Cuisinart Elite Griddler

Your secret weapon for busy weeknights, weekend lunches and impromptu gatherings, this next generation appliance from Cuisinart combines multiple cooking options in one high-performance package. A large grilling surface lets you cook efficiently for a crowd. Versatile machine has interchangeable nonstick cooking plates which allow grilling, griddling and pressing. Reversible, removable nonstick grill/griddle plates simplify cleaning and storage. Dual zone temperature control selector knob lets you heat the top plate, bottom plate or both, from warm to 450deg.F. Adjustable hinge has six preset widths to accommodate foods of varying thickness. 240" sq. grilling surface; 10" x 12" plate size. Sear function heats to 500deg.F for two minutes at a time. Grease drains into the integrated drip tray for healthier cooking and easier clean-up. Timer function plus auto shut-off after two hours. Brushed stainless steel housing with cast-aluminum cooking plates.. Comes with cleaning tool and instruction manual/recipe book. 15 3/4" x 14 3/4" x 8 1/2" high; 16 lb. 1800W. This product is intended for use in the United States and Canada and is built to United States electrical standards. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.353 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
15 of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cuisinart Elite Griddler
Review 1 for Cuisinart Elite Griddler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hirschwrites
,Chesterfield
,MO
June 29, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best In This Class
June 29, 2014
I had a Breville panini press for quite a long time. This beats the heck out of it. With its reversible plates and how they're designed, the controls, the ability to put plates in the dishwasher. Wow. It's a 100% winner.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 2 for Cuisinart Elite Griddler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LovelyBella
,Corona
,CA
June 29, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best purchase ever!
June 29, 2014
Love this - fast, convenient & easy to use! Best of all - food turned out perfectly - pancakes, eggs, bacon, rib eye steaks...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 3 for Cuisinart Elite Griddler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChilliWilly
,Rowlett (Dallas Metro)
,TX
April 21, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Grill Makes Meals Fast and Easy
April 21, 2014
Had this grill now about 3 months and I use it about 3 to 4 times a week. I use both the grill and griddle sides of plates. Initially I was leaning towards the Breville grill as I have 3 Breville products, toaster, tea kettle and deep fryer which I like and work well. But this grill had plates with both grill surface and griddle surface while Breville grill required buying extra plates and storing them. Also this grill had separate upper and lower heating controls. My grill has had no problems, cooks well and plates clean up fast either by hand or in the dishwasher. You can put the drip tray in the wrong way if your not careful. Lighted LCD display is helpful to see status of grill preheating. Sear feature is great with meat dishes. Mine heats quickly and evenly. Timer helps me repeat cook predictably. Love support leg that holds top plate lightly on or just above delicate dishes or sticky or cheesy dishes. Great product. Wish there was waffle plates for it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly, nonstick grill plates
Review 4 for Cuisinart Elite Griddler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JudyMH
,Worland
,WY
March 2, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Grill
March 2, 2014
I have had this grill about 3 weeks. I have used it about a dozen times to grill fish, burgers, sausage and chicken. Wow! What a wonderful product! The grill cooks evenly and the food is moist with no hint of drying out. It drains well and cleanup is a breeze. The instructions indicate that it can take up to 20 minutes to heat up. I have used it up to 350 and it has taken less than 5 minutes to reach full temp.
I have used other grills that did the job, but not near as well. This grill is definitely a keeper and worth every penny I paid!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile
Review 5 for Cuisinart Elite Griddler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cruisedoc
,colorado springs
,co
December 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it!!!!
December 19, 2013
Saw it on TV and immediately went to W-S to purchase one. We have not stopped using it since we bought it. My wife is crazy over it, the kids say food tastes better. It is so much better than any competator's models. We have several other types of griddlers and this is simply the best by far.
Simply stated, we love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 6 for Cuisinart Elite Griddler
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ConnieV
,Hickory Hills
,IL
November 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Housewarming Gift
November 7, 2013
I bought one of these griddlers after seeing a video from Williams-Sonoma. I thought it would be very useful as my husband will be retiring soon and, hopefully, I will not be far behind him. We use it frequently so when my brother was moving into a new home out of state, I bought one for him and his wife as a housewarming gift. They loved it! The introductory videos you send in email really are a big help in seeing the item and also how it works. This was very important in my decision to buy the first one and then a second one as a gift.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Quiet, big grilling area, can use grate and flat plate at the same time
Cons: Speed, Weight, takes a long time to heat up.
