Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling

Transform dairy milk or soymilk into rich, creamy homemade yogurt with this state-of-the-art machine. Simply pour milk, yogurt starter and your favorite flavorings into the container, then press the "start" button. After fermentation, a built-in cooling system automatically chills yogurt to the ideal serving temperature. Enjoy fresh, all-natural yogurt, custom-blended from your choice of ingredients. Extra-large 50 oz. BPA-free processing container accommodates more than six 8-oz. servings of yogurt at a time. Adjustable controls make it easy to set the perfect fermenting time for your recipe - a digital display counts down processing time. Automatically chills the fermented yogurt to the perfect serving temperature.
Average Customer Rating:
4.291 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
43 of 55(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
Review 1 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emolly
,NJ
June 2, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product Home made Yogurt Maker
June 2, 2014
I used my machine about three times with good results. I found the included booklet to be very helpful in getting started. I also, found some tips online what brand of Greek yogurt to buy as starter.
The product you make is thinner than the product you buy at your supermarket.
You can make a thicker product by adding non-fat milk powder to the mix, before adding to the machine. You can strain the yogurt after its finished.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 2 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VBLShippensburg
,Shippensburg
,PA
May 22, 2014
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very User Friendly
May 22, 2014
This product is very simple and easy to use, just as demonstrated in the online video.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quiet
Review 3 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kteacher
,Mahomet
,IL
May 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It does it all!
May 20, 2014
We enjoy using the Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker. It is so easy! The milk and starter get mixed and go in, the program gets set and the start button is pushed--the machine does it all. The fact that the machine also keeps everything cool is so helpful. The yogurt is so delicious and fresh.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Review 4 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LBgirl
,Berthoud
,CO
May 19, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-8points
1of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not my favorite
May 19, 2014
Took too long to make yogurt.
Too hard to heat milk to 180, keep that temp, lower to 110, keep that temp, then mix ingredients.
Didn't taste good either.
Why by yogurt to make yogurt, one way suggested to make yogurt.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: Difficult to Use, Speed
Review 5 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
willsonoma
,CO
March 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes great yogurt
March 1, 2014
I love that it does all the heating and cooling. It is so easy to use and tastes so much better than what is in the store. It makes you wonder what is in that stuff.
I used 4 cups whole milk, 1/4 cup dry non fat milk powder, 1 of the 7 oz FAGE 2% plain. I didn't heat it. I set it for 10 hours. It was perfect. I mixed in strawberries and a bit of sugar. It was so good.
When reviewing machines, I did look up the safety behind it on the USDA canning and it did say that the starter has to be plain and has to have L. bulgaricus or S. thermophiles. It can have others, but one of these are required. It also has to say live cultures. It also said that not all brands that meet these requirements will work as some companies heat the cultures too much during processing, so you have to try different companies if it didn't work. I picked up the FAGE since it didn't have many ingredients and had these cultures.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet
Review 6 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fringy
,Prior Lake
,Mn
February 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and delicious yogurt,
February 22, 2014
I researched yogurt makers and decided on this one. I'm so glad I did. It functions as promised and now I can make effortless yogurt. I had really enjoyed a popular greek yogurt but wanted to use organic milk and save some money. I use that plain yogurt as a culture and get fantastic results. My dilemma was getting a firmer greek style and found that the easiest way was using a yogurt strainer (see below). It works extremely well. I create an easy fruit syrup to put in the bottom of small containers and add the finished yogurt on top. I get about 6 - 6 oz. containers from each batch.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design, Assembly
 
My Recommendations
 
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
murmom
Clackamas, OR
Posted May 30, 2014
servings?
