Cooking for Baby Cookbook

Making your baby's or toddler's food needn't be time consuming or complicated - and it allows you to control the quality of ingredients, taste and freshness. Written by Lisa Barnes, this cookbook takes all the guesswork out of cooking for young children. Each age-specific chapter features fresh and wholesome ingredients that are perfectly tailored to a growing child's needs, from 6 months onwards. This essential volume begins with cereal grains and simple vegetable and fruit purees, then moves on to chunkier foods, and finally to real meals. Tempting photos and sound advice enhance the 80 recipes. Softcover, 143 pages.
Average Customer Rating:
4.612 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
48 of 49(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cooking for Baby Cookbook
Review 1 for Cooking for Baby Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnnfromAK
,Kenai
,AK
February 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What a wonderful reference!
February 6, 2012
I bought this book with the hopes of getting ideas on how to prepare soft-textured meals while I wait to get extensive oro-maxillary surgery. It's WONDERFUL. Now all I have to do is figure out how I can make whole wheat berry sprouted gruel...
Pros: Versatile, great recipes!
Review 2 for Cooking for Baby Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kateinca
California
April 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great resource!
April 14, 2011
This was given to us as a gift, along with the Beaba steamer/blender (also love), and I found it so helpful, not only for the good recipes, but for the guidance and advice as to when to introduce certain foods, what the nutritional values are, etc - all in a really easy to absorb sort of way - very important as a new mother! It was my bible until I felt comfortable to venture out on my own.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design
Review 3 for Cooking for Baby Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BusyMommy
CA
February 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE This Book
February 21, 2011
We used this book along with the Beaba Babycook. We LOVE it. Some of the recipes seemed really strange to me and so I was hesitant, but my son really loved them. I was so impressed at how much my little guy enjoyed his foods and even more impressed with the vibrant colors and tastes of the fresh baby food as opposed to store-bought jars. The Sweet Pea Puree is SO good! I even thought it was tasty!
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Cooking for Baby Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VAMama
Virginia
February 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This book made me realize I COULD do it!
February 20, 2011
I'll admit, I was first attracted to this book because I really liked the photography and was only entertaining the thought of making my son's baby food because I wasn't sure I could fully commit to preparing it. Then, I actually tasted store bought baby food (GROSS!). I was quickly convinced that if I wouldn't eat it, it wasn't fair to make him eat it - this book was my savior! I'm a decent cook, but no chef, so I'm pleased to say that every recipe is simple, the ingredients are sensible, and you really only need a steamer basket / small pot and about an hour two times a week to prepare your food. Although I bought this book and used almost every recipe, my curiosity to find something similar or better led me to buy a few other baby/toddler cookbooks... NOTHING comes close to this one! If you want straightforward, simple, easy-to-make recipes that will introduce your baby to REAL food flavors - this book is the one!
Review 5 for Cooking for Baby Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cotton
Phoenix, Az
February 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great recipes
February 3, 2011
Gave this as a gift, had a chance to review and it was awesome. Age and health appropriate recipes for babies.
easy to read recipes, advising how many of each fruit you would need to make the recipe. highly recommended for parents and grandparents
Review 6 for Cooking for Baby Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stumm
Decatur, IL
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Informative Cookbook
December 30, 2010
I love all of the pictures, the advice, and the healthy ingredients in the recipes.
Review 7 for Cooking for Baby Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mpry
ny
November 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
love this book!!!
November 18, 2010
I started using this book when my son was 4 months. my favorite recepe is homede waffles with bannana sauce for entire family. i been making it once a week we all love it. great book!!!
Review 8 for Cooking for Baby Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mommaof3
Colorado
July 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wish I had this book 5 years ago
July 16, 2010
I just recently purchased this cookbook when I was browsing through the store. I have 3 children, my youngest is almost 9 months. I have used the recipes in this book almost everyday. They are healthly, appetizing, and most are super easy to prepare. The freshness and variety of each recipe is such a great alternative to jarred foods. Not only has my baby enjoyed all of the foods, but I have been eating them as well (coconut and jasmine rice is to die for). I would recommend this book even for busy moms, as most of them only take a few minutes to prepare.
I do know that Williams-Sonoma recommends the purchase of the food processor, but I have had been using a simple processor that works well.
