Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling

Transform dairy milk or soymilk into rich, creamy homemade yogurt with this state-of-the-art machine. Simply pour milk, yogurt starter and your favorite flavorings into the container, then press the "start" button. After fermentation, a built-in cooling system automatically chills yogurt to the ideal serving temperature. Enjoy fresh, all-natural yogurt, custom-blended from your choice of ingredients. Extra-large 50 oz. BPA-free processing container accommodates more than six 8-oz. servings of yogurt at a time. Adjustable controls make it easy to set the perfect fermenting time for your recipe - a digital display counts down processing time. Automatically chills the fermented yogurt to the perfect serving temperature.
Average Customer Rating:
4.274 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
49 of 62(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
Review 1 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Celosialily
,Douglasville
,GA
June 25, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wish I bought this earlier
June 25, 2015
I purchased Dash yogurt maker at first because I didn't want to shell out the money on this one. But each batch I made with the Dash didn't turn out like I wanted. I have made two batches so far and the batches came out nice and thick. I followed the directions in the manual - used whole milk, heated to 180 degrees and added 6 oz. of plain yogurt at 110 degree... It turned out perfect. Lesson learn... "Just go ahead and spend the money on what you want the first time."
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Quiet, Speed, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Assembly
Review 2 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jccwc
,San Diego
May 13, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Could be perfect
May 13, 2015
I used some Fage yoghurt, some powdered milk, and some dried starter as well as whole milk, didn't preheat it, then set the timer for the max time and mine came out perfectly. Just wish the container for making the yoghurt was glass instead of plastic. It makes a nice amount without having small individual containers, it's quiet and is easy to clean and store the unit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Quiet
Cons: yoghurt container is plastic
Review 3 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GSPMom
,Fulda
,MN
Fulda, MN
May 12, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Thick and Luscious
May 12, 2015
I have made my own yogurt since the 70s, and have always produced a nice thick yogurt. My friend bought this for me as a gift, and I am in love with it. It makes such a Thick Luscious Yogurt. It is delightful!! I used my own recipe that I have always used, but this just really took it up a notch.
I also love that I do not have to be home, or awake, to babysit it when it is done, as it just switches to chill automatically.
What a Dream Machine!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet, Design
Review 4 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MiaMia
,Brewster
,NY
March 30, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Yogurt Maker
March 30, 2015
I have been making yogurt every week for over a year with this machine. It is a dream! I bought starter from Cultures for Health (on-line) and follow their excellent directions. The yogurt is thick and delicious. I don't have to watch the clock and worry about being home when the yogurt is "done." At the end of the culturing period the machine chills it automatically. I love this yogurt maker!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Review 5 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Healthnutmomma
,Louisville
,KY
March 24, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!!!!
March 24, 2015
I tried to find a yogurt that did not have any "garbage". Stonyfield Organic Thick N Creamy makes a clean plain yogurt. I used it with whole organic milk, vanilla flavor, heated milk to 160 for 20 min put in the machine for 8 hrs. Cooled 4 hours, strained overnight. I added back in a few tablespoons of strained whey for the consistency (it was VERY THICK). the results were the most delicious thick creamy, clean tasting Greek yogurt I have ever eaten! For peace of mind not having huge amounts of "unknown" things in my yogurt (we eat a lot of yogurt), and the flavor; scalding the milk, and straining is a small price to pay. Hands on time is 20 minutes, for an incredible product. FYI: I tried a batch w/o scalding and cultured for 10 hours; the end results, soup. I also purchased the mini mold Weck jars 976-165 and the medium plastic lids to store individual servings (from Weck site). I am a very experienced cook. This machine is worth it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 6 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
au5liz
,Hyattsville
,MD
March 16, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed in product
March 16, 2015
I purchased this item, based on reading recommendation as best yogurt maker product. It worked great the first 3 times and then not again. After many attempts over the next few weeks, trying all methods, different milks, cultures etc, it does not work. Most disappointed in this product. Have purchased a different brand, which appears to be more reliable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Temperamental
Review 7 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cardine
,Little Rock
,AR
February 17, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I Love almost everything about it!
