Cupcakes Cookbook

You never outgrow cupcakes. A delight for dessert lovers of all ages, this book by former pastry chef Shelly Kaldunski offers more than 60 tempting recipes. Included are such diverse varieties as peanut butter and jelly cupcakes, classic yellow cupcakes with chocolate buttercream and, for the epicurean, salted caramel cupcakes. You'll also find recipes tailored to holidays and special occasions, along with dozens of ideas for mixing and matching cupcakes with fillings and toppings. Detailed instructions for decorating your home-baked treats make the book complete. Hardcover, 128 pages. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
10 of 16(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cupcakes Cookbook
Review 1 for Cupcakes Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MaryPants
Atlanta, GA
July 2, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this book!
July 2, 2011
I love this book. I've maid several batches and I always get rave reviews! I only gave it four stars because I like my cupcakes to be insanely moist so I have modifed most of the recipes to accomidate my taste. To be honest though, I rarely keep a recipe 100% original, I tend to like to add my own twist. I love the buttercream from this cookbook: easy, quick, and I love the flavor ideas... it has gotten my imagination running!
I also didn't have a metric version book.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Cupcakes Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mutt
Arkansas
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great cupcakes
January 4, 2011
I saw a few reviews about metric measurements & almost didn't buy it. Went to the store to actually see it before buying. It was written in good ol' American measurements. Maybe they got confused when they shipped it & sent metric measurements to the US. Anyway, I have tried a couple recipes and they have turned out great. The rocky road cupcakes are really good and fun to eat:0) One thing I did notice is my oven apparently cooks faster than the test kitchen. So, my cupcakes did not cook as long as the recipe stated.
Review 3 for Cupcakes Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nomnomnom
Houston, TX
September 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very good book!!
September 29, 2010
I bought this book almost a year ago and haven't tried all of the recipes but the ones I have were so delicious! My copy is in standard US measurements, not metric.
You should definitely try the black and white cupcakes! Sooo good! Also, the chai and honey is very tasty! I personally do not like the buttercream recipe, but I just use a little less butter and a little more powdered sugar.
Get this book!
Review 4 for Cupcakes Cookbook
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
makingcupcakes
Hawaii
September 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What about the egg?
September 27, 2010
So I decided to try the red velvet cupcake recipe. I got all my ingredients together and then when I was done putting everything together I noticed there was an egg still left on my counter. I looked over the instructions many times to double check but it never mentions when to put the egg in. So of course I put it in at the last when everything was already mixed. The cupcakes didn't come out very good or very red. I dont' know if it was the egg, but let's just say the Sprinkles cupcakes I made the same day were much better. I'll probably try another recipe but if that doesn't work out then I think I'll give up.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Oh4PetesSake
San Diego, CA
Posted April 4, 2011
Yuk! Red Velvet cupcakes.
I too tried the red velvet cupcakes, color was terrible and the texture was on the spongy side, but dry. Lucky I had all my ingredients on the counter, otherwise I would've miss the egg. Very disappointed in this recipe.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Cupcakes Cookbook
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
hopie
August 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Metric conversion necessary.
August 23, 2010
I guess, somewhere in the product description, I failed to note that the recipes where not in what we consider in the US as standard measure. Had I seen this information, I would not have purchased the book. However, I'm getting a good lesson in metric conversions.
Review 6 for Cupcakes Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lrby
Centreville VA
May 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So far So good!
May 21, 2010
I, hesitantly, bought this book b/c of some of the reviews but decided to give it a go. I have tried two recipes so far, Vanilla and the White Chocolate Rasberry, and I am very pleased. I bake a good deal of bread and found these recipes very easy. The cakes came out very moist and wonder if some of the other reviewers did not add the right amt of ingredients or baked the cakes too long. The reason I gave it a four was because I have only tried 2 recipes. I think I might try some of the recipes the other reviewers did not like to see how they come out and I will let you know:) YUMMY
Review 7 for Cupcakes Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShannonA
South Africa
April 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite baking cookbook
April 18, 2010
I'm shocked to see the negative reviews for this book...I've been cooking cupcakes out of this book for the last year, probably an average of two or three batches a month and absolutely love it. My friends now beg me to bring cupcakes to every get together. I'm also a pretty non-exacting baker and tend to substitute ingredients on occasion and I've still always had wonderful results. Its a great, easy to use book with delicious and not overly ornate cupcakes. Try the carrot cake cupcakes with buttered pecan cream cheese frosting-fabulous!
