This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe

The fully programmable Grind & Brew is equipped with a built-in burr grinder to grind coffee beans at your preset time, delivering the freshest-tasting coffee directly into a thermal carafe, where it stays hot until serving.Fully automatic with 24-hour advance programming.Optional one- to four-cup brewing cycle.Built-in burr grinder grinds coffee beans just before brewing for maximum freshness.Grind control feature lets you program the amount of coffee to grind, from 2 to 12 cups; grind-off feature allows you to use preground beans.Double-wall insulated thermal carafe holds up to 12 cups (60 oz.) and keeps coffee warm.Showerhead evenly distributes water over grounds, reducing temperature loss.Charcoal water filter removes impurities and ensures fresh-tasting coffee.Gold-tone permanent filter eliminates the need for paper filters.Brew-pause allows you to enjoy a cup of coffee before brewing has finished.Three coffee-strength settings.Audible alert signals brewing is complete.Automatic shutoff.Stainless-steel and black exterior.
Average Customer Rating:
2.8 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(120 Reviews) 120
52 of 120(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
Review 1 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Goanna
NYC
November 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Great Coffee Maker
November 29, 2009
Out of all the coffee pots I have owned, this is by far the best one, and that's including the older style Cuisinart grind & brew.
People here are complaining about having to clean the coffee chute once a week, well with the old grind and brew the steam from the coffee would travel back up to the grind chute/chamber leaving you with a soggy mess to clean after every brew cycle. That was a much bigger annoyance in my opinion.
There's also a nice, easy trick I found to clean out the coffee chute. I use canned compressed air (like you would use to clean out a computer). A few blasts of that and the coffee chute is free and clear, no trying to get the brush to fit in the chute to get into all the corners.
Back to the review. The pot brews the coffee great, it's always nice and hot, and being ground seconds before brewing is a major plus. When ever I have company over they always compliment the coffee, and are impressed by the machine itself.
Review 2 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
justcookit
mission viejo, ca
November 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Stay Away!
November 16, 2010
Great idea but lousy execution. From the awkward angle to pour water from the carafe into the reservoir to the tempermental and unpredictable grind and brew feature, this machine isn't worth the money or hassle. Its gotten to the point where its a waiting game between my wife and I to see who is going to get stuck dealing with making coffee in the morning. I admit that if it does actually brew, its a good cup of coffee. But more than likely you'll get a cacaphony of a grinder with a mind of its own, the chute sticking, an incessent clicking of pieces trying to synch and polite beeps - all of this before a single drop of brewed coffee!
Review 3 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Robo
phoenix, az
March 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
If you like grounds
March 7, 2010
had this for 3 months and threw away more pots of coffee then i drank from this. Tried everything to adjust but it still seemed to put grounds in my coffee. for the price it was very disappointing.
Review 4 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
newlywedsneedingcoffee
Washington, DC
March 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Great Coffee for a short while
March 15, 2010
We received this coffee maker as a wedding gift and loved the convenience of a built in grinder and found that it made excellent great tasting coffee. But the grinder broke after 3 months. Cuisinart did replace the whole machine at no cost, and the second machine lasted 5 months before the grinder broke. They said they would replace it again, but we are so disappointed in the quality of the machine we declined and are looking for a new brand to try. Note: I cleaned the bean grinder chute every single time before refilling the beans. For the price of this machine it is unbelievable that the quality of the mechanical parts is so poor.
Review 5 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Darrob
southern Illinois
March 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
If you're an engineer
March 10, 2010
Iwasso thrilled with the idea of having a coffeepot that also included the grinder.....UNTIL we tried to use it. Yes, it includes an instructional video...but it has so many steps and checks, it is unbelievable! We are not illiterate people andhave never had this problem before and we did everything as instructed. We finally made onepot of coffee. I am returning it today.
Review 6 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
naven12
Brandon, MS
October 17, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
HORRENDOUS
October 17, 2009
Please don't waste your time with this coffeepot. First, the bean grinder uses way more beans than the previous model. Once you use the grinder once, there's no way to ensure you don't have multiple types of beans in your subsequent grinds. Second, cleaning? Impossible. Third, who wants a pool of coffee on the floor every time a pot is brewed. We've contacted Cuisinart twice about the problem, both times they only sent us a new basket which has done nothing for the problem. I'm done with this coffepot and Cuisinart. Our previous coffepot/grinder from them stopped after one year because the grinder stopped spinning. And, yes, I'm a faithful cleaner.
Review 7 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BlueElephant
San Francisco, CA
March 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
HATE IT!!!
March 6, 2011
I HATE this coffee maker. I was very excited about it when we first got it. I love the idea of having coffee made from freshly ground beans ready and waiting for me when I wake up.