Review 7 for Cuisinart Elite Griddler
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sterlinghawk
,Arlington
,Wa
October 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Uneven Heating and Plates started to peel
October 14, 2013
Been using it for the last couple of weeks. So far I have tried pancakes and steaks (last night). The pancakes the first time I used it turned out great. When I used it yesterday, I noticed uneven heating going on. First it would be the upper grill, then the lower grill. You can really see it on the pancakes themselves, pieces of the pancake get brown when other parts of the pancake does not. The uneven heating goes between the upper grill and lower grill, it was not consistent. Tried the steak last night. It was so so. The times that I have used it, I have been meticulously cleaning it and using the right tools. Imagine my surprise this morning, when looking at the grill, it has already started to peel. I will be taking this back and I do appreciate the 90 days that W&S allows one to try out the product. I purchase a lot of stuff from W&S and this is actually the first product that I have ever taken back but for the price of this appliance. It needs to work right
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store, uneven heating
Review 8 for Cuisinart Elite Griddler
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gene02
,Davis
,Ca
October 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good until Upper element stopped working
October 13, 2013
This would be 5 stars except for the following. I have used this for 9 months mostly for panini sandwiches and almost everyday and it did very well. Then the upper element stopped working. It would not regulate and burned everything even though the lower element worked appropriately. I called cuisinart and was told to return it, which I have done, and it would be replaced. That was two weeks ago. I am told they are out of stock and it will be a while.not sure what it means, except no panini sandwiches.
Review 9 for Cuisinart Elite Griddler
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Oaky
,Newnan
,ga
September 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Multifunctional Piece
September 24, 2013
Thus far have enjoyed this piece, it is very versatile, just a little clunky.
Pros: Quality, Versatile
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 10 for Cuisinart Elite Griddler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SammiJ
,Keaau
,HI
September 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Elite Griddler
September 23, 2013
We have found this to be the best electric griddle on the market. When pancake batter is placed directly over the heating coils, there isn't a problem with uneven browning. Searing is excellent. Steaks have turned out quite nice and juicy. Cleanup was a whiz!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly, light weight
Review 11 for Cuisinart Elite Griddler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
greyghosttag
,Chicago
,IL
January 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product and cooks well
January 29, 2013
We have had for a long time the original Cuisinart Griddler. It was a good product and worked well. This new Elite Griddler is just even better. Easy to use. Cooks evenly. Easy to clean. Durable and high quality build. Overall, a great product. We espeically like the new cooking surface which are reversible.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile
Review 12 for Cuisinart Elite Griddler
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
brn2Fish
,Oklahoma City
,OK
December 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+17points
19of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Doesn't heat evenly
December 26, 2012
The unit heats unevenly causing hot spots that others have mentioned. You will not be able to get an even brown, or sear, on your foods. The design is nice--so it's a good looking unit, but for the money I would expect a less obvious disproportionate heating function.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Quality, uneven heating
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Cuisinart Elite Griddler
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CEB72
,Durham
,NC
July 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Timesaver!
July 1, 2012
This is a good grill/griddle. It made great chicken breasts and paninis. My only concern is the flickering display when the unit is off and plugged in. I will be calling Cuisinart tomorrow.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Cons: display flickers when plugged in
Review 14 for Cuisinart Elite Griddler
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mvlsi
,NH
Southern NH
June 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+47points
49of 51found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mixed bag over original Griddler
June 26, 2012
Here are the Pros and Cons of the Elite Griddler over the original Griddler:
Pros:
Adjustable hinge for Panini's
Sear/High heat setting (tortillas)
Independent plate temperature controls (steak & eggs)
Cons:
Elements scorch food (see photo)
Wide temperature swing (> 100 F) (common to both versions)
The most surprising discovery was that the temperature setting is a maximum value and that the actual plate temperature varies by more than 100 deg F (measured with IR thermometer). At a setting of 350 F the temperature swings between 240 F and 355 F. I would have thought the range would be much narrower. When it is on SEAR the temp can be as low as 390 F. This temperature variation is common to both versions of the Griddler.