Review 8 for Cupcakes Cookbook
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Rev11thhour
Hackettstown, NJ
April 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Metric cookbook?
April 18, 2010
My daughter and her husband gave me this cookbook and picked out several recipes; imagine my surprise when I went to make one and found everything was metric; I spent a long time converting the recipes, but don't have a lot of faith in the conversion. I noticed the other reviews didn't mention anything about metric conversion; am I the only one it bothered?
My cupcakes are in the oven, so I don't know how they will turn out although the batter seemed very thin.
Review 9 for Cupcakes Cookbook
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
highhopes
Indiana
January 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't Judge this book by it's cover...
January 17, 2010
I bought this book with excitement and high hopes after skimming the pages and mouthwatering pictures it held. After baking a few of the recipes and being rather disappointed I blamed it on baker-error and vowed to go back and try again with more precision and better quality ingredients. After attempt number two I was even more disappointed with the poor quality cupcakes, unappetizing texture of the icing and the all together just okay pairings of flavor that they had together. I have finally decided to stop blaming myself for this gorgeous little books amateur recipes and am now on the hunt for another cupcake cookbook.
Review 10 for Cupcakes Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
monsterlove
Brooklyn, NY
January 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lots of fun ideas
January 9, 2010
Great twists on the standard cupcake. You'll have lots of fun making unique cupcakes to give or eat!
Review 11 for Cupcakes Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shele567
Dundalk, MD
December 18, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't Know What to Think???
December 18, 2009
The pictures in the book are gorgeous. The recipes are simple and they offer little twists to change the flavors. I made the lemon lover combo recipe. The lemon curd was to die for! The cupcake, itself was dry. I'm a baker but it possibly could have been user error. But upon reading other raters, I'm not so sure. The icing was delish! I'll try it again and see how it turns out!
Review 12 for Cupcakes Cookbook
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hawaiiancupcake
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
August 31, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
zero for two
August 31, 2009
I tried two recipes from this book. Tres Leches and Mexican Chocolate. Both were junk. The texture of Tres Leches was horrible and there was no way it could soak up all the sauce. Mexican chocolate tasted yummy but did not bake nicely; flat hard top and nice crumbly inside made it impossible to remove from pan intact. Yes, my oven thermometer showed correct baking temp and I am definitely not a novice baker. Will NEVER attempt another recipe from this very pretty book. Thank goodness the recipes only make a dozen; cuts down on the wasted money I spent on ingredients. Anyone wanna buy a lightly used cupcake book?
Review 13 for Cupcakes Cookbook
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jzpiglet
San Francisco, CA
August 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
meehh
August 2, 2009
i won't say i'm a cupcake connoisseur, but i rarely go two weeks without baking a dozen or so. a lot of these end up as gifts. so i know all about folding wet and dry, buttermilk, and key baking times.
this week i made two recipes, the classic vanilla and the banana. i was so disappointed! the cake for both were dry, and the vanilla lacked flavor. the banana was especially crumbly and way too buttery. they weren't terrible, just not up to par. i'm afraid to try the other recipes in this book for fear of tainting my cupcake reputation. i may give it one more go.
i will say the pictures are very pretty and inspiring, but you may be better off finding tested and reviewed recipes from the web.
Review 14 for Cupcakes Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WhiteBoxer
The Blue Crab State, MD
August 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Cupcake Book
August 2, 2009
What a great cupacke book to share funtime with your children in the kitchen...it is a great way to teach your children, grandchildren how to make cupcakes and the best part is eating them!
Review 15 for Cupcakes Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
suzan
fremont
February 13, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
you'll never go to a baker again
February 13, 2009
If you love cupcakes like I do then this book is for you! This book is so easy to follow. You cannot go wrong.
Review 16 for Cupcakes Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love2bake
Mankato, MN
September 28, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Cupcakes!
September 28, 2008
This book is beautiful to look through. There are delicious and creative recipes for every occasion. I've only owned it one week, and I've made 5 different batches of cupcakes with 5 different frostings. It also provides good information about cupcake making and decorating as well. I "wowed" my co-workers with the small gourmet treats.