Our first complaint was that the coffee isn't hot enough. We called Cuisinart, and the representative recommended that we heat the thermal carafe with boiling water before each use. That means that the timer is completely useless. No coffee brewing before my alarm clock goes off. Instead I have to get up and boil water in the kettle and pour it in the carafe before starting the coffee.
In the first few months of using this coffee maker, I had to clean out the grinder about every 10 days or so, which seems pretty reasonable. Now, after about a year and a half of use, the grinder requires cleaning with every use. So in addition to heating the carafe every morning, I have to to open it up and clean the grinder. And even right after cleaning the coffee is still very, very weak!
Review 8 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CTartist
Berlin, CT
June 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Big improvement
June 21, 2010
After several years with the previous model of the Grind and Brew, I bought this model which is a big improvement. The hopper holds plenty of beans for the week, and unlike the previous model, steam doesn't enter the grinding area to make a coffee powder mud coating in the grinder. Consequently it doesn't need to be pulled apart (with difficulty) and cleaned for every pot. That alone justified its price to me. The coffee is much hotter too.
The only time this model wouldn't be better is if two people in the same household made different types of coffee--say, caffeinated and decaffeinated or flavored and unflavored. The reason is that when you remove the hopper of beans, about a tablespoon of beans remains in the chute. You would have to turn the machine over to dump them out. But if you're one coffee family, this is the coffee maker to get.
Review 9 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
alliebrian
newbury ma
April 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
ice coffee anyone?
April 12, 2010
grinder funnel clogs,carafe does not pour and heater does not heat other than that it is ok
Review 10 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lushuslu
Colorado
March 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Bring back Capresso
March 31, 2010
Bought the Cuisinart after not finding Capresso in the store or online. We had one Capresso for nearly 10 years - we had the Cuisinart 10 days before taking it back. Hard to clean, filter overflowed at anything over 7 cups of coffee, just not worth it. I am scouring the internet for the Capresso machine.
Review 11 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jomalley17
Anchorage, Alaska
January 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
If you like your coffee hot, this isn't your pot
January 13, 2010
The only way I can get a cup of coffee that is truly hot is to fill the pot with hot water first, and fill my cup with hot water, and let the pot finish brewing totally, before I fill my cup. It's a decent cup, but kind of a lot of effort for the price tag and the promise of ease.
Review 12 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Echohim99
Chicago, IL
December 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Love it!
December 29, 2009
I replaced my original grind and brew with this new model and I love it! The burr grinder grinds the beans finely and evenly, producing excellent coffee. This coffeemaker trumps the original grind and brew. I also make coffee with a french press and sadly admitted to my husband that the new grind and brew (with burr grinder) made better coffee. Who would have thought that? The thermal carafe keeps the coffee warm for hours. If you are used to making coffee with the original grind and brew, then you'll be used to cleaning out the coffeemaker. Actually, the new one is easier to clean since you do not have to do it everyday, like you had to do with the original one.
Review 13 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Moey2720
Golden Valley, Minnesota
October 30, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Cuisinart Grind & Brew - the Best
October 30, 2009
My granddaughter bought the very FIRST Cuisinart Grind and Brew that Williams Sonoma in Edina, Minnesota sold and gave it to us as a 'thank you' for all we did for her during her high school years.
We love the coffeemaker. Granted there is some cleaning that needs be done with the coffee chute, but we use French Roast and that is very oily, so it is just something we do at night when we set up the coffeemaker for morning. The taste is great, it has worked like a charm and I go off to work with my travel mug filled with perfect French Roast every day.
If they ever upgrade this model, I would suggest using a Teflon coated chute and drop area and perhaps that would eliminate daily cleaning, but French Roast is pretty oily. Thank you.
Review 14 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sixty2nds
TX
June 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Awesome Coffee Making Machine
June 11, 2011
We replaced a 9 year old Thermal G&B. with this G&B. The burr grinder powders the bean vs. a sand like old style grind. The water is hotter! The flavor is better! We set ours for 5AM. If I finish a pot late morning i microwave a cup for 30 seconds vs 45 seconds with the old G&B. Bad reviews? I had trouble with the old
G&B. I did not read the directions first! Trial and error has it's place but...
Before the purchase I was told "if you use an oily bean clean it more often. It depends on how many cups you make/day, say 4 vs 12."
