de Buyer Mandoline

If you've ever considered purchasing an authentic French mandoline, this model offers the perfect introduction. Four blade options let you create an array of cuts, and a well-designed pusher keeps hands safe.Lightning-fast stainless-steel mandoline with perfect precision.Creates waffle, straight and julienne cuts.Two reversible cutlery-grade stainless-steel blades: a straight/serrated blade and a 4mm/10mm julienne blade.Easy-to-use thickness adjuster.Pusher has a hand guard for safe, comfortable operation.Folds for compact storage.Dishwasher safe.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
26 of 32(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for de Buyer Mandoline
Review 1 for de Buyer Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dsrtknght
,Tampa
,FL
November 25, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great gift
November 25, 2013
My spouse was complaining about the size of her Mandoline, so I found this one at Williams and Sonoma. The size is great, it handles well and works like a charm
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 2 for de Buyer Mandoline
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
prohomecook
,plano
,tx
July 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NOT WORKING :(
July 21, 2013
My husband got this for me and I could not wait to try it. It was very disappointing. Only thing that worked well was the straight cut. It does not worth the price. You can easily do the same straight cut with a knife without paying so much for it. I am taking it back today :(
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, Inaccurate
Review 3 for de Buyer Mandoline
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PollyUnsaturated
,Maple Grove
,MN
June 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
11of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Save your money
June 19, 2012
Received this for a gift from my wife last Christmas as I was using an inexpensive mandoline with minor issues. The new French de Buyer unit's knife was badly sharpened (wire edge totally folded over for those who understand sharpening) and couldn't manage to slice a potato. After honing, the unit seemed to handle a potato OK but still couldn't slice an onion with any kind of proficiency. This is an incredibly overpriced piece of badly engineered and manufactured product. I would toss it out today but I don't want to risk the feelings of my bride.
I'm going back to my German Borner $30.00 unit that has performed beautifully when my bride isn't looking.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality
Review 4 for de Buyer Mandoline
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Melhivyleague
,Roseburg
,OR
Oregon
March 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Handy straight slicer but not thrilled with blades
March 8, 2012
The good: The straight blade cuts through cucumbers & carrots with ease. Makes lovely waffle cut fries & perfect sliced potatoes. The bad: I did not have much luck with the serrated blade as both my carrots & cucumbers never made it through with a clean slice. Same with the julienne.
Slicing a long/thin veggies is difficult with the suggested hand guard. Also, there is prep work required to get my potato or apple to fit into the pusher and because of the hand guard there is a fair amount of product that will not feed through the mandoline and needs to be cut by hand.
I would recommend this to a friend, but with reservation. I am happy with this purchase for slicing potatoes & fruit (for drying), but it does not perform as well as I had expected.
Random side note: The red hand guard is a different color red than the body of the mandoline - a bit tacky for the quality of items I expect to get from Williams Sonoma.
Pros: Durable, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, Difficult to Store, Inaccurate, prep work required
Review 5 for de Buyer Mandoline
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
freddieUtah
,Clearfield
,ut
December 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mandolines from William Sonoma catalog
December 13, 2011
While this mandolin cuts very nicely and is quite sturdy, the slicing adjustment is somewhat hard to use. There are no lining up marks to reset to where last used. The holding tool works just great. I would recommend a knob with some kind of adjusting mechanism to make this a better machine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean
Cons: hard to adjust thickness
Review 6 for de Buyer Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blossomthyme
,Annapolis
,MM
October 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's Great
October 2, 2011
I give it 5 stars because if fulfills my need to slice and julienne. I like the waffle feature as well. I did a lot of practicing with some potatoes, then I boiled them up and made mashed potatoes. I mainly wanted this for very thin slices and also for making gratins.
I'm having a lot of fun with it. I guess for long veggies, like cucumbers and zuchinni, you can do it without the pusher, but you'd probably better get those protective gloves. I know someone who had to go to the hospital using her new mandoline. Not this one of. This one is very safe. I love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Cons: have to guess size of cut
Review 7 for de Buyer Mandoline
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fatdogs2
Rock Island, IL
August 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Inconsistent Color
August 21, 2011
The mandoline works beautifully. My only complaint is that the pusher was a different color than the mandoline body. The body was the bright red while the pusher was a maroon. Not sure if that is the case for all the mandolines or if I just received an odd duck.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: Color
Review 8 for de Buyer Mandoline
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
christian7
May 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-17points
1of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
julienne cuts
May 16, 2011
I buy a mandolin for Julienne cuts, I can slice perfectly the other way. I need one that works with long veg, long straight thin cuts. not perfectly round ones. How do we make this work or what do I get?
Cons: Inaccurate
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
abrown13
new york, ny
Posted January 25, 2012
Might I suggest this?
This attachment which works with this mandoline allows you to do just that with a safety cover and everything!
