de Buyer Crepe Pan

Whether you wrap them around sweet or savory fillings, crepes transform breakfast into a special occasion. Crafted of blue steel with an uptilted handle - a design that's remained virtually unchanged since the early 17th century - this French pan is essential for turning out light, tender crepes.Solid blue steel construction.Sloped sides facilitate flipping and removing crepes.Uptilted riveted iron handle is designed to help smoothly swirl batter and turn crepes.Makes an 8" crepe.Ideal for use on any type of cooktop, including induction.Requires seasoning.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
26 of 30(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for de Buyer Crepe Pan
Review 1 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lovecrepes
November 15, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Crepes stick
November 15, 2013
I was excited when I had ordered this pan based on the reviews I read because my whole family loves crepes. However, every crepe I made completely stuck to the pan. I couldn't even flip them over they stuck so bad. Very disappointed.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Dadhomecook
DC
Posted March 9, 2014
Question
Did you preheat the pan and use something like clarified butter to lube the pan? Anytime I've seen them stick was because one or the other wasn't done.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mvryan
,Queensbury
,NY
October 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
de Buyer Crepe Pan
October 18, 2013
perfect! Everything it advertises to be. I gave it to my mother as a gift after allegedly getting rid of her old crepe pan that she brought home from Europe many years ago. My dear old mother has been making crepes for many, many years and was thrilled as she put this one to the test. She was so pleased with the quality and how evenly and perfectly they cooked and slide out of the pan. I bought 2 of them and look forward to giving the other one as a gift.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 3 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
XMarlinX
,New Rochelle
,NY
March 8, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Crepe/Egg Pan Ever
March 8, 2013
After seasoning, this pan works flawlessly. A natural non-stick surface without the concerns of artificial materials.
Pan heats up quickly and evenly. Crepes and eggs slide off with ease. Clean up is a snap.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 4 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
whiterabbit
,Yakima
,WA
January 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best pan in my kitchen!
January 27, 2013
I received this crepe pan as a gift for Christmas. It was my first experience with blue steel, so I carefully followed instructions and seasoned it first using the oil and potato peel method. Then rinsed with very hot water and wiped clean with paper towels, and then rubbed on a little oil before storage. When I first used it, I cooked up some eggs over easy, after adding a little butter to the pan. It was amazing. They cooked through really well, and slid right off the pan onto our plates. No sticking at all, I am in awe of this wonderful pan. If prepped right, it really works. It is now my favorite little pan for cooking smaller portions. Highly highly recommended. I am planning on buying more from DeBuyer after this experience.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 5 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
juiliette
,Seattle
,Wa
Spokane, WA
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sticks, so will be returned
December 30, 2012
Sent as a gift. However, recipient is returning as she already had one and it sticks when makinfpg crepes.
Cons: sticks
Review 6 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TheDoctr
,OH
June 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
-17points
0of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rusted After 2nd Use
June 3, 2012
Used it twice and the pan started to rust. Made crepes fine, but pretty cheaply made obviously if I only got two uses out of it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: Quality, rusted
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
cvvvf
England
Posted November 23, 2012
This is a pan you have to be prepared to work with
The instructions for this pan are quite specific. It is by no means an easy pan to work with but if you are prepared to care for it, it will yield excellent results. I know. I went back and forth with the manufacturer for weeks. It behaves like cast iron in that it has to be cleaned and dried right away and then a very thin application of oil to re-season. It is an excellent pan for searing and sealing unlike non stick pans which cannot sear. It is by no means cheaply made and chefs in Europe have been relying on these pans for generations. As with most European cookware like this, Mauviel etc...you need to take care of the pan and it will take care of you.
+3points
3of 3found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
missbabs
Tennessee
Posted July 11, 2012
Pan Requires Seasoning
Pans made of Blue Steel need appropriate seasoning and should be kept seasoned. I have had my pan for over 10 years and it is a lovely thing! I use it daily to cook eggs, it only sees butter, and occasionally water when it is hot to remove "stuff". It is never scrubbed!
+2points
2of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carymom
,Cary
,Nc
April 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the pan
April 2, 2012
Got one this afternoon and made creeps in the evening , best ones I ever made the pan was beautiful and none of the crepes stuck to the pan . love it and plan to use it again and again.
Pros: Easy to Use
 
