This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe

The fully programmable Grind & Brew is equipped with a built-in burr grinder to grind coffee beans at your preset time, delivering the freshest-tasting coffee directly into a thermal carafe, where it stays hot until serving.Fully automatic with 24-hour advance programming.Optional one- to four-cup brewing cycle.Built-in burr grinder grinds coffee beans just before brewing for maximum freshness.Grind control feature lets you program the amount of coffee to grind, from 2 to 12 cups; grind-off feature allows you to use preground beans.Double-wall insulated thermal carafe holds up to 12 cups (60 oz.) and keeps coffee warm.Showerhead evenly distributes water over grounds, reducing temperature loss.Charcoal water filter removes impurities and ensures fresh-tasting coffee.Gold-tone permanent filter eliminates the need for paper filters.Brew-pause allows you to enjoy a cup of coffee before brewing has finished.Three coffee-strength settings.Audible alert signals brewing is complete.Automatic shutoff.Stainless-steel and black exterior.
Average Customer Rating:
2.8 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(120 Reviews) 120
52 of 120(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
Review 1 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sixty2nds
TX
June 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Awesome Coffee Making Machine
June 11, 2011
We replaced a 9 year old Thermal G&B. with this G&B. The burr grinder powders the bean vs. a sand like old style grind. The water is hotter! The flavor is better! We set ours for 5AM. If I finish a pot late morning i microwave a cup for 30 seconds vs 45 seconds with the old G&B. Bad reviews? I had trouble with the old
G&B. I did not read the directions first! Trial and error has it's place but...
Before the purchase I was told "if you use an oily bean clean it more often. It depends on how many cups you make/day, say 4 vs 12."
I watched the video, read the manual. I made a great cup of coffee. The biggest problem? Remembering to lock/unlock the bean bin. We brew 10 cups/day. Clean the chute every 4 days. Wash, not rinse, the filter daily. The grounds are very fine. They will build up. This degrades flavor. It might cause an overflow. Want great coffee? Buy this G&B.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Speed, Design
Review 2 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Broken
Orlando, Fl
May 30, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
My Favorite Coffee Maker
May 30, 2011
We loved this coffee maker i have defended this coffee maker for two years my husband was ready to take it back. The filters are not always in stock at the store and we had to order the filters on line from someone else. The base was carcked from the beginning and it stopped keeping the coffee hot. Now we are trying to decide which type of coffee maker to purchase next.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Cons: Quality, Loud
Review 3 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
iamzpward
Chester, NJ
May 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Good until the LEAKING starts
May 19, 2011
Cuisinart Coffee makers have a design flaw. I have had 3 different Cuisinart models since 2002. The problem is after 9-12 months of use, the unit starts to leak water from bottom. The last unit purchased was this model - DBG-900. After 6 months of use, the same thing occurred. Think the issue is that the rubber hose used to pump water through the filter is too close to the heating element, and it is prone to crack. When I called yesterday to get my 6 month old $200 unit replaced, they told me I would have to ship mine in to have it looked at before they would replace. Which would mean they would have my coffee maker in hostage until they decided what to do. I believe I will now have to break my almost 10 year relationship with this company and find a coffee maker that i don't have to replace every 9-12 months.
Cons: leaks
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ChezMJ
Boston
Posted June 14, 2011
How Odd That We've NEVER Had This Problem!
We have one of these in each of our two homes. We've bought three for other family members as gifts. None of us has experienced this problem. When I gave the Grind & Brew as a gift, I cautioned them to clean the chute after each bin of coffee beans. This is, in my mind, the most important tip to enjoying this machine. I just can't figure out what is causing your issues as we've all been very happy with ours for years.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TRM31
Boston, MA
May 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Would be nice if not for design flaws
May 5, 2011
The idea sounds great: it grinds and brews. Unfortunately it was not designed with the care one would expect from the brand Cuisinart. First of all, ground coffee has a lot of trouble getting from the grinder to the brewer. It constantly gets stuck in the chute. Expect to clean it thoroughly for every use, or it will just get stuck and not work. Second, it leaks. Either the throughput is too fast for the size of the hole in the carafe, it is extremely finicky about being lined up perfectly, or something else is going on, because it keeps running over the side of the carafe. Coffeemaking involves a cloth wrapped around the front of the machine and intense watchfulness in case it starts. After about two years, it's time for a new coffee maker. This coffee maker IS too good to be true. It's just poorly made.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, leaky
Review 5 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Epicurean
West Coast of Florida
April 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Generally Good - with a couple of quirks
April 26, 2011
1. For the first few months, we would use the carafe to fill it. This should be avoided.
From reading the other reviews, this is the number one complaint and I would agree if we were also still filling it this way. To empty the carafe, you must turn it completely upside down, and this means water will end up in the grinder. So don't use the carafe, use something else.
