, or clean the protective coating hence the bad taste. The pans are in some of the finest kitchens threw out the world. I don't own the pan in question but I have one black steel pan made by Matfer. I have to say this pan cooks food like no other, even heat distribution you can put it in the oven or broiler without having to worry. Just keep it seasoned and clean it under hot water and a brush only no soap, that will remove the seasoning, and dry it after use .
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
ChoppyChoppy
Oak Island, NC
Posted December 9, 2012
Waste of a GREAT pan
Acidic foods such as tomatoes need to be cooked in a non-reactive pat (stainless steel, porcelain, coated metal and such). Once the Mineral B pan is properly seasoned, the acidic foods may remove some of the "seasoning" finish, but the protective coating imparted by the seasoning should prevent the metallic taste. It is important to remember that cookware should be matched to the cooking requirements. In this case, it seems that nanatoo used a pan that was not seasoned or did not understand the chemistry involved in what she/he was making.
I love my Mineral B fry pans. I have 3. I do not use them for acidic cooking. I have other pans/pots that are for chili and such.
0points
Customer avatar
CMcCloud
Lexington, KY
Posted November 19, 2012
You obviously knew more than the manufacturer
I have used these pans for a couple of years and have NEVER had any probelms with metallic taste imparting to the food. Seasoned correctly before the first use, you CAN NOT buy or use a better product. PERIOD. My suggestion: buy another one, read the directions before first use, season according to directions and try again. You WILL be amazed...
0points
Customer avatar
SRLong
Fargo, ND
Posted November 3, 2012
Clearly did NOT read the instructions
If these de Buyer pans are seasoned correctly before they are first used, they will immediately begin to develop a non-stick coating that never allows any metallic flavor to be imparted food. I've used them for years without any such problems whatsoever! What a waste of a fine pan!
0points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 3 for de Buyer Mineral "B" Country Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miffy
,Castro Valley
,CA
August 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great pan for high-heat cooking
August 17, 2012
I cooked Asian food most of times and need a non-stick pan for high-heat saute, pan frying or deep frying cooking method. All other non-stick cookwares do not recommend to use on high-heat. This pan is great for high-heat cooking and best of all it has nonstick quality.
Follow the instruction on the booklet that come with the pan before first use and season. The instruction of season pan before first use on WS website is for de Buyer blue steel series. It would ruining the finish of the pan by boiling the potatoes peeling (I did that on my first pan and exchanged for another one).
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Shape, Weight
Cons: the handle size is too long