This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup

Completely redesigned with an array of exciting new features and a larger capacity, this kitchen workhorse represents the next generation of Cuisinart food processors. High-capacity, heavy-duty processor with an ultrapowerful motor. Two interchangeable bowls (12-cup and 4-cup cap.). Easy-to-clean electronic touch-pad controls feature a pulse function. SealTight(TM) system creates a spillproof seal between the bowls and lid, allowing you to fill the bowl to maximum capacity without leakage. BladeLock feature locks each blade securely into place while you're pouring ingredients from the bowl. Blades and discs are made from durable, easy-care stainless steel. Redesigned adjustable slicing disc lets you customize size and thickness (up to 6mm) when you're chopping and slicing. Reversible shredding disc allows you to quickly grate thick or thin shreds of ingredients. Dough blade makes fast work of kneading. Chopping blade processes foods or thoroughly mixes ingredients. Extra-large feed tube eliminates the need to precut most ingredients. Rugged die-cast-metal housing ensures stability and years of use.
Average Customer Rating:
2.077 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
3 of 13(23%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
Review 1 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
EAR123
,Redding
,Co
October 11, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Very dissappointing
October 11, 2014
After giving this unit a very fair chance for the past 2 years - i'm done! I make a lot of cole slaw - the grater let's whole pieces of vegies fall through; the dough maker over-heats when making pizza dough. And i agree w/ all of the preceding comments on bowls & ease of cleaning. Very dissappointed as i bought this at top $$$.
Pros: Power, Easy to Store, Size, Assembly
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental
Review 2 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dallas24
,Sherman
,TX
August 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Dont put on top rack of dishwasher
August 30, 2014
I bought this product about a year ago and have avoided using it as the bowl is difficult to detach from the lid. Finally found out the top rack of the dishwasher puts small cracks in the bowl and makes it impossible to detach. It doesn't process well either. Leaves chunks of food that the blade can't reach. I just ordered a Magimix and hope its great.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 3 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ChezSam
,Lakewood
,CO
Denver, CO
July 11, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Wish I had my old one back
July 11, 2014
I've learned how to use it but........don't like how the seal gets food and water in it when it's used and washed. Also if you use the smaller bowl the larger one still has to be washed. Why couldn't they make it so that you use one size bowl or the other. I keep hoping they go back to the older style. If more people complain, perhaps they will. I am still wedded to the Cuisinart brand as I've tried three others and found them less deserving. I've had mine for more than two years too.
Pros: Quality, Power, Quiet
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Weight, Difficult to Store, High-Maintenance, Size, don't trust the gasket gets clean
Review 4 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Snowoman
,San Antonio
,tx
March 24, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Should have listened
March 24, 2014
I regret not paying attention to all the reviews. Instead, I put faith in the Cuisinart name. Big mistake! I've only had this a month. I've tried to use it twice and both times I was very frustrated. The motor runs, but nothing happens. After spending A LOT of time trying to figure out what's wrong, I realized I have to push the bowl very hard to the side to get it to work. If there is any shaking, the machine stops and I have to repeat this. Read the reviews and take them seriously. I wish I had :(
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 5 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
chefnd
,Seattle
,WA
August 7, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
poor replacement for the original
August 7, 2013
All the negatives already written are true. Every time I use it, one of the lower bowls gets splashed and dirtied. There's always splatter on the counter around it. The top is very difficult to clean, and small particles get stuck in it so you lose quantity. You also have to carefully plan which bowl to use 1st, 2nd, etc, as the larger bowls must be in place to use a smaller one. I use it far less than my 30+ yr old one. All in all, I was glad my daughter, to whom I gave my old one, got a new "old-style" cuisinart for a wedding present and gave me my old one back. I will use it til it crumbles.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, Assembly, High-Maintenance
Review 6 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MaggieM
,DeWitt
,MI
May 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Perfect for Fancy Sunday Brunches
May 15, 2013
I bought this for my daughter-in-law for Mother's Day and she loves it! She says it's much quieter than the older model and the motor is stronger. Also, the 4-cup and 12-cup options make it much more versatile. In fact, she uses it much more often than she ever used its predecessor -- and that's just in the two-weeks she's had it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet
Review 7 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meg456
,Bryan
,Tx
February 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Broke after 5 uses
February 24, 2013
Just returned this item today. Mine broke after 5 gentle uses- didnt do anything strenuous to it- the gasket ring broke off and wouldn't go back - springs everywhere - worthless, overpriced, heavy item
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Weight, Difficult to Store, High-Maintenance, breaks easily
Review 8 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cleaninthekitchen
,Grand Rapids
,MI
December 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+14points
15of 16found this review helpful.
