Cuisinart Spice & Nut Grinder

Grinding whole spices and nuts just before use ensures optimal flavor and aroma. Designed especially for these ingredients, Cuisinart's compact grinder uses a powerful motor and sharp stainless-steel blades to process them to the preferred texture. It's easy to operate: Just press the lid. The removable stainless-steel grinding bowl comes with an additional airtight lid for use when storing ingredients in the bowl. Designed for processing fresh spices and nuts. 3-oz. cap. bowl, 9" high. Bowl and lid are dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.037 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
21 of 27(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cuisinart Spice & Nut Grinder
Review 1 for Cuisinart Spice & Nut Grinder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RenoFoodie
,NV
December 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works great
December 20, 2013
Perfect for grinding whole spices. When you need a lot of pepper for say a rub. Its a very helpful gadget in the kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 2 for Cuisinart Spice & Nut Grinder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
OstrichV
,San Francisco
,CA
January 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
13of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sadly, an unfortunate purchase on my part
January 7, 2012
I specifically wanted something with a stainless steel removable bowl... something I could pop into the dishwasher after I was done with grinding some pungent Indian spices. And since I bake a fair bit, I needed something that could chop nuts evenly as well. When I saw this pop up in the recommendations, I was ecstatic, and purchased it right away. Alas, it does not work well. My spices ended up with a very uneven grind. As for the nuts... a very small amount, sure. Anything more than, say, 10 nuts, it just doesn't cut it. Somehow the blades manage to trap some of the nuts under them, so that as you run the machine, the nuts separate between into an oily meal packed under the blades, and huge chunks above the blades that refuse to get chopped/ground/whatever.
Oh, and the entire apparatus gets kinda messy since there seems to be a bit of a gap between the bowl and dome/top... when you life the plastic dome/top, there's always some debris outside the bowl, on the machine.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: inconsistent performance
Review 3 for Cuisinart Spice & Nut Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scparks
Highland, CA
July 25, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
works like a charm
July 25, 2011
It grinds nuts and spices as advertised. Keep in mind it is a grinder, not a chopper. It is a good size for a home kitchen. Attractive enough to leave out but I have mine on a shelf for easy access. Cord tucks away, too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 4 for Cuisinart Spice & Nut Grinder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
PC2011
Arlington, VA
July 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Motor Burn-Out
July 18, 2011
I'm on my 3rd grinder in the past 2 years! The motor on my first grinder went out during the first time I used it. I got a replacement and it lasted for approximately 5 uses. I'm now on my 3rd grinder, and I'm thinking maybe 3rd time's a charm? Luckily I've kept my receipt and the lovely people at William's Sonoma have replaced this grinder with no fuss at all. I definitely would not purchase another Cuisinart Spice and Nut Grinder, nor would I recommend it to a friend. It seems they have a major problem with the motor that should be addressed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Cons: Quality
Review 5 for Cuisinart Spice & Nut Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MariaV
Philadelphia, PA
July 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Powerful Little Kitchen Tool
July 12, 2011
This is a great gadget. Easy to operate and clean. I love the fact that you can even use the grinding container for storage of what you grind by just capping it with the included plastic lid. It's small so it doesn't take up much space on the counter, yet has the power to grind peppercorns in seconds. Plus, you get a booklet with a few good recipes in it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Cuisinart Spice & Nut Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
handprints
Honolulu, Hawaii
May 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ground flax seeds like I wanted it to
May 20, 2011
I bought this to grind sesame and flax seeds and so far, it has done the job just the way I wanted.
No motor burn out. No complaints.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Cuisinart Spice & Nut Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sdisc
Houston, TX
January 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love it!
January 20, 2011
I do a lot of baking and needed something to use for grinding nuts for cakes, linzer cookies, financiers, etc. This does the job quickly and perfectly, and I'm able to do 1/2-1 cup at a time. I generally like cuisinart, and find it to be very sturdy. I wouldn't use it to try to only chop nuts, as it IS a grinder. Definitely one of my favorite things in the kitchen I couldn't do without!
Review 8 for Cuisinart Spice & Nut Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
happysnappy
San Antonio, Texas.
September 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best money ever spent
September 20, 2010
i have owned the grinder since late May 2010 and it does everything it says in the book and more. Grinds my hot peppers from a course grind to a super fine powder. I'm looking at adding 2 more after the dehydrator.
Review 9 for Cuisinart Spice & Nut Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NARoss
Holland, PA
August 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works as advertised, spice rubs a breeze!