You said this makes about 6 - 6oz servings. Is that after you strain to make the greek yogurt or before? I have another yogurt maker and am thinking of getting this one instead because it seems a lot easier to not have to heat the milk, but I want to make sure I'm going to be getting a good amount of yogurt after it is strained into greek yogurt before I make the purchase. Thanks for the info!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mamabarbi
,Seattle
,WA
February 19, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Custom-made yogurt
February 19, 2014
I have been using this yogurt maker for months (the first was defective, didn't get to temperature). The the ability to make my own lactose-free yogurt is prime. I know that most of the sugar is consumed during the process, but if you start without much lactose, you end with even less.... I have tried to make soy yogurt, but it separates even at 4 hours.I will keep trying. I bought a strainer to make Greek yogurt, but don't really need it if I start with 2% milk. Surprisingly, I have found that Safeway's Open Nature plain yogurt works really well. The only ingredients are milk and active cultures. Even my husband likes my homemade yogurt, so we both have a healthy breakfast.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Review 8 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Celt
,Aroostook County
,ME
Aroostook Couty
November 25, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I hesitated
November 25, 2013
I hesitated before buying the Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling. After reading all the reviews it seemed you either hated it or loved it. I took a chance, bought it and the Greek yogurt strainer and I love it. Actually I love the yogurt it makes. After so much discussion I went simple. A container of my favorite Chobani Greek yogurt, fill it up with 1% milk, set it for 9 hours and ignore till done, put it in the strainer for a couple of hours and enjoy. Truly awesome Greek yogurt.
Review 9 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Boulder
,CO
September 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Number 2 works great!
September 15, 2013
I could not figure out why my yogurt maker was not working. I tried several recipes, yogurt types, incubation time etc. Finally I noticed how hot the machine was during the cooling phase and realized it wasnt me! W & S graciously replaced my machine (without a receipt as I had not saved it) and the new ones works fabulously! I am so excited.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
aimwest
NYC
Posted September 27, 2013
my machine is hot too!
was your old machine hot on the outside metal part only? mine is hot to the touch (not burning) and cool in the inside. my yoghurt comes out awful - like milk! did this happen to you too?
thank you!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kattywompus
,Monrovia
,CA
August 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buy This Yogurt Maker!
August 30, 2013
I really love this yogurt maker! My yogurt comes out absolutely perfect every single time, and because it has a timer and automatic cooling, it's truly a "set it and forget it" appliance.
After carefully researching available yogurt makers, I spent the money for this product and have never regretted it. I've had it for about 6 months now and use it at least once a week, often more because the yogurt is so delicious and creamy!
My best advice is to spend the money on this appliance if you're serious about making yogurt....and use a double boiler to heat your milk too (you won't end up with tiny lumps in your yogurt from overheating the portions of the milk that come into contact with your pan - even if you stir constantly).
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 11 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stin
,Detroit
,MI
July 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Must Have for Yogurt Lovers
July 21, 2013
The quality of the yogurt is fabulous and it is truly a no fuss operation. Thoroughly whisk 1 cup of yogurt starter with ¼ cup of dried milk powder and then slowly add in 4 cups of 1% milk. The total time in the machine is 6 hours. Once the incubation period is over the machine switches over to chill mode, a great feature allowing you to start the process and return to the finished product up to 18 hours later.
I have been straining the yogurt through a coffee filter to make Greek yogurt. Given the cost of the machine and organic milk, my breakeven point is probably off somewhere in the distant future. However, the fresh taste and texture of the yogurt is amazing. And, it is wonderful to have the ability to sweeten with honey and vanilla extract to my taste level. It has also been fun coming up with fruit purees to make fruit-at-the-bottom yogurt cups.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Quiet
Cons: wish the capacity was a little bit higher.
