Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe

Cuisinart gets your morning off to a brisk start with a programmable coffeemaker that brews up to 25% faster than most coffee machines. This new level of speed plus adjustable strength settings ensure you'll get your morning coffee when and how you like it. Completely automatic operation with 24-hour programmability. Equipped with Extreme Brew Technology, a re-engineered brewing process that lets you enjoy hot, fresh coffee up to 25% faster than most coffee machines. A 1- to 4-cup setting maximizes flavors for smaller batches. Showerhead evenly distributes water over grounds, reducing temperature loss. Charcoal water filter removes impurities and ensures fresh-tasting coffee. A variable control on the heater plate keeps coffee at your desired serving temperature. Use the Brew Pause feature to sneak a quick cup before the brew cycle has finished. Two settings let you adjust coffee strength to your preference. Glass carafe holds up to 12 cups (60 fl.oz). Audible alert signals when brew cycle is complete.
Average Customer Rating:
3.342 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
22 of 38(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Review 1 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BarbieR
,Chicago
,Il
December 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love my Cuisinart Extreme Brew!
December 16, 2012
I have owned the coffee maker for 3 years and have been "extremely" happy with it. I went on-line to order another one for a gift and read the negative reviews, and felt the need to stand up for this product!
As for the pot turning off after 1 hour that is the factory default. If you read the directions you can change the default to 2, 3 or even 4 hours.
Also if the basket is not in inserted properly the water will stream out. But if it is inserted properly coffee brews perfectly and you are able to pour coffee mid brewing, and it does not back up in the filter.
I prefer my coffee "extremely" hot and this pot has never disappointed. The hot plate has three settings and has maintained the heat in the pot during the three hours before the automatic shut off.
This pot beeps when the brewing process is complete. It also beeps when it is shutting down.
Finally, the coffee brews quickly and the flavor is wonderful.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 2 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
malamoi
,Asheville
,NC
November 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
3of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
November 28, 2012
I replaced my beloved Cuisinart coffeemaker with this model after years of service. This model does not make hot coffee and the warmer plate does not keep it hot. The warmer plate shuts off after one hour and there is no way to override this. My prior coffeemaker allowed the user to set the warmer for up to 2 hours. My new model is only 1 month old and has not malfunctioned yet but warm coffee for one hour is not acceptable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quiet, Design
Cons: coffee is not hot and does not stay warm
Review 3 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JBdub
,Columbia
,MO
November 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
way too messy
November 24, 2012
This coffee make is all sizzle and no steak. It is very easily for coffee to backup an end up all over the carafe heater and counter. When removing used coffee filter, water flows down the opened lid with another mess on the counter to clean up, Punt!
Pros: pretty
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, High-Maintenance, messy
Review 4 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Goodgolle
,San Francisco
,CA
November 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
worst coffee pot ever
November 22, 2012
Worst coffee maker we've ever had. It was on sale and I can see why. Luke warm coffee is bad enough, but the water consistently would spill out of the filter and create a disaster of coffee all over the counter and floor. We would never set it on automatic as we had to watch to make sure that the spilling wouldn't occur. Awful product. We threw it away.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, Unreliable
Review 5 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ponysnooper
,Piedmont
,SC
October 19, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
3of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worst Coffeemaker I've Ever Owned
October 19, 2012
I have the thermal carafe on this model. It brews very lukewarm coffee. My husband has a $10 coffeemaker for his business that brews better hot coffee than this one. The lid design on the carafe is inexcusable. It is real difficult to remove after using it. The coffee taste quality is fair at best. I miss my Capresso. I'm hoping WS will take it back. It's really that bad.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Quiet
Review 6 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Irenean
,Taos
,NM
September 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing
September 6, 2012
We purchased this not quite 3 months ago. It has always seemed slow to brew a full pot. The basket is too small to make 12 cups at the strength I like. Also, from the beginning, the "get a cup early" feature that allows you to pour a cup before the brew cycle is done without dripping has never worked. The final straw this morning occurred when the water did not filter through the coffee at all, rather backed up, making a mess inside and outside the entire machine. This machine is going back. I will try one more Cuisinart, since I've had good luck with other appliances of their name. This one is a lemon!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quiet, Design
Cons: Quality, Speed, Temperamental, water flow flawed
Review 7 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kaye9110
,Louisville
,KY
August 18, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cuisinart 10-cup programmable thermal coffee maker
August 18, 2012
Doesn't get hot enough to brew a decent cup of coffee. You need to use a larger amount of coffee than other makers to try to achieve a richer taste. We tried for a week to achieve a decent cup of coffee by using various amounts of coffee and expensive brands. Took it back for a refund. The design was nice and we trusted the Cuisinart name, but won't buy that name again.
