Cuisinart Stainless-Steel Ice Cream Maker

When it comes to homemade ice cream, "the more, the better" is the motto of this family-friendly machine. Ideal for entertaining, it makes two quarts of your favorite frozen dessert in a single batch.Simple operation with the turn of a dial.Double-walled insulated freezer bowl makes ice cream, frozen yogurt, sorbet and frozen drinks.Produces 2 quarts in as little as 25 minutes.Clear plastic lid has an opening for adding mix-ins like chocolate chips and nuts.Recipes included.Brushed-stainless-steel finish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.532 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
58 of 62(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cuisinart Stainless-Steel Ice Cream Maker
Review 1 for Cuisinart Stainless-Steel Ice Cream Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nonickkname
July 22, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cuisinart stainless-steel ice cream maker
July 22, 2015
Too bulky for both my freezer and my kitchen! Can you find one that can electronically cool itself without a need to keep the vessel in the freezer overnight before starting to prepare your ice cream!
Review 2 for Cuisinart Stainless-Steel Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chum
,Canton
,TX
June 20, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No Ice Needed
June 20, 2015
Awesome product! Easy to follow recipes. I love not needing ice on hand to make ice cream. Makes just enough for small family or friends without having to worry about storage space in the freezer-there is never any left over. This will be my new go to products for wedding gifts.
Pros: Easy to Use, Speed, Size, Time-saver
Review 3 for Cuisinart Stainless-Steel Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Claudettie
,Santa Fe
,NM
June 3, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite go to dessert making machine.
June 3, 2015
This machine is fun and easy to use. Have made some creamy yummy ice creams and always try to think of new flavors to make.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Assembly
Review 4 for Cuisinart Stainless-Steel Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
prettygal
,San Franisco
,CA
San Francisco, CA
January 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Still going strong!
January 27, 2015
I purchased this ice cream maker three years ago, and it's still making the best ice cream and sorbet.
In the summer I make ice cream 4 times a week and winter once a week.
I love it. I purchased another freezer bowl and now make two different flavors.
No need to wait!
I use the recipe book which came with the ice cream maker. They're all excellent, no need for mixes!!!
Anyone remember the old fifty fifty ice cream? Real vanilla ice cream with real orange sherbert? Yum! I make it and it's as good as I remember!!!
I am 64 and remember sitting on the old crank ice cream makers as a child, fun then..not so much now.
This Ice cream maker beats them all.
When I purchased mine it was the same price as it is now.
Love the great deals on William Sonoma.
I have never had a bad batch if ice cream since using this ice cream maker.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 5 for Cuisinart Stainless-Steel Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
caroleramsey
,PdS
,WI
January 20, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ice cream maker is the cats meow
January 20, 2015
EASY to use, mix and turn it on. Vanilla recipe included is
VERY good.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: could be quieter
Review 6 for Cuisinart Stainless-Steel Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KitchenCookie
,Rochester
,NY
January 17, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
All Time Best Ice Cream Maker
January 17, 2015
We have gone through several ice cream makers but this is the one we enjoy the most. In fact, we bought another just so we could make 2 flavors at the same time. Each makes 2 qts and the results are incredible. It's a bit loud but for the quality, price, and quantity of ice cream it makes, it's worth it. It's the BEST investment in counter-top appliances we ever made (and I don't have many).
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: Loud
Review 7 for Cuisinart Stainless-Steel Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gardenerfoodie
,WI
November 9, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Essential tool for a foodie
November 9, 2014
Simple recipes with this simple tool makes ice cream easy, and sorbets and frozen custard too! But FOLLOW DIRECTIONS, like cooling the ingredients before making the ice cream. This makes a big difference! I give one to every wedding couple so they can make healthier, amazing ice cream. This is such a hit at my dinner parties I cannot rave enough about it! Buy the Ben & Jerry ice cream recipe book to do more, but just the basic vanilla is heaven on earth.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Design
Cons: Loud
Review 8 for Cuisinart Stainless-Steel Ice Cream Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Juliemac
,Jacksonville
,Fl
August 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy ice cream
August 26, 2014
So far so good. I have made two batches. The first using a recipe out of one of my favorite cookbooks. Second batch I used a recipe from the machine manual. This turned out much better. Quick freeze and a good quantity. Easy clean up. Simple.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 9 for Cuisinart Stainless-Steel Ice Cream Maker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ep3h
,Orefield
,PA
July 27, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Freezing Bowl Leak
July 27, 2014
Freezing bowl can crack and leak. It looks like stainless on the outside, but is really plastic with silver paint. When it cracks, all of the anti-freeze runs out. The bowl must be completely frozen before using. The faster the freeze, the smoother the ice cream. I place the whole unit in the freezer at flash-freeze mode and it works well. If I churn outside the freezer it ends up grainy and icy. Adding alcoholic liquids increases the freezing time. Works well for non-cooked ice cream using raw organic milk and raw organic heavy cream with tagatose and/or raw organic agave and diced organic fresh fruit. The fruit is added after churning, and placed in freezer to cure, about 3 hours. Since my bowl split and leaked I ordered the newer model at Williams-Sonoma.
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 10 for Cuisinart Stainless-Steel Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shefish
,El Cajon
,CA
June 26, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Gift for Fathers Day
June 26, 2014
My husband really loved this gift. So I hit a homerun on this one. We make ice cream at least 2 or more time a week. This ice cream maker is easy to use and cleans up in a jiffy. It has made everyone in the family happy. I like it so much that this is what all the good family members will be getting for Christmas. I would like to say thank you. It's not often when something exceeds expectations.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 11 for Cuisinart Stainless-Steel Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MimiDC
,Nashville
,TN
Washington, DC
June 16, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this ice cream maker!!
