de Buyer Kobra Adjustable Slicer

Indulge your inner chef with this user-friendly adjustable slicer from France. It duplicates knife skills that professional chefs take years to master, producing consistent results. V-shaped microserrated blade cuts vegetables and fruits with perfect precision. Supersharp cutlery grade stainless-steel blade. Slices from paper-thin to 3/16" thick. In-handle thumb wheel adjusts slicing thickness. Equally efficient with firm produce and soft foods like cooked beets, ripe tomatoes and pears. Ergonomically designed pusher protects hands. Pusher clips beneath tool for space-saving storage. Dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.66 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
47 of 50(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for de Buyer Kobra Adjustable Slicer
Review 1 for de Buyer Kobra Adjustable Slicer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
paulfisher
,Portland
,Ct
October 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy, covenient slicer
October 16, 2013
I used mine on some old eggplant. It did a great job and was easy to clean up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 2 for de Buyer Kobra Adjustable Slicer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymity
October 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1st mandolin, so far so good
October 14, 2013
So far this slicer seems durable and good quality, it's also easy to use. The blade is adjustable, which is why I opted for this model. However, even at it's thickest the slices are quite thin, so there are some instances where I'd prefer to hand slice with a chef's knife. This is the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars, but maybe you can't have it all with only 1 mandolin?
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 3 for de Buyer Kobra Adjustable Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Greek
Spencer, Ohio
September 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Reasonable price good quality
September 4, 2013
I like this mandolin very much. It only slices but that is generally all I want it to do. I would recommend this item. It is well made and user friendly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Weight
Review 4 for de Buyer Kobra Adjustable Slicer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wolfcreek
,Temecula
,CA
June 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very nice Vegetable slicer
June 29, 2013
This is a compact slicer that works very well on fruits and vegetables. I like the handle that keeps your fingers away from the slicer. The adjustment for thickness is very user friendly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 5 for de Buyer Kobra Adjustable Slicer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mom2kdnh
,Chicago
,Il
April 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Buy, does the job
April 16, 2013
great tool for slicing most veggies; potatoes were difficult and I won't try them on this again; but well worth the purchase to do tomatoes, peppers, onions, etc!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 6 for de Buyer Kobra Adjustable Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LTrags
,Baltimore
,MD
March 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Slices extremely thin and a real time saver!
March 6, 2013
Very easy to use and performs as shown - a must have for everyone.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Review 7 for de Buyer Kobra Adjustable Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reem
,Pittsburgh
,PA
January 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I sliced 5 potatoes for chips in NO time!
January 17, 2013
I expected to have a quality item when I bought this mandolin, but the quality of this item was more than I expected. It was very comfortable to use, and uncomplicated to prepare and understand. It cleaned up neatly and effortlessly, pop it right in the dishwasher! I happened to get it on sale and with a gift card, so I was in a win-win situation for sure--though now that I've used the slicer, I would gladly have paid full price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 8 for de Buyer Kobra Adjustable Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EllieN
,NYC
,NY
January 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Slicer
January 17, 2013
At first I wanted to get a full mandoline, so I could also easily julienne. However, all the other ones worth considering were too expensive.
I decided to buy the best slicer, and figured it'd be easy to julienne from there. I was right.
Great quality, very sharp (be careful) and dishwasher safe. I love it.
I use it almost daily.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Weight
Review 9 for de Buyer Kobra Adjustable Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
susanesgee
,Rockland County
,NY
November 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the de Buyer Kobra Slicer!
November 29, 2012
I love this slicer! Easy to use, easy to wash! If I had one thing I would change, it's that I wish the dial was more "accurate" - in other words, I wish you could dial "2" for instance, instead of twisting and guessing. As I use it often, I am getting to know that, say, 12 twists are what I like for cucumbers, so this is not enought of a reason to not give all five stars.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 10 for de Buyer Kobra Adjustable Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jo48813
,Charlotte
,MI
November 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Finally! A slicer that works!
