This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma Cooking for Friends Cookbook

Learn professional secrets for hosting simple, stylish gatherings that are as much fun for you as they are for your friends. In this cookbook, authors Alison Attenborough and Jamie Kimm share the signature recipes and entertaining strategies that come from their work as two of New York City's most sought-after personal chefs and food stylists. Their philosophy: use each season's freshest ingredients to prepare dishes you love - and rely on imaginative presentation to create festive flourishes. Many of these foolproof recipes teach you how to take one "master" dish and present it four different ways, customizing the flavors and style to suit the occasion. From creative cocktails and appetizers to impressive main courses, side dishes and desserts, the more than 265 beautifully-photographed recipes in this book will carry you through parties with ease and panache. Hardcover, 256 pages.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Cooking for Friends Cookbook
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Cooking for Friends Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
melanielovestocook
,Toronto
November 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
One of my favourite cookbooks!
November 16, 2012
I found this book at a Home Sense store in Canada and it looked great so I picked it up. I am so glad that I did!! It has such an interesting variety of dishes - all full of exciting flavours and beautiful presentation!
I regularly use recipes from this cookbook when entertaining or even just for weekday dinners with my husband. We love the results! And so do our guests! Always a hit.
If you want an idea of the types of recipes that are in this book, I can say some of my favourites are the Belgian Endive and Persimmons salad, the appetizer section has some great ones like a shrimp and crab with avocado starter, 4 ways to make yummy pissaladieres, figs wrapped with basil and serrano ham on the grill, etc etc. and so much more! Really good stuff.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design, wonderful recipes
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Cooking for Friends Cookbook
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
NOTPLEASED
April 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
TOO REPETITIVE
April 28, 2011
WAS NOT PLEASED WITH THIS BOOK AND WILL BE RETURNING IT. NOT ENOUGH DIFFERENT RECIPIES, NOTHING SPECIAL ABOUT THE BOOK.
Pros: Design
Cons: not enough different recipies
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Cooking for Friends Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GigiBeach
March 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
A fresh new approach to presentation
March 7, 2011
The photos and organization of the recipes are wonderful. Receipes are tasty with simple prep. The very important "mandolin" purchased shortly after the book arrived. Now my husband is participating in meal planning and prep!
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Cooking for Friends Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shelle16
October 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Great Cookbook
October 9, 2010
Everything I have made out of this cookbook has turn out great. I love how they take a recipe and change it so can use seasonal produce.
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Cooking for Friends Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dksands
Akron, Ohio
March 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Cooks & Collectors "Must Have"
March 18, 2010
I love to cook and collect cookbooks of all types. This is a must have! It reads well, has fabulous photo's and most importantly it is full of gourmet menus that are easy and delicious. I read it cover to cover the day I bought it and made two dozen recipes in the first two weeks. Each one was better then the next. I especially love the way the authors show cooks how to use one main ingredient four different ways. It gives any cook great versatility.
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Cooking for Friends Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GoBucky1
Madison, WI
April 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Great Selection of Recipes
April 29, 2009
My mom gave me this cookbook for my birthday, and I absolutely love it. There is a wide array of recipes to choose from, menu ideas, seasonal menus, etc. I also love that the recipes are relatively simple - nothing that's going to take hours to prepare. I have already tried out a couple of the recipes and have gotten rave reviews!
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Cooking for Friends Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Becci
California
March 31, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
8of 10found this review helpful.
Fabulous Book
March 31, 2009
Read about this cookbook in a magazine. Immediately went out and purchased it at WS. Lived up to every expectation! Love the recipes. Very simple, yet gourmet, all at the same time!!! My children even love the recipes and assist in making the dishes.