Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet

This powerful, environmentally friendly electric skillet lets you sear, fry, griddle, simmer or braise using a ceramic-based nonstick surface that's petroleum-free and contains no PTFE or PFOA. Its oversized cooking surface accommodates family-sized batches of meatballs, fried eggs or pancakes.14"-round cooking surface provides more than 150 sq. in. of space.Heat disperses evenly across the entire surface for consistent browning.Nonstick surfaces are easy to clean.Six temperature settings: warm, 250deg.F, 300deg.F, 350deg.F, 400deg.F and 450deg.F.An indicator light turns off when the set temperature is reached.The tempered-glass lid makes it easy to monitor cooking progress.Polished-stainless-steel finish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
33 of 42(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
Review 1 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EmGee
Royal Oak, MI
July 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Green Electric Skillet
July 4, 2010
I had a Faberware Electric Skillet for 20 years which I loved and used quite often; so, when it ceased to exist I had to have a replacement. The Cuisanart Green Electric Skillet is perfect! It is beautiful and makes a great serving dish on a buffet. It is 14 inches of space that makes cooking easy. It has a consistent cooking surface and is easily regulated. My only complaint is that because of the way the lid fits, you have to be quite dilligent when it first comes to a boil because it will spit from under the lid and spray everywhere. Once the cook is aware of this tiny flaw, the experience is worth it.
Review 2 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Jefferson City, MO
August 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Electric Skillet!
August 18, 2010
After my brother-in-law used his to cook hashbrowns, I knew I had to have this skillet. It has been awesome. The food browns nicely, but the temperature regulation is very good and permits you to regulate the cooking temperatures rather precisely. I bought the "One Pot" cookbook to go along with it, and I have not been disappointed. This is an excellent product and I recommend it.
Review 3 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
teresakay
Mankato, MN
February 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best kitchen electric skillet
February 23, 2010
this is one of the best investments i have made in my kitchen. i use it everyday. i have made dishes that i normally cook in the oven and tried it in this skillet, they come out perfectly. i am very happy with my purchase. also, i am happy with the new green nonstick which is ceramic and does not contain PTFE and PFOA like the old nonstick skillets. Give this a try, you will be very happy.
Review 4 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SeasonedCincyCook
,Cincinnati
,OH
April 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ultimately Disappointed
April 30, 2013
I was especially excited to have a non-stick electric skillet because of the environmentally friendly coating. Loved the size and the look. However, the temperature was never constant. The thermostat was not dependable. It tended to overheat, so I had to constantly monitor the cooking, turning it up for a minute, then down. Lid allowed liquid to escape around the edges, making a mess on the counter, But, it was still a handy size and I was happy to have it . . until the heat element began to stop altogether from time to time--as though there was a loose connection. And, now after only a year, it has konked out altogether. The Skillet hasn't been used all that much, and was handled and cleaned carefully, according to the manufacturer's instructions. I expect better quality and performance from a Cuisinart product. Hope Cuisinart will take all these comments to heart and make some adjustments to the design and performance of this skillet.
Pros: Size, Versatile
Cons: Temperamental, bad lid design, temperature fluctuates
Review 5 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MayM
Wake Forest , NC
February 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This skillet is wonderful !
February 20, 2010
This skillet was a gift from my Mom , and our family loves it !
The first meal we made in it was meatballs and sauce , and it was a huge timesaver . We made 4 pounds of meatballs in it , in no time at all . We cooked the meatballs , removed them , made the sauce and then added the meatballs back into the sauce . It cooks so evenly , and heats up to the perfect temperature so quickly . It is an extra cook top in the kitchen . It is a great tool for every kitchen . I give it a 5 out 5 stars
Review 6 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sharingthoughtshelps
Milwaukee, WI
December 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
non-stick surface doesn't last
December 8, 2010
When you first use this skillet, you think, "Wow! How do they do that without Teflon or the like?" The surface is like glass and EVERYTHING slips right out. Beautiful! But even with washing very carefully and using non-scratching tools to cook with... almost a year later, it's no longer non-stick. Unless there is a lot of liquid (like in the video, a sauce), sticking occurs. You must use quite a bit of oil when cooking without liquid, and even so, there's sticking. You can de-glaze successfully by adding liquid, but food removed before that breaks apart. I was willing to pay the high price (compared to non-'green' non-stick skillets...and I bought this one on sale..) if this one would be a healthier non-stick alternative.... but it's not, so I am disappointed with the purchase and would not recommend it.
Review 7 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ctcp
Provo, Utah
April 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for a few months
April 14, 2011
I purchased this frying pan to replace my 12" one, purchased from Williams Sonoma years ago. That pan never let me down. This one was great--though a bit large for our small family. But after a few months the pan would stop heating for minutes at time, allowing the food to stop simmering, or frying, or whatever it was doing. Turning the heat up had no effect; the pan would just sit there until it was ready to start back up again. Then the non-stick surface became a stick- badly surface. It was cleaned according to instructions and I used only non-stick utensils, so I don't know why the problem. I don't know if I can take it back at this point, but I'm going to try.
Pros: Easy to Use, Versatile
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Weight, Temperamental, Difficult to Store, High-Maintenance
Review 8 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jovanna
Long Island, NY
January 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Whatta pan!
