Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet

This powerful, environmentally friendly electric skillet lets you sear, fry, griddle, simmer or braise using a ceramic-based nonstick surface that's petroleum-free and contains no PTFE or PFOA. Its oversized cooking surface accommodates family-sized batches of meatballs, fried eggs or pancakes.14"-round cooking surface provides more than 150 sq. in. of space.Heat disperses evenly across the entire surface for consistent browning.Nonstick surfaces are easy to clean.Six temperature settings: warm, 250deg.F, 300deg.F, 350deg.F, 400deg.F and 450deg.F.An indicator light turns off when the set temperature is reached.The tempered-glass lid makes it easy to monitor cooking progress.Polished-stainless-steel finish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
33 of 42(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
Review 1 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Birdiethree
,Soddy Daisy
,Tn
July 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great pan. Great service
July 29, 2013
I love the ceramic cooking surface so far. I've only had the pan a month or so but I'm loving it. It cooks evenly, is a little hard to control the heat but overall I like the way it cooks. I also love the size of the pan. It's so nice to cook almost anything in it. I even put just a touch of water in it, put the cover on and steam broccoli. The surface takes very little oil to prevent sticking. Very good skillet! . Williams Sonoma is so great to order from! They are always nice and speedy and accurate. I wish they carried more things I order by mail. They are heads above the rest in service!!! Thanks Willie!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed
Review 2 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SeasonedCincyCook
,Cincinnati
,OH
April 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ultimately Disappointed
April 30, 2013
I was especially excited to have a non-stick electric skillet because of the environmentally friendly coating. Loved the size and the look. However, the temperature was never constant. The thermostat was not dependable. It tended to overheat, so I had to constantly monitor the cooking, turning it up for a minute, then down. Lid allowed liquid to escape around the edges, making a mess on the counter, But, it was still a handy size and I was happy to have it . . until the heat element began to stop altogether from time to time--as though there was a loose connection. And, now after only a year, it has konked out altogether. The Skillet hasn't been used all that much, and was handled and cleaned carefully, according to the manufacturer's instructions. I expect better quality and performance from a Cuisinart product. Hope Cuisinart will take all these comments to heart and make some adjustments to the design and performance of this skillet.
Pros: Size, Versatile
Cons: Temperamental, bad lid design, temperature fluctuates
Review 3 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Limpylegs
,Newton
,NJ
April 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great all around skillet
April 6, 2013
Works great so far, maintains it's temperature well & is big enough for a crowd.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: Weight
Review 4 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
linenshopper
,Woodland
,Ca
Woodland, Ca.
January 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
8of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cuisinart Electric Skillet
January 27, 2013
I admired this skillet at my daughter's when I made "Ham Fried Rice" in it. The recipe turned out perfect. But when I received this skillet as a Christmas present, I have only had problems with it. The temperature is often too high even when the skillet is put on low. When I cook meat in a sauce, the small vent in the lid is not big enough to let the steam escape. The result is that the steam escapes around the edges of the lid and drips all around the surface on which the skillet is standing. Very messy! Because of the extreme heat when the heat goes on and the steam that escapes, the skillet quickly runs dry, one needs to watch the cooking constantly. I know this was an expensive gift, but the skillet is not not well designed.
Review 5 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maryc5
,Scarborough
,ME
November 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A very versatile appliance
November 5, 2012
Please do yourself a big favor and buy this skillet. Holds large amounts of food and can go right to the table. Also, very easy to regulate the heat and keep foods warm. I donated my first skillet to a charitable organization and within a day, I had ordered another.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Review 6 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Johnthequilter
Lansing, MI
August 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
10 Months and the love affair continues
August 20, 2011
I have been using this for 10 months now without any problems. I love it. Still slick as sn........ never mind. Very easy to clean great for large quantities of potatoes, stews, or anything. It gets used more than any other small appliance in my kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 7 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cookingfor5
Oak Harbor, WA
July 20, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not Impressed
July 20, 2011
After using this pan for 7 months I am definitely not impressed with its performance. Initially it was a pleasure to clean, it is now a nightmare. It also retains the flavor of the last thing that was cooked (ie, the pancakes we made for breakfast tasted like the tacos we cooked the night before). When using the lid and placing the pan in the center of my island I have to have towels on my hardwood floors to catch the sputtering water and protect my floor. Not to mention the safety issue of having very hot water spewing all over with toddlers running around! This is the only nonstick pan I own due to the health issues with other nonstick surfaces and I diligently followed all cleaning instructions, but I think I will go back to Stainless!
