Williams-Sonoma Cooking from the Farmers' Market Cookbook

A trip to your local farmers' market offers fresh inspiration for healthy, delicious dining. Bringing home the signature flavors of each season, our comprehensive cookbook offers 245 recipes designed to help you make the most of fresh produce. Each fruit and vegetable is accompanied by vibrant color photographs that make it easy to identify at the market, along with three simple recipes showcasing the natural flavors of the starring ingredient. The book also provides detailed information on selection, storage and preparation for all types of produce. Recipe highlights include an English pea and ricotta tart; roasted pumpkin soup with sage cream; baby arugula salad with berries and Gorgonzola; pork medallions with roasted figs; and strawberry rhubarb pie. Hardcover, 272 pages.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Cooking from the Farmers' Market Cookbook
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Cooking from the Farmers' Market Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meesa
,Ma
June 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Vegetarian Must!
June 30, 2013
It's not a vegetarian cookbook, but it should be a staple in every vegetarian kitchen! As part of a farm share, my cupboards overflow with summer veggies this time of year, and I'm always looking for interesting ways to use them. Virtually everything in the book can be adapted for the meat-free, and I'm able to make most recipes with just what I have on hand. Even better...it shows you how to use every inch of the vegetable. Last night I made the frittata using beet greens and stems (instead of Swiss chard), and used the actual beets in the salad. Love!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Cooking from the Farmers' Market Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheBabblingCook
May 26, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ideas to head to the Farmers' Market with...
May 26, 2012
I enjoy cooking and am trying new recipes all the time. I am continually impressed with the Williams-Sonoma line of cookbooks! This cookbook will spark your excitement as you visit the Farmers' Market, see wonderful ingredients and think: "I know just the recipe!" Try their Mexican cookbook as well :)
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Cooking from the Farmers' Market Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BronnaS
,Thousand Oaks
,CA
April 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Must for Farmers' Market Shoppers!
April 16, 2012
I shop at my local farmers' market every Sunday and even though I have not had my Williams-Sonoma Cooking from the Farmers' Market Cookbook very long I have used it alredy. I have it at the ready when I plan our weekly meals. The pictures are stunning, the seasonalty grid is very helpful ( but would prefer the book be organized around that instead) and the storage tips are useful.I made roasted broccoli with red pepper flakes (page 42) and had two concerns one 2 tablespoons of red pepper flakes for 2 cups of florets( yikes) and roasting at 250 degrees. I lowered the red pepper flakes to 1/2 teaspoon and raised the temperature to 425.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Cons: Inaccurate
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Cooking from the Farmers' Market Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BearGUY
,Bergen
,NJ
April 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GET IT, its great
April 1, 2012
this is the best cookbook at WS! if you are into finding new ways for your veggies or simply want to learn about eating vegetables you never thought of making
Pros: Easy to Use, Versatile
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Cooking from the Farmers' Market Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
J11176
,Mount Laurel
,NJ
September 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for cooking AND reading!
September 28, 2011
My friend generously gifted me with this book almost 2 months ago, and I have yet to put it down. Not only is it beautiful to simply peruse, it's well written and chock full of not only healthful recipes, but also invaluable tips. Every weekend I read through more of it, and have now decided my entire Thanksgiving menu will be from this book!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, beautiful to read
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Cooking from the Farmers' Market Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mccall
oklahoma
June 23, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
favorite cookbook
June 23, 2011
This is one of the first cookbooks that I bought for myself- and I absolutely love it. It goes with me to the farmers market and has has me trying new foods that used to be completely intimidating.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Versatile, Design
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Cooking from the Farmers' Market Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AKSB
New York
April 4, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Cookbook
April 4, 2011
I love the cookbook. It has tasty recipes and also breaks down the foods by season. The only downside is that the recipes are organized by food item. I would have loved to have seen them organized by season so each season i could just turn to that and find the foods in the marketplace and the recipes to cook them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Cons: organization
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Cooking from the Farmers' Market Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RandiB
Salem, OR
January 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful recipes for fresh ingredients!
January 3, 2011
I bought this as a gift for my husband and he was very excited. We belong to a CSA Program and receive an abundance of fresh produce in the growing season, some of which we're not sure what they are! This recipe book outlines everything by season and variety with a few recipes devoted to each product that you can find at a farmer's market. All the photographs make this book easy to follow with practical recipes that anyone could use and pretty enough to keep on the counter. This is by far the best farmer's market cookbook out there!