January 6, 2011
This measures 15" from rim to rim to allow the additional lip for the lid to sit in. This is a massive skillet. It is 3" deep, this will feed a crowd, the perfect Paella pan for this reason. My kitchen is small so this gives me an additional 'burner.' I put this on my peninsula so I face out into my DR and LR to be with my guests as I cook. Normally, my back would be to them as I cooked on my stovetop range. So these are advantages that I haven't read in the reviews. If you fry foods with breading, you will want to add some oil to crisp it properly; but when I sauteed sliced zucchini & carrots, I needed not one drop of oil, not even broth or liquids. I seasoned it and put on the lid and the steam from the veggies was all that was needed to cook it thru. I also thought this pan would be silly to use for just 2 people, but having the extra space to stir and flip makes it a whole lot easier and w/o all the mess of food flying overboard! If you love to cook, you will love this item.
Review 9 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PLW1
Las Vegas, NV
June 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One pot cooking!
June 5, 2010
I used this for a recipe I normally cook on the stove. It came out FANTASTIC in the electric skillet. The chicken browned beautifully and then simmered it with salsa and it turned out better than on the stove. I've never owned an electric skillet and am now sold! Looking forward to more recipes to make in my skillet.
Review 10 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PattieM
Westminster, MA
May 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
How did I cook without it?
May 13, 2010
Years ago, I had an electric fry pan and I remember using it until the Teflon wore off. I saw this one on line and thought I might enjoy using one again.
It turns out that I don't know how I cooked without it!!! It is temperature controlled and accurate and it is easy to clean. I hardly ever have to turn on the burners on my stove anymore.
I love this pan!!!
Review 11 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kary
Oregon
April 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Pan
April 27, 2010
This is a terrific pan! I use it all the time. I love how well it heats and cooks everything I have tried in it. Next is pan fried oysters, I can hardly!
Review 12 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
randee
Rockford, Illinois
March 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wonderful skillet
March 24, 2010
I have been using the same electric skillet for over 30 years, and decided it was time for a change. You can teach an old dog new tricks..I love this pan. So far, everything I have made in it is wonderful. Easy clean up, and I like that I can make alot of food all at once. I recycled my old pan to the curb.
Review 13 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Slimjim
Sun City, Georgetown
March 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent for a 92-year old bachelor chef
March 16, 2010
Entertaining 6 gourmet guests with dinner, etc, is no mean task. The catalog photo and recipe for Smothered Pork Chops was enticing, and I wanted to serve it. I bought this skillet especially for the occasional (and later uses), made the recipe the for the first time, and got rave reviews from gourmet guests. Temperature control was accurate, non-stick surface did beautifully, and clean-up was easy. It out-performed expectations,
Review 14 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MarkinKansas
Kansas
December 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
4-5 star for lidless cooking, but...
December 14, 2010
This pan's huge area is terrific. For chicken or bacon frying the lid prevents oil/fat spattering.
But if you want to steam, simmer-cook or boil with the lid on, it's a mess-generator. Condensed water vapor travels to the lid/pan lip interface, bubbles and splutters , then drips down all around the pan's exterior circumference.
Suggestion, if you use the lid: cover the control unit with a towel to keep the control unit dry, or else "crack" the lid, to lessen drips, and confine spillover to one limited area.
Cuisinart, if you are listening, 1) put a much larger vent hole in the lid, with a sliding shutter for adjustability of the orifice size, 2) add a circular rim on the underside of the lid, about 1 in from the edge, to catch the condensate flow and direct the drippings so they land inside the pan.
Do these modifications and the pan goes to 5-star for versatility. Right now, the lid is mainly good for open-pan cooking, then covering the pan after cooking to keep the food warm.
Review 15 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Dover Ma
May 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Green Skillet Electric Cusinart
May 24, 2010
excellent purchase, the room in the skillet allows plenty of space for chicken breasts to cook apart from each other and develop a beautiful glaze, French toast is so nice, browned and crisp evenly. It is a great skillet for entertaining, i love it and recommend it to anyone, The glass dome is a plus and it washes in a jiffy.
A worthwhile investment!!!
Review 16 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Birdiethree
,Soddy Daisy
,Tn
July 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great pan. Great service
July 29, 2013
I love the ceramic cooking surface so far. I've only had the pan a month or so but I'm loving it. It cooks evenly, is a little hard to control the heat but overall I like the way it cooks. I also love the size of the pan. It's so nice to cook almost anything in it. I even put just a touch of water in it, put the cover on and steam broccoli. The surface takes very little oil to prevent sticking. Very good skillet! . Williams Sonoma is so great to order from! They are always nice and speedy and accurate. I wish they carried more things I order by mail. They are heads above the rest in service!!! Thanks Willie!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed
Review 17 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spooner
Denver
May 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Electric Skillet
May 21, 2011
Functional and very attractive for a skillet. I would have preferred a natural cooking finish over the nonstick finish but it is not a show stopper.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Versatile, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 18 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
patriciangma
Georgia
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Twice as good as others
January 25, 2011
Such a great skillet; I purchased 1 for myself & enjoyed it so much, found it so versatile that I purchased a second 1 for my daughter-in-law! She loves it too.
Review 19 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sunshine446
Southwest Florida
January 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite pot for making sauces
January 12, 2011
I have only used it twice but I just love cooking with this electric skillet. The only negative I could find, which is minor, was that there was a clicking from the base as it heats up, which I found slightly annoying.
Review 20 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SignoftheDove
Hamden, CT
November 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent!
November 27, 2010
I recently purchased this as my first electric skillet. I had not had a chance to use it yet when the main burner on my stove died while cooking our Thanksgiving feast.
I took it out of the box, washed it and was using it in minutes. I used it to make Brussel Sprouts with braised Chestnuts and it worked great. It heated up quickly and evenly. Temperature control was good and I got no splatter that others have mentioned in spite of the fact that I was reducing quite a bit of liquid.
I can't wait to use it again and have a feeling it's going to see a lot of use.
page1 2 3 next