Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe

Cuisinart gets your morning off to a brisk start with a programmable coffeemaker that brews up to 25% faster than most coffee machines. This new level of speed plus adjustable strength settings ensure you'll get your morning coffee when and how you like it. Completely automatic operation with 24-hour programmability. Equipped with Extreme Brew Technology, a re-engineered brewing process that lets you enjoy hot, fresh coffee up to 25% faster than most coffee machines. A 1- to 4-cup setting maximizes flavors for smaller batches. Showerhead evenly distributes water over grounds, reducing temperature loss. Charcoal water filter removes impurities and ensures fresh-tasting coffee. A variable control on the heater plate keeps coffee at your desired serving temperature. Use the Brew Pause feature to sneak a quick cup before the brew cycle has finished. Two settings let you adjust coffee strength to your preference. Glass carafe holds up to 12 cups (60 fl.oz). Audible alert signals when brew cycle is complete.
Average Customer Rating:
2.667 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
6 of 15(40%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Review 1 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gasquet
,San Mateo
,CA
September 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great when it works---not when it doesn't!
September 18, 2014
Maybe I am just messy..... but my THIRD one just died. The first, just plain overheated and that was that. W-S replaced. The second got a clogged water line---husband fixed it by taking it all apart, and removing the filter in the water line. The third one... clogged water line again.... dead as a doornail. I dragged out the repaired one that is noisy without the filter. Reading Consumer Reports... and may just head on over to a basic Mr Coffee C-R Best Buy. C-R User comments on Cuisinart are low.
Pros: Time-saver, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Temperamental
Review 2 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TMcc
,Prior Lake
,MN
September 10, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cuisinart Extreme
September 10, 2014
I gave it a 2 because the jury is still out. I have made a few adjustments; set the temp on high, the strength on bold and the heating plate on 2 hours instead of one. It has made the coffee a little better, but still not getting the full flavor I want? Tomorrow I will use a paper filter instead of the gold insert filter. Hope it works or the maker is going back. I'm kind of a coffee snob. My last cuisinart made yummy coffee, may go back to that.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
TMcc
Prior Lake, MN
Posted September 17, 2014
Returned it!
After trying every which way to get a flavorful cup of coffee, I gave up. Nothing worked. I exchanged it for the one I previously owned; the regular Cuisinart, 12 cup. I value a good cup of joe in the morning. The extreme brew was a disappointment.
My theory is theat the water flows thres too quickly, not allowing time for the water to soak up a rich flavor.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eric829
,Philadelphia
,Pa
July 24, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite coffee maker
July 24, 2014
I've been using this coffee maker for several months. I love it. Fortunately I hadn't read the reviews before I bought it. That would probably have dissuaded me from a good purchase. Make sure the carafe is properly seated and that the temperature is set to your preference.
For me this purchase has been a win.
Based on my experience i will give preference to other Cuisinart products.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Design, cool industrial design
Review 4 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CharlotteUSA
,Fort Bragg
,NC
June 10, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
everything it says on the box
June 10, 2014
Makes a nice pot of coffee without any fuss. Instant coffee makers can be handy but it's nice to have a proper pot brewing that scents the kitchen with the smell of coffee in the morning.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Review 5 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BarbieR
,Chicago
,Il
December 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+21points
21of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love my Cuisinart Extreme Brew!
December 16, 2012
I have owned the coffee maker for 3 years and have been "extremely" happy with it. I went on-line to order another one for a gift and read the negative reviews, and felt the need to stand up for this product!
As for the pot turning off after 1 hour that is the factory default. If you read the directions you can change the default to 2, 3 or even 4 hours.
Also if the basket is not in inserted properly the water will stream out. But if it is inserted properly coffee brews perfectly and you are able to pour coffee mid brewing, and it does not back up in the filter.
I prefer my coffee "extremely" hot and this pot has never disappointed. The hot plate has three settings and has maintained the heat in the pot during the three hours before the automatic shut off.
This pot beeps when the brewing process is complete. It also beeps when it is shutting down.
Finally, the coffee brews quickly and the flavor is wonderful.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 6 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
malamoi
,Asheville
,NC
November 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
3of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
November 28, 2012
I replaced my beloved Cuisinart coffeemaker with this model after years of service. This model does not make hot coffee and the warmer plate does not keep it hot. The warmer plate shuts off after one hour and there is no way to override this. My prior coffeemaker allowed the user to set the warmer for up to 2 hours. My new model is only 1 month old and has not malfunctioned yet but warm coffee for one hour is not acceptable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quiet, Design
Cons: coffee is not hot and does not stay warm
Review 7 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JBdub
,Columbia
,MO
November 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
way too messy
November 24, 2012
This coffee make is all sizzle and no steak. It is very easily for coffee to backup an end up all over the carafe heater and counter. When removing used coffee filter, water flows down the opened lid with another mess on the counter to clean up, Punt!
Pros: pretty
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, High-Maintenance, messy
Review 8 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Goodgolle
,San Francisco
,CA
November 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
worst coffee pot ever
November 22, 2012
Worst coffee maker we've ever had. It was on sale and I can see why. Luke warm coffee is bad enough, but the water consistently would spill out of the filter and create a disaster of coffee all over the counter and floor. We would never set it on automatic as we had to watch to make sure that the spilling wouldn't occur. Awful product. We threw it away.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, Unreliable
Review 9 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ponysnooper
,Piedmont
,SC
October 19, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
3of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worst Coffeemaker I've Ever Owned
October 19, 2012
I have the thermal carafe on this model. It brews very lukewarm coffee. My husband has a $10 coffeemaker for his business that brews better hot coffee than this one. The lid design on the carafe is inexcusable. It is real difficult to remove after using it. The coffee taste quality is fair at best. I miss my Capresso. I'm hoping WS will take it back. It's really that bad.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Quiet
Review 10 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Irenean
,Taos
,NM
September 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing
September 6, 2012
We purchased this not quite 3 months ago. It has always seemed slow to brew a full pot. The basket is too small to make 12 cups at the strength I like. Also, from the beginning, the "get a cup early" feature that allows you to pour a cup before the brew cycle is done without dripping has never worked. The final straw this morning occurred when the water did not filter through the coffee at all, rather backed up, making a mess inside and outside the entire machine. This machine is going back. I will try one more Cuisinart, since I've had good luck with other appliances of their name. This one is a lemon!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quiet, Design
Cons: Quality, Speed, Temperamental, water flow flawed
Review 11 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kaye9110
,Louisville
,KY
August 18, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cuisinart 10-cup programmable thermal coffee maker
August 18, 2012
Doesn't get hot enough to brew a decent cup of coffee. You need to use a larger amount of coffee than other makers to try to achieve a richer taste. We tried for a week to achieve a decent cup of coffee by using various amounts of coffee and expensive brands. Took it back for a refund. The design was nice and we trusted the Cuisinart name, but won't buy that name again.
Review 12 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DanaF
,Atlantic Highlands
,NJ
August 3, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Clogged after 6 months
August 3, 2012
I received this as a gift and it worked fine for the first 6 months. Over the last few weeks, it shuts off after filtering a few cups of water. I followed all the directions in the manual to decalcify it. After talking with Cuisinart, I followed a more intense decalcification process. It would still not filter any water. Cuisinart is sending me another one but I have to pay for them to ship it to me and I have to pay for the return shipping of the broken one.
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 13 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChrisP51
,N. Olmsted
,OH
July 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to Use and Good Coffee!
July 5, 2012
Our previous coffee maker simply quit working one day.
A lot of reviews were read and the good and bad points of dozens of coffeemakers and systems was hashed over.
While some of the more expensive units did seem appealing and reviewed well, the Cuisinart DCC2650 also got a fair share of very positive ink.
The units was easy to set up, and we were ready to try it in the a.m. The results were great and have been over the last 14 pots.
The coffee we now enjoy daily is more flavorful, and thanks to the variable hot plate, stays hot until we are done. The glass carafe is drip proof, and the coffee maker is easy to fill with it. The auto shutoff sometimes has dripped a few drops, but nothing to be alarmed about. I don't know if we will ever need to use the programming function as the coffee does brew pretty fast especially when compared to our previous coffeemaker.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, set up was a breeze
Review 14 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ddtheriault
,San Francisco
,CA
March 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fine Coffee Maker So Far
March 15, 2012
I have the Extreme Brew with the glass carafe and am very pleased with the product. Nice heft, feels sturdy, and the glass carafe is of thicker glass than others. I use the "bold" brew for a slower brew so my coffee comes out strong and I also enjoy the 1-4 cup brew option. I prefer not to use the gold filter but the paper filter since the paper absorbs the LDL's in the coffee. All-in-all, very satisified with this product. Living in SF, I also don't plan on having much for high mineral content building in the coffee maker (not hard water, thank goodness), therefore, cleaning will occur less often than for others.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, beeps only 5 times not that loud!
Review 15 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
arcana
,Westchester County
,NY
March 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fast Brew and Perfect
March 3, 2012
I have been a Bunn Coffee maker user for over 20 years and got sooo tired of it breaking down on us every couple of years. I reluctantly ordered this coffee maker, have had it for 8 months, and I am very pleased. So, a few technical points: I do not use the timer but it is a FAST FAST brewing machine, it does have a timer to shut itself off after whatever time you set it to, and it preserves the ever addicting taste and smell of the coffee for the duration. My only beef is that if you EVER make a mistake of leaving the carafe lid off and start to brew, you will have a major mess on your hands, as it does NOT point the coffee directly below into the carafe. I think if a sensor was present to not brew as opposed to brew and proceed to spew all over when the lid is not on, it would have gotten 5 stars from me. It is not the easiest thing in the world to clean but I still love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean, lid must be on or it will pour all over!