Review 8 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DanaF
,Atlantic Highlands
,NJ
August 3, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Clogged after 6 months
August 3, 2012
I received this as a gift and it worked fine for the first 6 months. Over the last few weeks, it shuts off after filtering a few cups of water. I followed all the directions in the manual to decalcify it. After talking with Cuisinart, I followed a more intense decalcification process. It would still not filter any water. Cuisinart is sending me another one but I have to pay for them to ship it to me and I have to pay for the return shipping of the broken one.
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 9 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChrisP51
,N. Olmsted
,OH
July 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to Use and Good Coffee!
July 5, 2012
Our previous coffee maker simply quit working one day.
A lot of reviews were read and the good and bad points of dozens of coffeemakers and systems was hashed over.
While some of the more expensive units did seem appealing and reviewed well, the Cuisinart DCC2650 also got a fair share of very positive ink.
The units was easy to set up, and we were ready to try it in the a.m. The results were great and have been over the last 14 pots.
The coffee we now enjoy daily is more flavorful, and thanks to the variable hot plate, stays hot until we are done. The glass carafe is drip proof, and the coffee maker is easy to fill with it. The auto shutoff sometimes has dripped a few drops, but nothing to be alarmed about. I don't know if we will ever need to use the programming function as the coffee does brew pretty fast especially when compared to our previous coffeemaker.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, set up was a breeze
Review 10 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ddtheriault
,San Francisco
,CA
March 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fine Coffee Maker So Far
March 15, 2012
I have the Extreme Brew with the glass carafe and am very pleased with the product. Nice heft, feels sturdy, and the glass carafe is of thicker glass than others. I use the "bold" brew for a slower brew so my coffee comes out strong and I also enjoy the 1-4 cup brew option. I prefer not to use the gold filter but the paper filter since the paper absorbs the LDL's in the coffee. All-in-all, very satisified with this product. Living in SF, I also don't plan on having much for high mineral content building in the coffee maker (not hard water, thank goodness), therefore, cleaning will occur less often than for others.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, beeps only 5 times not that loud!
Review 11 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
arcana
,Westchester County
,NY
March 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fast Brew and Perfect
March 3, 2012
I have been a Bunn Coffee maker user for over 20 years and got sooo tired of it breaking down on us every couple of years. I reluctantly ordered this coffee maker, have had it for 8 months, and I am very pleased. So, a few technical points: I do not use the timer but it is a FAST FAST brewing machine, it does have a timer to shut itself off after whatever time you set it to, and it preserves the ever addicting taste and smell of the coffee for the duration. My only beef is that if you EVER make a mistake of leaving the carafe lid off and start to brew, you will have a major mess on your hands, as it does NOT point the coffee directly below into the carafe. I think if a sensor was present to not brew as opposed to brew and proceed to spew all over when the lid is not on, it would have gotten 5 stars from me. It is not the easiest thing in the world to clean but I still love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean, lid must be on or it will pour all over!
Review 12 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
karrer
November 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
3of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
does not provide "hot" coffee
November 19, 2011
Does not provide "hot" coffee even using the thermal carafe.
Cons: Quality
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
kittyb
Waldwick, NJ
Posted March 30, 2013
Top 10 Contributor
Sorry to hear that!
I have the glass carafe version & have had for almost three years... I have heard that the carafe version you need to run under hot water before using...sounds strange & counterproductive ! Especially if use the timer which defeats the purpose... Maybe try the glass version. Hope this helps! Good luck! Also mine has a 1-4 hour (you have to set manually) time to set how long the hot plate remains on.
