This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Cricut Cake Decorating Machine

Create professional-looking cakes, cupcakes, cookies is as easy as pushing a button, thanks to the Cricut Cake Decorating Machine. This electronic cutter quickly trims sheets of gum paste, fondant or frosting into the shapes you choose. Simply peel and place the decorations for beautiful results every time. Choose from thousands of shapes, lettering styles and messages that can be cut in sizes from 1/4" to 23 1/2". Simple to use: just choose a shape, select a size and press the button. Quickly and precisely cuts the designs you select. Easy to customize and compatible with all existing Cricut Cake cartridges. Peel and position decorations, then attach with icing. Comes with Cricut Cake Basics cartridge, with 600 images. Includes cutting mat and font cartridge. Rugged stainless-steel construction. Powder-coated red finish.
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
5 of 9(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cricut Cake Decorating Machine
Review 1 for Cricut Cake Decorating Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TracyF
Los Angeles, CA
March 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Brings cake decorating to a new level
March 16, 2011
This product definitely brought my decorating to a new level. I did struggle a bit in the beginning but read hints from others and came up with a few of my own. Once I got familiar with the machine, I was cutting like a pro.
Review 2 for Cricut Cake Decorating Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SweetShirley
Jacksonville, Fla
March 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Love my Cricut Cake
March 16, 2011
Be patient. My first few attempts to use this was a pain. My advice ... whether you are using gum paste or fondant...after you mount it to the mat..pop it in the freezer until really cools down. the stiffer it is, the better it cuts. once the material gets warm it will pull and shape shift. Stay away from the frosting sheets. I couldn't make them work to save my life no matter what I tried to make them work. Gum paste is better for the 3-D effect as it dries hard. Once you cut your shape and it dries.. I stuck my finished product in the microwave for just a second or two to make it pliable enough to wrap around the cake. Stick with it once you are past the learning curve your cakes will be AWESOME and impressive.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Cricut Cake Decorating Machine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LAbaker
Los Angeles
March 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
7of 14found this review helpful.
Waste of Money
March 16, 2011
My cakes taste great but are really plain and I thought Cricut Cake would answer my prayers. It was an epic fail. The cuts were jagged and difficult to remove from the mat. I know some are able to figure the machine out but I'm a wife, mother, and have a full time job and don't have endless hours to tinker with this. I tried asking Cricut with help in troubleshooting but they were no help. You also need to buy additional cartridges to make different cuts. They're seriously running a racket. Sucker that I am, I actually did spend another few hundred bucks on cartridges only to discover the SCAL program which allows you a larger universe of cuts without needing to go through Cricut.
Review 4 for Cricut Cake Decorating Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CricutMomma
Louisiana
March 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Great Tool...takes patience
March 16, 2011
This is an excellent tool for decorating cakes and other confections, but don't expect to be a Professional Decorator with the first use. I recommend using a store bought fondant at first to practice (of course I still use store bought fondant). Make sure you roll your fondant to 1/16" thick (use a rolling pin with guides). Also make sure you coat the mat liberally with shortening. Place your rolled out fondant on the mat and then pop the mat and fondant in the freezer for 30 seconds to 1 minute to firm it up. Cut your desired image (start with a slow setting and a pressure of about 3) and then place your mat back in the freezer for a quick firm up. Then you can easily remove the design and transfer your image onto your cake. Practice makes perfect.
Review 5 for Cricut Cake Decorating Machine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mommacakemaker
Bend, OR
March 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Cake machine takes a little patience
March 16, 2011
I love my cricut cake machine. It has inpired me to decorate cakes for every occassion. It helps if you put your fondant in the freezer for a couple minutes to help with clean cuts. Working with gum paste I have found little error but also place it in the freezer for a couple minutes before and then after the cuts. I would suggest to buy more than one cutting mat.
Review 6 for Cricut Cake Decorating Machine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
dictionary
San Jose, CA
January 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Not a great tool
January 24, 2011
Had high hopes for this but did not cut well. I love Williams Sonoma products but this one missed the boat.
Review 7 for Cricut Cake Decorating Machine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JimK
Washinton State
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
4of 9found this review helpful.
Williams Sonoma Couldn't Get it Right
January 4, 2011
I ordered the Cricut Cake for my wife for Christmas. When it arrived and was opened it was discovered that pieces were missing. Williams Sonoma picked up the defect and sent a replacement. The replacement too had pieces missing and could not be used as shipped. This time Williams Sonoma did not offer to repalce my machine with one that contained all the parts to use it. Instead they offered to send the missing pieces but could not guarantee when I would recieve them. Back it goes...for a full refund. I will purchase the Cricut Cake from a different vendor.
Review 8 for Cricut Cake Decorating Machine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
homecook39
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Not What was Expected
January 4, 2011
I was disappointed with the cutting tool. Most cuts didn't come out clean. I love the quality products that are offered by William Sonoma. Was suprised to see William Sonoma carry it.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Shelleyssweets
Rouseville, PA
Posted March 16, 2011
trial and error
Dont give up. I purchased a Cricut Cake machine and it works great! but you have to have patience. You need to experiment with the speed, pressure and depth controls. Take notes on what setting works....and what doesnt. Different types of fondant or icing sheets require different settings. Also, fondant that is overly warm will be pulled by the blade as it sticks to it. Watch youtube videos and read the helpful hints on the Cricut website. Good Luck!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Cricut Cake Decorating Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LynnF
Heath, TX
December 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
16of 18found this review helpful.
Awesome Product
December 9, 2010
I always admired people that could make beautifully decorated cakes. Now with the Cricut Cake Machine I am one of those people. I can'e believe how easy this machine makes it for anyone to make gorgeous cakes.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Chocolateman
San Francisco, CA
Posted January 5, 2011
Question
Did it come with ink or did you have to buy it separate?
Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)