2. Yes we agree it is not as hot as we'd like. We don't use the timer any more, for this reason, and just fill the carafe with hot water while filling the coffee maker with cold water. What they need is a heater in the carafe.
3. The carafe leaks coffee in between the walls. I have not been able to figure out how to take it apart to get the coffee out. I've emailed Cuisinart twice but have not gotten a response.
Otherwise, what it does best which I consider the most important is to make very delicious and consistent coffee.
THEREFORE WE LOVE IT!!!!
Pros: consistent coffee
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 6 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
supercook234
New Jersey
March 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Good Value
March 14, 2011
Disregard to what people say! It does exactly what it is soposed to do. Good Value, nice machine. Makes good coffie.
Review 7 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BlueElephant
San Francisco, CA
March 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
HATE IT!!!
March 6, 2011
I HATE this coffee maker. I was very excited about it when we first got it. I love the idea of having coffee made from freshly ground beans ready and waiting for me when I wake up.
Our first complaint was that the coffee isn't hot enough. We called Cuisinart, and the representative recommended that we heat the thermal carafe with boiling water before each use. That means that the timer is completely useless. No coffee brewing before my alarm clock goes off. Instead I have to get up and boil water in the kettle and pour it in the carafe before starting the coffee.
In the first few months of using this coffee maker, I had to clean out the grinder about every 10 days or so, which seems pretty reasonable. Now, after about a year and a half of use, the grinder requires cleaning with every use. So in addition to heating the carafe every morning, I have to to open it up and clean the grinder. And even right after cleaning the coffee is still very, very weak!
Review 8 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mlp5
Orlando, FL
March 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Reliable when Maintained
March 1, 2011
I've had this coffee maker for 2 years now and still enjoy it. Yes, the coffee bean dust needs to be cleaned out, just make it part of your normal routine.
Review 9 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Srock
New jersey
February 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Stay away from this product
February 28, 2011
The first two I bought were broken in the box. The third one I used for a month before I returned it. The water filter holder broke on the first use. The numbers indicating the water level came off after two cleanings so I had no idea how much water was in the machine. The thermal carafe is not heated from below so the coffee is almost instantly cold as the slightly hot coffee drips into a cold carafe. Grinder worked fine. Glass carafe with heated bottom would have been a better choice.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Moey2720
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Posted March 4, 2011
Cuisinart Grind and Brew
I do not agree with this review at all. We got one of the very first Grind and Brew's here in Minneapolis from Williams Sonoma and we have never had a problem with our unit and it is quite a few years old now. the coffee stays warm for a long time in the insulated carafe. the only thing we have to remember to do is to clean out the chute good because we use French Roast coffee and it is quite oily.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Javamonkey
Dacula, GAl
February 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Throwaway product!
February 26, 2011
On my second one in three years and it crapped out too! Grinder stops working. I'm not buying a third Cuisinart. Of course, no way to get it fixed. May be that the Starbucks beans are extra oily and this violates the "don't get the grinder wet" instructions. In any case, only buy if you don't mind replacing every year or so.
Review 11 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AuntSas
Stansbury, UT
February 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Fresh Ground Coffee
February 19, 2011
I have owned this model coffee pot for about two and one half years and I really like it. The separate container for beans keeps them dry and holds a good amount. The strength control can be set to mild, medium or strong (which may address one of the negative review issues). I love strong coffee and use the medium setting. My pot did stop working once. The chute from the grinder to the basket MUST BE CLEANED periodically or the grounds dust will pack tightly and will not allow the coffee grinds to enter the filter basket. It is just a matter of maintenance. My only problem with the grinder is that it grinds more beans instead of grinding them finer for a stronger brew. That is the reason for the 4 star review. This is a wonderful coffee maker and works very well when maintained.
Review 12 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
caffeinated
January 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Great when it works.....
