de Buyer Deluxe Dicing Mandoline

Improved to make dicing and slicing easier than ever, this stainless-steel mandoline allows you to dice vegetables and fruits quickly and precisely using a specially designed safety pusher and color-coded blades in a range of thicknesses. Interchangeable blades let you slice, julienne and create decorative cuts in a range of thicknesses. Color-coded knife-grade stainless-steel blades let you dice, julienne and make precise slices; you can also create crinkle and waffle cuts as well as diamond dices in a range of thicknesses. Slice thickness can be adjusted up to 1cm. Three color-coded julienne blades in black, red and grey let you easily choose a 2mm, 4mm or 10mm julienne slice or dice thickness. Symbols and an innovative rotation stopper on patented safety pusher guide you to create a perfect square or diamond dice cut in the thickness of your choice. Built-in hollow-ground blade minimizes friction, and nonstick cutting surface ensures smooth operation. Nonskid feet hold mandoline in place. Folds flat for convenient storage. Includes an on-board blade storage case and an instructional DVD. Unit is dishwasher safe; blades are hand-wash only. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.636 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
7 of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for de Buyer Deluxe Dicing Mandoline
Review 1 for de Buyer Deluxe Dicing Mandoline
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Eprommer
,Valencia
,CA
April 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Device
April 16, 2013
I looked at number of these devices before deciding on this one and I am very happy with it. I have only used it on firm items like potatoes, cucumbers and such. But the unit has not missed a beat, I have not found it wasting food at all like some have stated. I use it about once a week. When purchased at the store they recommend for you to practice on a potato which I would suggest also. I would recommend to WS to add directions on how to do the different cuts, the DVD is good but what is included with it is not that good.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Cons: better instruction
Review 2 for de Buyer Deluxe Dicing Mandoline
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wrkrbe1
,Germantown
,Il
February 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NO REPLACEMENT PARTS!!!
February 14, 2013
I purchased this product and used it successfully until the pusher literally fell apart in my hand. The exterior of the pusher is stainless, but some of the working parts inside are plastic. I have been searching the internet for replacement parts and have been unsuccessful...trust me...I've spent HOURS trying to find the pusher and I'm not illiterate when it comes to finding products to purchase on the www. I suggest you DO NOT BUY this! Purchase a different model for which replacement parts are available. I now have a very expensive, useless piece of kitchen equipment!
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
MargaritaMan
Miami, FL
Posted October 23, 2013
Return it
Bring it back to Williams Sonoma. They will give you a replacement for free!
0points
1of 2found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
gardengal7
Pennsylvania
Posted July 6, 2013
Replacement Parts!!!!
Don't give up yet - You can purchase replacement parts at Kitchen Universe to include the slicing blade!
0points
1of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for de Buyer Deluxe Dicing Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
C33704
,Nashville
,TN
Richmond VA
December 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to use
December 27, 2012
Each Person is different; that said some people are a natural with this; Iwas surprised to come home and find my partner using this device like He had grown up with one. Clearly the key to fuctionablity is to not fear using the device; like all professional tools all too often People with Money buys things they have never used and expect to use it like they have had one all their life. Typically this is one of those devices you either can use from the moment you pick it up or you will never get the hang of it. There are proven tecniques to this device and if you cant use it properly I suggest you find someone who is comfortable with a mandoline and demostrates it for you. They are simple and I reccomnd you buy a 10 pound bag of Potatoes that you might consider mashing after practicing with this tool. after 10 minutes I was able to do anything with it; and My Partner used it first time like a pro WOW; love this every year for Our Christmas Dinner of Scalloped Potatoes and Ham
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile
Review 4 for de Buyer Deluxe Dicing Mandoline
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jdweekley
,Monterey
,CA
December 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
8of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wasteful, Difficult and Unnecessary
December 22, 2012
I purchased this mandolin with hopes of using it to make perfect julienne, wafer thin crisps and decorative cuts. In the end, what I ended up with was a machine that couldn't even slice the easiest of vegetables. Perhaps the blades were dull, but the mechanism wasted about 1/3 of what ever was being sliced. The machine slipped on the counter and threw food every where.
