de Buyer Crepe Pan

Crafted of blue steel with an uptilted handle, this French pan - a design that's remained virtually unchanged since the early 17th century - is the key to turning out light, tender crepes. Sweet or savory, crepes transform any meal into a special occasion. 9 1/2" diam., 1" high. Solid blue steel construction. Sloped sides facilitate flipping and removing crepes. Uptilted riveted iron handle is designed to help smoothly swirl batter and turn crepes. Makes an 8" crepe. Requires seasoning. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
3.467 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
9 of 15(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for de Buyer Crepe Pan
Review 1 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Houston
May 9, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best crepe pan!
May 9, 2016
"Season" the pan in the beginning according to the instructions that accompany the pan, and you will have perfect crepes time after time. Love this pan! Ignore criticisms of pan as they must not be experienced cooks. The wooden dowel that is included is a great asset to the cook for turning when the first side of the crepe is set and brown. Very, very good pan.
Review 2 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Albuquerque
,NM
December 5, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Most Incredible Crepe/Egg pan Ever Made
December 5, 2015
I had one of these pans for years.. My partner also makes great crepes in this pan. My pan was stolen... so I am back in US and purchasing another. I thought I had lost forever my best pan. But, here it is!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Shape
Review 3 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,NY
April 18, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My pet implement
April 18, 2015
I love this blue-steel beauty! I have owned this for 13 years and it has served me well. I seasoned it properly initially, and it has remained non-stick. The first crepe is always a sacrifice to the crepe gods… but otherwise it works for white flour & buckwheat crepes and pretty much everything else I toss in it.
Pros: Durable, Quality
Review 4 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,San Francisco
,Ca
April 17, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-9points
2of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very poor quality pan - very discolored
April 17, 2015
I bought this pan over a year ago (in 2014). I seasoned it and was NOT impressed with the first use. The crepes did not easily slide out of the pan. The worst feature is the discoloration of the pan, which happened within the first month. A reviewer said that you cannot have too much moisture around the pan. Does 40% humidity in San Francisco harm a very fragile pan? This pan is a waste of money.
Pros: Weight
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
101txcooker
Posted May 9, 2016
Maybe you should try another recipe.
I got a sweet crepe recipe from an online David Lieberman posting. It turns out perfect every time. I seasoned my pan as instructed but most of the time I shave off a bit of butter and melt around bottom of pan before I pour each crepe. Honestly, this pan is great!
0points
Customer avatar
upscalebohemian
San Francisco, CA
Posted September 16, 2015
Top 50 Contributor
Learning Curve Issue, Not the Pan
I bought my first de Buyer carbon steel pan from famed Bridge Kitchenware in New York City 15 years ago (on their recommendation). It's still going strong, and despite having 24 pieces of Mauviel copper, the de Buyer pan is the only one I use for eggs.
What you have here is a learning curve issue, not an issue with your pan.
That you even expected the crepes to slide out perfectly right away reveals this. These pans get better and better with use and are the best material for eggs and crepes.
They get ugly like a heavy duty restaurant pan, they have to be cleaned and then dried on a burner right away to keep them from rusting, and the thing that makes all that worthwhile is how well they perform. You just have to keep using them.
And by the way, I live in San Francisco too and don't share your issue here.
Don't expect it to stay pretty. Expect it to PERFORM well. Wipe down with a drop of olive oil and a paper towel after cleaning (don't use soap unless you need to), then set on the stove top to heat and thoroughly dry and in time you'll love this pan's performance.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Kitchener
,On
April 2, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
-14points
1of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very disappointed
April 2, 2015
Used twice and it's completely rusted. Have to use a spatula to flip crepes as they don't lift off pan well. Will be buying a new pan.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
101txcooker
Posted May 9, 2016
Rusted??? How did you clean the pan?
I cannot imagine this pan being rusted unless the user put it in the dishwasher or didn't season it well. It is a perfect crepe pan.
0points
Customer avatar
skiverhead
Posted December 25, 2015
blame the chef!
don't blame the pan, blame the chef! The pans are incredible. If you take care of them, they'll take care of you!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Springfield
,VA
August 21, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
10of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic pan!
August 21, 2014
I love this pan and I have owned it for 9 years! It makes flawless crepes and as I have moved to alternative flours, the performance hasn't decreased. I now make crepes out of chestnut flour, almond flour, and even chocolate millet crepes. The trick is to properly season the pan and never let soap touch it again. Sometimes I clean it with salt and hot water but that is all. 9 years no rust! If your house is humid, I suggest storing the pan upside down. Sometimes the issue isn't how well you have seasoned the pan, it is the residual moisture in the air of your home. Also, it is lightweight enough that I can spread the crepe batter around the surface of the pan using a swirling motion with my wrist.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Viera
,Fl
August 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my perfect crepe pan
August 12, 2014
Exactly the pan I needed, perfect size, weight and material..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 8 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Mahwah
,NJ
August 6, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-12points
1of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor quality!
August 6, 2014
After the first wash the pan color will come out... Very disappointed !