February 17, 2015
Love the ease of use; yogurt comes out perfectly using a cup of prepared yogurt. Didn't have good luck with a starter... I wish the container where the yogurt is actually made, was glass, not plastic. It would be a bit heavier, but not in a problematic way. I avoid plastic for so many reasons in food prep, storage, etc. But particularly when there's heat involved... I would buy a glass replacement piece if it were offered! Scoop is useless, can't figure out why it's included. All in all, inexpensive option to create delicious, organic, low sugar yogurt.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet, Assembly
Cons: Speed, plastic container
Review 8 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emolly
,NJ
June 2, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product Home made Yogurt Maker
June 2, 2014
I used my machine about three times with good results. I found the included booklet to be very helpful in getting started. I also, found some tips online what brand of Greek yogurt to buy as starter.
The product you make is thinner than the product you buy at your supermarket.
You can make a thicker product by adding non-fat milk powder to the mix, before adding to the machine. You can strain the yogurt after its finished.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 9 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VBLShippensburg
,Shippensburg
,PA
May 22, 2014
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very User Friendly
May 22, 2014
This product is very simple and easy to use, just as demonstrated in the online video.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quiet
Review 10 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kteacher
,Mahomet
,IL
May 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It does it all!
May 20, 2014
We enjoy using the Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker. It is so easy! The milk and starter get mixed and go in, the program gets set and the start button is pushed--the machine does it all. The fact that the machine also keeps everything cool is so helpful. The yogurt is so delicious and fresh.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Review 11 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LBgirl
,Berthoud
,CO
May 19, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-15points
2of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not my favorite
May 19, 2014
Took too long to make yogurt.
Too hard to heat milk to 180, keep that temp, lower to 110, keep that temp, then mix ingredients.
Didn't taste good either.
Why by yogurt to make yogurt, one way suggested to make yogurt.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: Difficult to Use, Speed
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ArtisanalCook
Ohio
Posted November 24, 2014
Yogurt and sourdough breads are two common products that use a starter. You use a little yogurt to make a large batch of yogurt the way you'd use a little sourdough starter (bread dough) to make a large batch of bread dough.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
willsonoma
,CO
March 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes great yogurt
March 1, 2014
I love that it does all the heating and cooling. It is so easy to use and tastes so much better than what is in the store. It makes you wonder what is in that stuff.
I used 4 cups whole milk, 1/4 cup dry non fat milk powder, 1 of the 7 oz FAGE 2% plain. I didn't heat it. I set it for 10 hours. It was perfect. I mixed in strawberries and a bit of sugar. It was so good.
When reviewing machines, I did look up the safety behind it on the USDA canning and it did say that the starter has to be plain and has to have L. bulgaricus or S. thermophiles. It can have others, but one of these are required. It also has to say live cultures. It also said that not all brands that meet these requirements will work as some companies heat the cultures too much during processing, so you have to try different companies if it didn't work. I picked up the FAGE since it didn't have many ingredients and had these cultures.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet
Review 13 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fringy
,Prior Lake
,Mn
February 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and delicious yogurt,
February 22, 2014
I researched yogurt makers and decided on this one. I'm so glad I did. It functions as promised and now I can make effortless yogurt. I had really enjoyed a popular greek yogurt but wanted to use organic milk and save some money. I use that plain yogurt as a culture and get fantastic results. My dilemma was getting a firmer greek style and found that the easiest way was using a yogurt strainer (see below). It works extremely well. I create an easy fruit syrup to put in the bottom of small containers and add the finished yogurt on top. I get about 6 - 6 oz. containers from each batch.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design, Assembly
 
My Recommendations
 
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
murmom
Clackamas, OR
Posted May 30, 2014
servings?
You said this makes about 6 - 6oz servings. Is that after you strain to make the greek yogurt or before? I have another yogurt maker and am thinking of getting this one instead because it seems a lot easier to not have to heat the milk, but I want to make sure I'm going to be getting a good amount of yogurt after it is strained into greek yogurt before I make the purchase. Thanks for the info!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mamabarbi
,Seattle
,WA
February 19, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Custom-made yogurt
February 19, 2014
I have been using this yogurt maker for months (the first was defective, didn't get to temperature). The the ability to make my own lactose-free yogurt is prime. I know that most of the sugar is consumed during the process, but if you start without much lactose, you end with even less.... I have tried to make soy yogurt, but it separates even at 4 hours.I will keep trying. I bought a strainer to make Greek yogurt, but don't really need it if I start with 2% milk. Surprisingly, I have found that Safeway's Open Nature plain yogurt works really well. The only ingredients are milk and active cultures. Even my husband likes my homemade yogurt, so we both have a healthy breakfast.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Review 15 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Celt
,Aroostook County
,ME
Aroostook Couty
November 25, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I hesitated
November 25, 2013
I hesitated before buying the Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling. After reading all the reviews it seemed you either hated it or loved it. I took a chance, bought it and the Greek yogurt strainer and I love it. Actually I love the yogurt it makes. After so much discussion I went simple. A container of my favorite Chobani Greek yogurt, fill it up with 1% milk, set it for 9 hours and ignore till done, put it in the strainer for a couple of hours and enjoy. Truly awesome Greek yogurt.