I believe the heat is more diffuse in the orginal Griddler since the heating element is not inside the plate so the plate heats up more uniformly. I never got heating element lines scorched into my food using the original Griddler as I do with the Elite version.
Pros: adjustable hinge, one set of plates
Cons: wide temp swing, food scorching
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
mvlsi
Southern NH
Posted July 24, 2012
See Breville Smart Grill review
I just exchanged this Elite Griddler for the Breville Smart Grill. I just measured the plate temperatures on the Breville and they hold their temperature within about 20 F. I would change my recommendation to the Breville from the Cuisinart. A 110 F temperature variation on the plates is inexcusable. Both Cuisinart Elite and original Griddler exhibit this behavior so I expect it is designed that way.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
mvlsi
Southern NH
Posted July 18, 2012
follow up
What happens is the top heats up first and then cools down by as much as 100 F by the time the bottom plate reaches temp (see the plot). I now set the temp on the top plate at least 25 to 50 degrees higher then the bottom plate. It is also advisable to move food around on the plates to avoid scorching and uneven cooking times.
I also found the bottom plate holds heat longer so I can only make tortillas or flat breads on it and I use the SEAR setting. It does have to be reset ever 2 minutes though.
It does what it says but knowing how it works helps make it easier to adapt.
I do think the manufacturer should tighten the temperature range though. 100 F is way to wide of temperature swing. Could you imagine an oven doing that? But both the original and the Elite Griddler do the same thing so it is in the design.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
PhoenixCook
Phoenix AZ
Posted July 1, 2012
Same scorching issue
Just like MVLSI above we also experienced scorching and un-even heating while cooking pan cakes.
The other thing that happened was the top plate (in our opinion) never got to 350. When we flipped the pan cakes on the top plate we saw the where the pan cakes where directly over the heating element it was brown but other part of the pan cake was white (not browned).
The next time we do pan cakes we are going to try setting the top plate at a higher temp. setting ~ 375 and the lower plate at 350 and see if this evens out the cook time between the upper/lower plates.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 15 for Cuisinart Elite Griddler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GeorgeneN
,Sandy Springs
,Ga
June 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
9of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding!
June 23, 2012
We're not ones to have counter appliances, but this one caught my eye as we now live in an apartment and BBQ sharing is not always clean or convenient. This appliance is so easy to use, cooks beautifully and cleans so easy.that it doesn't require any soaking. It's been perfect for two people and would be great for a family. We've cooked a variety of steaks on one side, grilled onions/mushrooms on the other side, hamburgers, and even breakfast items, sandwiches, etc. The possibilities are endless. The griddler is so versatile - we absolutely love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 16 for Cuisinart Elite Griddler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JudyandChuck
,Fort Lauderdale
,FL
June 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
We're in love with this grill!
June 17, 2012
We purchased the new Cuisinart Elite as an early Father's Day gift, and we've used it every day for the past two weeks. We've cooked seafood, seafood patties, burgers, pork chops, vegetables including asparagus, etc. Everything has tasted terrific and, even better, the grill is easy to use and easy to disassemble to clean. We simply remove the grill plates, soak them in sudsy water for 10 minutes, and then use a mesh scrubber to remove what's left. Oh, and don't forget to wash the drip tray. We now leave the "griddler" on our island so it's handy. Couldn't be happier, and it beats peanut butter sandwiches!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 17 for Cuisinart Elite Griddler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amathieu2012
,Carrollton
,Tx
May 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+13points
16of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite griddler
May 13, 2012
Cooked 4 New York strip steaks. They came out absolutely great!! Sautéed onions with the elite griddler, also.
This griddler cleans up fast and easy! Made a wonderful Mothers day gift. My husband loves it too! Cannot wait to try out the other recipes enclosed with the griddler. I am so glad that I bought this Elite Griddler!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly, cleaned up fast