Review 9 for Cooking for Baby Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jessa
San Diego, CA
June 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
How I fed my baby solid foods
June 21, 2010
It's amazing! My child isn't a fussy eater, and I attribute it to the variety of recipes in this book. I've tried over 40, and they're all wonderful. My husband and I enjoy many of them too, and have been introduced to several new ingredients to our weekly menus!
Review 10 for Cooking for Baby Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JLundeen
Minnesota
June 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorite soup!
June 7, 2010
I've been using the Beaba baby cook for 6-7 months now and I've just recently purchased this cookbook for additional recipes for my 11-month old son. I especially enjoy the section with recipes for the whole family. I made the millet and zucchini medley and the salmon and corn chowder recipes over the weekend and they both turned out to be fabulous for the entire family.
I can't say I would have ever purchased and cooked millet before this book (I'm going to try cooking barley and quinoa for the first time thanks to this book as well), but it may become a new staple. The salmon and corn chowder is joining my go-to cold weather food list!
Review 11 for Cooking for Baby Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ShopperMickey
Arizona
April 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best baby cookbook
April 11, 2010
The instructions are easy to follow and the recipes are divided by age. It's great when you aren't quite sure what to be feeding baby. One of the best things I have purchased for my baby!
Review 12 for Cooking for Baby Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MomStar
Boston, MA
April 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
excellent cookbook
April 2, 2010
I received this as a gift and couldn't be happier with it. It's the only baby cookbook I have and need. Great job, WS!
Review 13 for Cooking for Baby Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RunningCPAMommy
Bay Area, CA
March 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A must have
March 16, 2010
This book is simply a must have if you plan to make your own baby food.
I really love the information about introducing herbs and spices.
Review 14 for Cooking for Baby Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halia14
March 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A best buy for baby!
March 4, 2010
I'm sure this is the best baby food cookbook there is. Packed with tips and information along with nutritious recipes that are easy to prepare! I love the variety of vegetables, fruits, grains, and lean meats. I am going to cook my way through every recipe in the book! It is exactly what I was hoping for!
Review 15 for Cooking for Baby Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JennaL
Chicago, IL
February 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely Love It!!!
February 23, 2010
I absolutely love this book! It is so easy to understand and the food is delicious. It gives my 7 month old a little variety instead of eating the same foods over and over again. I use an ice cube tray to freeze the food that I cook and it lasts for 3 months. Freezing the food gives me the opportunity to make more at one time....great for a busy mom that still wants to monitor what her baby is consuming!
Review 16 for Cooking for Baby Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
angellrn
Nashville, TN
February 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this Cookbook
February 9, 2010
I bought this for my sister and her 8-month-old daughter. It has great recipes that are delicious and easy, and best of all, different from the boring stuff they sell at the supermarket. My 4-year-old and I have enjoyed taste-testing. I plan on buying another cookbook for myself for our next baby!
Review 17 for Cooking for Baby Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JillianP
hanover, PA
February 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Book
February 3, 2010
This book is great. i cook for my daughter (now 16 months). It give me some ideas when i'm looking for something new/different to give her. the book is laid out very nicely - easy to read and understand - a quick reference which is nice when you have an infant. it really helps making sure your giving them all the nutrients they need. it's laid out my age in months which is really helpful.
Review 18 for Cooking for Baby Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
katelc
Jersey City, NJ
January 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Baby Cookbook I've Found
January 29, 2010
I love this book! My entire family has enjoyed these recipes and I will use this again and again as my family grows. This is one of my favorite gifts and I now buy this for every baby shower I attend.
Review 19 for Cooking for Baby Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anel
san jose, ca
January 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Variety for little gourmet baby
January 29, 2010
I really like this book, the recipes are appropriate for the age groups of the first year of life, my baby loves the flavors and it gives me tons of ideas, very often I replace with ingredients I do have in my pantry. It has helped me to offer my baby a wide range of flavors and nutrients for his development, he is super happy to try new things.
Review 20 for Cooking for Baby Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
momincolorado
January 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great book about feeding baby solids
January 14, 2010
this book is great! there is a lot of helpful information about feeding babies solids and great recipes for babies of all ages.
page1 2 3 next