August 5, 2010
I love to cook with different spices, especially cumin - roasting the seeds, then grinding. It's impossible to get a coffee grinder clean (so that coffee doesn't taste of cumin!), and rather than buying a second coffee grinder specifically for spices, I chose this product. It works great (very powerful), and I especially like that the work "bowl" is removable and therefore washable. Works great on black peppercorns too, but you may want to adjust proportions downward, as the finely ground pepper is much hotter than manually ground. Spice rubs are a breeze!
Review 10 for Cuisinart Spice & Nut Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AJ20003
Washington DC
April 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
spice grinder with washable bowl!
April 19, 2010
I love this spice grinder! With a few pulses it grinds spice seeds, cinnamon sticks, etc. (I have not tyet ried it on nuts.) And the very best part is that all the parts that come into contact with the spice are dishwasher-safe! -- no worries about contaminating one spice with the oils of another (you know you can never REALLY get the grinders clean that you cannot immerse).
Review 11 for Cuisinart Spice & Nut Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vidya57
Brooklyn NY
January 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
fast and easy
January 19, 2010
I love the speed and power this small machine packs. Grinds up peppercorns in a flash, it's easy to operate and easy to clean. No more mortar and pestle for me!
Review 12 for Cuisinart Spice & Nut Grinder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BobMach
Delaware
January 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Looks pretty BUT...................
January 16, 2010
thats all it has going for it. it wont even do my flax seed. takes for ever then you start to smell the motor over work and the spices begin to get warm. doesn't put a fine grind on spices or even something soft like flax seed. im taking mine back, my old $13.00 black and decker did a much better job and was alot faster. mines a problem, not sure if its just a bad unit but im going back to a cheap coffee grinder for my spices.
Review 13 for Cuisinart Spice & Nut Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skooter2500
Brighton, CO
December 28, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE IT.
December 28, 2009
This product came just before I needed it desperately! It's the holiday season and I used it all the time. Perfect gift for someone who cooks a lot.
Review 14 for Cuisinart Spice & Nut Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
txblueyes55
Odessa, Tx
September 13, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great product
September 13, 2009
Fresh ground spices add gourmet taste to my recipes. I liked my grinder so much I bought one for my daughter as a house warming gift.
Review 15 for Cuisinart Spice & Nut Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FoodieinSeattle
Seattle, WA
September 10, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Motor Quit After First Use
September 10, 2009
The first time I used this the motor started smoking and died. Definitely a disappointment, but thankful for WS great return policy.
Review 16 for Cuisinart Spice & Nut Grinder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Barbara123
Boston, MA
July 4, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pretty Good
July 4, 2009
It grinds pretty well - whole nutmeg, black pepper, cinnamon sticks - but I would prefer if the blades would be a bit wider to increase the speed of grinding. Often, I press on the lid hard to prepare a blend of dry herbs - bay leaves, black pepper, etc. The blades do not come in contact with enough surface area during grinding and should be wider. Perhaps the motor should be just a bit stronger, too. So far, the grinder did not break, hoping for a long performance. I would still recommend this spice grinder because the bowl is stainless (not plastic), removable, and easy to clean. I give it four stars because of the narrow blades and weak motor. Otherwise, I would give it 5 stars! But it still gets the job done!
Review 17 for Cuisinart Spice & Nut Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TomJ
Naperville IL
June 27, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smoked and Died on First Use
June 27, 2009
I was initially impressed at the speed at which the grinder went through flax seed compared to my cuisinart food processor. But I put my second batch in (1/3 cup below the capacity of 1/2) and it did not seem to be fully grinding them as it did on the first batch. Next I began to smell smoke than it simply died and smoke emanated in an obvious manner. Stay away from this one.
Review 18 for Cuisinart Spice & Nut Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CBanana
York, PA
May 3, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love this Grinder!
May 3, 2009
It's really easy to use, store leftovers and clean.
Review 19 for Cuisinart Spice & Nut Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cogara
Big Bear City, CA
April 18, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Spice & Nut Grinder
April 18, 2009
Love it, does everything I need it to do.
It grinds hard spices anyway you want them,
& is easy to clean.
Review 20 for Cuisinart Spice & Nut Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissEmma
Queens, NY
April 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
indispensable
April 2, 2009
This little appliance is serving me far beyond my expectations. I use it to chop nuts and ingredients for tuna salad.
page1 2 next