Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup

Completely redesigned with an array of exciting new features and a larger capacity, this kitchen workhorse represents the next generation of Cuisinart food processors. High-capacity, heavy-duty processor with an ultrapowerful motor. Three interchangeable bowls (16-cup, 13-cup and 4 1/2-cup cap.). Easy-to-clean electronic touch-pad controls feature a pulse function. Separate setting dedicated to kneading bread dough. SealTight(TM) system creates a spillproof seal between the bowl and lid, allowing you to fill to maximum capacity without leakage. BladeLock feature locks each blade securely in place while you're pouring ingredients from the bowl. Blades and discs are made of durable, easy-care stainless steel. Redesigned adjustable slicing disc lets you customize size and thickness (up to 6mm) when you're chopping and slicing. Reversible shredding disc allows you to quickly grate thick or thin shreds of ingredients. Dough blade makes fast work of kneading. Chopping blade processes foods or thoroughly mixes ingredients. Extra-large feed tube eliminates need to precut most ingredients. Retractable power cord. Rugged die-cast-metal housing ensures stability and years of use. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.386 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
40 of 70(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup
Review 1 for Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
taddoo
,Plano
,TX
April 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DESIGN FLAWS, GRATES TERRIBLY, DO NOT BUY<
April 18, 2014
There is too much space between the sides of the grating blades and bowl, and large chunks of food go into the shredded mix. Also, the shredding disks have wholes where chunks of food can get through. I have grated carrots, potatoes, chocolate, etc. and have to fish out large pieces by hand!
I called Cuisinart and they were aware of this, they just said take it back to WS for new blades with an exchange, but that is only part of the problem. I suspect they did not change the blade sizes going from the 14 cup to 16 cup FP that WS sells, and the bowl has a larger diameter and there is a big space between the blades and the sides of the bowl.
Also, the lid does not always seal well and I have had it pop up during use, and the lid is very difficult to clean. I have had 3 other Cuisinart food processors, and this is the worst, do not buy it!
WS was great and I traded the defectively designed Cuisinart in on an OUTSTANDING Breville food processor that works much better!
Pros: Power
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, shreds poorly, gasket collects food, large chunks of unshredded food in basket
Review 2 for Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
UKMeatPies
,Wilmette
,IL
April 16, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Product
April 16, 2014
I purchased this product so I may utilize in my new pie shop. I had purchased a Cuisinart years ago but never figured how to use so I gave it to my sister. Now that I need one for light commercial work the WS associate recommended this product. I made bread with this product. Wow is all I can say. Excellent. The dough was like silk. The bread came out amazing. The only thing was the dough hook was a nightmare to clean as the dough got underneath the stick and the dough hook. I recommend this product. My parsley diced was amazing. Love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Size, Speed, Quiet, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 3 for Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Leevje
,Los Angeles
,CA
March 4, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent product!
March 4, 2014
I was using the little 4 cup food processor that attaches to the Cuisinart Stand Mixer for a couple of years and decided I needed a larger capacity processor. I'm happy I picked this one. It's easy to operate and the three sizes of bowls make it super convenient! I cook in the kitchen at our church and we have 2 Cuisinart food processors there, a 9 cup and a 14 cup. However, they are difficult to operate because the lids are hard to put on properly. The lid of his 16 cup is a lot easer to put on properly so I frequently bring my personal 16 cup Cuisinart processor to the church kitchen. There isn't a better food processor out there! If there are any drawbacks to this processor, it's that you have to use the tool provided to clean the seal inside the lid. If they made the seal removable it would be perfect!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 4 for Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
droodles
February 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loved it...until today! Should have lasted longer!
February 18, 2014
I absolutely loved this processor and used it probably 5-6x per week. Suddenly today, after I turned it on the control panel was unresponsive. Only way to turn it off was to unplug it. Have a few months left under warranty, but the cost to package it up,(no longer have box and packing material and the base is heavy!) insure it and ship it back seems silly to me after reading the repair experience of other reviewer. The Kitchenaid I had before this was still working great after 15 years, I only replaced it with this to get the bigger capacity. I fouled up! I'm going back to that brand!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Fragile, should have lasted more than 2.5 yrs!
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
skerrattf
Boynton Beach, Florida
Posted July 2, 2014
This happened to me too. I exchanged it.
I had a similar problem with the 1st 16 cup food processor I purchased. I just returned it to Williams-Sonoma and they exchanged immediately. The new one works beautifully. I purchase nearly all of my small appliances from Williams-Sonoma for that very reason. They stand behind their products 100%.
0points
Customer avatar
susanandmark
Posted June 29, 2014
Same thing happened to me. Reset mentioned above didn't work. I tried it about 100 times.