I am an experienced cook, who's even done coursework at Le Cordon Bleu in Paris, so I returned this mandolin for a great chef's knife and a top-of-the-line food processor.
And while I still can't do waffle cuts, I can do just about everything else without waste, difficulty and with tools that can be used for so much more, as well.
Skip the mandolin and do as the chef says, "Use your knife!"
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, Difficult to Store, wastes food
Review 5 for de Buyer Deluxe Dicing Mandoline
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Splendide
,Ashton
,IA
October 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
8of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
deBuyer Deluxe Dicing Mandoline
October 22, 2012
We were disappointed to discover that we did not get the one we were expecting. We thought we were getting the top moded - the ultra - but did not get that one. Had we realized that, we would have ordered directly from the manufacturer or another site.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental
Review 6 for de Buyer Deluxe Dicing Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pebe
,Stockton
August 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent mandoline
August 10, 2012
I can see how someone could have a hard time with this, if you don't read the instructions and /or view the dvd included. Once I did both, operation of the machine was faultless. I like the sturdy, stainless construction, and the thickness adjustment is simple and easy. It is better than my old OXO mandoline, which I liked. My only criticisms are that the Williams Sonoma online use video is better than the dvd supplied by the factory, and the french to english translation in the instructions could be better.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 7 for de Buyer Deluxe Dicing Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Beaverton
,OR
August 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An excellent helpmate
August 1, 2012
I couldn't ask for an easier to use, or more flexible, kitchen tool. It slices, it dices, it julienne's with grace. It cleans up simply and stores neatly. I have taken this mandoline to my son's wedding (we were helping prep the food) and I've taken it camping with me. I don't leave home without it.
The only "con" I have is the pusher. I wish it was a little ... longer. I like LONG french fries and carrot strips. I end up not using it at all times.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile
Cons: pusher size
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
lovestocook247
NJ
Posted September 7, 2012
I believe there is an attachment that WS sells (an additional pusher) for long slices. I never saw it in the store, but they do show it on the website.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for de Buyer Deluxe Dicing Mandoline
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
vogel305
May 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-5points
1of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
disappointed in product
May 29, 2012
I have only used the manoline once but am at this time disappointed. The clips that you run over going back and forth are sticking and I was triying to make hasbrowns and it allowed full slices of potato to slip thru instead of shredding them. I will continue to try to use the machine in hopes that it will get better.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental
Review 9 for de Buyer Deluxe Dicing Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MandolineLuver
,Buffalo
,NY
March 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So happy to have my mandoline
March 6, 2012
I have found the value of this mandoline well worth it. The variety of blade to use and the number and variety of cuts that are achieved is just amazing!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 10 for de Buyer Deluxe Dicing Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Qball
,Watertown
,SD
February 3, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I look for reasons to use it!
February 3, 2012
This was my first mandoline and I decided to "go big or go home." I. love. it!! It does take a little bit of practice, so be kind to yourself if you are, like myself, a mandoline virgin. I mastered it one step at a time and now I find myself using it several times a week and searching for recipes that I once avoided due to prep time. The perfectly consistent cuts and slices look great and allow for even cooking. I'm not certain how I survived without it. I don't have an ounce of buyer's remorse. I use a cutting board to slice onto and did struggle a bit with the board slipping around on my granite. I solved this by purchasing a cutting board with rubbery grips on each end. Wa-la! Problem solved.
Pros: Accuracy, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
TheJamesTrenda
TN
Posted June 24, 2012
no-slip cutting boards
I'm glad you got something to keep the board from slipping. For everyone else, all you need to do is place a damp, folded paper towel underneath your board and it won't move around on you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for de Buyer Deluxe Dicing Mandoline
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Helpfulhusband
,Charleston
,WV
January 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
works as advetised
January 3, 2012
Requires a little elbow grease, but it works exactly as advertised and is easy to clean and set up - break down. Great for scalloped potatos...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design