Copper Mug

Our polished copper mugs are handcrafted by artisans in Turkey who carry on the ancient traditions of Anatolian metalworking. Each is spun and hammered by hand of solid copper, with riveted handles and a tin lining. Their design is a classic for serving iced cocktails such as the Moscow Mule, a blend of vodka, ginger beer and lime juice, but they can be used for any iced beverage. The metal helps keep cocktails and other refreshments well chilled. Sold individually. 16-oz. cap. Made in Turkey. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.4 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
8 of 15(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Copper Mug
Review 1 for Copper Mug
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JenL
,Kauai
,HI
January 12, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed!!
January 12, 2015
I bought these mugs for my mom for Christmas. I was really disappointed when I opend them up and they had these horrible spots everywhere and looked really badly tarnished. Thankfully my mom didn't care, she said she'd try to polish them up but it was still really sad that Williams-Sonoma would send out a product looking the way I got it.
Review 2 for Copper Mug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LovinWS
,South Bend
,IN
January 12, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Copper Mugs
January 12, 2015
These mugs are beautiful, very nice shape and look great. However, the engraving on these does not work well and doesn't show. I returned them because the price I paid for these it should have been better. Even though these mugs are very nice I think they are over priced and the engraving cost is most certainly over priced.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean
Cons: too expensive
Review 3 for Copper Mug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FLsharon
,Tallahassee
,FL
Tallahassee FL
January 3, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love them! Used repeatedly and still beautiful
January 3, 2015
Bought 2 and was concerned after reading reviews that the mugs would be hard to keep clean. After multiple uses they are still beautiful. I use Barkeepers Friend to remove any dark spots. Best to wash and dry soon after use but even if you don't cleaning is quite easy.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Copper Mug
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MikeA
,Memphis
,Tn
December 28, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Want my money back
December 28, 2014
After 1 single use, all 4 cups were stained on the exterior surface with dark marks. The entire silver interior became darker as well. Do not understand why Williams Sonoma would approve this product for actual use. Beautiful mugs but in the end they are just for show.
Pros: Color, Appearance, Design
Cons: High-Maintenance, plain water stains it
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
FLsharon
Tallahassee FL
Posted January 3, 2015
Barkeeper friend cleans them like new
Cooper gets spots easily, but they can be easily removed with any cleaner approved for cooper. I bought two and panicked when they spotted but a little Barkeepers Friend polished the spots off easily, quickly and beautifully. They are still perfect after multiple use- and EVERYONE in my family wants one
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Copper Mug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ksjhawkfan
,lawrence
,ks
December 25, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE the copper mug
December 25, 2014
Before I ordered the first time I read the reviews. I looked elsewhere to see what is available. I had looked in the Wm Sonoma store at them before ordering. THIS mug is the best! I love that it is tin lined! Makes me feel like my Mule won't be tainted in case the copper would do that. I had NO problem with the stickers on the bottom. No stain, no residue, but I am the queen of removing stickers from things I purchase because I dislike them so much. I am thrilled to be able to buy a second one at a discount. Getting the copper shot too. So, if you like nice things and are willing to just soapy water wash and dry thoroughly I don't think you will find this copper mug a bother. I want mine engraved but I want it deeper cut so I will find an artisan in town to do that. The Moscow Mule is yummy too!
Pros: Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Copper Mug
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TarahKeep
September 26, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
5of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful, but misleading
September 26, 2014
My husband and I got these as an anniversary gift from my parents. They're beautiful! However, I wish the sticker on the bottom had said "Wash and Dry Immediately," not just "Hand Wash." After one use, the mugs are completely tarnished and full of unsightly spots. I understand that metal is metal, and it reacts with water and oxygen; however, this is the last thing crossing my mind when serving Moscow Mules to my family for the first time! I do feel these things require an instruction manual: you need to dry them right away, and you need copper polish. They're very high maintenance. I'd recommend them, but with a disclaimer attached! As for the monogram, I like that it's subtle, but if you want more of a bold look, these aren't for you.
Pros: Durable, Personalization, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Appearance
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 7 for Copper Mug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patticake50
,So. Calif.
