Coq Au Vin Braising Base

Our authentic sauce simplifies preparing rich, savory coq au vin, an old favorite of French cooks. It combines full-bodied red wine, earthy cremini mushrooms, red onions, carrots and traditional seasonings, long-simmered to achieve delicious depth and complexity. Made with the highest-quality all-natural ingredients, including red wine, mushrooms, onions and carrots, seasoned with European parsley, thyme and bay leaves. Simply combine the base and chicken pieces in a slow cooker or Dutch oven, simmer and enjoy. 24.5 oz.Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
4 of 6(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
Review 1 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sallyslowcooker
,Alto
,NM
October 2, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My absolute favorite braising sauce
October 2, 2014
The rich sauce makes an easy company quality meal! My family loves it. I order it every year in time for winter weather. I make it exactly as directed and it turns out wonderful every time. I have given it as a gift several times and it is always a hit!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 2 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
KellyUTSW
,Irving
,TX
January 20, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
little bit disappointed in this sauce
January 20, 2013
I've made my own sauces using classic recipes such as Julia Child's; but since I'm always short on time (who isn't these days) I thought I'd try WS version. It was really quick and easy; but I was surprised to see it contains corn syrup. It was much too sweet/tangy for me; although my husband just loved it. I will buy it again but next time try diluting it with more red wine..
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Ingredients, Flavor
Review 3 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Chicago
,Il
January 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
January 13, 2013
This is yet another smash hit for Williams Sonoma! I served Coq au Vin last night at a dinner party for my friends and they RAVED about it! I previously read a few of the other reviews and added 3/4 cup red wine (Cab. Sauv.) to the mix along with 1TBSP minced garlic. The combination was terrific! I served the dish over hot buttered noodles and voila', a wonderful Coq au Vin dish was born. Thanks so much Willians Sonoma for this wonderful product!!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 4 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
kras
February 22, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing
February 22, 2012
I have a good recipe for this dish, but it is labor intensive. I hoped that this short cut would yield good results, but was not pleased. It does not have the flavors of a true Coq Au Vin. It was easy to thicken the sauce at the end - removed a small amount from the slow cooker to a saucepan, and whisked in a little corn starch. Added the thickened liquid back to the remaining sauce in the slow cooker for a perfect consistency. I'll use my own recipe the next time.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Flavor
Review 5 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trish2211
,Linwood
,NJ
January 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and delicious
January 21, 2012
My 17 year old daughter used this to make dinner for our family one evening. We all loved it. The rave reviews were all the inspiration she needed to continue cooking. We have loved loved loved every dinner she has made using Williams-Sonoma products. Thank you.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 6 for Coq Au Vin Braising Base
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BiCoastalFoodie
,Hoboken
,NJ
January 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to Make, But Not My Favorite W-S Sauce
January 8, 2012
Let me start by saying I'm a HUGE fan of W-S sauces. I have used many of the sauces for dinner parties over the years (especially ones for short ribs) and always received rave reviews from guests. But, this sauce really falls far shorter than the others. Easy to make? Yes. But, the flavor was very disappointing. It definitely needs more "vin", most notably. If I made it again, I'd need to "doctor" it up significantly.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor