de Buyer Crepe Pan Kit

Whether you wrap them around sweet or savory fillings, crepes transform breakfast into a special occasion. The perfect recipe for successful, delicious crepes. This kit includes our exclusive mix, a turning spoon and the quintessential steel crepe pan. A French-made design that's remained virtually unchanged since the early 17th century. Kit includes solid steel pan, a 10-oz. package of our Crepe mix and a wooden turning spoon. Sloped sides of steel pan facilitate flipping and removing crepes. Uptilted handle is designed to help smoothly swirl batter and turn crepes. Makes an 8" crepe. Pan requires seasoning. Ideal for use on any type of cooktop, including induction.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
24 of 27(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for de Buyer Crepe Pan Kit
Review 1 for de Buyer Crepe Pan Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chefjaymz
Kansas
September 5, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Commercial Quality... Excellent Pan...
September 5, 2011
I use 2 of these pans in my Creperie, and cook approx. 400+ crepes a week with these 2 pans. They are the best of any traditional crepe pan I have ever used.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean
Review 2 for de Buyer Crepe Pan Kit
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lisag917
Louisiana
June 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better results using a regular skillet
June 6, 2011
After trying a non stick skillet first and then using this pan, I think I had better results with the regular skillet. The wooden spatula that comes with it was pretty useless.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 3 for de Buyer Crepe Pan Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
May 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Gift!
May 27, 2011
I received this crepe pan/kit for Mother's Day. I recently read an article on crepe preparation that said you didn't need a special crepe pan. False! Pair this great gift with the strawberry preserves and you have a great gift idea for anyone who likes to cook!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 4 for de Buyer Crepe Pan Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jlue05
Virginia
April 19, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect crepes!
April 19, 2011
I received this pan as a bridal shower gift and use it frequently. It makes perfect crepes and it easy to use and clean. I would highly recommend to any and all crepe lovers!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 5 for de Buyer Crepe Pan Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nayka
April 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I am glad I bought it!
April 19, 2011
Every weekend morning we have crepes. Having this kit has made making crepes enjoyable and so much easier! Make sure that you have heat on low or medium though and put a little oil at begining maybe some time after 6-7 crepes but not nesessary.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 6 for de Buyer Crepe Pan Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vallia
Merrimack County, N.H.
February 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Product!
February 2, 2011
Was so excited to use the pan I never read the instructions that said you must first season the pan. I simply washed it and began making crepes. Every crepe came out perfect! Nothing stuck(even though I didn't season the pan) nothing burned and just a soap and water clean up was a breeze. Crepes were tender, light and thin. Absolute perfection!
Review 7 for de Buyer Crepe Pan Kit
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Crepelover
San Francisco, CA
January 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-7points
0of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Difficult to clean
January 21, 2011
I was hugely disappointed with this crepe pan. Despite seasoning the pan as directed, with my first use, there were oil stains left over on the pan which could not be removed. De Buyer customer service didn't bother to respond on how to remedy the situation. The crepes themselves turned out well, but I haven't used the pan since.
Review 8 for de Buyer Crepe Pan Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsOrvy
Valley Mills, TX
December 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great little crepe pan!
December 25, 2010
This is a great modestly priced crepe pan! My son is a chef, and even he was impressed by its weight, balance, and affordability. I seasoned it as directed, and while it had one little sticky spot for the first two crepes, I've never had another problem with it since. It washes up well, and I plan to use it over and over!
Review 9 for de Buyer Crepe Pan Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bufanditas
San Antonio, TX
July 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome!!!
July 10, 2010
I've made crepes on a non-stick pan & they've come out great but was awkward due to my pan's size and design. After seeing de Buyer's crepe pan online & reading the high reviews I caved in, drove to the nearest WS & bought the kit.
Have to say that after the first use, the great reviews are justified. The pan allows for easy spreading of the batter (the included mix makes yummy crepes BTW), cooks evenly and the crepes did not stick at all even though I coated the pan with butter only once.
Minor criticisms:
1. inconsistent instructions regarding seasoning in the packaging material. Was confusing but since I didn't want to turn on the oven I followed the potato peel method & the pan seasoned beautifully.
2. handle does get hot but holding pan with small kitchen towel eliminates the problem.
3. No clear instructions on how to use the wooden spoon but once crepe is on spoon, flipping them is a breeze.
Even with these minor issues, this is an awesome pan.
Review 10 for de Buyer Crepe Pan Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NWsecret
Vancouver, WA
June 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it and use it for almost everything
June 24, 2010
It made the best crepes ever -- the mix tha came with it is wonderful as well, better than another mix I bought at the store.
Review 11 for de Buyer Crepe Pan Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AHemenway
Denver, CO
May 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Crepe-making made easy
May 27, 2010
Bought this pan/set to make crepes with my son (5yr old). Seasoning the pan was simple (no potatoes required like other reviewer states!) and the crepes turned out delicious every time. I just can't figure out how to use the paddle... but my son sure is enjoying his new sword.
Review 12 for de Buyer Crepe Pan Kit
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BearPath
Anchorage, AK
February 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Crepe Pan Rocks
February 7, 2010
This little Crepe pan is up for real duty straight out of the box. Once I seasoned the pan it browned up crepes and held the heat consistently. The mix supplied with the pan was good as well. Highly recommend this anyone.
Review 13 for de Buyer Crepe Pan Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NicuRN1
Bakersfield, CA
February 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Crepe Pan Kit
February 5, 2010
This was my first crepe pan and it is so easy to use. It makes perfect little crepes and when spread with Nutella it's like I'm back in Paris! Very good quality, the mix was good too. Great value for the money!
Review 14 for de Buyer Crepe Pan Kit
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DianaEC
Potomac, MD
January 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Crepe pan & paddle
January 27, 2010
This is our second crepe pan: we need to be able to cook more than one at a time for the breakfast gang on weekends, since they are so thin. Mostly, we wanted a second paddle for an older crepe pan from a different company, and the stores don't sell the paddle separately. I wish you would!
Review 15 for de Buyer Crepe Pan Kit
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pascalepascal
Austin, TX
January 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-15points
1of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Returned it.
January 27, 2010
I thought I was good at making crepes but this pan was trouble from the beginning. The instructions say to season the pan with potato peelings. What? My batter is ready to go and I have to peel a potato to season the pan? Never heard of that and I had no potatos. The crepes were a disaster.
Review 16 for de Buyer Crepe Pan Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FoodLovinFamily
Minooka
January 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just was I was hoping for!
January 26, 2010
I have been making crepes for years with a teflon pan. I came across this pan and thought I would give it a try... I love, love, love this pan.. It has made the whole process easier, and my family thinks the crepes are better now than ever. My only complaint is the handle is a bit awkward, and does get hot. But I cannot complain about the crepes themselves. I am ordering one for my Mom for her birthday as well.
Review 17 for de Buyer Crepe Pan Kit
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kate9Paris
Hanover, MA
January 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Performance with Exceptions
January 14, 2010
The pan performs excellently. Leading up to the purchase, however, was challenging. Before purchasing this pan, I opened the 3 boxes that were in the store to inspect the pan. Two of the pans had small rust spots throughout, and one had a jagged piece of rusted metal on the handle. One box had neither the crepe mix or spoon. I was satisfied with the pan I did buy, though there was a long scratch on the underside, which I felt would not affect its performance. This was my first de Buyer purchase, and I'm now a little hesitant to trust their products unseen.
Review 18 for de Buyer Crepe Pan Kit
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JenniferG
Dallas, TX
December 4, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for eggs & pancakes as well!
December 4, 2009
When properly seasoned the surface is highly nonstick. Teflon and nonstick coatings are overrated. This pan will last you a lifetime (assuming the handle weld holds - i.e. no rivets, hence the 4 stars instead of 5) and will always be naturally nonstick and healthier for you.
This pan is also great for making omelettes! The low sides of the pan allow you to easily get the spatula in to fold an omelette. I made an omelette this morning and it was so nonstick that just moving the pan a little almost caused the omelette to slide right out onto the cooktop! I just cook the omelette in a thin layer of butter. Wonderful for fried eggs as well.
The crepes are easy to make in this pan and come out very nice. This would be a great pan for pancakes as well.
Review 19 for de Buyer Crepe Pan Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NickinCT
Manchester CT
October 23, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
de Buyer makes the best steel pans
October 23, 2009
Absolutely the best pan to use for crepes. It is responsive to heat, even heating, and non stick without that nasty non-stick coatings they use now days. This is not only useful for crepes but also for american style omlettes. or for any egg preparation really. It is true that is does require a cook who is willing to take care of their wares, but really people if you can't take care of a pan than you should not be cooking in a kitchen.
Review 20 for de Buyer Crepe Pan Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OliviaG
Florida
October 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it!
October 11, 2009
My husband has made crepes for years, but was complaining about not having the right pan and spatula (they kept sticking), so I bought this for him as a gift. He loves it! Now he makes crepes every weekend and I love it too!
page1 2 next