de Buyer Mandoline

If you've ever considered purchasing an authentic French mandoline, this model offers the perfect introduction. Four blade options let you create an array of cuts, and a well-designed pusher keeps hands safe.Lightning-fast stainless-steel mandoline with perfect precision.Creates waffle, straight and julienne cuts.Two reversible cutlery-grade stainless-steel blades: a straight/serrated blade and a 4mm/10mm julienne blade.Easy-to-use thickness adjuster.Pusher has a hand guard for safe, comfortable operation.Folds for compact storage.Dishwasher safe.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.75 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
2 of 4(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for de Buyer Mandoline
Review 1 for de Buyer Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dsrtknght
,Tampa
,FL
November 25, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great gift
November 25, 2013
My spouse was complaining about the size of her Mandoline, so I found this one at Williams and Sonoma. The size is great, it handles well and works like a charm
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 2 for de Buyer Mandoline
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
prohomecook
,plano
,tx
July 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NOT WORKING :(
July 21, 2013
My husband got this for me and I could not wait to try it. It was very disappointing. Only thing that worked well was the straight cut. It does not worth the price. You can easily do the same straight cut with a knife without paying so much for it. I am taking it back today :(
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, Inaccurate
Review 3 for de Buyer Mandoline
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PollyUnsaturated
,Maple Grove
,MN
June 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
12of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Save your money
June 19, 2012
Received this for a gift from my wife last Christmas as I was using an inexpensive mandoline with minor issues. The new French de Buyer unit's knife was badly sharpened (wire edge totally folded over for those who understand sharpening) and couldn't manage to slice a potato. After honing, the unit seemed to handle a potato OK but still couldn't slice an onion with any kind of proficiency. This is an incredibly overpriced piece of badly engineered and manufactured product. I would toss it out today but I don't want to risk the feelings of my bride.
I'm going back to my German Borner $30.00 unit that has performed beautifully when my bride isn't looking.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality
Review 4 for de Buyer Mandoline
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Melhivyleague
,Roseburg
,OR
Oregon
March 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Handy straight slicer but not thrilled with blades
March 8, 2012
The good: The straight blade cuts through cucumbers & carrots with ease. Makes lovely waffle cut fries & perfect sliced potatoes. The bad: I did not have much luck with the serrated blade as both my carrots & cucumbers never made it through with a clean slice. Same with the julienne.
Slicing a long/thin veggies is difficult with the suggested hand guard. Also, there is prep work required to get my potato or apple to fit into the pusher and because of the hand guard there is a fair amount of product that will not feed through the mandoline and needs to be cut by hand.
I would recommend this to a friend, but with reservation. I am happy with this purchase for slicing potatoes & fruit (for drying), but it does not perform as well as I had expected.
Random side note: The red hand guard is a different color red than the body of the mandoline - a bit tacky for the quality of items I expect to get from Williams Sonoma.
Pros: Durable, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, Difficult to Store, Inaccurate, prep work required