Pros: Size
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Loud, High-Maintenance
Review 8 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spooner
Denver
May 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Electric Skillet
May 21, 2011
Functional and very attractive for a skillet. I would have preferred a natural cooking finish over the nonstick finish but it is not a show stopper.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Versatile, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 9 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
iDoc
USA
May 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor non-stick surface
May 20, 2011
The problem with this skillet is that food stuck on it from the first use. Tried to fry eggs on it a second time. And it failed again. It is NOT non-stick.. It was very disappointing. It is an excellent size and design, esp. to have out when needed for entertaining. If a non-stick surface is NOT a concern, then, its fine. For me, it was major and it failed. Returned it. Thank you Williams-Sonoma for your customer service and keeping me a happy and returning customer.
Pros: Size, Design
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental
Review 10 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ctcp
Provo, Utah
April 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for a few months
April 14, 2011
I purchased this frying pan to replace my 12" one, purchased from Williams Sonoma years ago. That pan never let me down. This one was great--though a bit large for our small family. But after a few months the pan would stop heating for minutes at time, allowing the food to stop simmering, or frying, or whatever it was doing. Turning the heat up had no effect; the pan would just sit there until it was ready to start back up again. Then the non-stick surface became a stick- badly surface. It was cleaned according to instructions and I used only non-stick utensils, so I don't know why the problem. I don't know if I can take it back at this point, but I'm going to try.
Pros: Easy to Use, Versatile
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Weight, Temperamental, Difficult to Store, High-Maintenance
Review 11 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LCFN
Danbury, CT
April 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not sure if I will recommend yet
April 11, 2011
Bought this for my daughter. I thought the size is perfect. I used it at her home last week to make a chicken cacciatore that I always made in the old electric fry pan. This electric skillet heated to 325degrees cooked too hot and burned the chicken. I lowered the heat to 250 degrees in time so I could salvage the meal. My daughter had a similar problem with vegetables she had cooked. We will use less heat the next time we cook in this skillet. It also made quite a mess with the lid on or off.. We will give it a few more tries.Very easy to clean.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: heated hotter than set for
Review 12 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kayinidaho
Nampa, Idaho
March 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Have needed a skillet/pan like this for ages!
March 22, 2011
Fantastic! Got this for my husband, the cook - he's using it almost daily. I do the cleanup, which is EASY.
Review 13 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ginnyl
Vero Beach, FL
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not dishwaser safe?
January 25, 2011
Love this pan, have used it several times already. I would give it 5 stars but the instructions say not to put it in the dishwasher! My old 20+yr worn out and cheap pan was dishwasher safe so I am disappointed about that. Also the bottom has open vent so I am even afraid to put it in water!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Jovanna
Long Island, NY
Posted April 17, 2011
Top 10 Contributor
You can put this in the sink for sure!
I fault Cuisinart for making this point so unclear--of course you can wash the pan, in a sinkful of water OR the dishwater. The open vents have nothing to do with 'the workings' of it. I have washed this in a sinkful of water each time I use it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
patriciangma
Georgia
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Twice as good as others
January 25, 2011
Such a great skillet; I purchased 1 for myself & enjoyed it so much, found it so versatile that I purchased a second 1 for my daughter-in-law! She loves it too.
Review 15 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sunshine446
Southwest Florida
January 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite pot for making sauces
January 12, 2011
I have only used it twice but I just love cooking with this electric skillet. The only negative I could find, which is minor, was that there was a clicking from the base as it heats up, which I found slightly annoying.
Review 16 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoveBaking
New Jersey
January 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love It Love It Love It
January 7, 2011
Can't speak highly enough for the Electric Skillet. Excellent investment.