0points
Customer avatar
PurpleFusion66
az
Posted May 30, 2014
unresponsive control panel
This suggestion may be late, but I had mine for 5 years and this happened also to me. I have solved this by reset: Hold one finger on the "ON" button and one finger on the "OFF" button at the same time, using the other hand, unplug the cord from wall.Take all fingers off the control panel, 1-2 second wait, then plug the cord back to wall socket. Test by pressing "ON" button. This should reset.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 5 for Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MedicCook
,Pinole
,CA
December 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+14points
16of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Failed after first usage, horrid service
December 12, 2013
Got this Food processor in 2011 with high expectations, excellent on it's first use, then sat for awhile. On next use the blades activated the moment we plugged in machine and no response to control board, only stopping when unplugged. Have read since this is a common problem with this model. Cuisinart refused to address issue until machine was sent back to them in Arizona, and another 6 weeks to send replacement. The "new" machine was dirty like it had been sitting on a workbench and a 2009 model, had same issue with panel. Cuisinart corporate refused to guarantee new machine or expedite process to less than six weeks. No action until they received broken machine. Customer service is terrible and are not proactive in toward their customers. Been a battle since June, we asked to please expedite process to have before Xmas for baking, they refused. Customer service is worse than product's performance, not buying from them again….
Cons: poor customer service
Review 6 for Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KenSch
,Katy
,TX
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Won't turn off, used less than a dozen times
November 30, 2013
Won't turn off. My wife bought this for me several years ago. Since it is difficult to clean, I only use it when I have a lot of heavy work to do so it has probably used it less than a dozen times. Now the on/off switch has failed.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Fragile
Review 7 for Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChrisBcooks
,Andover
,MA
November 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I'm a believer!
November 21, 2013
This is my first food processor. I've never thought I would use one, but a friend urged me to look into them. I looked for a less expensive one but again, was urged to get this one, due to capacity and capabilities. I love it and use it frequently. As I look at other models and brands, and see their limitations, especially relative to the very nice design considerations with this model, I am glad I got this one!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 8 for Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CartC100
,Orange County
,CA
November 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Won't turn off
November 20, 2013
While I bought this machine in 2009, I've only used it about 15 times. It still looks new and I've been pleased with its performance the few times I've used it until today when I used it and it won't turn off. The buttons on the front are unresponsive and I either had to disengage the lid to turn it off or unplug it. Such a shame for a basically unused machine that is so expensive to be reduced to a large paperweight. It looks like a lot of people have had the same problem.
Cons: broken buttons
Review 9 for Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nonnalmp
November 18, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bought for Son
November 18, 2013
I bought this as a gift for my son. It arrived in a timely manner and he and his wife were very impressed. Thanks
Pros: Durable, Power, Size, Speed
Review 10 for Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pegthechef
,Doyletown
,PA
November 5, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too many flaws to mention
November 5, 2013
If not for the quantity of pestos and sauces I can make in this (and my monetary investment) I would toss it in the trash. The gasket-ed non-leak lid leaks, and food dribbles down the back, the lid has tiny springs under the gasket that are a physical hazard when the gasket falls off when removing the lid (which happens all the time) and the springs disappear into my pesto, and the blade does not produce as fine a puree as my 30 year old Cuisinart DLC series that I used up until I bought this disaster. The grating and slicing features are ridiculous, large chunks of veggies end up in the mix, and the lid pops off while the machine is running when grating hard cheeses like Parmesan. In all. I regret this purchase every time I use it which is many times a week.
Pros: quantity of product
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, Difficult to Store, Assembly, High-Maintenance, flimsy gasket in lid, uneven results, does not process finely, lid leaks
Review 11 for Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ESCism
,Roanoke
,VA
October 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Doesn't provide basic function
October 31, 2013
When you put things in to grate, a high % will fall thru the nickel sized holes in the discs when they become smaller. I've complained to the company about this, they told me to take the product apart, pick the parts out with my fingers and re-process. Now, imagine my delight? If the small pieces fell thru the first time, what do you think the probabilities are that they fall thru AGAIN? I've written EMail to the higher ups in the company, even gotten Christopher Elliot to attempt to elicit a response. Nothing. I get about 50% fall thru (yes, using the machine properly) if I toss in baby carrots. Also when you wash the lid, it is almost impossible to get small pieces out of that area. When you get water in there, it stays in and has to air dry. I've never been happy that I could get the machine clean.
Pros: Power
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Weight, High-Maintenance, Size, doesn't grate well
Review 12 for Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cybergigi
,Corpus Christi
,Tx
South Texas
October 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better processors available at WS
October 28, 2013
This Cuisinart is a big bust. I have had mine for less than 2 years in a second home so it has had less than high demand use. WS replaced this unit about a year ago due to not being able to turn it off. It was a failure of the lid to bowl locking mechanism. Now less than a year later I am beginning to have the same problem. I am hoping WS customer service will be willing to be as accommodating again but judging from other reviews, maybe not.
In addition, the lid traps food in the outer rim and is impossible to clean properly.
It also leaves chunks of unprocessed food between the disc and lid. When using the smaller bowls food gets in the larger bowl and requires more cleanup. Would consider another brand if doing this over again. WS is great. Cuisinart, not so much.
Pros: Power
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Review 13 for Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
osbod
,TN
August 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
what a great processor!
