Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup

Completely redesigned with an array of exciting new features and a larger capacity, this kitchen workhorse represents the next generation of Cuisinart food processors. High-capacity, heavy-duty processor with an ultrapowerful motor. Two interchangeable bowls (12-cup and 4-cup cap.). Easy-to-clean electronic touch-pad controls feature a pulse function. SealTight(TM) system creates a spillproof seal between the bowls and lid, allowing you to fill the bowl to maximum capacity without leakage. BladeLock feature locks each blade securely into place while you're pouring ingredients from the bowl. Blades and discs are made from durable, easy-care stainless steel. Redesigned adjustable slicing disc lets you customize size and thickness (up to 6mm) when you're chopping and slicing. Reversible shredding disc allows you to quickly grate thick or thin shreds of ingredients. Dough blade makes fast work of kneading. Chopping blade processes foods or thoroughly mixes ingredients. Extra-large feed tube eliminates the need to precut most ingredients. Rugged die-cast-metal housing ensures stability and years of use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.236 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
59 of 72(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
Review 1 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Snowoman
,San Antonio
,tx
March 24, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Should have listened
March 24, 2014
I regret not paying attention to all the reviews. Instead, I put faith in the Cuisinart name. Big mistake! I've only had this a month. I've tried to use it twice and both times I was very frustrated. The motor runs, but nothing happens. After spending A LOT of time trying to figure out what's wrong, I realized I have to push the bowl very hard to the side to get it to work. If there is any shaking, the machine stops and I have to repeat this. Read the reviews and take them seriously. I wish I had :(
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 2 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
chefnd
,Seattle
,WA
August 7, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
poor replacement for the original
August 7, 2013
All the negatives already written are true. Every time I use it, one of the lower bowls gets splashed and dirtied. There's always splatter on the counter around it. The top is very difficult to clean, and small particles get stuck in it so you lose quantity. You also have to carefully plan which bowl to use 1st, 2nd, etc, as the larger bowls must be in place to use a smaller one. I use it far less than my 30+ yr old one. All in all, I was glad my daughter, to whom I gave my old one, got a new "old-style" cuisinart for a wedding present and gave me my old one back. I will use it til it crumbles.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, Assembly, High-Maintenance
Review 3 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MaggieM
,DeWitt
,MI
May 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for Fancy Sunday Brunches
May 15, 2013
I bought this for my daughter-in-law for Mother's Day and she loves it! She says it's much quieter than the older model and the motor is stronger. Also, the 4-cup and 12-cup options make it much more versatile. In fact, she uses it much more often than she ever used its predecessor -- and that's just in the two-weeks she's had it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet
Review 4 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meg456
,Bryan
,Tx
February 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Broke after 5 uses
February 24, 2013
Just returned this item today. Mine broke after 5 gentle uses- didnt do anything strenuous to it- the gasket ring broke off and wouldn't go back - springs everywhere - worthless, overpriced, heavy item
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Weight, Difficult to Store, High-Maintenance, breaks easily
Review 5 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cleaninthekitchen
,Grand Rapids
,MI
December 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+14points
15of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good for a few things
December 2, 2012
My husband and I purchased this in 2008 when preparing for our first child so I could make homemade baby food. I was skeptical of the lid design because you could not remove the gasket for cleaning. Food does get stuck in between the plastic and the rubber and you have to push on the rubber up and down while running water from below and then the top to remove the food particles. With about 10 minutes of time you can remove most, if not all, of the food particles. The slicer does not slice the entire zucchini, etc. but lets the last large slice fall in...no matter how many times you fish it out and shove it through again. It is a fast, sharp and quiet food processor overall and is great for making baby food, dips and slicing foods, but you need to know you WILL just have to throw out or slice by hand the last chunk. It is still the way to go for shredding large quantities of zucchini, beets, squash, etc. and for pureeing. Just know about the clean up and the chunks ahead of time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Size, Speed, Quiet
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Weight, High-Maintenance, does not slice/ shred last of the item
Review 6 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terri57
November 23, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
8of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Quality
November 23, 2012
After using this product for several months, I gave it to Good Will. I feel guilty for having done that because I ought to have thrown it away instead.
There is too much room between the bowl and the edges of the slicing and grating blades. This allows chunks of food to fall, unprocessed, into the bowl. Additionally, the food pusher does not come close enough to the discs to allow adequate processing of the food against the discs. Large pieces of food product are left spinning around between the lid and the disc.