Review 17 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cathynak
Ontario, Canada
January 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Looks nice....cooks NOT so nice!
January 6, 2011
Love the look of the pan and the large cooking surface, however I would not recommend it. I have 3 complaints about the pan. 1) The temperature control is slow to react and not very accurate so, I found pancakes are difficult to make without undercooking or burning. Also, trying to keep something warm sometimes means totally drying it out or burning the food. 2) If steaming or cooking with sauce, the lid makes a sputtering mess all over the counter, lid and down the sides of the pan. Very messy! 3) Finally, after having the pan for 9 months, the non-stick surface is already breaking down in that it is difficult to clean and sometimes needs a little oil to prevent sticking, especially small pieces of meat for stir-frying.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
ESB42
Houston, Tx
Posted April 10, 2011
Return policy
I'm sorry to know about the problems you have with this skillet. Can;t you take it back to WS and get your $$$ back. This is pretty pricey for a skillet. I was planning on purchasing one for myself-don't know if I want to after reading your review.
0points
Customer avatar
Jovanna
Long Island, NY
Posted January 9, 2011
Top 10 Contributor
thoughts on the problem
My first question is--when cooking and cleaning, are you mindful to use non-abrasive tools and sponges? Also, I found that I had to "play" somewhat to get the feel of the dial settings and what worked best--I quickly discovered that I was able to use a much lower setting to get the desired effect that a regular pan would need at a higher one. Perhaps you are 'over cranking' the heat and need to bring it down--that should eliminate the sputtering and burning. I find it cooks both meats & veggies well--b/c they exude their own liquids yet it browns nicely and caramelizes them too when I let the steam evaporate and add a little oil mist. The directions suggest to 'season' the pan once in a while with oil. I'd try those tactics to see if that works better for you.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 18 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jovanna
Long Island, NY
January 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Whatta pan!
January 6, 2011
This measures 15" from rim to rim to allow the additional lip for the lid to sit in. This is a massive skillet. It is 3" deep, this will feed a crowd, the perfect Paella pan for this reason. My kitchen is small so this gives me an additional 'burner.' I put this on my peninsula so I face out into my DR and LR to be with my guests as I cook. Normally, my back would be to them as I cooked on my stovetop range. So these are advantages that I haven't read in the reviews. If you fry foods with breading, you will want to add some oil to crisp it properly; but when I sauteed sliced zucchini & carrots, I needed not one drop of oil, not even broth or liquids. I seasoned it and put on the lid and the steam from the veggies was all that was needed to cook it thru. I also thought this pan would be silly to use for just 2 people, but having the extra space to stir and flip makes it a whole lot easier and w/o all the mess of food flying overboard! If you love to cook, you will love this item.
Review 19 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
njected
Salt Lake City, UT
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pure Awesomeness
December 30, 2010
First thing to point out is the build quality and size, when I got it, I made a 14" omelet. Second the non-stick surface is very high quality, everything just slides effortlessly. I made filet mignon au poivre in it , and it performed better than my Le Cruset! I am stunned. I absolutely love using this equipment. There is no reason to look around for an alternative to this skillet.
Review 20 for Cuisinart Green Gourmet Electric Skillet
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MarkinKansas
Kansas
December 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
4-5 star for lidless cooking, but...
December 14, 2010
This pan's huge area is terrific. For chicken or bacon frying the lid prevents oil/fat spattering.
But if you want to steam, simmer-cook or boil with the lid on, it's a mess-generator. Condensed water vapor travels to the lid/pan lip interface, bubbles and splutters , then drips down all around the pan's exterior circumference.
Suggestion, if you use the lid: cover the control unit with a towel to keep the control unit dry, or else "crack" the lid, to lessen drips, and confine spillover to one limited area.
Cuisinart, if you are listening, 1) put a much larger vent hole in the lid, with a sliding shutter for adjustability of the orifice size, 2) add a circular rim on the underside of the lid, about 1 in from the edge, to catch the condensate flow and direct the drippings so they land inside the pan.
Do these modifications and the pan goes to 5-star for versatility. Right now, the lid is mainly good for open-pan cooking, then covering the pan after cooking to keep the food warm.
page1 2 3 next