Good for a few things
December 2, 2012
My husband and I purchased this in 2008 when preparing for our first child so I could make homemade baby food. I was skeptical of the lid design because you could not remove the gasket for cleaning. Food does get stuck in between the plastic and the rubber and you have to push on the rubber up and down while running water from below and then the top to remove the food particles. With about 10 minutes of time you can remove most, if not all, of the food particles. The slicer does not slice the entire zucchini, etc. but lets the last large slice fall in...no matter how many times you fish it out and shove it through again. It is a fast, sharp and quiet food processor overall and is great for making baby food, dips and slicing foods, but you need to know you WILL just have to throw out or slice by hand the last chunk. It is still the way to go for shredding large quantities of zucchini, beets, squash, etc. and for pureeing. Just know about the clean up and the chunks ahead of time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Size, Speed, Quiet
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Weight, High-Maintenance, does not slice/ shred last of the item
Review 9 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terri57
November 23, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
9of 12found this review helpful.
Poor Quality
November 23, 2012
After using this product for several months, I gave it to Good Will. I feel guilty for having done that because I ought to have thrown it away instead.
There is too much room between the bowl and the edges of the slicing and grating blades. This allows chunks of food to fall, unprocessed, into the bowl. Additionally, the food pusher does not come close enough to the discs to allow adequate processing of the food against the discs. Large pieces of food product are left spinning around between the lid and the disc.
Small bits of food and food juices collect under the edges of the rubber gasket and difficult and/or impossible to remove. This, of course, causes a foul odor over time. Also, mold grows because of the trapped food particles and moisture.
My 30 year old Cuisinart was a great machine, a real work horse. After it finally needed new pieces because of age, I decided to buy a new machine. Bad mistake. I ought to have spent the money to buy replacement parts for the old machine.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
dixiesmama
Georgia
Posted July 24, 2013
skeptical
After your review I wonder about getting a new cuisinart. Got this one for my son & daughterinlaw. They love theirs but I have the original and if I could get a new work bowl I would just keep it. That one was the best and a great workhorse. May have to shop a different brand. Thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CherryPie
,Kailua
,HI
October 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Save your money!
October 10, 2012
My mom has a Cuisinart that is over 30 years old and I love it, so I bought this one and hated it. The food gets stuck in the lining of the lid and makes it very difficult to clean. The base gets very, very, very hot and overall, it just doesn't work as well as the older models. We found it to be a waste of money and we ended up buying a Magimix to replace it.
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, Power, Loud
Review 11 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MMM3
,Pasadena
,CA
August 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
8of 10found this review helpful.
not as good as my old one
August 13, 2012
Got this so I could make small sauces (mayo, etc,), in the 4 cup insert, and to replace my 33 year-old Cuisinart. Sadly, I had to return it. It left way too many large chunks of veggies on top when using the slicing disc. The cover is quite heavy, though maybe would have gotten used to it. Some nice features, but overall not as user-friendly as the old model. It did make fine mayonnaise, I must say.
Pros: Quality, Power, Speed
Cons: Difficult to Clean, leave large pieces of food on top of slicing blade, does not have a citrus reamer optional attachment
Review 12 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
casemgr
,Tarpon Springs
,FL
March 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
so far so good
March 6, 2012
I was skeptical before ordering the food processor. I've survived for so long without it. It works well & does a good job. Now I have more to wash than my hands!
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Speed
Review 13 for Cuisinart Elite Die Cast Food Processor, 12-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shari2
,Waconia
,MN
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
My Favorite Cooking Partner
January 2, 2012
I received my new Cuisinart 12-Cup Food Processor as a replacement for my Cuisinart 10-cup food processor purchased in the late 1970s. (By the way, my old food processor still works, and I am keeping it!)
I took my new food processor out of the box and immediately began using it and LOVE it! I especially like the slicing disc that I can dial the size of my slices. It worked great for slicing my potatoes.
My food processor did wobble a bit after slicing a potato but I cured that with some non-slip stuff I slid between the counter and the machine.
I am looking forward to cooking and baking many more years with my new food processor. This is a beautiful machine!
PS: I am also impressed at how quiet it is!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store