Small bits of food and food juices collect under the edges of the rubber gasket and difficult and/or impossible to remove. This, of course, causes a foul odor over time. Also, mold grows because of the trapped food particles and moisture.
My 30 year old Cuisinart was a great machine, a real work horse. After it finally needed new pieces because of age, I decided to buy a new machine. Bad mistake. I ought to have spent the money to buy replacement parts for the old machine.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
dixiesmama
Georgia
Posted July 24, 2013
skeptical
After your review I wonder about getting a new cuisinart. Got this one for my son & daughterinlaw. They love theirs but I have the original and if I could get a new work bowl I would just keep it. That one was the best and a great workhorse. May have to shop a different brand. Thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CherryPie
,Kailua
,HI
October 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Save your money!
October 10, 2012
My mom has a Cuisinart that is over 30 years old and I love it, so I bought this one and hated it. The food gets stuck in the lining of the lid and makes it very difficult to clean. The base gets very, very, very hot and overall, it just doesn't work as well as the older models. We found it to be a waste of money and we ended up buying a Magimix to replace it.
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, Power, Loud
Review 8 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MMM3
,Pasadena
,CA
August 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not as good as my old one
August 13, 2012
Got this so I could make small sauces (mayo, etc,), in the 4 cup insert, and to replace my 33 year-old Cuisinart. Sadly, I had to return it. It left way too many large chunks of veggies on top when using the slicing disc. The cover is quite heavy, though maybe would have gotten used to it. Some nice features, but overall not as user-friendly as the old model. It did make fine mayonnaise, I must say.
Pros: Quality, Power, Speed
Cons: Difficult to Clean, leave large pieces of food on top of slicing blade, does not have a citrus reamer optional attachment
Review 9 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
casemgr
,Tarpon Springs
,FL
March 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
so far so good
March 6, 2012
I was skeptical before ordering the food processor. I've survived for so long without it. It works well & does a good job. Now I have more to wash than my hands!
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Speed
Review 10 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shari2
,Waconia
,MN
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Cooking Partner
January 2, 2012
I received my new Cuisinart 12-Cup Food Processor as a replacement for my Cuisinart 10-cup food processor purchased in the late 1970s. (By the way, my old food processor still works, and I am keeping it!)
I took my new food processor out of the box and immediately began using it and LOVE it! I especially like the slicing disc that I can dial the size of my slices. It worked great for slicing my potatoes.
My food processor did wobble a bit after slicing a potato but I cured that with some non-slip stuff I slid between the counter and the machine.
I am looking forward to cooking and baking many more years with my new food processor. This is a beautiful machine!
PS: I am also impressed at how quiet it is!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store
Review 11 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photodude5
,Ventura
,CA
December 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Food Processing Heaven
December 7, 2011
I have owned several food processors in the past and none of them lasted a year. The two main reasons for this particular purchase: Die Cast Metal body & 1,000 watts of power. My most recent food processor only had 325 watts of power, needless to say when preparing a simple cookie dough, the motor almost stopped.
Upon using the Cuisinart Food processor, the same recipe of cookie dough, it had more than enough power to mix the dough properly. I will use this food processor for my everyday cooking and know I will love it.
I also own several Kitchen Aid electrics and find they compliment each other.
My next recipe will be baking a pecan pie for my son.
Trust me any gourmet cook will love this product and it's made to last a life time...!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 12 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trude
Livingston, NJ
September 1, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So much easier.....
September 1, 2011
I recently bought this model to replace an old one that was impossible to maneuver! However, i also have the larger model in another home, and it is equiped with a storage box for the blades.i find it extremely dangerous not having a storage unit for the blades. If anyone knows of an available product, i would love to know.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: no blade storage unit..
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Granny9
Posted December 27, 2011
Storage case for blades
The Cuisinart has a case for the blades. I think it is $40.00.