Review 16 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Boulder
,CO
September 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Number 2 works great!
September 15, 2013
I could not figure out why my yogurt maker was not working. I tried several recipes, yogurt types, incubation time etc. Finally I noticed how hot the machine was during the cooling phase and realized it wasnt me! W & S graciously replaced my machine (without a receipt as I had not saved it) and the new ones works fabulously! I am so excited.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
aimwest
NYC
Posted September 27, 2013
my machine is hot too!
was your old machine hot on the outside metal part only? mine is hot to the touch (not burning) and cool in the inside. my yoghurt comes out awful - like milk! did this happen to you too?
thank you!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kattywompus
,Monrovia
,CA
August 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buy This Yogurt Maker!
August 30, 2013
I really love this yogurt maker! My yogurt comes out absolutely perfect every single time, and because it has a timer and automatic cooling, it's truly a "set it and forget it" appliance.
After carefully researching available yogurt makers, I spent the money for this product and have never regretted it. I've had it for about 6 months now and use it at least once a week, often more because the yogurt is so delicious and creamy!
My best advice is to spend the money on this appliance if you're serious about making yogurt....and use a double boiler to heat your milk too (you won't end up with tiny lumps in your yogurt from overheating the portions of the milk that come into contact with your pan - even if you stir constantly).
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 18 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stin
,Detroit
,MI
July 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Must Have for Yogurt Lovers
July 21, 2013
The quality of the yogurt is fabulous and it is truly a no fuss operation. Thoroughly whisk 1 cup of yogurt starter with ¼ cup of dried milk powder and then slowly add in 4 cups of 1% milk. The total time in the machine is 6 hours. Once the incubation period is over the machine switches over to chill mode, a great feature allowing you to start the process and return to the finished product up to 18 hours later.
I have been straining the yogurt through a coffee filter to make Greek yogurt. Given the cost of the machine and organic milk, my breakeven point is probably off somewhere in the distant future. However, the fresh taste and texture of the yogurt is amazing. And, it is wonderful to have the ability to sweeten with honey and vanilla extract to my taste level. It has also been fun coming up with fruit purees to make fruit-at-the-bottom yogurt cups.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Quiet
Cons: wish the capacity was a little bit higher.
Review 19 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sparrowssong
,Greensboro
,NC
July 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Real Time Saver
July 11, 2013
I love my Cuisinart Yogurt Maker. Before buying it, I read the reviews and saw that some people were unhappy with the consistency of the yogurt. I have been making yogurt at home for years and knew that my yogurt is often not as thick as what I get in the store--It doesn't have all the stabilizers and thickeners. I bought the maker and have been thrilled. It is so easy to make yogurt. I whisk together 4 cups of 2% organic milk, 1/2 cup powdered milk, and the yogurt culture at night and wake up to fresh yogurt. It keeps beautifully too. I really like the creamy, mild flavor in my smoothies, over cereal, and with fruit and granola. The yogurt will thicken some after it cools in the frig. To thicken it more I add either ground flax or chia seeds or a thickening gum after the yogurt is made. I've tried using skim milk but prefer the slightly higher fat content because it makes the yogurt a little thicker. I have recommended this maker to others.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet
Review 20 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maudis
,Coal Valley
,IL
July 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy, neat and delicious
July 9, 2013
Bought this 3 months ago and have been using it 2 to 3 times a week for Greek yogurt. I chose this machine because we are straining the product and wanted to incubate in batches, not jars. Love the chill feature because we are relieved of babysitting the production from start to finish - we can strain it whenever we get around to it. We use skim milk, incubate 9 hours, and used an organic Greek yogurt for our first starter. We use our own product for subsequent batches. We also warm the milk to 180 and cool to 110 before incubating - I don't know if this is necessary but that is what we have always done. We found that the yogurt was getting overly tangy and mealy after a few batches so we started over with only 1-2 ounces of starter and are getting a smoother and milder product - just what we want! I was ready to give up the hassle of making my own yogurt before I found this machine and am very happy with the result.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Quiet
page1 2 3 4 next