,CA
September 13, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful mugs
September 13, 2014
Mugs are a bit pricey but well-made and quite attractive when you take the time to wash and dry properly after each use. Use gentle copper cleaner like Wright's Copper Cream once a month to make them sparkle. Moscow Mules can't get any better when served in this mug.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Appearance
Cons: requires more maintenance but not bad
Review 8 for Copper Mug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
snowray81
,Mission Viejo
,CA
September 9, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Obsessed with these
September 9, 2014
Received 2 of these from my mother in law and loved them so much i bought 2 more and then 4 more!!!!! I wanted hammered mules and she found these! Hands down the best looking mules on the market. The only downfall, like others have said, are the stickers on the bottom of the mugs. They leave a mark of the stickers even after goo gone. These do spot easily, but I actually love that! Love the patina over time!! A must addition to your bar collections!!
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Weight
Review 9 for Copper Mug
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mwa13
August 18, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
5of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Look terrible after one use!
August 18, 2014
These copper mugs looked beautiful out of the box, but after one use, look terrible. There are dark scratches and spots all over the copper exterior. So disappointing! Do not buy these.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
JakeW
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Posted December 13, 2014
cleaning copper ware
copper is great to look at but, yes it requires a little more to keep it shiny and nice, have you tried a copper cleaner?We use Wright's Copper Cream. It will keep your copper clean for years to come.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Copper Mug
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MomOSquish
NC
July 29, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
high-maintenance
July 29, 2014
After their third use, wash and dry, I pulled out my trusted metal polish, annoyed that they already required this level of treatment but willing because they are lovely. Even with metal polish they are still quite spotty! I won't say they're stained because if I spent another 20 minutes on them I might be able to remove the spots but who has that kind of time on a regular basis?! There has to be something that's a little less high-maintenance.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Review 11 for Copper Mug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
acl52402
June 12, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quality Craftsmenship
June 12, 2014
I wanted to make sure that I invested in mugs that I would continue to love year after year and these mugs are timeless. The craftsmenship is evident in the quality and artistry of the construction. The mugs do spot easily so you need to dry them immediately after washing.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Color, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 12 for Copper Mug
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
WifeOfMoscowMuleLover
,Denver
,CO
February 24, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
9of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Why do they use stickers that will not come off?
February 24, 2014
I ordered these mugs as a Christmas gift for my husband because he loves Moscow Mules.
They are the best mugs I've seen, however they arrived with stickers on the bottom that I could not get off. I finally had to resort to Goo Gone which usually works for situations like that but it unfortunately ruined the finish on the copper! What a disappointment!
I also had our initial engraved on them. I agree with the other review that it was a waste of money because it hardly showed up.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: sku sticker will not come off
Review 13 for Copper Mug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TahoeGinger
,Tahoe City
,CA
January 4, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Copper Mugs I've Ever Seen
January 4, 2014
My parents had copper mugs when I was a child and I loved them. I have been searching for the perfect ones and finally found them here. I love the shape! All copper mugs take extra care to keep clean and beautiful, but these are definitely worth it!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Size, Appearance
Review 14 for Copper Mug
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Samiam12
,Phoenix
,AZ
January 1, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Performs perfectly
January 1, 2014
I bought two sets of these copper mugs for the holidays. Used them on New Years Eve and they worked perfectly for our Moscow Mules, kept the drink perfectly cold and washed by hand (as recommended) without problems....no spots as the previous reviewer indicated. Used mild dish soap form Williams Sonoma. I give them a 4 rating only because I too ordered them monogrammed and the lettering does not show as mentioned in the previous review. This does not impact the function-ability of the mug just disappointing since it cost extra and does not appear as pictured. I would buy again and recommend, just would forego the monogram unless it can be done in a way that stands out more.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Design, Weight
Cons: personalization
Review 15 for Copper Mug
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ezbake
,El Cajon
,CA
December 20, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
10of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not So Useful Copper Mugs
December 20, 2013
These copper mugs are more decorative than useful as they spot very easily and the spots only come off with use of a copper polish. Also the monogram does not show up on them as they are very shiny-unlike the picture in the catalog which shows a flat finish with the monogram. I would not recommend them due to these reasons.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, monogram does't show