November 1, 2012
After 40 years and at least 10 adjustable slicers, I've found one that actually works as well as it is advertised to do. It is making salad and soup making a breeze!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Review 11 for de Buyer Kobra Adjustable Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bambino13
,Hagerstown
,MD
August 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Compact and works well
August 17, 2012
The adjustments are easy to use and the slicer stores in a much smaller area than my prior slicer. If used correctly, it is as safe as any of the other quality slicers.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store
Review 12 for de Buyer Kobra Adjustable Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShellyNewYork
,Brooklyn
,NY
August 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very useful and easy to use
August 4, 2012
I've used the device at least three times since I bought it a couple weeks ago. The slices are wonderful --- beautifully thin. If you want it thicker, it is very easy to turn the screw to make the adjustment. I must warn you that it is essential to be very careful using it because it is very sharp. If your potato or carrot is getting small, please use the attachment. It works great and will save you a nasty cut.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design
Cons: easy to cut yourself
Review 13 for de Buyer Kobra Adjustable Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lovesbaking
,Jefferson City
,MO
Jefferson City
June 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful slicer
June 18, 2012
This slicer does it all. I do have the DeBuyer dicer which is more difficult to use. For some reason potatoes get stuck in the blades. Out of frustration I bought this slicer. It handles the potatoes, tomatoes, etc. easily. Every kitchen needs this slicer in it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 14 for de Buyer Kobra Adjustable Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bakingnovice
,NJ
January 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy, easy, easy
January 7, 2012
Easy to use. Great results. Very safe. Great purchase!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 15 for de Buyer Kobra Adjustable Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
newgalleygirl
,Mahwah
,NJ
December 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A quck,easy way to slice...
December 26, 2011
This kitchen tool does the job it says it can do. It 's easy to use and safe.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight, safe
Review 16 for de Buyer Kobra Adjustable Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
November 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Slicer
November 29, 2011
I have long lusted after perfectly sliced tomatoes for my wood-fired pizzas and hamburgers, but I wasn't sure I'd get full use out of a full-fledged mandolin. The Kobra fills the bill for me. As long as you use FIRM veggies, you will get uniform cuts. I also love that you don't have to mess around cleaning the blade and can pop the whole thing into the dishwasher. I highly recommend this item.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 17 for de Buyer Kobra Adjustable Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReginaC
,Madison
,CT
October 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Alternative to a Mandoline
October 6, 2011
I love my mandoline but sometimes its too much trouble for one item. This item is great for one item and more - easy to use and clean.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size
Review 18 for de Buyer Kobra Adjustable Slicer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
gravenstein
,San Bruno
,Ca
October 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
5of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
October 1, 2011
I bought the slicer because of the good reviews. Others stated it can slice thin, even slices. My slices are not even at all. They are thick at one end and thinner on the other. When slicing very thin you end up with half a slice. The instructions say that the blade stays parallel to the plate but mine is not. Maybe it is defective. Will take it back.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Weight
Cons: Quality, Inaccurate
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ReginaC
Madison, CT
Posted October 8, 2011
Uniform slices
The trick to uniform slices is to use equal pressure and at that, you dont need to push down that hard. Let the blade do the work for you. Practice with potatoes and you'll get the hang of it.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for de Buyer Kobra Adjustable Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KKKKatie
Omaha, NE
August 31, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple and easy
August 31, 2011
I LOVE this mandolin! So simple and easy to use and then you can just throw it in the dishwasher when you're done!! Makes slicing at any thickness a snap as it adjusts at your fingertips! I highly recommend this one...in fact I bought it for all my daughters!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 20 for de Buyer Kobra Adjustable Slicer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Kate9Paris
Hanover, MA
June 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
+16points
19of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unexpectedly Disappointed
June 21, 2011
.After slicing the portion of the vegetable that the slicer took, there was still a significant amount that had to be cut by hand. After using it twice, trying it on 2 different vegetables, I returned it to the store. Utilizing a good knife works better for me.
Cons: Temperamental, Inaccurate
page1 2 3 next