Review 12 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sparrowssong
,Greensboro
,NC
July 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Real Time Saver
July 11, 2013
I love my Cuisinart Yogurt Maker. Before buying it, I read the reviews and saw that some people were unhappy with the consistency of the yogurt. I have been making yogurt at home for years and knew that my yogurt is often not as thick as what I get in the store--It doesn't have all the stabilizers and thickeners. I bought the maker and have been thrilled. It is so easy to make yogurt. I whisk together 4 cups of 2% organic milk, 1/2 cup powdered milk, and the yogurt culture at night and wake up to fresh yogurt. It keeps beautifully too. I really like the creamy, mild flavor in my smoothies, over cereal, and with fruit and granola. The yogurt will thicken some after it cools in the frig. To thicken it more I add either ground flax or chia seeds or a thickening gum after the yogurt is made. I've tried using skim milk but prefer the slightly higher fat content because it makes the yogurt a little thicker. I have recommended this maker to others.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet
Review 13 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maudis
,Coal Valley
,IL
July 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy, neat and delicious
July 9, 2013
Bought this 3 months ago and have been using it 2 to 3 times a week for Greek yogurt. I chose this machine because we are straining the product and wanted to incubate in batches, not jars. Love the chill feature because we are relieved of babysitting the production from start to finish - we can strain it whenever we get around to it. We use skim milk, incubate 9 hours, and used an organic Greek yogurt for our first starter. We use our own product for subsequent batches. We also warm the milk to 180 and cool to 110 before incubating - I don't know if this is necessary but that is what we have always done. We found that the yogurt was getting overly tangy and mealy after a few batches so we started over with only 1-2 ounces of starter and are getting a smoother and milder product - just what we want! I was ready to give up the hassle of making my own yogurt before I found this machine and am very happy with the result.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Quiet
Review 14 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KathrynSanAntonioTexas
,San Antonio
,Tx
June 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great results!
June 18, 2013
Just purchased this machine and made my first batch of yogurt. It was so easy to use. In the past I had to cook and cool the milk. This was just mix and forget. Off to bed and in the morning was creamy delicious yogurt. After reading mixed reviews I was a little concerned about making this purchase. Not sure what the others are doing. Follow the instructions and use a packaged started. It will work with Great results!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 15 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sharlote
,Northern.
,CA
June 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
disappointed with maker
June 18, 2013
Please help!!! I am one step away from returning this maker and don't want to because of all the positive successful reviews. I have dumped two containers of what i call milk yogurt. i followed some of the womens guidelines here, did not heat the milk and poured one cup plain mountain high yogurt and filled container with 2 or 1% milk, whisked it , 8 hours and cooled it and got milk! help, please, what is this working for you and not me?
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
freeradical
denver, co
Posted August 10, 2013
yogurt starter
from your comment it looks to me that your "starter" (ie mountain high yogurt) does NOT have live, active cultures in it, hence no yogurt. try a real starter, or buy some stoneyfield yogurt and use that. hope this helps!
0points
Customer avatar
DrBuzz
Danville, CA
Posted June 21, 2013
Try This Before Returning!
The first batch I made was with nonfat milk and (I believe) Mountain High nonfat plain yogurt, cultured for 6 hours. Not good at all -- a runny mess, that we ended up using to make yogurt drinks. The next batch was with the same ingredients, but for 8 hours; also not that great. We considered punting altogether, but decided that we would give it a chance. Glad we did, and further experimentation got us something that is quite good (though we will continue to try to find better yet).
First, we still use nonfat milk; I am sure that using milk with fat would make this great -- we are just stubborn.
Second, we have been using Greek Gods 0% greek yogurt; we will continue to try others. Once we identify the best we can do, we will use the self-made yogurt to inoculate other batches.
Third, I add powdered milk per the book recipe (about 1/2-cup powder to 1 qt milk); in addition to the heating (see below), it seemed to eliminate the excess liquid.
Fourth, we heated the milk -- this really did make a big difference. Sources online say that it should stay above 160°F for at least twenty minutes, and I think that seems about right. I microwave the liquid/powder milk mixture on high for 5 minutes, take the temperature, and then give bursts until it hits 170°-180°F. We let it stand for at least 20 minutes, and re-measure the temperature. If it does not look like it stayed above 160°F for twenty minutes, I reheat it and let it stand again.
Fifth, let the milk mixture cool down to below 120°F before adding the yogurt (about 2/3 cup). If you add it too soon, you will kill the active yeast culture in the yogurt.
Last, try the 8-hour setting (currently our default); when we find nirvana, we will try shorter times.