January 28, 2011
I loved this coffee maker for a while and thought I found a good one contrary to the reviews.....until I woke up this week to a pot of hot water and a grinder that doesn't work. Definitely not worth the money.
Review 13 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
IronChefWannabe
Jacksonville, FL
January 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Extremely Disappointed
January 18, 2011
It brewed exactly four pots of coffee flawlessly before it went on strike. If the grinder works, it won't allow the grounds down to the basket. But half the time the grinder doesn't work. If only I had listened to the other reviews on the site that told of all the problems. Tonight I'll get to find out if the local store will take back a product that I ordered online. Wish me luck.
Review 14 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
coffeelover1384
Mississauga Canada
January 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Too Tall does not fit
January 9, 2011
This machine is 17 1/2 inches tall and does not fit under my upper cabinets. The standard height is 17 Inches from counter top to upper cabinet. so you need a totally clear area in your kitchen to use this machine.
Review 15 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DocRoc
Kansas City, MO
January 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
It works, if . . .
January 8, 2011
After our Melita grind and brew started leaking every other pot we purchased the Cuisanart because Melita quit making theirs. In comparing the two, this one is more mainenance in that it must be cleaned thoroughly and often or the water will not go through the coffee basket. The Cuisanart limits what it grinds and it doesn't grind enough for our taste. I get around this by grinding 2 cups and then shutting off the grinder. I then set it for 12 cups and let it grind and brew. This gives us 14 cups worth of beans ground for brewing in 12 cups of water which is just about the right strength for our liking.
The program timer works great and our coffee is ready every morning when we come down to the kitchen. It brews hot and stays hot in the double walled stainless steel caraf, but it does tend to dribble a little on pouring.
All in all a good machine that does what we want it to do, though the Melita did the same thing for less cost and maintenance.
Review 16 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AKCNJ
New Jersey
December 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Completely a piece of junk
December 26, 2010
The machine worked for 2 months (used once a day), then it failed to empty the water tank completely, so we ended up with 4 cups of coffee instead of 6 and water sitting in the tank until the next day. Cuisinart sent us a new unit, but it had worse problems than the one it replaced. The coffee bin failed to revolve to the right position to allow the hot water to get in. All it did was making loud clicking and beeping sounds. Called Cuisinart, they told us to unplug the unit to reset the program. 2 months later, that trick failed as well. We are calling Cuisinart after the holidays and see what they will do about it. Do Not Buy this product unless you want problems.
Review 17 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
C33704
Richmond VA
December 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Hot Fresh Coffee for Hours !
December 4, 2010
the caraffe on this maker allows one to make coffee early in the morning and still be hot by noon. I love everything about this appliance including the Cusinart Brand. Nothing like fresh ground coffee; brewed to perfection
Review 18 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
justcookit
mission viejo, ca
November 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Stay Away!
November 16, 2010
Great idea but lousy execution. From the awkward angle to pour water from the carafe into the reservoir to the tempermental and unpredictable grind and brew feature, this machine isn't worth the money or hassle. Its gotten to the point where its a waiting game between my wife and I to see who is going to get stuck dealing with making coffee in the morning. I admit that if it does actually brew, its a good cup of coffee. But more than likely you'll get a cacaphony of a grinder with a mind of its own, the chute sticking, an incessent clicking of pieces trying to synch and polite beeps - all of this before a single drop of brewed coffee!
Review 19 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BarbaraF
NJ
November 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Don't believe all the negatives
November 13, 2010
We have had our coffee maker for almost a year. We love the thermos insulation, the coffee is plenty hot, just not Starbucks hot. It tastes great. My only complaint is how far you have to tilt the thermos to get the last couple cups out.
But it's well worth it. We're going to buy a second one for our second home, too!
Review 20 for Cuisinart Grind & Brew Coffee Maker, with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
windstar
chicago, il
October 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Piece of Junk
October 30, 2010
Not sure where to start. Grinder worked for 3 weeks then became so gummed up that it was inoperable. Called Cuisanart Cust. Service and they said.. "yea, we know that is a problem." Then at least once a week the mechanism on the top of the grinder cup does not rotate and we have 10 cups of water all over the kitchen. I wouldn't recommend if this coffee maker was $15.95. Piece of junk... stay away from
page1 2 3 4 5 6 next