0points
Customer avatar
R317
Wisconsin
Posted April 1, 2012
Hot coffee
I bought my coffee maker 9 months ago. We started to notice the coffee temperature
Decrease over time. And we notice the coffee maker shuts off quicker then it did when brand new. We looked over the instructions and no controls for shut off time
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elthom
October 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Coffee Pot Around!
October 19, 2011
My husband and I got this coffee pot as a wedding gift, and we just love it! It makes delicious, hot coffee each and every time! Great product that we will have for years.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Speed, Design
Review 14 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StephM
,Tulsa
,Ok
Tulsa, OK
September 25, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great coffemaker. Great investment
September 25, 2011
After reading some of the reviews on WS website and because of the price I hesitated to shell out the dough. But in the store I was told if we didn't like it I could return it. Don't need to...this is a great coffeemaker. Well worth the full price but we got it for $99. You can completely control the strength of the coffee (by the amount of offee you include or by the "bold/regular" button. The auto start works well. And I never realized how bad our old coffeemaker was and how much the crafte leaked and dribbled until we got the cuisinart and it didn't leak at all. Bottom line: good cup of coffee; great style; great functionality. Only downside is it takes a little lomger brew than our old maker but the slight delay is sooooo worth it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Size, Design, Assembly
Cons: Speed
Review 15 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nonnycooks
Leoma, TN
August 15, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love this coffee maker!
August 15, 2011
I love it! My coffee taste great, no bitter taste. This machine has all the features I love.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 16 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kittyb
Waldwick, NJ
August 4, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Coffee Pot!
August 4, 2011
If you have been reviewing, testing and driving yourself crazy...look no further. My husband purchased as a Christmas gift and I am glad he did. The pricepoint may seem a bit high, but I believe you get what you pay for. Thanks Williams-Sonoma you never disappoint.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 17 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thebeanjuicer
New York
July 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Finally, a no drip coffee pot!!
July 27, 2011
I liked this one based on features and reviews. It replacesmy old coffee pot (A GE, that leaked water on counter every time it was used), but so far I love the extreme brew . Has all the features I need with a great finish (stainless steel appearance) that never seems to show fingerprints. . I seem to use more grinds now for same 12 cups coffee that I did with my GE. That being said, the cuisinart makes an excellent pot of coffee when you get it right. By far my favorite feature is that it has not dripped once so far. Not when pouring a cup or when removing the pitcher during the brewing process for those times when you just can't wait for that first cup. ( I take the pot out slowly and so far, not a drop spilled). The only negatives I can say about this coffee maker is that it took a little while to get the bean/water ratio right . I recommend reading the instructions. I made the error of brewing a full pot of coffee in the 1-4 cup setting and the taste was off.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Quiet, Design
Cons: Temperamental
Review 18 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
catminer
NJ
July 22, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Brews weak coffee
July 22, 2011
Maybe because of the faster brewing time, this coffeemaker brews extremely weak coffee, even using the setting for a stronger brew. No matter what coffee or setting used, the coffee was unacceptable. No strength/no flavor
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Cons: Quality, Speed, Size, brews weak coffee
Review 19 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
kcal2002
Southbury, ct
July 9, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
weak coffee
July 9, 2011
This pot brews weak coffee in my opinion. Perhaps because of the faster brew time , but i tried many different types of beans and found the result to be the same. I like strong coffee and this didnt do it for me..Had to return to store.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Speed
Cons: quality of brew
Review 20 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Edmonds, WA
June 19, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great coffee maker!
June 19, 2011
This my third Cusinart Brewer. As long as you put the correct amount of coffee and also the correct amount of water in the machine you will get a great cup of coffee. The WS Cusinart is a better machine than the DCC 1200 model. I think it's better constructed and it also has a water level indicator on the side. It does cost about double the price of the 1200 model but I think it's well worth it. Also the machine has a 3 year limited warranty which Conair/Cusinart will honor even without a receipt. My DCC 1200 broke after about 6 months and I received a brand new one within 2 days after they received my broken one. I'm sure the William Sonoma coffee maker will work for a long time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
page1 2 next