Coq Au Vin Braising Base

Our authentic sauce simplifies preparing rich, savory coq au vin, an old favorite of French cooks. It combines full-bodied red wine, earthy cremini mushrooms, red onions, carrots and traditional seasonings, long-simmered to achieve delicious depth and complexity. Made with the highest-quality all-natural ingredients, including red wine, mushrooms, onions and carrots, seasoned with European parsley, thyme and bay leaves. Simply combine the base and chicken pieces in a slow cooker or Dutch oven, simmer and enjoy. 24.5 oz.Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.033 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
23 of 30(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
Review 1 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
KellyUTSW
,Irving
,TX
January 20, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
little bit disappointed in this sauce
January 20, 2013
I've made my own sauces using classic recipes such as Julia Child's; but since I'm always short on time (who isn't these days) I thought I'd try WS version. It was really quick and easy; but I was surprised to see it contains corn syrup. It was much too sweet/tangy for me; although my husband just loved it. I will buy it again but next time try diluting it with more red wine..
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Ingredients, Flavor
Review 2 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Chicago
,Il
January 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
January 13, 2013
This is yet another smash hit for Williams Sonoma! I served Coq au Vin last night at a dinner party for my friends and they RAVED about it! I previously read a few of the other reviews and added 3/4 cup red wine (Cab. Sauv.) to the mix along with 1TBSP minced garlic. The combination was terrific! I served the dish over hot buttered noodles and voila', a wonderful Coq au Vin dish was born. Thanks so much Willians Sonoma for this wonderful product!!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 3 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
kras
February 22, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing
February 22, 2012
I have a good recipe for this dish, but it is labor intensive. I hoped that this short cut would yield good results, but was not pleased. It does not have the flavors of a true Coq Au Vin. It was easy to thicken the sauce at the end - removed a small amount from the slow cooker to a saucepan, and whisked in a little corn starch. Added the thickened liquid back to the remaining sauce in the slow cooker for a perfect consistency. I'll use my own recipe the next time.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Flavor
Review 4 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trish2211
,Linwood
,NJ
January 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and delicious
January 21, 2012
My 17 year old daughter used this to make dinner for our family one evening. We all loved it. The rave reviews were all the inspiration she needed to continue cooking. We have loved loved loved every dinner she has made using Williams-Sonoma products. Thank you.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 5 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BiCoastalFoodie
,Hoboken
,NJ
January 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to Make, But Not My Favorite W-S Sauce
January 8, 2012
Let me start by saying I'm a HUGE fan of W-S sauces. I have used many of the sauces for dinner parties over the years (especially ones for short ribs) and always received rave reviews from guests. But, this sauce really falls far shorter than the others. Easy to make? Yes. But, the flavor was very disappointing. It definitely needs more "vin", most notably. If I made it again, I'd need to "doctor" it up significantly.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 6 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HomeCookedIsBetter
,NC
November 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Flavor
November 7, 2011
My family raved - this was an absolute hit! We used 2-3 lbs of boneless, skinless chicken breasts browned in the bacon drippings. Added fresh carrots, pearl onions, and a bay leaf. Dinner was ready in an hour. Initially, it did have a strong acidic taste (vinegar or wine?). A little sugar balanced it out. (One or two tsp.) The sauce was a bit thinner than we prefer, but softened butter with some flour thickened it up in a flash. Served on egg noodles with fresh-baked crusty bread and we were good to go. Everyone gave it two thumbs up.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 7 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Somy100
,Rochester
,NY
Rochester, NY
November 7, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Turning Everyday Chicken into Fine French Cuisine
November 7, 2011
I always pride myself on cooking from scratch but with busy schedules, I need to turn to my Williams-Sonoma kitchen helpers. The ingredients are the same as my own recipes; great vegetables, sauces and spices. This was the first time I'd used the Coq Au Vin Braising Base and I was very pleased with the results. So was my family. I would definitely use it again.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 8 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
FamilyDinner
Tacoma WA
July 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
EH...not as expected
July 11, 2011
I prefer other bases over this one. It just doesn't compare to some of the other briasing bases.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Flavor
Review 9 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tabortooth
Phoenix, Az
April 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantasric sauce
April 26, 2011
I love this sauce!! Cq Au Vin is one of my families favorite, and this sauce does it justice. Follow the recipe on the label and you can't go wrong.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 10 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sharbear
Roseville, CA
March 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good comfort meal
March 18, 2011
When the winter weather gets the best of us, especially after a long day at work or with the kids, we crave those hardy stews. This is a great base - I use only chicken breasts, add carrots, onions and celery. A nice sour dough and it is a great weekday meal. My neighbor thought I made it from scratch!
Not during the week my friend.
Review 11 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jrmjr
Los Angeles, CA
February 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No Base for Coq Au Vin Lovers
February 20, 2011
This is the first time I have ever been disappointed with a WS product. I make a coq au vin recipe of my own which admittedly is labor intensive and I was hoping for a quick shortcut when I bought this product, but it didn"to do the trick. Not even close. Very gloppy with an excess of mushrooms. I tried it twice, the second time adding a mirapoix of root vegetables and a half of cup of claret and it stil tasted very tired and overcooked. I think the base has some promise without the mushrooms but it really doesn't offer any advantage at all over my recipe. In my opinion they need to start over without the mushrooms. The coq au vin recipe on the label needs a major revamp. I am happy to share my recipe which has many many admirers if that is of interest to the WS constituency.
By the way everything else I've bought from WS over the past 25 years is great.
I love these guys!! But everyone has their faults.
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mrsleepy
Asheville, NC
February 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very tasty
February 16, 2011
I followed the directions on the jar, except I used cipollini onions and simmered it longer. We all loved it, even my 2 1/2 year old
Review 13 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YourTheBestCookMom
California
February 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tastes Homemade!
February 15, 2011
I am a huge fan of all of the Williams-Sonoma sauces and base products but I must say this one in particular is my families most favorite! We are a busy family and I don't have much time to prepare fancy meals every night but this braising base makes it so easy to have a meal my grandmother would have spent the whole day in the kitchen preparing!
Review 14 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
askagirl
Atlanta, Ga
December 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Phenomenal!
December 16, 2010
You couldnt ask for something more simple! Cooked with boneless chicken breast in a CROCKPOT! Saved some of the sauce to add over chicken and linguini noodles for the last touch. Even better the next day. True testimony...my friends wanted the recipe.
Review 15 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Angelino
Los Angeles
December 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of my favorite sauces from WS
December 5, 2010
I have used this braising base several times for dinner parties, and it is always a big hit. I found it easy to prepare and easy to add some personal touches to make it more "my own."
Review 16 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bella09
Salt lake city utah
December 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not worth the money
December 1, 2010
I love to make Coq Au Vin and thought this was a steal for the ingredients that it replaced. My family would not even eat it and I had to throw it out! It tasted like vinegar was used instead of wine and I could barely stomach it. Not worth it at all!!
Review 17 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jasamy
Toledo, OH
July 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almost Perfect
July 11, 2010
Have used this multiple times. Great flavor. Even my picky 4 and 7 year old children love it. I usually add Cut up carrots in the beginning and sauteed mushrooms at the end. It is very saucy, and almost too much so. Even with dredging the chicken in flour the sauce is like water at the end. I like to serve over noodles so wish the sauce was a little thicker. That would be my only drawback. At first I balked at the price, but I would probably spend way more making my own and this saves a ton of time. I can usually feed 6-8 adults and 2 kids with a whole jar (with a little left over). So totally worth it!
Review 18 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sand334
Montgomery, AL
June 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this Sauce
June 25, 2010
I just love this Sauce. It tates just like home made. It was easy and quick to put chicken together for a great meal and easy to prepare. It is far cheaper than buying all those ingredients and it taste just great. Love it.
Review 19 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CA2NJ
New Jersey
May 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Coq Au Vin made easy
May 11, 2010
My family got me a jar of this sauce as a part of a gift basket full of WS items. I made it thinking I'd have leftovers, but nothing was left (4 people). Even my picky kids loved it. It was very easy. One pan and I added extra (red) onions, spices and wine. I will definitely be making this again and again.
Review 20 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sweetcooker
Chicago Suburbs
April 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AMAZZIINNNGGGG
April 27, 2010
I have made dinner with the Coq Au Vin sauce a few times now. Sometimes I feel like $16 is pricey but then I remember I can get two meals out of this (2 people) not to mention everytime I make it I am always wanting more. Make sure to buy fresh bread to dip up extra sauce left on your plate. I served this with lil russet potatoes. It tastes so rich and I was almost shocked to read "slowcookerfan"s review that said it had no taste.......please ignore her review. The first time I made this for my boyfriend he looked at me and said "Will you marry me?" Need I say more!! lol
page1 2 next