Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Creamy Caramel

Sweet and sophisticated, our starter makes it easy to prepare homemade ice cream with the irresistible taste of creamy caramel, a perfectly balanced blend of browned-sugar sweetness with a hint of salt. Simply mix with heavy cream and half-and-half, pour into your ice cream maker and freeze. In about 30 minutes, you'll enjoy creamy ice cream that appeals to kids and grownups alike. 12.7 oz. (contains two individually sealed packets; each makes 1 quart premium ice cream). Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Creamy Caramel
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Creamy Caramel
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Martha's Vineyard
,Ma
June 21, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great ice cream starter with exception
June 21, 2016
Everything about this product is terrific except it is much too sweet. There are many customers like me who avoid refined sugar or prefer a lighter hand in the sweet department.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Time-saver, Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Unhealthy, Ingredients, too sweet
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Creamy Caramel
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,LA
,CA
January 13, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Honestly, why?
January 13, 2016
Oh boy! Ice cream starter! I thought there must be some sort of Williams Sonoma magic in the container like there is in so many other WS mixes and sauces. But no. This is literally sugar, vanilla, and salt. In a tub. The ice cream tastes good because it's homemade, not because of a special, packaged WS amazingness. If you have a good basic ice cream recipe, it calls for exactly the same ingredients, you just scoop them out of your *much* cheaper bags. I made another batch, scooping out of my own bags and using good quality vanilla, and guess what! The ice cream tasted *exactly* the same.
Cons: Ingredients, expensive for what it is
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Creamy Caramel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,IA
December 31, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
ice cream starter
December 31, 2015
I always read reviews and bought the caramel & strawberry ice cream starters. So easy and so delicious. Money well spent.
Pros: Flavor, Time-saver, Easy to Prepare
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Creamy Caramel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Oceanside
,CA
San Diego, CA
October 4, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is beyond great!
October 4, 2015
I tried this mix not know knowing what to expect, but both my husband and I were wowed by the great flavor of this ice cream. I am glad I ordered 2 containers. I added nuts and caramel bits and It is a definite winner.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Time-saver, Decadent, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Creamy Caramel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Truth or Consequences
,NM
July 31, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Homemade doesn't get any better!
July 31, 2015
We love these ice cream starters and ice cream maker! Delicious, gourmet and easy! What more could you want?! Oh yeah, another helping please!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Easy to Prepare
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Creamy Caramel
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Glendale
,CA
March 11, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
New Flavor
March 11, 2015
This product could replace Flan for Cinco de Mayo, but there was some waxy taste to it.
Pros: Flavor
Cons: Texture
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Creamy Caramel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Salt Lake Ciry
,UT
August 26, 2014
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow it's good
August 26, 2014
My family thinks I make the best ice cream in the world. Its so easy with this starter. I have used all the flavors and they are all good but the caramel is my favorite.
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Creamy Caramel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Howell
,MI
June 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
New Flavor is the BOMB!
June 20, 2014
This new flavor is exquisite! My addition to it- rum soaked raisins- to die for! The flavor of this creamy delight is one of their best!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, rum soaked raisins