de Buyer Double Boiler

Whether the task is melting chocolate, making hollandaise sauce or preparing custard, the slow, gentle heat of this stainless-steel double boiler ensures perfect results. Designed for ease of use, the ingenious one-piece design can be used with success by both novice and experienced cooks.Stainless steel with an aluminum-core base for efficient heat conduction.Ingenious one-piece design.Water is added through the spout of the handle.Built-in water-level gauge.Heatproof silicone handle.
Average Customer Rating:
4.21 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
16 of 19(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for de Buyer Double Boiler
Review 1 for de Buyer Double Boiler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tiana
,Sebree
,KY
January 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Double Boiler!!
January 13, 2013
Love my new Double Boiler!! Very well made. Pleasantly surprised how large the pot is. Best thing is it is only one unit. Love it!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 2 for de Buyer Double Boiler
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
swimbaby26
November 5, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great for eggs, hard to measure water
November 5, 2012
The best eggs on a Sunday morning. Also great with chocolate or anything you need careful control with heat. But, I wish there was a way to see or measure how much water was in the double boiler and how much to fill. The gauge that it claims to have is hard to see. If I knew exactly how filled it was and how much it needed, it would be perfect.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 3 for de Buyer Double Boiler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lwise
,PA
December 16, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for chocolate
December 16, 2011
Bought this to melt chocolate, works perfect!! This is a perfect size and made very well for the price. Would definately recommend
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 4 for de Buyer Double Boiler
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BoPo
Texas
February 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Might be good
February 10, 2011
I purchased this for a friend and the handle was broken as many of the reviews had stated. Fortunately, I had already given him a heads-up that it might be broken when it was delivered and he was not too shocked to have to exchange it.
Review 5 for de Buyer Double Boiler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Angela120368
Columbus, Oh
January 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Double Boiler
January 9, 2011
I love to use it to melt chocolate. Making Chocolate covered pretzels is a snap with this. It doesn't scorch the chocolate if I walk away and stays melted for a very long time. Love this product.
Review 6 for de Buyer Double Boiler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MintyMrs
Conn
May 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best. Ever
May 19, 2010
one stop shop double boiler. No mess. Honestly it's the only wedding gift I use almost daily!
Review 7 for de Buyer Double Boiler
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mariannamom
Malvern, PA
May 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
double boiler
May 2, 2010
The whole idea is wonderful, however, on the second use the water leaked out from
the bottom of the handle and my sauce scorched!
Review 8 for de Buyer Double Boiler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Foxruncats
Northeast Ohio
April 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this double boiler
April 6, 2010
I purchased this at a Williams-Sonoma store though the catalog (with no shipping cost) because the store was out of the item. I bought this to heat milk for making yogurt, and it works great for that purpose, no scorching and it heats the milk quicker than a microwave. I have also used this to make home made mustard (hot and sweet, with some sugar), and Irish oats (which takes 30 minutes to cook). It's great that the food cooks/heats quickly and you don't have to "babysit" and stir constantly. I continue to find new uses for this pan all the time. Love it!
Review 9 for de Buyer Double Boiler
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
VSullivan
New York, NY
March 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
0 for 2
March 11, 2010
I purchased the de Buyer Double Boiler from the Williams Sonoma store. When I arrived home, I opened the package and noticed the handle was broken. The next day I went back to Williams Sonoma and exchanged it for a new one. (The store was great with the exchange) Unfortunately, I did not check the package of the new one prior to leaving the store. When I arrived home I opened my new de Buyer Double Boiler and again the handle was broken. After reading a few reviews it appears this is a common problem. I now need to make a 3rd trip to William Sonoma. Very disappointed!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Danbury
Danbury, CT
Posted December 13, 2010
Fortunately, I read the comments on this product before I purchased one as a gift at the store. I requested that the box be opened before leaving the store and sure enough the handle was broken as described in one or more of the posted comments. I have one that I have used for several years and simply love it, but mine luckily did not arrive with a broken handle. The design and performance of this double boiler is perfect for melting things slowly with no danger of burning. However, I suggest that you heed the warnings of the posts concerning the broken handles and a) don't have it shipped to someone as a gift and b) buy it at one of the stores and make sure it is opened and checked before you purchase it. Good luck!
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for de Buyer Double Boiler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
diwhitlock
Seattle,Wa
February 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
love the pan
February 12, 2010
I have a similar double boiler and wanted a second one. I love this one much beter and recommend it to anyone who does sauces, melting chocolate, etc. You will never use the old double boiler again.