June 16, 2014
Years ago, we had an ice cream maker that required rock salt and churning--it ended up in a garage sale. Our best friends in TX had one of these when we visited, and they raved about it--the ice cream seemed easy to make and was delicious. I gave this to my husband for Father's Day, and we bought the vanilla ice cream starter. Yes, you must freeze the bowl for a day before you use it--so think ahead/leave the bowl in the freezer as they suggest. For me, the starter was expensive and too sweet. Just use heavy cream, half 'n half, sugar, vanilla, etc.--you need most of this with the starter, anyway.
Review 12 for Cuisinart Stainless-Steel Ice Cream Maker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
liteft6
,Dallas
,TX
June 13, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not as Easy As It Seems
June 13, 2014
I have had a lot of fun learning to use this device, but please know that it is not as quick and easy as it seems. It takes 24 hours to freeze the bowl. Ingredients MUST be precooled to produce a nonsoupy product. The result is not as thick as soft serve, as advertised. I have yet to make a batch that did not require 1 to 2 hours in the freezer afterward to reach a desired consistency. Still, the final frozen product tastes great and the machine allows one to control the ingredients. I would buy it again (on sale) but wish I had known before I bought. Last note: there is an unadvertised, off-label use. The frozen bowl will chill a 750ml bottle of champagne in 10 minutes.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, fun
Cons: Loud, time consuming
Review 13 for Cuisinart Stainless-Steel Ice Cream Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Papadeb
,Dallas
,Tx
June 10, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just enough ice cream for two
June 10, 2014
Homemade peach for two / with left overs just perfect for something special
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 14 for Cuisinart Stainless-Steel Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rlstl
,Villa Ridge
,MO
St Louis
May 31, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nothin' better than homemade!
May 31, 2014
I love homemade ice cream but never make it because all the hassle of using ice and salt etc. I decided to give this electric a try and am so excited with the results! I thought at first that it wasn't going to work because it just kept going round and round and never changing consistency. But then it suddenly started to thicken. You have to be patient. The process is so easy, just a few ingredients and you are rewarded with amazing ice cream! This machine is heavy and all the parts (there are only 4 of them) are sturdy and well made. I look forward to years of yummy ice cream!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Assembly
Review 15 for Cuisinart Stainless-Steel Ice Cream Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Marilise
May 14, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
7of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Requires Too Much Time (and Patience)
May 14, 2014
Nice looking, no small parts, and only 4 pieces.
After waiting for the bowl “6 to 22 hours” to freeze, and another 20 to 35 minutes mixing, you must transfer the mixture in containers and “place in freezer for about 2 hours” if you want regular ice cream because what you get is “soft, creamy texture” (translation: soft-serve ice cream). Even if you're happy with the soft and creamy texture, having to keep the bowl in the freezer at all time (ready for use) may be too much because it takes up a lot of space.
Review 16 for Cuisinart Stainless-Steel Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wclark83
,Cabot
,AR
April 23, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exactly what I wanted!
April 23, 2014
I consider myself an intermediate cook... desserts are my new challenge. I have been wanting and ice cream maker for years.. and after several weeks of research - I went to my local WS and bought this one.
PERFECT ice cream. I modified a few of the manual recipes... and have made two different kinds already. It does need to freeze before you eat it if you want thick commercial texture. Soft-serve is ready immediately. Look out about over-churning... my second batch has a butter-like film... but still delicious!
Other places have this cheaper... but I received a 30.00 WS rebate giftcard with purchase and didn't have to wait on shipping!
Every cook needs this!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Store, waiting on freezing time of mix bowl
Review 17 for Cuisinart Stainless-Steel Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fringy
,Prior Lake
,MN
February 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Appliance!
February 22, 2014
This should be a required family appliance. You can make a tub of ice cream so quickly and control the type of ingredients that are used. I've tried the vanilla, strawberry, and chocolate recipes that come in the box and used organic ingredients. They all have have turned out really well. I plan to try one of the Italian ice recipes soon. The containers below work perfectly to store the product. Both are must-have items.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design, Assembly
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 18 for Cuisinart Stainless-Steel Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shopper53
,Salt Lake City
,UT
October 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Ice Cream
October 22, 2013
Was so easy to use - made great tasting ice cream. I just bought mine and it did come with an extra bowl!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 19 for Cuisinart Stainless-Steel Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookie552
,Thousand Oaks
,CA
October 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I'm a believer
October 11, 2013
I bought this after seeing it featured in one of the WS e-mails. I was skeptical at first but once I tried it with the vanilla ice cream starter - I became a believer. I've also tried the chocolate starter and will be trying the others, too. Use it every couple of weeks to make a fresh batch of ice cream. I put the bowl in the freezer the day before so that it's good and frozen. Easy to use easy to clean!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 20 for Cuisinart Stainless-Steel Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IceCreamEater
,Houston
,TX
October 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great ice cream maker
October 7, 2013
I have had my ice cream maker for about three weeks now. I love making fresh ice cream, and experimenting with different ingredients (coconut, nuts, chocolate chips, chopped cookies, shaved dark chocolate). I got this machine because I realized that the ingredients in store-bought ice cream are so numerous (and the brand I was buying wasn't even called ice cream -- dairy dessert -- what's that?). I feel like this is a much healthier alternative to store bought ice cream. I can see exactly what is in the recipe and I know it's super fresh. I even made ice cream with coconut milk today. Great investment for my family.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed
page1 2 3 4 next