Review 9 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
November 15, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-10points
0of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Crepes stick
November 15, 2013
I was excited when I had ordered this pan based on the reviews I read because my whole family loves crepes. However, every crepe I made completely stuck to the pan. I couldn't even flip them over they stuck so bad. Very disappointed.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer avatar
upscalebohemian
San Francisco, CA
Posted September 16, 2015
Top 50 Contributor
You Need to Season the Pan
It's crazy to know what a great surface carbon steel is for a pan like this (and for making eggs). This is non-stick without chemicals, but people don't seem to realize you have to season the surface and it improves over time.
You should also coat with melted butter for the first crepe.
Then people complain it rusts, but all you have to do is clean with a sponge and water (no soap, since you don't want to remove the seasoned surface), then wipe with a drop of olive oil and heat on the stove top until thoroughly dry.
That's it.
There's a reason people bother with all this. This type of pan is THE best pan for making crepes and eggs without having to resort to chemicals in non-stick cookware.
This really does perform beautifully. I've been using mine for 15 years. It's ugly by now like a pan from a restaurant kitchen, but carbon steel from de Buyer or Mauviel is all I use for eggs and crepes because of how well it performs.
Read up on seasoning the pan, butter before that first crepe, and you won't have these issues at all.
0points
Customer avatar
bbosw
Orange Beach, AL
Posted September 22, 2014
dumb
dumb & dumber
0points
Customer avatar
cookatier
San Francisco
Posted June 21, 2014
Seasoning is important
I have many iron pans and the first thing you need to know is that seasoning of these pans is essential. These pans are used in France for centuries and the more you use them, the better the Crepe turns out. I love mine.
0points
Customer avatar
Dadhomecook
DC
Posted March 9, 2014
Question
Did you preheat the pan and use something like clarified butter to lube the pan? Anytime I've seen them stick was because one or the other wasn't done.
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 10 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Queensbury
,NY
October 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
de Buyer Crepe Pan
October 18, 2013
perfect! Everything it advertises to be. I gave it to my mother as a gift after allegedly getting rid of her old crepe pan that she brought home from Europe many years ago. My dear old mother has been making crepes for many, many years and was thrilled as she put this one to the test. She was so pleased with the quality and how evenly and perfectly they cooked and slide out of the pan. I bought 2 of them and look forward to giving the other one as a gift.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 11 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New Rochelle
,NY
March 8, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Crepe/Egg Pan Ever
March 8, 2013
After seasoning, this pan works flawlessly. A natural non-stick surface without the concerns of artificial materials.
Pan heats up quickly and evenly. Crepes and eggs slide off with ease. Clean up is a snap.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 12 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Yakima
,WA
January 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best pan in my kitchen!
January 27, 2013
I received this crepe pan as a gift for Christmas. It was my first experience with blue steel, so I carefully followed instructions and seasoned it first using the oil and potato peel method. Then rinsed with very hot water and wiped clean with paper towels, and then rubbed on a little oil before storage. When I first used it, I cooked up some eggs over easy, after adding a little butter to the pan. It was amazing. They cooked through really well, and slid right off the pan onto our plates. No sticking at all, I am in awe of this wonderful pan. If prepped right, it really works. It is now my favorite little pan for cooking smaller portions. Highly highly recommended. I am planning on buying more from DeBuyer after this experience.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 13 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Seattle
,Wa
Spokane, WA
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-14points
0of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sticks, so will be returned
December 30, 2012
Sent as a gift. However, recipient is returning as she already had one and it sticks when makinfpg crepes.
Cons: sticks
Review 14 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,OH
June 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
-26points
2of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rusted After 2nd Use
June 3, 2012
Used it twice and the pan started to rust. Made crepes fine, but pretty cheaply made obviously if I only got two uses out of it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: Quality, rusted
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
cvvvf
England
Posted November 23, 2012
This is a pan you have to be prepared to work with
The instructions for this pan are quite specific. It is by no means an easy pan to work with but if you are prepared to care for it, it will yield excellent results. I know. I went back and forth with the manufacturer for weeks. It behaves like cast iron in that it has to be cleaned and dried right away and then a very thin application of oil to re-season. It is an excellent pan for searing and sealing unlike non stick pans which cannot sear. It is by no means cheaply made and chefs in Europe have been relying on these pans for generations. As with most European cookware like this, Mauviel etc...you need to take care of the pan and it will take care of you.
+3points
3of 3found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
missbabs
Tennessee
Posted July 11, 2012
Pan Requires Seasoning
Pans made of Blue Steel need appropriate seasoning and should be kept seasoned. I have had my pan for over 10 years and it is a lovely thing! I use it daily to cook eggs, it only sees butter, and occasionally water when it is hot to remove "stuff". It is never scrubbed!
+3points
3of 3found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 15 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Cary
,Nc
April 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the pan
April 2, 2012
Got one this afternoon and made creeps in the evening , best ones I ever made the pan was beautiful and none of the crepes stuck to the pan . love it and plan to use it again and again.
Pros: Easy to Use
 
My Recommendations