Review 11 for de Buyer Double Boiler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4fhawks
Amarillo, TX
February 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Double Boiler
February 4, 2010
The best doube boiler I have ever used. I've used it for melting chocolate and making crab dip using butter and sour cream. It worked great for both, will never go back to the old conventional ones.
Review 12 for de Buyer Double Boiler
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chez
Charleston, WV
January 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Broken
January 11, 2010
When the boiler arrived the handle was broken. Luckily, I was visiting my parents in Wichita, KS and they have a store. They quickly replaced it without a hassle. Kudos to W-S!
Review 13 for de Buyer Double Boiler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JanisP
Huntington Beach, CA
January 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent product
January 7, 2010
I have always used a rounded metal bowl in a saucepan. This was an excellent purchase. My family loves my scratch hollandaise sauce and this was the perfect double boiler for it. The bowl is appropriately rounded to fit my whisk. It seems easy to control the heat of the water portion. It is also easy to clean. I also have arthritic hands, and the ergonomic handle makes it easy to hold while whisking. Love the deBuyer double boiler. The pricing was reasonable for such a well-made product. I originally ordered from the website, but received a defective product which was quickly exchanged at the store without any problems.
Review 14 for de Buyer Double Boiler
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hannah99
Los Angeles
December 25, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
8of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does not have a lid & hard to find one.
December 25, 2009
It's great, but does not come with a lid. Additionally, it's difficult to use a substitute/makeshift lid since the handle is placed so high - it causes any substitute lid to slide right off. I would recommend purchasing a double boiler that you can put a lid on. I've had to use a a pyrex bowl which dips in to the boiler in a concave manner.
Review 15 for de Buyer Double Boiler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
levi50174
San Antonio, TX
December 12, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
two pans in one
December 12, 2009
saves you having to wash multiple pans. Gental heat for fine cooking..
Review 16 for de Buyer Double Boiler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marki
Connecticut
February 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Design
February 5, 2009
I bought this as a gift for my sister, who uses it for dipping things in chocolate. The design is great because it is deep, it keeps in the heat, doesn't leak hot water, and makes it easy for her to take the melted chocolate to the table and not have to work near the stove.
Review 17 for de Buyer Double Boiler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alba50
Port Angeles, WA
January 6, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Parlez vous Francais
January 6, 2009
I agree with the previous reviewers that this is a great addition to the kitchen --I have never made a more "silky" creme anglaise before. I do not know if the other reviewers received theirs with both English and French instructions like I did but I assume that like myself the other reviewers were mostly English speaking Americans and like myself gravitated towards the English instructions. I too added 1 1/2 cups of water (it said approximately 1/4 liter (250ml) and in parenthesis 1 1/2 cups ) which is 1/3 of a liter. Mine overflowed --cold, so I looked on the French side of the instructions and in all capital letters it says "MAXIMUM 1/4 litre d'eau" so something got lost in the translation. I backed it off to 1/4 l (250 ml) and no more overflow hot or cold. I measured what was left in the reservoir after use (40 minutes at 4--low medium electric heat) and the amount evaportated is minimal in this almost closed system. Maybe this will help others with over flow problems.
Review 18 for de Buyer Double Boiler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sambac
Bell County, Central Texas
October 30, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Banish your old Double Boiler!!!
October 30, 2008
I initially purchased this Double Boiler (Bain-Marie) because I thought it would be a good DB to use in making cosmetics and toiletries. Having used it several times now, I have every intention of replacing my other two-piece DB with another of these!!
The height is perfect for large quantities, and the handle gives a more secure hold for pouring and tipping. But, what I enjoy the most is the reservoir!
You fill it with the maximum 1 1/4 cups of water - I use distilled water to prevent mineral buildup inside the DB where you can't clean- and you go!!! I made several batches of ointment and cream and never had to refill the reservoir once!!
I can't wait to to try chocolate sauce, cheese sauce, olive oil poached cod, custards, hollandaise - well, you get the idea!
Review 19 for de Buyer Double Boiler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Genine
Fremont, CA
October 29, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What a unique idea
October 29, 2008
I thought this was a unique idea to have a one pot double boiler. I love this pot. I would caution to not put more than the recommended 1 1/2 cups of water in the handle, or it will boil out of the handle and make a mess. I used the pot several times to make puddings and sauces. It works really well and cleans up nicely. I expect to get a lot of use out of this pot.