0points
Customer avatar
teacherlinda
San Francisco, CA
Posted November 18, 2011
cuisinart storage unit
Just found a storage box for this processor (I think) on Zappo.com. I am thinking of ordering this for my son along with the processor.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MCBrennan
Orlando, FL
August 20, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
New Kitchen Standard
August 20, 2011
I absolutely love this food processor. So far it has handled all kitchen jobs with ease. It's a pretty heavy piece, so I would not store it some place difficult to reach. But it is surely worth the investment.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Cons: Weight
Review 14 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Vickyness
Palo Alto, CA
August 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Would You Recommend? No
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Horrible Lid Design
August 3, 2011
We got one of these from our wedding registry. It was easy to put together out of the box but the lid got disgusting after making a batch of salsa. The rubber gasket moves when you open the lid and it sucks the food particles up. There are tiny slots in the lid but there is no way to access the portion past the gasket to clean. After handwashing and putting the lid through the dishwasher, I still had green bits of tomatillo in there. Returned it and exchanged for a Magimix. It was more but totally worth the extra $100 dollars.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Cristo
Connecticut
Posted November 21, 2013
Great review!
Great review. I had the same problem and I don't even own a dishwasher. I spent 10-15 minutes trying to get the tomato out of the lid and the lid was placed on securely. I'm taking Vickyness' advice and spending the additional $100 to buy Magi...
0points
Customer avatar
japp
west hollywood, ca
Posted September 10, 2011
totally not true
I have this processor and love it. First off, you should never put it in the dishwasher hand wash it. I have never had any problems with this AWESOME kitchen tool. Its the best and would totally recommend it. You need to close the lid for safety, it needs to click closed. Push down on the lid..
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 15 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ManlyTroll
New York NY
July 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A bit heavy, but effective
July 12, 2011
I was deciding between a mini (4 cup or so) or going all out on this 12 cup, as it needs to fit in a small NY kitchen. It's heavier than I thought, and quite large - I still haven't rearranged things so it can be put away, but that's ok for now as I'm still on a mad food prepping spree. Haven't yet used the slicer, but can vouch for the easy operation, cleaning, great blade locking mechanism and lid seal. I've over diced some things, but I think that's my fault - doing ingredients one at a time so the first one is almost pureed, when all at once would have done. Will be better with user practice I'm sure.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store, Size, (prob all typical for this cup capacity)
Review 16 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
derooster
connecticut
June 16, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
awsome looks and peak performance
June 16, 2011
i replaced a vintage (1985) 11 cup Cuisinart ONLY because this one is so sleek looking. i love the stainless finish. my old one was a work horse and still performs perfectly. i will say however, the improvements since 1985 are legion. i love having the second 4 cup bowl for doing a smaller quantitiy. the connection method is simple and much improved. the blade locks in place - no more leaks and above all: the motor is virtually silent!
if you are contemplating this machine, hesitate no more. only a diamond bracelet would thrill me more!
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Review 17 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moira88
Long Island, New York
May 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Goldilocks Food Processor
May 14, 2011
I've nick-named this food processor Goldilocks because it is exactly the right size...not too big, not too small, but just perfect for my family's needs. I use it almost every day, and size was an important issue for me. It fits under my kitchen cabinets and is on the counter ready to use. This is not something I want to lug in and out of storage. I've put this appliance through it's paces with all sorts of slicing and chopping, and it's performed flawlessly making mounds of cole slaw, slicing veggies, and making pesto sauce. While doing all of these chores, I have never found the top cover difficult to clean as others have mentioned on this site. The cover has openings on top of it, and if food should become lodged under the seal, a quick rinse under the faucet flushes the food particles away and leaves the cover perfectly clean. This is one purchase I'm glad I made!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly, great safety features
Review 18 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ABloom
Springfield, MO
April 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome updated Cuisinart Food Processor
April 18, 2011
I have the original Cuisinart Food Processor and still love it! I was ready for some the updates that come with the newer model. I used it and, if its possible, love it more than my first one! My son is getting my old one and I am loving the new one!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet
Review 19 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CEPAR
Waynesville, NC
March 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This food processor makes homemade anything easy!
March 6, 2011
Exceptional quality product, saves both time and money in the kitchen making homemade breads, crackers, muffins, pizzas, sauces, its purpose in the kitchen is endless. Best purchase for the kitchen I ever made.
Review 20 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Punko
Ft Lauderdale, FL
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My kitchen Ferrrari!
January 25, 2011
I am in love with this Food processor...it ground my beef and pork with no effort. And then chopped my herbs so delicate and fluffy.....I do not have enough wonderful words to say about the power inside this wonderful kitchen machine...it can not be put in the tool category.
page1 2 3 4 next