Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Elite Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe

Coffee lovers know that temperature is just as important as taste. This innovative machine lets you choose from three heat settings, including the hottest setting Cuisinart has ever offered. Combine that with two strength options, and you can customize your perfect cup. The Extreme Brew Elite is fast, too-brew a full pot up to 25% faster than most coffee makers. Adjustable Brewed Coffee Temperature Control uses a unique new internal heating system to provide three temperature settings: Regular, Hot and X-Hot. Touchpad controls 24-hour brew start, self-clean, 0-4 hour auto-shutoff and a 1- to 4-cup setting with surrounding blue LED lights. Equipped with Extreme Brew Technology, a re-engineered brewing process that lets you enjoy hot, fresh coffee up to 25% faster than most coffee machines. Two settings let you adjust coffee strength to your preference. Drip-free pour spout and wide-grip handle for easy serving. A 60-second reset feature recalls settings and stage of brewing process in case of loss of power. Charcoal water filter remove impurities and ensures fresh-tasting coffee. Gold-tone coffee filter is reusable, eliminating the need for paper filters. Use the Brew Pause feature to sneak a quick cup before the brew cycle has finished. Drip-free pour spout and wide-grip handle for easy serving. Audible alert signals when brew cycle is complete. Glass carafe holds up to 12 cups (60 fl. oz). ABS plastic housing. 8" x 10 1/4" x 14 3/4" high; 6 lb. 1400W. This product is intended for use in the United States and Canada and is built to United States electrical standards. Made in China.
Average Customer Rating:
3.4 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
12 of 20(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Elite Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Review 1 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Elite Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dribblenomore
,Redding
,CA
June 14, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Finally, hot coffee!
June 14, 2014
I love the ability to control how hot the coffee is. They said it was a non drip pot and it is. I can pour a cup and it does not dribble on the counter. How clever is that? It is easy to adjust the brewing strength and on and on! This is a phenomenal coffee maker.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Review 2 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Elite Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DoubleJ
,New York
,NY
Fort Lauderdale, FL
June 6, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A remarkably good coffee pot
June 6, 2014
I was pleased when my previous coffee pot developed annoying habits; justifying my purchase of this model, with which I have had previous experience. Try it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Speed, Design, makes delicious coffee
Review 3 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Elite Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
hastabeshasta
,Battle Ground
,WA
May 27, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Hot Coffee
May 27, 2014
We are pleased to have found a coffee maker that brews at a hotter temperature than the rest of the pack of similar models and having a selection for brew strength is also a plus. HOWEVER, this is our second of these units that has failed to function longer than 18 months. Each just stopped brewing suddenly. Returns for warranty were easy but the warranty on the first one ran out just before it failed the second time; so, foolishly, we purchased another of the same model. Now, 19 months later, it has stopped working.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Speed, can make very hot coffee
Cons: Quality, poor design on coffee basket
Review 4 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Elite Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CBBT
,Annapolis
,MD
November 19, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
after one year...
November 19, 2013
We have had our coffee maker for a little over a year and yesterday it died... completely unresponsive to anything.
Review 5 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Elite Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Steve752
,Madison
,WI
September 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This coffee maker a disappointment
September 16, 2013
After using Cuisinart coffee makers for years with great satisfaction, this coffee maker is an incredible disappointment. First, the basket configuration is not condusive to making good coffee. The company needs to continue the shape used in its predessesors. Second, the pot does not move all the water through the pump. And yes, we have cleaned the pot on numerous occaisions. On a positive note, it does get the coffee hot.
Pros: heats the water
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Loud
Review 6 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Elite Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hrtnsls
September 4, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Last Cuisinart Coffeemaker I will buy
September 4, 2013
When it works, it works fine. I have had Cuisinart coffeemakers before and was hesitant to buy another due to overflow. Not only is this coffeemaker slow at times but overflows more than I have ever had. There is nothing worse than setting the timer to wake to coffee on any early work morning only to find yourself cleaning coffee from the counter and floor.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 7 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Elite Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CAT17
,Harrington
,DE
May 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almost caught on fire!