My Recommendations
 
 
Review 8 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nygirl1
August 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
finally - no more searching
August 3, 2011
DeBuyer has been making these pans forever, but it took me a while to discover them. In my pursuit of teflon-free non-stick, this is the answer.
The pan arrives with machine oil on it - important to clean it well and season right after. I seasoned it per the instructions - oil and potato peelings. We have an electric stove (boo) so it was tricky getting the heat right. This pan gets very hot very fast. The oil and peelings smoked and burned on level 5! I did that seasoning twice (be sure to toss it all out with any leftover machine oil) and then I attempted pancakes. They almost burned (dark dark brown) on level 3! I turned off the heat with the remaining batter on the pan and it cooked perfectly golden! So, the lesson is: this pan likes low heat!
Sticking was not an issue after the peelings. For cooks like me who haven't used steel or iron, it's a new concept that a pan that looks dirty is actually 'seasoned' and clean and cooks perfectly with no sticking. Love it.
Review 9 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SanDiego
San Diego, CA
February 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+29points
29of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I Own 3 of Them!
February 9, 2011
Bought the same pan in Paris 15 years ago and two more at Williams-Sonoma over the years - they will last longer than my lifetime!
If you want to make a stack of crepes ahead of time (they freeze very well for a few weeks), you must have a cooling rack (or two). As soon as a crepe is finished cooking allow it to cool completely on the rack. Once they are cool they can be stacked a dozen high and wrapped in foil. I do this the day before and store them in the fridge. I think the flavor is even better. I warm the foil wrapped stack of crepes in a low oven to make them pliable again - if frozen, of course it takes a little bit longer. There is no need to put parchment or anything between the crepes as long as your batter has butter.
Julia Child made them that way. The Williams-Sonoma crepe mix is lovely, too, but I usually make my own:
2 large eggs
3/4 cup milk
1/2 cup water
1 cup flour, all purpose
3 tablespoons melted butter
pinch of salt
2 tablespoons sugar (if filled sweet)
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 10 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cerealshopper
Battle Creek, MI
February 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Pan!
February 2, 2011
Have had this pan for about 10 mos and it's my favorite for omelets & pancakes. It's about the only pan my son uses. It is a little different getting used to but once you do you'll find it cooks perfectly and faster at a much lower heat setting! Cleans up like a breeze too.
Review 11 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
registrant2010
Los Angeles, CA
December 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What a difference
December 20, 2010
This crepe pan is one of our proudest kitchen possessions. It shows us how important it is to have the right tools for the job. My husband has always loved my crepes, which I used to make in a non-stick-coated pan. Then we received this off of our wedding registry, and WOW, the difference was astounding. Crepes are thinner, softer, and more evenly cooked. It is also nice to look at--a deep, metallic blue! We seasoned it by heating it on the burner with oil, not by boiling potato peelings as the DVD that accompanies the pan says. It was more non-stick the first time than subsequent times, so maybe I will re-season it the potato way.
Review 12 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TrapperJohn
San Antonio, TX
December 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works Like a Charm
December 16, 2010
This item does exactly what it says it does; makes perfect crepes. Just make sure you meticulously season it first. Step by step instructions are on de Buyer's website. Awesome product! I am officially a de Buyer fan now.
Review 13 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jmnslayter
Alexandria, LA
November 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Creates Perfect Crepes
November 29, 2010
I followed directions given and made delicious crepes by the dozen quite easily!
Review 14 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TonyK
Orangeburg NY
November 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Something to "flip" for
November 5, 2010
I've loved crepes since my first one in Paris, not in a prententious way, in a delicious way. And I've seeked a nice pan to turn out some great ones myself. This is one of the greatest christmas presents I have ever received. Worth it!
Review 15 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RobW
Baltimore, MD
November 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bought these same pans in Paris.
November 1, 2010
These pans are great, once they heat up you are set for continuous crepe making.
On TV, Julia Child recommended you buy two of these crepe pans since they take only a minute or so to cook you can become a crepe assembly line. I bought two and found it excellent advice as you can easily become very efficient in turning and finshing one crepe while the other cooks - takes only minutes to turn out a pile of crepes once you get going.
Review 16 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MEcook
September 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
1of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice crepe pan
September 1, 2010
This pan works well--nothing spectacular though. It's quite a bit smaller than I expected and lightweight.
Review 17 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beatty
Commerce Twp. MI.,48390
September 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What a wonderful crepes or blintze pan
September 1, 2010
I have already used this fry pan three times and it is now my favorite despite owning about four other fry pans.
I thought I already owned everything I needed for my kitchen but I was not right about that.
Review 18 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satya
USA
July 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lasts for Years
July 24, 2010
This pan is such a gem. I bought it through WS well over 10 years ago and it is still going strong. I plan to buy another just in case it ever goes out of production. An excellent buy on a very-well constructed crepe pan.
Review 19 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Georgetta
West Chester, PA
July 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent crepes!
July 9, 2010
This was all I hoped for and more!
Crepes were delicate and delicious.
I was more than satisfied.
So were my guests.....
Review 20 for de Buyer Crepe Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dappel
Kingsville , Maryland
May 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
French Crepe Pan
May 4, 2010
I am thrilled with this pan. I had been using a very old French steel crepe pan which worked very well at my job as a personal cook, and I wanted one of my own.
I was a bit worried that a new one would not have the same quality and seasoning as the old one I was using. I followed manufacturers directions to season the pan, and have made 200+ plus crepes since receiving the pan earlier this month. The very first crepe came out beautifully, and I have not had a bit of trouble with sticking. And clean up is simple. I just wipe it off with a paper towel. Thank you thank you!
page1 2 next