0points
Customer avatar
blossomthyme
Annapolis, MD
Posted October 5, 2011
I have an idea
Perhaps you could make thick lengthwise slices first (you would have to do it without the holder), then, use your knife to cut them into julienne slices. I don't know of anything that is not designed specifically for this task that could make julienne slices.
0points
Customer avatar
Cause
Richmond, VA
Posted August 3, 2011
Long, straight cuts
I haven't heard of a mandoline that is designed for longer cuts, but you can do them with any mandoline... lay the carrot (for example) flat on the machine and don't use the guard... just be very careful and watch your fingers. Twist the carrot 1/4 turn when getting thin on one side.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 9 for de Buyer Mandoline
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WMSZ
Dallas TX
May 11, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Would buy again but...
May 11, 2011
It is really a time saver but there are no guages for you to choose the thickness of the cut you want. You have to do it by trial and error which is a waste of produce. The other con would be when your produce is nearing the end you can't push the plunger down enough to do one last cut so you are left with a thick end piece.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: no guages for size
Review 10 for de Buyer Mandoline
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
yogameyer
Tuscaloosa, AL
March 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy and safe slicing
March 14, 2011
This mandoline has an easy to grip /non slippery bar for keeping the mandoline steady. The food I slice fits neatly in the compartment and is held firmly by the 3 metal prongs inserted inside the rounded "pusher". Adjustment of the perfect cut/ thickness of item is difficult until one is accustomed to the mandoline. It took me several tries to get the perfect waffle cut for a sweet potato fry.
Review 11 for de Buyer Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shea220
DE
January 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Kitchen Tool
January 27, 2011
After eying for a year I decided to go for it. I love it and use it more often than I thought I would. It is very safe to use, easy to clean and folds up nicely for storage. One of my best buys!
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 12 for de Buyer Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jenny1944
Boston
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Saves you time in the kitchen!
January 25, 2011
Easy to clean, which was my main concern. Sharp blade cut right through my sweet potatoes and I was also able to do the cucumber slices I love for cucumber salad.
The "protective" stuff doe not work well for long skinny things (like the potatoes) so i just used my hands and was careful not to cut off a finger.
Great item, saved me a TON of time in the kitchen!
Review 13 for de Buyer Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LindaLK
Princeton, NJ
January 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Product
January 14, 2011
I wish I had bought this product years ago. It's easy to use and easy to clean and works perfectly.
Review 14 for de Buyer Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sharhel
Big Pine Key, Fl
January 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love my Mandoline
January 2, 2011
This is exactly what I wanted for slicing veggies and making fries. Love how it protects your fingers from cuts and has a stand for easy use.
Review 15 for de Buyer Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RSFCook
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
October 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
How did I live without this?
October 13, 2010
I always wanted one of these things, but thought it would be a hassle to use - this is so simple and sturdy and works so easily. I love the way the round part on top presses the vegetables down. I have been giggling while I use it because now everything is perfectly sliced or shredded and pretty. I'm giving a friend one for Christmas. Great tool, easy to clean also.
Review 16 for de Buyer Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tinkbrummett
Kuwait
July 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Value for the Money
July 28, 2010
I have wanted a mandolin for the longest time. I saw this one on your website and decided to take the plunge. I have to say, glad I did. This machine is heavy and substantial, yet easy to use. Great addition to my culinary arsenal.
Review 17 for de Buyer Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jjjknight
Green Cove Springs, FL
July 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
How Did I Last So Long Without This?
July 26, 2010
After my 5-year-old fell in love with sweet potato chips I found my self spending upwards of 20 minutes raking a sweet potato down the side of a grater. I just received my new Mandoline slicer and it cut my time down to two minutes for two sweet potatoes! It is very easy to use and cleans up in a breeze. I love this appliance and find myself wandering around just looking for veggies to cut! Makes it easy to eat just a bit healthier.
Review 18 for de Buyer Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JDvoracek
Austin, TX
May 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Safety first!
May 9, 2010
Our old mandoline fortunately broke before we sliced too many fingers. Safety was our first priority when we went shopping for a replacement, and the rugged construction and great design of this model caught our attention over two or three others on the shelf. The instructional video is great, and really needs to be watched to fully utiltize this slicer and to be safe about it. We are just really pleased.
Review 19 for de Buyer Mandoline
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BJD55
Quechee VT
April 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fun Gadget To Spice Up Presentation!
April 14, 2010
I've tried the waffle cut on sweet & regular potatoes and the krinkle cut on cukes . . . homemade French Fries is next on my hit list. It would be nice to get some recipes with this, given the cost and the fact that not everyone has either the time for research or the natural creativity when it comes to food prep. Very well made and a good value.
Review 20 for de Buyer Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
loverson
Fayetteville, GA
April 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to Use
April 12, 2010
I just love this mandolin. I had a much larger one, and found it too cumbersome for me. This one is just the right size, easy to use, easy to clean. The results may not be that of a professional, but for your ordinary, everyday use, it's perfect.
page1 2 next