May 13, 2013
Having used Cuisinary for years, I had no qualms about purchasing this approximately 6 months ago. However, while preparing dinner I smelled something burning. Realized it was the coffeemaker. It was plugged in but not on at the time. There was smoke coming out of the back near the cord and the hot plate was burning the pot. It I can not been there, I have no doubt I would have had a fire in my house.
Cons: caught on fire!
Review 8 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Elite Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MatthewC
,St. Mary's
,GA
February 19, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good and bad points
February 19, 2013
The good; Coffee is consistent and hot, the carafe pours without dripping, and the unit is easy to set up and maintain. I use fresh ground beans in the supplied mesh filter.
Now for the bad; The buttons on the control panel are terrible. You have to press them just right to get a response. The automatic timer has failed to start the brew at the set time. Here is the big one...on three separate occasions the filter holder has opened during the brew cycle letting the hot water spill directly onto the top of the carafe, and all over my counter. It's spring loaded, so as soon as it unlocks it opens fully. I guess this problem negates the issue with the timer because someone has to be in the kitchen to make sure that the coffee pot doesn't make a big mess.
Review 9 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Elite Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sasser
,Upstate
,NY
January 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just stopped working
January 15, 2013
I had high hopes for this coffeemaker but it has never worked properly. It kind of froze up--the buttons just stopped doing anything. So now I have to figure out how to ship it back to Cuisinart for a replacement--what a drag for a machine with a suggested retail price of well over $200. Also, the casing is cheap- not stainless....but plastic that gets marked up with fingerprints. Also, as a previous reviewer noted, the cone holder is not well designed. The #4 filter sticks up above and ends up folding down. If you put too many grounds in (if you like your coffee strong), the grounds end up flowing up and over the filter and into the carafe. What a mess.
After years of Krups coffeemakers, that is what I'm going back to. EXTREMELY disappointed in this piece of junk.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, stopped working
Review 10 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Elite Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jlpink
,Green Valley
,az
November 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
6of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor design for coffee basket and carafe
November 18, 2012
The design of the basket which holds the coffee filter is flawed. It is not shaped correctly to accept a cone shaped filter, therefore when you use a number 4 cone filter it sticks up over the top of the plastic basket and folds over when you close the door. The other problem with this coffee maker is the carafe , you have to pour the coffee very slowly so as not to have the coffee run our over the edge of the opening and spill on the counter. I would expect a better product from the Cuisinart Company.
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 11 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Elite Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texians
,Allen
,TX
October 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Daily Coffee Maker Ever
October 6, 2012
Between Krups, Bunn, KitchenAid, and an old Braun (back in the day), this new Cuisinart is the best coffee maker I've owned for everyday use. Although I've only used it for 2 weeks now, I've used it daily and find it easy to use, easy to clean, and the coffee is consistently brewed correctly according to the controls you set. The 3 temperature setting is a real bonus and prevents having to "warm up" the coffee in my cup after getting halfway through it.
The fit & finish is excellent and is a solidly built appliance (something I expect with Cuisinart products). It takes less cabinet space than my previous makers. I also prefer the glass carafe model with warming plate so the temperature remains constant for a longer period of time. The glass carafe is also easier to clean and shouldn't become "stained" over time. I feel I will be using/enjoying this coffeemaker for a long time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Speed, Design, Assembly
Cons: none
Review 12 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Elite Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
belleairchef
,Belleair
,FL
August 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+16points
16of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent, Hot Cup of Coffee
August 16, 2012
I've been using this coffee maker for several weeks and am delighted with it. It is a replacement for my previous machine that quit working. Fortunate for me it did. I had no idea coffee could be this consistent, delicious and hot. I love the heat and flavor strength options, allowing me to brew coffee to my preferences. It's an easily learned machine and seems relatively maintenance free, particularly since I have a designated tap that provides purified water.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 13 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Elite Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mabel2008
,crossville
,tn
August 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best coffee maker
August 16, 2012
So far very pleased with great hot coffee. Easy to use and very quick brewing time. Love the appearance. Will recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size, Speed, Design
Review 14 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Elite Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BarryfromGary
,Auburn
,Ca
June 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
9of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One pot--so far!