I watched the video, read the manual. I made a great cup of coffee. The biggest problem? Remembering to lock/unlock the bean bin. We brew 10 cups/day. Clean the chute every 4 days. Wash, not rinse, the filter daily. The grounds are very fine. They will build up. This degrades flavor. It might cause an overflow. Want great coffee? Buy this G&B.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Speed, Design
Review 15 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
iamzpward
Chester, NJ
May 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Good until the LEAKING starts
May 19, 2011
Cuisinart Coffee makers have a design flaw. I have had 3 different Cuisinart models since 2002. The problem is after 9-12 months of use, the unit starts to leak water from bottom. The last unit purchased was this model - DBG-900. After 6 months of use, the same thing occurred. Think the issue is that the rubber hose used to pump water through the filter is too close to the heating element, and it is prone to crack. When I called yesterday to get my 6 month old $200 unit replaced, they told me I would have to ship mine in to have it looked at before they would replace. Which would mean they would have my coffee maker in hostage until they decided what to do. I believe I will now have to break my almost 10 year relationship with this company and find a coffee maker that i don't have to replace every 9-12 months.
Cons: leaks
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ChezMJ
Boston
Posted June 14, 2011
How Odd That We've NEVER Had This Problem!
We have one of these in each of our two homes. We've bought three for other family members as gifts. None of us has experienced this problem. When I gave the Grind & Brew as a gift, I cautioned them to clean the chute after each bin of coffee beans. This is, in my mind, the most important tip to enjoying this machine. I just can't figure out what is causing your issues as we've all been very happy with ours for years.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TRM31
Boston, MA
May 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Would be nice if not for design flaws
May 5, 2011
The idea sounds great: it grinds and brews. Unfortunately it was not designed with the care one would expect from the brand Cuisinart. First of all, ground coffee has a lot of trouble getting from the grinder to the brewer. It constantly gets stuck in the chute. Expect to clean it thoroughly for every use, or it will just get stuck and not work. Second, it leaks. Either the throughput is too fast for the size of the hole in the carafe, it is extremely finicky about being lined up perfectly, or something else is going on, because it keeps running over the side of the carafe. Coffeemaking involves a cloth wrapped around the front of the machine and intense watchfulness in case it starts. After about two years, it's time for a new coffee maker. This coffee maker IS too good to be true. It's just poorly made.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, leaky
Review 17 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DocRoc
Kansas City, MO
January 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
It works, if . . .
January 8, 2011
After our Melita grind and brew started leaking every other pot we purchased the Cuisanart because Melita quit making theirs. In comparing the two, this one is more mainenance in that it must be cleaned thoroughly and often or the water will not go through the coffee basket. The Cuisanart limits what it grinds and it doesn't grind enough for our taste. I get around this by grinding 2 cups and then shutting off the grinder. I then set it for 12 cups and let it grind and brew. This gives us 14 cups worth of beans ground for brewing in 12 cups of water which is just about the right strength for our liking.
The program timer works great and our coffee is ready every morning when we come down to the kitchen. It brews hot and stays hot in the double walled stainless steel caraf, but it does tend to dribble a little on pouring.
All in all a good machine that does what we want it to do, though the Melita did the same thing for less cost and maintenance.
Review 18 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Billl
San Diego Ca.
October 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Don't Buy It
October 18, 2010
This product is a piece of junk. Something has happened to Cuisinart, At least WS gave me my money back. Don't buy this item
Review 19 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
AnnKerry
Chicago, IL
September 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Filter Top Allignment Problems
September 20, 2010
We ejnoy the fresh ground beans daily for our coffee but we have problems with the brewing process. After grinding the beans the top of the filter top must not stay alligned and it will not brew. There is contant clicking like it is trying allign itself. It is VERY annoying! We returned our first one for the same issue and received a replacement. It is a time consuming task in the morning while getting ready for work. Thinking of returning it for good!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CloudyinOKC
Oklahoma City.
Posted January 16, 2011
LOVE IT!!!
I have had my maker for 2 years now and i still LOVE it. The trick to it is running a pipecleaner down the grinder every couple of bean changes to keep everything flowing properly. The coffe has a smoothe non acidic flavor and very few bitter tones. Its easy to use and will keep your carafe of coffee hot for about 11 hours.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DesertDogs
Tucson. AZ
August 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great Coffee - Many Design Flaws
August 1, 2010
Fabulous coffee & the "all-in-one" feature is very convenient, but design flaws make this product mediocre at best.
Design changes that would make this product great:
1) Re-design of thermal carafe. Opening is very narrow, therefore difficult to clean. Also, carafe lid design is terrible - awkward to open & coffee dribbles out into cups at such a slow rate, it's a form of culinary torture.
2) Grinder Chute poorly designed. After wrestling with frequent chute cloggings (which included toothpicks,a thin wire brush and unnatural body positions) we now pop open the basket enclosure after every brewing. Otherwise, the moisture causes the grounds to clog & jam the chute, which requires frequent clearing (at least once a week) - a major pain. By popping it open after each brewing and reducing moisture build-up, cleaning is now reduced to every other month.
3) Re-design of water reservoir. It's almost impossible to fill the reservoir without spilling water on the counter.
page1 2 3 4 5 6 next