Good luck!
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 16 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoraeS
,Austin
,TX
June 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easiest creamiest yogurt I've ever made
June 16, 2013
I just pour in one measured cup of Brown Cow plain yogurt (cream top or nonfat), pour in nonfat milk about halfway up the container side, whisk with the Ici Batter Whisk, and then pour in more milk until it's high but not so high that it would hit the lid, then whisk again. Then I put on the lids and turn it on for 7 hours, and voila lovely yogurt. This is just what I was hoping for, because it's not worth it to me to heat milk, wait for it to cool down, etc to make yogurt that is usually not good anyway; this machine takes care of all the work for me and makes better yogurt than I ever did. (In case anyone else has this problem: My yogurt suddenly was coming out thin, but that was due to a faulty outlet; the machine's lights came on but it did not heat properly. When I switched outlets, my yogurt was perfect again.)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 17 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rmorri
,WA
June 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Took some patience
June 10, 2013
I've had the yogurt maker for a month and have made 5 batches of yogurt. It took me some experimenting to get the texture and flavor that I was looking for and ended up with the following recipe which is thick and creamy.
1 container of plain, organic yogurt
1/2 c. Nonfat dry milk powder
2 T. Honey, slightly warmed
4 c. Whole milk
Put yogurt, powder, honey and some of the milk in container and whisk until smooth. Add the rest of the milk and whisk. Set yogurt maker for 9 hours, then chill for 12 hours. When complete, remove 6 ounces of yogurt to start your next batch with.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Quiet
Review 18 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rosehillk
,North Canton
,Oh
North Canton, Ohio
June 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous, delicious yogurt!
June 9, 2013
I have had it for about a month and a half, and make yogurt every other day. We eat a bowl of yogurt every evening with a little Bon Maman preserves or fresh fruit. So much better than eating cookies or other things full of sugar. But back to this machine~ play with it. I see some reviews that give it one star and say they sent it back. You have to play with your recipe and try various amounts. I place two cups of whole milk, two cups of fat free milk, 2-3 nice tablespoons of a good yogurt such as Stoneyfield, two large squirts of honey, and about 1/4 cup of powdered milk in the cuisinart container. Wish together, turn on the machine for 8-9 hours. It comes out very delicious. Serve as I mentioned above. If you want true Greek style yogurt, get a bouillon strainer, or a very fine mesh strainer and stain out the whey. I love this machine! Oh, and I store the yogurt in the container it was made in, in the refrigerator. What could be easier?
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
KathrynSanAntonioTexas
Posted June 18, 2013
I agree
Just purchased my machine and made my first batch. I agree with you. I have never made yogurt this easy! It came out very creamy.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
eastsacmom
,Sacramento
,Ca
May 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easiest Way to Make Yogurt
May 16, 2013
Having made yogurt with a simpler machine and all the steps involved, I was skeptical about how well this machine would work. It has far exceeded our expectations. We are making one batch every 2-3 days using approximately 6 ounces of starter yogurt (which we are saving from the previous batch each time), and mixing whole milk with half & half at a ratio of roughly 1:1. At this point, we are not measuring any of the ingredients and the results are consistently good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Speed
Review 20 for Cuisinart Electric Yogurt Maker with Automatic Cooling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dsm99
,Boca Raton
,FL
May 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
better than store bought
May 16, 2013
i've had my machine for a month and am happy to report that it is produces a superior yogurt to any i've found in a store.
A half gallon of grass-fed milk makes two batches of yogurt, each lasting me one week. i use a powdered goat milk and a freeze dried starter from whole foods. I heat the milk to 100 degrees, stir in the two other ingredients and set the machine for 12 hours. The results are tremendous -- a tangy, creamy and artisanal tasting yogurt that is simply better, and more economical, than anything i've found in a store.
i did use Fage as a starter once, with regular organic milk and the result tasted like Fage, something i found disappointing.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet, Design, Assembly, produces a superior product
page1 2 3 next