June 12, 2012
Initially, I really like this coffee maker. Even though I've only made 1 pot, I thought it would serve a purpose to rate it right away, then follow up after a few more uses.
If you like your coffee REALLY hot, this one does it!!! Yes, I used the X-Hot feature, and, no need to reheat in the microwave; it STAYS hot in your cup.
The lid on the 12 cup carafe "pops" on and off easily, but I would have preferred a lid that stays attached to the carafe, deleting the need to take it on-and-off each time you fill it with water, for pouring into the water reservoir.
Perhaps it's because this was the "first" pot of coffee, or, because I used a "round" paper filter, instead of the "V" shaped paper filter, (I like paper,---easier to clean and less messy), but it took over 15 minutes for the the carafe to completely fill to its 12 cup capacity!!
Maybe MY fault---we'll see, with future brews---.
I'll make another pot shortly, and will then add more comments.
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet
Cons: Speed, slow brewing time
Review 15 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Elite Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BenniesGigi
,Clarkston
,MI
Clarkston, /Michigan
April 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this Coffee Maker
April 28, 2012
I waited 8 years between coffee makers, as the coffee was never hot enough. This one is (finally) ! It is easy to operate and the water does not drip all over. I have it programmed so when I get up it is ready after a few low sounding beeps. Love the blue back lit display, works great as a kitchen night lite. Also looks very nice on counter and does not take up a lot of space.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 16 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Elite Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cabxclt
,Winslow
,ME
April 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very pleased!
April 2, 2012
So far, I am exceptionally pleased with this coffee maker. I believe it probably is one of, if not the best, coffee maker on the market right now. The temperature is very hot, it is fast and most importantly, the CARAFE DOES NOT LEAK OR DRIP!!!! IT is WONDERFUL! My only "negative" comment is that the blue backlighting is a bit bright for me and took some time to get use to. However, it does make a good kitchen night light.
Pros: Durable, Power, Speed, Design
Review 17 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Elite Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Char49
,Brecksville
,Oh
March 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love My Cuisinart
March 26, 2012
Before purchasing this coffeemaker, I read many many reviews on different sites. I had never had a coffeemaker during my 40 year marriage that made HOT coffee. I am so pleased that this coffeemaker makes a delicious and very hot cup of coffee! I am so thrilled.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 18 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Elite Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texas4me
,Jacksonville
,FL
February 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Coffee Maker
February 25, 2012
I recently purchased this coffee maker and am extremely satisfied with it! Not only does it look great, the coffee is as hot as you like it, thanks to three temp settings! I am very satisfied and wish I had purchased this sooner! I would highly recommend it, you won't be disappointed!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Design
Review 19 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Elite Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RG90025
,Westwood
,ca
January 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Finally...
January 25, 2012
They finally did it. I have purchased just about every drip coffeemaker out there. This one I like the best. Its a drip with a funnel type filter basket so the water seeps through gravity to the middle. It has wide mouth drip holes. It has 1400 watts for a 195 to 205 degree water heating. I prefer a glass carafe, so i picked this one. The carafe is TOTALLY dripless and flawless. Coffee is strong and hot and perfect. The basket is a swing out system which I don't care for, but thats no big deal. The price is right. BUY THIS MODEL. you will not be disappointed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 20 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Elite Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GeorgiaBob
,Ga
January 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Hot Coffee
January 25, 2012
Finally a coffee maker that makes coffee hot enough so that I don't have to microwave it after adding cream. I do wish the machine had a bigger basket because I like my coffee strong and the filter basket
isn't big enough to make an entire pot of strong coffee.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Quiet
Cons: filling with water is tricky