August 16, 2013
I like:
1. bowl sizes (great to process 3 lbs of carrots or one onion)
2. blades lock down so that you can remove the food from the bowl without removing blade
3. DVD which shows exactly how to utilize processor and many recipes.
I have marked difficult to clean but I have only had trouble getting it clean one time (so far). There may still be a piece of zucchini under the seal of the lid.
Pros: Durable, Power, Speed, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 14 for Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CharlotteToo
,Ft Lauderdale
,FL
August 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Third Food Processor
August 16, 2013
I have 3 Cuisinart Food Processors. I love them all and that is why I have three. I bought the last one, 16-cup because I can use it for larger volumnes. They all work fine and I wouldn't have any other kind. The others are 14-cup and then a smaller one so I have all areas covered. Highly reccommend this product, obviously
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 15 for Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wyndcreste
,Napa
,CA
August 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup
August 7, 2013
Awesome! It chopped meat easily and efficiently, so much better than my 11 cup Cuisinart, which struggled! If you need power this one has it!
In terms of cons It is big and takes a lot of counter space and does not fit under the upper cupboard. The storage case is handy, but takes additional space to store. But it is pretty and well designed--much better than previous iterations. Also, your dishwasher is substantially filled after use....
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Speed, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store
Review 16 for Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scootersmom
,akron
,oh
July 8, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
worth the money
July 8, 2013
I almost didn't buy this food processor due to the varied reviews. However, I have had Cuisinart products and loved them and couldn't imagine how people couldn't love this product. So, I went to the store, had it demonstrated and bought it and love it. Its the quality I expect from Cuisinart at a great price. I use a food processor 5 times a week or so and this one has not let me down. It handles whatever I throw at it. I can only imagine perhaps the poor reviews were from people who don't know how a food processor responds to certain types of dough, cheese, etc.. The convienence of 3 bowls is a cooks dream. No problems and loving it. Also, it weighs 171/2 pounds not 25-30 as some reported.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Versatile, Design
Review 17 for Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rianeli
July 6, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Food Processor EVER
July 6, 2013
I've had lots of Cuisinart Processors over the years but this one is more then a step above all of the rest. 16 cups, turbo fast, cord rewinds, the lid is sealed so your liquids won't leak out AND the blade locks in so you can turn the bowl upside-down and it won't fall out. You can only get this unit at William-Somona. I got mine on sale with an additional 15% off. Outstanding deal.
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Speed, Quiet
Cons: Weight
Review 18 for Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CAT22
,Kelso
,wa
kelso, WA
June 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not worth the money
June 27, 2013
I bought this an was so excited. I watched the video set it all up went to make some pesto and it worked for awhile then nothing. I thought it was me and didn't know how to use it so I called cusinart and went thru the process. It worked. So I finished and put everything away. A year later I go to make salsa and it ran for a little while then quits. If I let it sit then it will work. It is like the motor overheats. So now that I am past the warranty I have a expensive pc of junk. Don;t buy
Pros: Power, Speed
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Difficult to Store, Size
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
A2gretta
Ann Arbor, MI
Posted June 30, 2013
Something really wrong with the controls
I had exactly your experience when my machine was still new and WS replaced it without question. Then the new one began exhibiting a similar behavior. First, I couldn't shut it off, but then I realized I could disconnect the cover and that would stop the machine. I also found that the machine would seem to "recover" after I left it alone. I rarely use it now, but the last time all my wiles failed mid-recipe (including unplugging it from the wall) and, after refusing to turn off, it refused to turn back on. I so regret giving up my twenty-year old original one which is likely still chugging on. This one is seriously flawed..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peggy50
,Sweetwater
,TN
June 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great buy!
June 24, 2013
Was in search of a good multi use food processor and stumbled upon this one. It has everything that I need now and I am sure will need in the future. The instruction of use was very good and helped a lot to get use to my new machine. I love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: Weight, Loud
Review 20 for Cuisinart Elite Die-Cast Food Processor, 16-Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Love2cooktoo
,Cornelius
,Or
Cornelius, Oregon
May 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BIG Disappointment
May 13, 2013
This 16 cup processor was an exclusive and recommended by Williams Sonoma. To make a long story short I'm out of warranty by several months. During the last year it has become problematic. The motor will run and blade won't turn. A disaster when making mayonnaise. The latest problem is the option pads won't respond. The pulse will work about four times during session and then then blade turns continuously. During this ordeal no pad options work. The only way to turn off is to unplug it. Cuisinart won't step up and take responsibility for a faulty product. Oh, my larger inner bowl chipped and they did replace? Very impossible to clean. particles of food will even get Inside of handle and no way to clean. it will actually STINK!! Don't buy this!!
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, Loud, High-Maintenance, inferior quality product
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
cybergigi
South Texas
Posted October 28, 2013
Me, too!
I had very similar problems. It actually turned out to be the lid lock mechanism that was not engaging. WS great customer service got the bowl/lid replaced and all worked fine. Now a year later I'm beginning to have the same problem. Bummer.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
page1 2 3 4 next